Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

25ft (7.6m). Flexible rod for reaching round corners and cleaning blocked waste pipes.

25ft (7.6m). Flexible rod for reaching round corners and cleaning blocked waste pipes.
Average Customer Rating:
4.434 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
(53 Reviews) 53
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (53 reviews)
5 stars
36
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
3
48 of 53(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Drain Unblocker
Review 1 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT TOOL!!
18 Mar 2011
By John7777
, Hailsham
"what a great tool! this was used to unblock a sink waste that runs under my floor saving hours of messing about lifitng floor boards to find the blockage. It takes a bit of time but with some careful use i have pulled all sorts of rubbish from the pipe and the waste now flows freely. well recommended!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best £20 i've ever spent
26 Mar 2014
By ZappaFan
, Bristol
"I had a slow-running and eventually blocked kitchen drain that was in a difficult to get to location. I "tackled" the blockage from the drain end rather than the sink end, and after eventually working the corkscrew head around a 90' bend (a bit of a struggle, but that may just be my pipework) I was able to engage the enemy blockage. After some persistent rodding, the whole lot was finally removed, and I can now run both taps on full, with the water draining immediately. The only minor criticism is that it won't feed through an existing sink hole - you'll need to feed it through eg a waste trap, and I personally found it difficult to work round a corner, but as I said, that could just be my knackered old pipework. With those caveats, I would highly recommend it."
Review 3 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great pipe unblocker - no mess
21 Mar 2014
By Kazza2611
, Basingstoke
"I bought this as the pipes in the kitchen leading from the dishwasher and washing machine had become blocked. I really did not want to move and dismantle all the pipes and fed this through the wast pipe from outside. So easy to use, perfect job (removed lots of gunk!!) and tidies away easily.
Great value for money."
Review 4 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and effective
10 Feb 2014
By 1234567890
, Herefordshire
"Had a very slow draining bathroom basin so decided a drain snake was what I needed. This item was on offer at Screwfix and looked better quality than other internet retailers' versions.
In use it is pretty sturdy and went around four 90 deg bends in 4 feet. Cleared the blockage which it retrieved on the 'head' of the device.
Overall I am very pleased with the quality, operation and value of this drain unblocker.
"
Review 5 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FANTASTIC PRODUCT A+++
8 Feb 2014
By BigCheese
, Crowfield
"Bought one of these after using various chemical drain un-blockers without success.
This worked a treat - I had to take the sink trap off and enter the pipe this way, but that was no problem.
It's worth watching a Youtube video of how to use this properly before you start, as the instructions for use it comes with aren't that great."
Review 6 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drain and Waste Clearance
6 Feb 2014
By Davox
, Lewes, East Sussex
""Great tool! this was used to unblock a 100 mm 25 ft soak away that runs under my front garden. I chose this product as a quick fix solution but please note you have to be patient as the tool is really designed for smaller diameter waste pipes. If you kink the cable by being to ambitious the tool is effectively useless. I would definitely recommended this product!"
Review 7 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool
4 Jan 2014
By NathanP
, Manchester
"Reached past 2 45 and 2 90 bends in 40mm pipe to reach a shower trap and pull the hair out. A distance of about 4 metres and a rise of 1 metre. Didn't think it would manage this, but it does and I have used it several times."
Review 8 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drain unbloker
1 Jan 2014
By Bezzy
, Thanet
"Easy to use and did the job. I also used it to clean out old conduit."
Review 9 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Waste Pipe Unblocker
28 Nov 2013
By streborts
, Somerset
"This is just the job for clearing waste pipes, etc, especially with its 25' reach.
Easy to assemble and use but next to impossible to get down through the grid in the sink waste, however, it's easy enough to take the "U" bend trap off and approach the pipe from there.
When you reach a bend it's best to feed in only a few inches whilst pushing and turning. It gets round eventually.
"
Review 10 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Drain Unblocker
22 Sep 2013
By SafetyGod
, Bracknell
"Fantastic piece of equipment, may of saved of £100 plus pound in calling out plumber. Read the instructions and used the unit and cleared the blockage, highly recommended."
Review 11 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Drain unblocker
6 Sep 2013
By CapableDIYer
, Nottingham
"Ordered for branch collection, picked it up drove home spent 2 minutes putting it together, had a go and once I got It passed the bend and worked it in to the blockage, 5 minutes later job done. So happy, it worked a treat, root ball and soap built up over quite some time is now history."
