Product Reviews

Carbon Steel Tap & Die

Carbon Steel Tap & Die
Average Customer Rating:
2.148 out of 5
2.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 27 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
2
3 stars
7
2 stars
7
1 star
10
6 of 27(22%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Review 1 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Think hard!!
14 May 2012
By mushroom
, Edinburgh
" I've bought this set (11449) and looked at the images of 12080 and 12834. None of the taps appear to be starter taps. Some are bottom taps.
What does this mean? They will be good for repairing existing threads - and many will buy them for this purpose. It will be difficult or impossible to use these to create a thread. You need starter taps for that.
A very experienced professional may possibly know a magic way of using these to create a thread - but I'll bet that this wouldn't be his tool of first choice.
Nevertheless, if you use them for what they are really made for, they're good.
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set
2 Nov 2011
By roley
, Yorkshire Dales
" Good value but not yet been used to full capability. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tap & Die set review
28 Jul 2010
By Larsagi2010
, Chester
" I have never owned a set of these before so I am unable to compare them to other brands, however I will give as much as I can. I purchased this set to use on a Motorcycle. I have used it on 4 bolts and every one has come up like brand new first time. There is no signs of any wear or damage to the tool used on all 4. The only downside I could see was the handles did like unscrewing during usage (They are quite loose in the unit) but this didn't effect the tool in a bad way (Just meant it would have to be re-tightened from time to time. As for the hole in which my exhaust bolts went into... I managed to re-thread both female holes first time and I have now placed my newly threaded screws into the newly threaded female holes.. Both tightened up really tightly and seem to be solid. Before using the tool both screws would push into the holes without any turning action (Thats how shredded they were!) Now they work perfectly and seem solid. £34.98 I paid for the set, the exhaust bracket is £95 on its own so I have made some good money and have a Tap & Die set to show for it... A+ "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tap n Die Carbon 51peice
8 Sep 2014
By ZestyDunc
, Basildon
" Good budget tap and die set, good for cleaning up damaged threads, though not so good for cutting new ones! If you need a basic set this is good value with a range suitable for most common metric thread including coarse and fine pitch. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Carbon steel tap & die set
5 Jul 2014
By burkey1
, Northern Ireland
" I found the long handle tap wrench to be of poor quality, in that it did not hold the taps tight enough to allow proper use. "
Review 6 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Best for DIY?
6 Feb 2014
By boilerman1
, plymouth
" This is a fairly comprehensive set and for the money is very good value, I would'nt recomend it for constant trade use(unless its light duty), but for the DIY'er its a snip and will probably do everything you want to do with it.
It comes with a plastic storage case that keeps everything in its place, die holder could be a bit better quality but as said great kit for DIY.!, if you want a proffessional quality set of the same size, you WILL pay 5 times as much.
"
Review 7 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
hobby grade
29 Jan 2013
By HootMaRoot
, Stornoway
" not as good as some of the more expensive Tap & Die sets i have used but its a great piece of kit for hobby/home use "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
metric only
29 Jul 2012
By adagio
, Kent
" No imperial (inch) sizes in this large set, as I discovered too late. Packaging and catalogue description did not state it was metric only. Local branch accepted the product's return courteous and without fuss. "
Review 9 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
You get what you pay for
12 Apr 2012
By sprotty
, Yorkshire
" The sets OK, its just cheap. OK if you only expect to use a peice once or twice, but if you have a real need of a Tap & Die set then spend more "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value 4 money
19 May 2008
By Thebossman
, Durham
" If your looking for value for money, then this is a outstanding product. It has all the parts that you need and at a realistic and affordable price. But if your looking for a quality product then to be honest you get what you pay for these days. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as expected
19 Nov 2014
By W4Wox
, suffolk
" Product is well packaged and looks good unfortunately I didn't find the selection were up to what I was looking for.
The 'Taps' struggled to cope with starting a thread and the included Wrench did not connect with the thread in the handle as s such cannot be used - that was the point that I gave up - disappointed.
