Product Reviews

Oilstone 200mm

Oilstone 200mm
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
0
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for Oil Stone 200mm
Review 1 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A fine sharpening Whetstone
17 Jun 2016
By
, Nantwich, Cheshire
" Two sides to first give a clean up, then a polish to a sharp edge. Works well with water to give a traditional blade bevel. No nonsense. "
Review 2 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best old stone
10 Oct 2014
By
, Rotherham
" Great to use on my tools and knives makes them better then they have ever been "
Review 3 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Two better than one
15 Jul 2016
By
, Tonbridge
" Having spent well over a year looking for my trusty old oil stone I finally gave up and purchased a new one from Screwfix. I applied a lavish amount of oil and was able, at last, to sharpen my plane and all my sets of garden shears. It did the job perfectly. As I carefully stashed it away in the garage and knocked over an old cardboard box to reveal, you guessed it, my old stone! Ah well, I now have two trusty oil stones. "
Review 4 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sharpening stone
12 Dec 2015
By
, Glasgow
" Not much to say. Good product and good value. Does what it says on the box. "
Review 5 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
It does its job well
22 Oct 2015
By
, Wales
" I've sharpened chisels, hand plane blades, and knives to an exceptional edge on this stone so far.
Pros
•longer than my previous stone so finding the appropriate angle for the cutting edge and bevel is much easier
•comes ready to use with water/oil
•2 grades of grit is convenient and gives a better edge
Cons
•too large to sharpen an axe, I'd recommend a hand held circle stone if you wish to sharpen an axe
•has to be re-flattened after time
Overall I would recommend this mostly because of its price and because it can be used straight out of the box. "
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tool
28 Aug 2015
By
, Lincolnshire
" Very good stone, put a very sharp edge on my old chisels and a hand plane blade. It does need a good soak in oil before use though. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Nice stone but . .
19 Aug 2015
By
, Huddersfield
" Bought a new stone as I have lost my old trusty! Stone seems fine and does what it should.
Beware - if you read previous reviews they mention that it comes in a plastic box. Not so, mine came in a paper wrapper! To be fair, I couldn't see this in the product description but the reviews did affect my decision. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oil stone
27 Sep 2014
By
, London
" Cheap and cheerful and does the job perfect and it comes in a handy plastic case..... "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oil stone
6 Jul 2013
By
, Risca
" Good quality product in a helpful plastic box. Difficult to rate reliability until I have used it for a while. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
No box
26 Dec 2014
By
, Killyleagh
" Pretty useless without a box. I'm taking it back unused. "
Review 11 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No longer comes in a box
13 Nov 2014
By
, Reading
" I ordered this online to collect in store. When I picked it up it was missing the 'handy box'. They refunded it and ordered me another as they had no others in stock.
Came to pick up the re-ordered item and still no box.
Bit of a shame..
Otherwise the stone performs fine for sharpening.
"
Review 12 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not as picture
27 Oct 2014
By
, Macclesfield
" Worked well for sharpening but did not come with the case as it shows you in the picture. "
Review 13 for Oil Stone 200mm
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Oil Stone
24 Oct 2014
By
, Blackpool
" No problem with the oil stone but disappointed that it now comes without the plastic box as advertised. Will now have to spend time and make one out of wood. "