Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Ryobi RLM140SP 43cm 3.2hp Self-Propelled Petrol Lawn Mower

Ryobi RLM140SP 43cm 3.2hp Self-Propelled Petrol Lawn Mower
Average Customer Rating:
4.478 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(46 Reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (46 reviews)
5 stars
27
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
43 of 46(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Review 21 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ryobi lawnmower
24 Jul 2011
By mikeR200
, Berwick-upon-Tweed
"Boughtr as a special offer. Delivered very quickly. Started first time. Cut the grass really well and with little effort - just have to get used to the driven wheels. Seems very robust but too early to judge reliability."
Review 22 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ryobi Lawnmower
17 Jul 2011
By Mikey2201
, Gateshead
"I purchased this mower firstly for the price and after reading the previous reviews.
I've only used the mower a few times but find it well worth the money.
I haven't had the problems with the starting as per other reviews, it's as good as my previous mower a Mountfield that I bought 5 years ago for almost twice the price.
If it carries on with reliability for the next 5 years plus I will be more than happy.
The delivery from Screwfix was excellent.,
"
Review 23 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy set up & user friendly in
14 Jul 2011
By Willy2
, Benfleet
"Pros - Great price for a self propelled mower, open the box, unfold the handle, tighten the (mowers) nuts, fix the starter handle (the only bit of self assembly required), Put some oil and petrol in the respective holes, press the "tit" 3 times and your off. Easy. Very adjustable handle and cutting height. cuts really well, and no strenous pushing.
Cons - the instructions could put a height measurement to the individual cutting heights, and advise the use of the 3rd black control.
Buy this, it is the best value.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 24 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ryobi Petrol Mower
14 Jul 2011
By gymrat
, Dunstable
"Clear instructions, easy assembly and simple start.
Easy to use and a nice clean operation when cutting."
Review 25 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ryobi S.P. lawn mower
14 Jul 2011
By harrysyros
, Norwich
"Having reached the ripe old age of 83, I felt the need for some assistance in cutting the larger lawn recently aquired,and,seeing the Ryobi self propelled mower in Screwfix I decided to give it a go!
The packing was very secure, the product well proteced and in sparkling condition.
Assembly was straightforward and minimal.,after filling with oil & petrol I followed the instructions ,And lo& behold , it started exactly as the manual stated.
Control of the mower took a bit of getting used tobut after a while ,and the partial cutting of a shrub or two arrived at we[the mower & I] we managed a reasonable looking lawn,and I even ssppose this will improve with practice.
I found that initially the walking speed was too fast for my old bones so I phoned the Screwfix Helpline which lived up to it's name in spades. After a very helpful conversation with an enineer ,he sent me an e-mail with photos to show an adjustment that could be made to reduce the forward speed of the mower. This proved to at least to slow the moer down so that I could keep up with it!
Generally, I am very satisfied with the machine after some initial doubts,but after some use I am warming to the machine.
The single lever adjustment for all 4 wheels is excellent.A major disapointment is the lack of a"tickover"facility meaning a pull start every time one wants to stop [to chat to a neighbor etc.] the collection bag holds a good quantity of grass and is easy to lift off & replace,also the finish on the machine is first class
Altogether I find the machine is very good value and I was particularly impressed with the service & advice I received from the Helpline at Screwfix. I would not hesitate to purchase major items of equipment from Screwfix again.
Harrysyros
"
Review 26 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ryobi Petrol Mower
11 Jul 2011
By handyandyo
, Derbyshire
"Other reviews were really helpful. I was going to buy a more expensive mower at twice the price but all mowers will have problems if you don't maintain them. The mower is very good value for money with a powerful motor. My garden is about an acre set on a hill and the mower copes with no problems. The self propelled function is pretty good too. Lean on petrol compared to my other mowers and looks better than the bog standard red colour all other mowers are painted. It has been difficult to start on one occasion but I think I flooded the carb through over priming. Plenty of height variance, nice cut, decent size grass box and great value for money."
Review 27 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ryobi Petrol Mower - Good
9 Jul 2011
By PaulV
, Bath
"A good robust mower. Better built than the competitors. Easy to use and handle. Too early to say how reliable it is but all other features are very good."
Review 28 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
6 Jul 2011
By SodaBoy
, Ballyclare
"I would have to say this is an excellent product for the money. Cuts my acre of ground with no problems. I will never go back to pushing a lawn mower again and I would highly recommend this."
Review 29 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
What a Bargain
6 Jul 2011
By sacole
, bristol
"Have always had an electric mower so a bit unsure but at £70 off normal price decided to take the plunge. Not disapointed so far, easy to use & the SP function is very good. Have always used Ryobi products & this is as good as anything they do.
