Product Reviews

Cat5E 4 Twisted Pair UTP 50m

Cat5E 4 Twisted Pair UTP 50m
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
7
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
3
13 of 18(72%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Review 1 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value cat 5e cable.
6 May 2015
By Scott1803
, uckfield
" This cable is quite expensive but i was willing to pay the price for quality and speed.it was very simple to install just pull through the old then insert the new.this gives me 1gbps to my hp micro server for data transfer.
So over all i will be purchaing a nother coil of this cable.
DONT BE FALLED IT IS NOT ON A REEL IT IS COILED UP. "
Review 2 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
cable worthed
13 Jan 2015
By pradip
, london
" its a great cable what to say did use for first time
lets see what the future says about the cable "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
entry level ethernet cable
29 Sep 2014
By regsmythe
, Bedford
" good quality entry level cable that has a solid core. very easy to use! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Network Cable
2 Feb 2014
By NigeIOW
, IOW
" Why is everybody complaining its not on a reel ?
The picture clearly shows what you are buying _ use for small jobs, great to see both ends , put a connector on both ends and test, now cut off the length you require and put on one connector _ not two saves time on the job ) _ guess what if it doesn't test out as good you know what end needs redoing .
Put connector back on spare coil of cable and retest _ Bingo , ready for the next small job.
Simples ! "
8 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Network cable
2 Aug 2012
By viperfrank
, stevenage
" For the price you do get very good cable, I don't normally buy this sort of cable in such small quantity even for small jobs as it works out cheaper to buy by the box.
but for £20 its perfect for single runs and really small jobs.
I tested the cable with a fluke network tester and with the firmware on my switch and the performance seems to be top notch.
the jacket on the cable is very tough and would withstand a lot of mechanical stress.
it seems to spec up in terms of Cat5e, correct CSA and very evenly twisted all the way down the cable.
some other reviews on this cable seem to imply that this cable has a problem with signal errors, unless a £900 piece of equipment and a £500 switch is wrong, i think there might have been a termination problem.
I only gave 3 stars for features because it does come in a shrink wrapped loose roll and not a box or a reel, not a biggy but i regard the way a cable is package and the ease of installation is a feature.
in all fairness i think is down to the installer to use care when installing but i have to honest.
in terms of reliability, i can only comment based on a 2 year period, but i have not had any complains form my customers and i recently returned to a house where i had installed 3m of it on n external wall, and the cable was still fine no signs of the jacket degrading, so that thick jacket proving to be good against the elements.
over all great cable at a great price.
"
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Networking
3 Mar 2012
By betsieboo
, kent
" Standard colours. Good cable. Not much else to say. Only down side is that the cable is not on a drum but it comes plastic wrapped. Easy to get round - To prevent getting into a mess, tape in three equally spaced places and with a bit of patience and light pulling, cable does not get knotted. End result is that any remaining cable is still tidily wound for future use. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simple to use and good price
19 Mar 2011
By ljb1
, Tewkesbury
" if you do not need 305m or 100m of cable this is grate, the cable is not on a drum so you have to be carefull when useing it but it is not tangled or kinked, i go 1000mbps (gigabit) speeds through this cable and for the price you can not argue with that, good gor small jobs! "
Review 8 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Able Cable
27 Apr 2015
By Irishguy
, Lytham St Annes
" Got speakers? Want a backup for your wireless sound system? Get a load of this in your house and you're sorted,
Job done. "
Review 9 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for Money
29 Mar 2015
By Anonymous
, Newcastle
" I only needed a small amount of cable to finish off a complete installation and this did the trick just fine! "
Review 10 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Hard to handle!
5 Sep 2013
By lowvolts
, London
" This cable doesn't come on a reel so once unpacked it can become very tangled unless fed from a reeler. Other than that I'm sure it's fine. "
Review 11 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cat 5e Cable
22 Feb 2012
By JediBUZ
, Leicester
" Not really much to say about this product as it really is what it is. The only thing I can think of is that it is nice and thin and the outer coating is nice and strong. "
Review 12 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
did the job
28 May 2011
By masterspark
, East Sussex
" Its a cat 5 cable that works,what more can you say?
Reliability: difficult to answer as it is new and still working,I will answer in 10 yrs.
"
Review 13 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cat5e cable - does the job
26 Mar 2011
By Charlie9
, Midlands
" Ok, this cable is provided in a cling-film type wrap and not on a drum, but with pre-install care this fished thru to run the cabling as needed with little difficulty, so ideal for the small ad-hoc networking job.
Terminated with no error's to both RJ45 fittings and the Keystone 90° Punch-down outlet (Screwfix code 72694) and does the job perfectly.
Proper spec twisted pairs and in conclusion, top quality cat5e cable, let down only by the minor inconvenience of how it's packaged.
NB: Comment elsewhere regarding signal errors and poor traffic - I'd suggest this was due to poor termination/connectors used as this cable works perfectly when installed correctly.
"
Review 14 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Length
18 Aug 2008
By mrlserv
, Derby
" Good length of product for that one of job, although could be caoiled better. "
Review 15 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
I will buy boxed next time....
6 Mar 2009
By RickB
, Cumbria
" I thought this would be handy for a quick little job, turned out to be not so quick after all, the amount of time it takes to unravel and untangle it seen as it isn't on a reel. If you are feeding it through conduit or floorboards I wouldn't recommend buying it unless you are just after some cheap cable and have a lot of time to spare. I have ordered boxed now, even though it is a bigger length than what I need, I hoping the amount of time saved will be worth the extra money. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Philex Data Cable - not good
18 May 2015
By AdrianC
, Devon
" Didn't want to buy a 50 or 100m roll so opted for this product. Wish I hadn't as this cable is poor quality. After spending several hours routeing the cable between rooms i went to terminate each end only to find that the cable so was so brittle that even bending the twisted pairs is enough to snap the conductor. I was not confident that the cable had not been twisted during routing and damaged so replaced it with a better quality cable. If you need a shorter length of data cable buy a quality 20m patch cable instead. "
Review 17 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not copper conductors
4 Jan 2015
By JAFr
, North East Scotland
" I purchased this cable as the product information stated "copper conductor". On inspection, the conductors are actually CCA (copper clad aluminium).
This may not be a big deal depending on usage however the info does state copper conductor, which is incorrect. In fact, the Cat5e standard expressly disallows the use of CCA to be compliant. This doesn't mean the cable won't work, just be aware of what you are buying and decide for yourself if CCA is acceptable for your application.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Philex Data Cable CAT 5E UTP 50m Beige
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality cable
10 Dec 2009
By ProblemSolved
, essex
" constant errors , low traffic, replaced with another cable in the end, kept getting faults "
4 of 7 people found this review helpful.