Review 12 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drain meet Unblocker
5 Jul 2013
By Anonymous
, Surrey
"Great tool to have in the garage to deal with those blocked drains. The flexible spring coil allows you to work your way down the waste for several meters without having to disconnect any pipes.
By slowly turning the spring using the handle any blockages in the pipe are dislodge and either discharge down the pipe with the running water or attach to the spring to be pulled out.
The beauty about this tool is that you can attack the blockage from either end of the pipe based on where you can get the best access."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Amazing results
27 May 2013
By cheshirecat
, Livingston
"The bathroom sink was backed up and I decided on this one as it has 25-feet of cabling - others had only 6-feet and I wasn't prepared to assume the blockage was that close.
I thought it a good idea to watch a demonstration vid on YouTube first to get the technique right and then take the trap off, leaving just one 90-degree down to the floor. Even when past that, twice I thought I'd broken through the blockage only to find the corkscrew empty and it was just another 90-degree I'd got round! Until...bingo! A collossal gob of gunk, hair, goo and slime about 2-inch long and the full width of the pipe came out. It had drilled right through the blockage, allowing me to yank the lot out. So much came out in one go, I had a bit of difficultly getting the wire out again, This was a full 6-feet down, as it happened.
Then despair - it still wouldn't drain, even after feeding through 14-feet of cable that came out clean. Oddly, when I slowly released the thread just beyond the trap, air would hiss in and the water drained away! The pipe must have been clear, but there was a swirling airlock somewhere. Dunno. However, one blast with the sink plunger and it was away. Job done. The sink now drains like a tornado! Took me an hour in total.
Only thing I'd say it that it might be handy if the handle locked in place, rather than being able to swivel. But with patience and perseverence, this thing will save you time, worry and lots of dosh."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worked a treat
25 May 2013
By ShropshireBlue
, Shropshire
"After unsuccessfully trying to unblock a bathroom sink using a plunger, I contemplated calling someone out (and the charge that goes with that) vs trying one of these gizmos.
I'm a DIY novice and so the thought of shoving one of these down my pipes and then possibly getting it snagged was a definite worry.
But I read the reviews, the techniques used plus the hints and tips that people had kindly posted, and I decided to buy this piece of kit and have a go myself.
I removed the u bend trap, and started feeding in the spring, patiently, about 4 inches at a time. As it was only about 6 inches to the first bend, it made me more confident to practice the technique for getting the spring around bends. And sure enough, locking the collar and applying firm pressure with rotation, and a little patience and self belief, and it worked - I was around the first bend. And I just kept on going in the same way until I thought I had got to the main downpipe.
Then, deep breath, hoping I could get the thing out again, and I began to pull it out. It was a little nerve racking, doing it for the first time and having visions of this spring being caught stuck on something 4 feet down a drain pipe, but a little faith and applying the described technique of firm pulling pressure together with rotation worked.
And on the flared end part of the spring out came the source of the blockage - a stinky disgusting clag of black goo and matted hair. No wonder the pipe was blocked. No amount of plunging would have shifted it.
Quick clean up of the unblocker spring, re-assembled the u bend trap and that was it, job done. Flows 100% freely now.
Summary: Recommended. Just be patient and take it steady when using it, especially for the first time and you should be OK. :-)"
Review 15 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best £20 I've spent this year!
24 Apr 2013
By BAPS
, Gosport, Hants.
"I really cannot understnad how ANYONE could have a problem useing this tool ? Hoestly, I'm stunned.
I took it out of the bag. Looked at it for about 10 seconds. Put it together ( another 10-15 seconds). Then looked at the instructions to check I had done it right ( im a guy, thats what we do LOL).
Now for the test..... ALL of the reviews I had read so far have been people unblocking showers/ sinks Ect. mainly containing hair and soap Etc.... Mine was a blocked 32mm ABS urinal pipe in an engineering toilet block. Ask anyone who has worked on these and they will tell you that the pipes get blocked with a hard deposit, like a block of salt!!! I have tried all sorts over the years and if you cannot bang/scrape the pipe, youre going to find it tough. I had tried all my usual tricks and THIS pipe wasn't going to clear down. So I went to work with this product.
