Product Reviews

6 Wheel Glass Cutter

6 Wheel Glass Cutter
Average Customer Rating:
3.143 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
1
1 star
6
14 of 21(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Review 1 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Words fail me
26 May 2015
By andy3410
, Richmond
" I am hooked on cutting glass with this cheap easy to use tool! A must for all tool boxes "
Review 2 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
glass cutter
21 Apr 2015
By robbie196
, tewkesbury glo.s
" half the price of diy store and i needed it sunday
thanks again screwfix
"
Review 3 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful
16 Mar 2015
By greenwoodbodger
, Manchester
" Bought to cut greenhouse panes to size. Inexpensive and adequate quality for occasional use. Score the glass on a flat board or table, move glass so the waste section is overhanging then use a length of wood to apply even pressure to get a nice neat cut. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Vitrex 6 wheel glass cutter
11 Aug 2014
By luapdog1
, Malton
" I have ( at last) been successful in cutting glass properly after many previous poor attempts. This little cutter is just what you need for a swift, safe and precision cut.
If you have confidence in a product you generally use it well and this is the case with the Vitrex. It's cheap, yes and cheerful, but it does the business!
Anyone who has yet to make clean and precise cuts in glass needs to try this out!
I reckon it will save me many hours of frustration, and plenty of cash using salvaged glass which would otherwise go to waste. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It cuts glass
15 May 2013
By charbonier48
, Northumberland
" A standard pattern glass cutter with 6 cutting wheels. Feels well balanced in the hand and when used with a straight edge scores the glass in one pass using steady pressure. I use a pencil under the score line and pressure on each side of the score achieves a good clean break. Good value for money. Should give good service over a long period. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Glass Cutter
3 Jun 2012
By Tween
, Gloucester
" Its very easy to use. It cuts fine, It does the job...... "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Done the job
17 May 2015
By Tom99
, Hartlepool
" Used it to cut some glass for my greenhouse . Done the job well with no issues. "
Review 8 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
glass cutter
18 Sep 2014
By penny1234
, pocklington
" Cheap, good quality, Did the jobs brilliantly.
WEB page easy to navigate. easy to order and collect and click.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job
25 Mar 2014
By bhanaboy
, ldn
" bought this to cut a glass upstand. I found the scoring difficult to pinpoint at first but after some practice cuts this tool cut the glass cleanly.
i'd recommend watching some youtube clips to get the hang of it. you don't need to press too hard, but you want to hear a 'ripping' sound.
"
Review 10 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good for mirror cutting
6 Mar 2014
By Lexicon
, Cheshire
" Use to reclaim a mirror that had a broken corner. Easy to use and provided a good score for snapping so obviously sharp enough for the job.
Hopefully will keep sharp!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Glass cutter
4 Sep 2014
By Kevhumrugby
, Portsmouth
" The glass cutter is good value for money although would not last very long on big job due to construction.but good for small light jobs. "
Review 12 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the job
28 Apr 2014
By IainH
, Shipton Bellinger
" For the price this is an excellent little item, really easy to use and works well. "
Review 13 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap & cheerful
14 Sep 2012
By Whitwood
, Teesside
" I recently used this to cut down some large windows and results are as you'd expect from a small crude tool.
Quite a bit of pressure required and I used a piece of wood to score along as a guide, however, results can still be a bit of a gamble depending on the pain.
Still got the job done and can't grumble really for the money. "
Review 14 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job
28 Nov 2011
By Simonc79
, Edinburgh
" I bought this for cutting some large mirrors for safer disposal and it wasn't ideal for that task but for scoring glass - it worked well. "
Review 15 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed
25 Mar 2015
By Lorri
, Nuneaton
" This item fell apart halfway through the second cut. 4 of the tiny 6 wheels were lost in the grass and I had to go out and buy another one to complete the project. "
Review 16 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
I wouldn't if I was you
21 Mar 2015
By Rich1984
, Wrexham
" Experienced glazier, cut glass regularly, when using this product as with most 6 wheel cutters it does not produce a nice flowing cut, leaves gaps which ruins the cut, only bought this as local glazing supplier was shut, first problem I've had with anything from screwfix too be fair "
Review 17 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Extremely disappointing
25 Feb 2015
By Pyramid
, Huddersfield
" I have been delighted with every other purchase I have made at Scewfix over the years but this glass cutter was of absolutely no use whatsoever as it fell to bits before it made much impression on the glass. "
Review 18 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
never again
1 Feb 2015
By jadmaintenance
, caernarfon
" i got this to cut some glass for a panle door, worst thing ever from screwfix and i have been shopping with them for some time, it made a mess on the glass then when i came to popping it the glass shattered, so not only down the price of this but also a pane of glass, do not buy this cutter "
Review 19 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy
2 Dec 2014
By Theibrahims
, Milton Keynes
" I bought this as a replacement as I couldn't find my trusty glass cutter. I was tempted by the price and thought that this could get me through cutting ONE pane of glass to finish the job I was doing. I should have known better. First, it is a plastic affair. When I went to cut the glass, the cutting head moved on me, which to be fair, I should have checked/ tightened before I used. Not everything that you buy works straight out of the box! But it did not cut. And it made a mess of the glass pane. Sorry screwfix, but this is just cheap rubbish. "
Review 20 for Vitrex 6-Wheel Glass Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst purchase ever.
30 Oct 2014
By simba
, North East
" Used this item with one cut then it fell to pieces. Complete waste of money. Surprised Screwfix sells this rubbish. "
Page : 1 2 next>