Product Reviews

Tap And Die Set

Tap And Die Set
Average Customer Rating:
1.522 out of 5
1.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 23 reviews
5 stars
0
4 stars
1
3 stars
3
2 stars
3
1 star
16
5 of 23(22%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Review 1 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Just what I needed
30 May 2014
By flyright
, Northampton
" Good starter set and did a great job at an economical price. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK for the price
3 Jul 2015
By builditBob
, Birmingham
" Needed to re-tap the threads for the retaining nuts on a monoblock basin tap after the original threaded rod corroded. Did the job OK, and here's the but, firstly the handle quality is a weakness and secondly, why isn't there a matching set of drills. I.E. an 8 mm thread needs a 6.8mm drill, a 12 mm thread a 10.2mm drill. 10mm yes, close but not close enough to do the job properly.
A lot of the sizes needed are not available in the SF catalog and certainly not as a matching set. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
GOOD STARTER TAP SET
21 Apr 2015
By denzel
, gloucester
" Got this for my daughter who doing engineering at college.A good set to get her started only problem is the taps havent got enought taper on the end to get them to bite.Over all good value for money "
Review 4 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
You get what you pay for
19 Jul 2008
By DaveN
, Bristol
" Since I was in a hurry, and just needed to clean up a couple of M12 threads, this did the trick. Overall quality is as you would expect for £12.99, though (e.g. tap does not centre properly in the wrench due to poor quality casting) so invest in a more expensive set if you're serious or need precision. "
18 of 18 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Buy it nice or buy it twice
14 Jun 2012
By jonnouk
, Salisbury
" But for the tap-handle it would be an average kit. Unfortunately they made the handle out of cheese-grade aluminium. The handle self-destroys at the slightest hint of effort.
The die-set is ok and is what you'd expect for this price. "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reasonable value
30 Oct 2009
By T1mbo
, Farnham
" Not bad value considering what you get for the money. This set is more suited to cleaning up old / dirty / rusty threads than cutting new ones. the taps are more plug as they don't have much of a taper and the dies are not adjustable. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap but not great at all
30 Sep 2008
By Jedders
, Somerset
" We used this product as a back up on site for our higher quality dies & taps. The product finish was pretty poor and even on mild steel tube the taps deformed very quickly and wouldn't pick up. We ended up buying some UK manufactured taps (2 of which cost the same as this whole set) but we got the job done in a quarter of the time. Perhaps we expected too much from this item as it was very cheap. "
11 of 11 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
the worst tap set ever
29 Jul 2015
By cjays
, blackpool
" needed a tap quickly for an urgent job. A big mistake buying this one. The taps are only fit for use as a thread reclaimer not as suggested by the name as suitable for taping holes.
In over 35 years in engineering this is the worst set I have ever seen!!!
May never use screwfix again after this experience this product is certainly NOT a tap and die set.
"
Review 9 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tap and Die set
14 Jun 2015
By Jturpin
, Helston
" This set is a waste of material. The tap handle is soft alloy and gets chewed up by the tap head and the one tap I used broke in the hole. DO NOT BUY OR USE UNLESS YOU INTEND TO TAP A THREAD INTO A SOFT METAL, USELESS FOR STEEL.
I bought this set from the Screwfix retail outlet, I wish I had read the reviews first! "
Review 10 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
taps and dies
18 May 2015
By tonyxxxxxxxxxxxyyyy
, cambridge
" Poor quality, came with 2 ×M5 taps and no M6 replaced with larger set and that was not up to the job "
Review 11 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste your money
12 Feb 2015
By Andynlp
, Liverpool
" I unfortunately wrote down the wrong number and ended up with this cheap set! Waste of space, the handle is rubbish! Don't buy unless you tapping into cheese!! "
Review 12 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't waste money on this
8 Jan 2015
By AuburnCrawf
, Cardiff
" I bought this so that I could re-thread a well head cover. I should have done more research as unfortunately as soon as I started using it the handle (soft metal) started to round off as the Tap was not able to sit in the handle very well and slipped.
I am now going to reinvest into a better quality handle.
"
Review 13 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Moment of weakness
1 Jan 2015
By classicd
, Eastbourne
" You know how it is when you are a bit hard up just after christmas? Well beware you could buy something like this!
The set is as described as far as it goes. I wanted to cut an M6 thread in some aluminum. Waste of time the taps supplied are bottom taps not second or taper the thread refused to get started on two tries. I then had to change design and use a self tap screw instead. The dies are not split dies either, the holders are just about OK for the price, box is probably the best bit!
Learn from my mistake if it looks too cheap save up and buy better. "
Review 14 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
May be useful as a door stop?
7 Oct 2014
By Whiffy
, Gloucester
" But it is certainly no good for cutting threads.
Absolute rubbish!!
I know it's cheap and you get what you pay for but I am not sure the dies would put a thread on a piece of cheese!
And the die stock is rubbish with loose handles etc.
All in all a waste of time and money "
Review 15 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wish I'd read other reviews!
28 Apr 2014
By ikbrunel
, Somerset
" As the title and rating suggests ! Don't buy this in the first place, and if you have already bought it, under no circumstances use it because it is not fit for purpose. I just wonder why a company like Screwfix feels the need to even bother selling this product. "
Review 16 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
No no no.
10 Oct 2013
By WigmorePumps
, Medway, Kent.
" OK for chasing out worn threads, but don't think to yourself that you will be able to do any fresh thread creation from virgin metal. For this purpose, this set is utterly useless. "
Review 17 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
16pc Carbon Steel Tap & Die Se
21 May 2013
By solentangler
, Isle of Wight
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I bought this set so I could extend the treads on a u-bolt. The new thread the die cut was very shallow and nowhere like the sharpness of the original existing thread.
The nuts would not screw properly onto the threads I cut.
I feel this products is not fit for purpose.
"
Review 18 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tap and Die Set
12 Oct 2012
By Badservice
, Cheltenham
" The alloy handle on this set was soft and weak and the taps soon chewed is gripping position. The alloy used was far too soft. Waste of money. "
Review 19 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
17 Jun 2012
By isdv
, Somerset
" At any price I'd expect a tap to be able to re-cut a thread.
Used this to re-cut a thread in a press fixing on our metal computer chassis after the press had slightly deformed the fixing. The fixing stripped the tap!
Taps are nowhere near hard enough. You would be better off buying individual pieces. "
Review 20 for Carbon Steel Tap & Die Set 16Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very Poor
12 May 2012
By 45133
, Nottingham
" Tap would not even cut one thread in soft iron. Die would not even fit properly onto a rod with thread already. Took it straight back "
Page : 1 2 next>