Would recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 30 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Mower
5 Jul 2011
By RABSKI
, Midlothian
"Does Exactly what it says on the tin!! Easy to Set Up, 10mins from box to mowing. Easy to operate and easy to stow away. very fuel efficient, have a lawn of approx 150m square, have cut the grass 8-9 times since purchase and have only filled the mower 3 times. only negative is the grass collector? takes no time to fill and seem to be never done emptying it and every time you have to re-start the mower. all round an excellent bargain buy."
Review 31 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
My 1st new grasscutter
4 Jul 2011
By Bookers
, Glasgow
"Machine starts, and cuts well. The drive to the wheels is by a fabric belt. Time and usage will tell how well this will last and how difficult or easy it will be to fix when it wears out."
Review 32 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Takes the stress out of mowing
4 Jul 2011
By haywain
, Gloucester
"This mower was up and running in no time. If you are looking for value and performance, this will do nicely. Looks good, works well and I'm so glad I bought one."
Review 33 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very good S/P Petrol lawnmower
1 Jul 2011
By azimuth2009
, Merseyside
"The build quality is astounding, the functionality is very good, well designed and reasonably easy to use.
If I have any niggles the weigth is a little heavy (good when mowing bad when moving etc.) and it seems to throw out as much grass as it puts into the collector (this might be my very uneaven lawn) overall I think this is a very good product for the price and would buy again"
Review 34 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Well built and easy to start
29 Jun 2011
By 3woodcot
, Aberdeen
"I had previously purchased a 2 stroke Ryobi Brush Cutter / Strimmer with "Expandit" Attachments and had been very impressed with its build quality and ease of use. The RLM140SP lawn mower also appears to be as well built with a good standard of finish and attention to detail. It has only performed a couple of cuts of a large garden (total 3 hours) and so no idea on long term reliability, hence the score, however no problems to date.
It was extremely good value compared to other manufacturers mowers of similar specification. I will certainly have no hesitation in recommending this mower and will certainly consider Ryobi for further power tool purchases."
Review 35 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First Motor Lawnmower
27 Jun 2011
By Aitch53
, North Uist
"Easy to assemble and, following the simple guide, easy to use. The cutting height is effective and the mower is easy to control."
Review 36 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A quality bargain
27 Jun 2011
By ianvs
, Near Portsmouth
"The Ryobi replaces my old reliable plastic bodied Mountfield mower. The Ryobi has a qualty steel body which makes it a touch heavy to lift if I need to put it in the car but means that the body won't crack or split. It feels like a quality piece of kit, a good mower should not be too light.
Starts easily and is quiet in use and much more economical than my old mower. Very easy to manoeuvre and feels "stiff" (many modern mowers become loose after a few uses)
It gives a very clean cut and stripes on the lawn (more from the wheels as it does not have a rear roller)
A pleasure to use and almost cuts the time to cut the lawn in half.
"
Review 37 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Absolute Bargain
25 Jun 2011
By Luke1
, birmingham
"A great mower, starts first time, good on the fuel, cuts well and self propelled is very good.
Also a good reputable brand.
What more could you want!"
Review 38 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reasonable....but flawed.
7 Jun 2011
By bobbob
, Leeds
"I have had a number of similat type mowers in the past, all seem much the same unless you pay a lot more for Honda & the like.
I have found a problem with the Ryobi machine, in that the front edge of the cutting deck is very sharp. This has caused me two problems, firstly, I have to lift the mower onto my rear lawn, I normally hold the handles with one hand & the front of the deck with the other, this is quite painful due to the sharpness of the front.
Secondly, when going around the edges of my lawn, I would normally have 2 wheels into the flowerbed, in order to trim the very edge of the lawn, this is impossible with the Ryobi, as again the sharpness of the front causes it to dig into the edge of the grass, making it very difficult, if not impossible, to move.
All the other rotary mowers I have used have had a rounded front edge to the deck, allowing it to slide on the edge of the lawn.
Also, even on the lowest setting, it doesn't cut that short, front wheels seem loose, and handles are quite flimsy.
Not convinced this mower will last that long.
Not sure if I would recommend."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 39 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
LAWNMOWER
6 Jun 2011
By ANYONE
, PITLOCHRY
"EASY TO ASSEMBLE AND START.
PICKS UP WELL WITH NO SCATTER.
ALTHOUGH THERE IS NO HAND THROTTLE
THE FIXED SPEED WAS SET RIGHT FOR ME BUT MIGHT BE A BIT QUICK FOR AN OLDER PERSON. WORKED WELL IN DAMP AND WET GRASS
"
Review 40 for Ryobi 43cm SP Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Ryobi SP mower
26 Apr 2011
By bern
, Pontypridd
"good mower, only one Fault on the mower we had is that when drive was engaged it was not a smooth take off but jumpt and the noise of the drive engaging was terrible like a chain jumping back and foe on the sprockets
I'm waiting for the return, to see
bern 26/4/2011"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
<<prev 1 2 3 next>>