Product Reviews

Tap And Die Set

Tap And Die Set
Average Customer Rating:
1.824 out of 5
1.8
 out of 
5
(34 Reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 34 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
2
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 star
22
10 of 34(29%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Review 1 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fixed damaged thread
9 May 2016
By
, Fleet
" Very quick and easy to use, enablng prompt reuse of chair, just need to paint now.. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good bit of kit
1 Apr 2016
By
, Baldock
" As a gas engineer I often come across broken screws etc.... This gets my customers up and running "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good for price
31 Jul 2015
By
, Loughborough
" Best I've had so far, reliable, easy to use, very compact "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reasonable kit
27 Feb 2016
By
, DEVON
" I have used only one of the taps to recut a thread it done the job thats all i wanted
I have given it low on performance and reliability as i have said i only used it the once
I would definitely recomend this set for the price it paid for itself with what i had to repair .
"
2 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I needed
30 May 2014
By
, Northampton
" Good starter set and did a great job at an economical price. "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK for the price
3 Jul 2015
By
, Birmingham
" Needed to re-tap the threads for the retaining nuts on a monoblock basin tap after the original threaded rod corroded. Did the job OK, and here's the but, firstly the handle quality is a weakness and secondly, why isn't there a matching set of drills. I.E. an 8 mm thread needs a 6.8mm drill, a 12 mm thread a 10.2mm drill. 10mm yes, close but not close enough to do the job properly.
A lot of the sizes needed are not available in the SF catalog and certainly not as a matching set. "
14 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD STARTER TAP SET
21 Apr 2015
By
, gloucester
" Got this for my daughter who doing engineering at college.A good set to get her started only problem is the taps havent got enought taper on the end to get them to bite.Over all good value for money "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for
19 Jul 2008
By
, Bristol
" Since I was in a hurry, and just needed to clean up a couple of M12 threads, this did the trick. Overall quality is as you would expect for £12.99, though (e.g. tap does not centre properly in the wrench due to poor quality casting) so invest in a more expensive set if you're serious or need precision. "
21 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Low Spec
16 May 2016
By
, Portsmouth
" All right to clean threads up, no much good at cutting a new one. The wrench is very poor quality resorted to using a wrench. If you need to use it all the time but a more quality product. "
Review 10 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy it nice or buy it twice
14 Jun 2012
By
, Salisbury
" But for the tap-handle it would be an average kit. Unfortunately they made the handle out of cheese-grade aluminium. The handle self-destroys at the slightest hint of effort.
The die-set is ok and is what you'd expect for this price. "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reasonable value
30 Oct 2009
By
, Farnham
" Not bad value considering what you get for the money. This set is more suited to cleaning up old / dirty / rusty threads than cutting new ones. the taps are more plug as they don't have much of a taper and the dies are not adjustable. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap but not great at all
30 Sep 2008
By
, Somerset
" We used this product as a back up on site for our higher quality dies & taps. The product finish was pretty poor and even on mild steel tube the taps deformed very quickly and wouldn't pick up. We ended up buying some UK manufactured taps (2 of which cost the same as this whole set) but we got the job done in a quarter of the time. Perhaps we expected too much from this item as it was very cheap. "
11 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not very Good
16 May 2016
By
, Bristol
" Lets be polite I got these to clean up a treaded hole and the taps are rubbish, could not cut through soft cheese.
Will try and return them as they are not fit for purpose "
Review 14 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor Product
11 May 2016
By
, Bedford
" Bought this set for occasional jobs at home but it is only useful for cleaning up damaged threads. The tap and die holders are useless as the material used is too weak. The 6mm tap I just tried cleaned a nut out but in the 6mm die the thread taper was opposite to the chamfered lead end in so it would not start on the rod and I ended up stripping the thread.
Save your money and buy quality items as needed.
"
Review 15 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
bottom of the rating
11 May 2016
By
, Nottingham
" Basic set and not for an experienced metal worker.
Bought mine because Screwfix didn't sell individual taps?
The tap wrench is useless and had to manage using an adjustable spanner.
If you have the cash for a set, upgrade.
"
Review 16 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Fit for the bin
26 Apr 2016
By
, London
" Get these to get me out of trouble on a site and wish I'd not bothered. The dies them self don't seem that bad, but the holder is a complete waste of time. Like everyone else has said it is make of cheap aluminium and after trying to cut one thread it started to round off.
Will be returning this to a local story asap. "
Review 17 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Utter Garbage
2 Mar 2016
By
, Derby
" Needed this at short notice to tap some stainless to attach another piece of fabrication, luckily I had the correct nuts and bolts with me as I ended up drilling and bolting it because these taps are utter garbage, not fit for anything other than the bin. "
Review 18 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst tool ever bought
12 Sep 2015
By
, Ipswich
" These are useless, I needed a cheap set of taps to do a job and got these! what a waste of time the holders are made of a silver cheese substance and don't hold the taps properly, there's no taper on the ends! utter rubbish in desperation to get the job done I sharpened a bolt with an angle grinder - it worked so much better. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the worst tap set ever
29 Jul 2015
By
, blackpool
" needed a tap quickly for an urgent job. A big mistake buying this one. The taps are only fit for use as a thread reclaimer not as suggested by the name as suitable for taping holes.
In over 35 years in engineering this is the worst set I have ever seen!!!
May never use screwfix again after this experience this product is certainly NOT a tap and die set.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tap and Die set
14 Jun 2015
By
, Helston
" This set is a waste of material. The tap handle is soft alloy and gets chewed up by the tap head and the one tap I used broke in the hole. DO NOT BUY OR USE UNLESS YOU INTEND TO TAP A THREAD INTO A SOFT METAL, USELESS FOR STEEL.
I bought this set from the Screwfix retail outlet, I wish I had read the reviews first! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>