"
Review 12 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor
28 Sep 2014
By ChimneyDoc
, Leicestershire
" Like others, I found this next to useless. I bought it for one particular job, as having had a tool box with lots of various taps, had broken the one I needed.
The tap in the set had been cut very poorly and burs on it prevented it from cutting properly - no lead or second taps made it almost impossible to start, I when I did cut it, result was poor and loose.
The screw extractors did come in handy but not worth the cost just for those. "
Review 13 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Disappointed
17 Jul 2013
By sicklyorange
, West Lancs
" Use it for chasing/restoring thread? Nope! Not an M5 one at least.
I have only used the M5x0.8 tap and die to restore a thread and will be taking the set back:
The tap cut the hole too big.
The die cut the thread too small.
Now I have a sloppy fit.
Very disappointed but I'm sure the excellent staff at the Southport branch will have no problems with me taking it back. "
Review 14 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
You get what you pay for
22 Feb 2013
By Lambrettaman
, Nottinghamshire
" Its easy to look at the price and think "thats a bargain" but honestly don't bother with this. Its so poorly made I will be returning it straight away. When you buy a product and the manufacturer is not confident enough to put his name on it your in trouble and this could have been made any where by anybody. This would be OK for the absolute most basic of jobs but make no mistake this is not a precision tool. You have been warned. "
Review 15 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
TAP AND DIE SET
14 Jan 2013
By DISTRESSEDDIYer
, East Midlands
" I purchased the set to extract a sheared steel M8 bolt and to re-cut the thread.
You have to know how to use the tap and die set as no instructions are enclosed.
There are no health and safety instructions - you might want to think about eye protection when drilling out bolts.
The quality of the product was poor. I snapped one drill bit. Using hand pressure bent the tommy bar that held the easy out.
I also snapped one easy out. The fittings in the tap wrench that held the easy out 'fatigue cracked'. So I wasted a lot of time and did not get the job done.
I would guess if you are working aluminium or M4 or M6 bolts the set would be satisfactory. My local Screwfix dealer was most obliging and allowed me to exchange for the £79 tap and die set. "
Review 16 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51
21 Jul 2012
By Creuser69
, Hampshire
" This set will clean up threads.
If you want to cut new theads, this is not the set to do it.
Average!! "
Review 17 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not for the engineer
28 Feb 2012
By brandy
, Stratford on Avon
" In general you get what you pay for and this set is no exception. Supplied with plug taps and dies it is adequate for clearing existing threads perhaps but I am not really impressed with the overall quality and I am doubtful it will cope for very long actually cutting threads external or internal. If you need to cut new threads you need to work this set hard, probably too hard for the quality. You really need an engineers set of 3 taps per thread spec and at least a reversible die giving tapered and plug cutting. I should have realised when I bought them but I was in a hurry and needed a 10mm die to complete a job, and of course I was seduced by the price. On reflection it was a mistake taking into account what I really needed. "
Review 18 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tap and Die set
4 Oct 2014
By BikerMark
, Downpatrick
" I bought this set thinking it was good quality, ahh NO it aint, I wanted to tap 6 holes in the chassis of my van so I could re fit a towbar, half way through the 1st hole the tap wrench started to slip, I did oil the tap and I worked the tap back and forward so not to put the tap under too much stress, I would not recommend to anyone, in order to get the job done I had to use a 7mm spanner attached to the tap, not ideal because of leaverage issues, and it hurt my hand trying to get the job done. "
Review 19 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
tap and die set
18 Sep 2014
By djcv8
, essex
" Cheap but very poor quality, tap holder was useless and I finished up having to use a spanner.
Keep it in the work shop for small jobs but do not think you will use the set every day as it will not last.
"
Review 20 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 51 Piece Set
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
possibly the worst product eve
2 Aug 2014
By crazyblob
, Essex
" I had the misfortune to need this item and bought expecting the kit to have all the drills for all the taps at the correct drill size!!!!! Oh no it dont. I only had the catalogue as was away from home and that did not list everything the kit contained. I was trying to drill and tap for M8 this kit does not contain a tapping drill for this or many of the other sizes .
Hope i win the review prize so i can get my money back
"
Page : 1 2 next>