It took me about 30 seconds to work out that when you hit a bend dont, have more than 80-100mm of spring out, just "spin and push". Once past the bend, just push it through until you hit the next bend or an obstruction, then go in 80-100 mm at a time again as above.
The urinals were unblocked in about 20 minutes. I had a bout 4 MTRS of spring out before I hit clear pipe!! Probably back to the main 100mm soil pipe by then.
For £20.00 this is a great tool. theres nothing to break and it looks to be put togethere well. This piece of kit will stay in my van ready for the next time I need it ( which wont be long as the site I work on has over 200 buildings with 46 toilet blocks and this is to date the best tool I have used for unblocking small bore pipe!!!
You will not regret buying this tool. The only reget I have is that I didnt buy one SOONER!!!!!!"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A must for long-haired homes!
9 Feb 2013
By DjDanny32
, Luton
"Having tried various chemical unblockers on my shower and wash basin, I only seemed to make things worse - I guess it was just dislodging more and more gunk and bunching it together in one big blob.
Before calling out a plumber, I thought I'd get one of these as a last resort, but not holding out much hope as my DIY skills are pretty basic, to say the least!
But to my amazement, after a few goes, and watching a few videos on Youtube, I managed to extract a massive ball of hair and gunk from my waste pipe and it now drains like a dream!
If you're a total novice, I definitely recommend looking on Youtube for videos of a "plumber's snake" to get an idea of the technique, and don't give up. If you can remove the U-bend, you'll also find it a lot easier. If you're finding it harder to get it out of the pipe again, you've probably snagged some lovely gunk so just be patient and use the same rotating action as on the way in and don't pull too hard. You'll be back out again in no time.
It's a fairly sturdy piece of kit on the whole - I'm slightly worried about the longevity of the plastic handle as that seems a bit flimsy, but we'll see how it goes.
Good luck!"
Review 17 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It Works !
20 Jan 2013
By Andrewhastakenmyname
, London
"Half an hour's messing about and the cost of a good evening saved .
Instructions should read :
1. Remove wingnut.
2. Slide on handle whichever way you like.
3. Reattach wingnut loosely.
4. Measure distance from point of entry to
downpipe. *
5. Mark the coil at the same length.
6. Push the Unblocker in until resistance ( blockage or bend in pipe ) is reached.
7. Then tighten wingnut & push whilst turning.
8. Stop turning & unlock when resistence is gone.
9. Maybe wiggle if the distance in suggests you were on a straight pipe rather than at a bend, ie at the ( ex- ) blockage.
10. Repeat 6 to 9 until marker is reached.
11. Retract, locking and turning as necessary for bends. Warning : dirt will get flicked out from point of entry !
12. Repeat a few times for luck.
Contrary to some reports, the spring will wind through an 8mm hole in the middle of the sink waste, and will negotiate a 90degree bend in 35mm pipe ( winding required. )
Agreed, if you can remove a few bends ( eg the trap ), then it will be easier.
Enjoy !
* If you enter the downpipe, you will extract brown residue :("
Review 18 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Drain Unblocker
4 Jan 2013
By 142DM
, Newcastle upon Tyne
"Instead of wasting money on chemical products I should have purchased the drain unblocker first. Took me a couple of attempts to master the technique but once I had the hang of it the blockage was cleared. Would recommend, well worth the money."
Review 19 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
2 Jan 2013
By Oddbin
, Lancaster
"Worth every penny. Will go around the tightest u-bend with no problems. Far better than any plunger. Really worth it."
Review 20 for Drain Unblocker
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dirty and smelly but great
31 Dec 2012
By RAYDER
, Essex
"When I purchased this it was a lot bigger than I thought, I had problems with slow bath and sink water and the bath waste use to smell sometimes.
As I was replacing both bath and sink wastes so I took the u bends out, which gave me just one bend to get round, when using the unblocker I found it had to be quite close to the waste pipe entrance so you can force it round bends. As mentioned in other reviews just take your time and keep turning, when I retrieved the sprung wire cord there was some nasty smelly gunge on the end. I found it very easy to use and the cable retracted back ok . Well it did the trick no slow or smelly bath water and the sink water is a lot faster to.
"
Page : 1 2 3 next>