Product Reviews

MK 50A Pull Cord Switch & Neon

MK 50A Pull Cord Switch & Neon
Average Customer Rating:
2.895 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
5
10 of 19(53%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Review 1 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good shower switch
2 May 2014
By
, Taunton
"This switch is a good quality product that is smooth to operate when assembled correctly. The previous switch was difficult to operate and eventually failed. If the switch is sticky in operation take it back as it is faulty."
Review 2 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT
20 Dec 2012
By
, Newark Notts
"AS ALLWAYS GOOD WELL THOUGHT OUT PRODUCT AND CONSTANT MK QUALITY"
Review 3 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
You get what you pay for
15 Jun 2014
By
, London
"I replaced the shower switch about a year ago with a cheaper alternative product which has since failed. The MK switch was more substantial and has a satisfying 'firmness' to the switch.
I am not an electrician but did not find it difficult to wire in the earth despite there only being one terminal - once all wires were cut to the appropriate length this was not a difficult task.
This switch has only been installed for a week but there have been no 'teething' issues and I hope that it will be a lot more than a year before I need to replace it."
Review 4 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MK 50A Pullcord Sw + Neon
22 Oct 2011
By
, Totton, Hants
"Excellent product as always from MK. Easy to fit and well made."
Review 5 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
50amp Pull Switch
10 Oct 2011
By
, Loughborough
"Worth paying a little extra for the quality. Smooth action switch"
Review 6 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
pull cord switch
16 Sep 2011
By
, brighton
"good simple switch. does what it should. Had no trouble in installing and has a solid feel when cord is pulled. not sure if cord will last too long but we dont use the shower many times in a day."
Review 7 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value shower pull
14 Mar 2011
By
, Horsham
"A good value shower pull. Needs quite a hard pull to switch it on. We hope that it will loosen up a bit in time. Can't rate reliability yet as only been in use for a month."
Review 8 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed
31 May 2014
By
, Norfolk
"As a professional electrician, I need my customers to feel confident that I am installing good quality gear. Unfortunately, in the last couple of years I have had a few of these switches fail (even new ones straight out of the packet), which makes me look bad.
Used to love MK, but the quality seems to to have deteriorated lately which is a shame.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Real Swine To Connect Cables
2 May 2014
By
, Hamilton
"My bathroom is absolutely stinking of sweaty body - mine! The existing generic switch packed in and I couldn't get a shower before going to work last night. I bought the new MK one on my way home and it has just taken me 35 minutes of arm-aching work to fit a simple switch to existing cabling - a job that should take less than 5 minutes.
It is rated at 50 Amps, so the manufacturers should expect 10mm square cables to be connecting with it, but they obviously didn't measure the inside diameter of the shared single earth terminal hole while it was on the design bench. Talk about trying to cram a square peg into a round hole!! Doing this up near ceiling level in a claustrophobic bathroom was guaranteed to turn the air very blue. I am now going to have to use some of that aromatherapy shower gel designed to help you unwind and de-stress yourself.
The nylon cord is very stretchy compared with the cord on the no-name brand that packed in, and if the truth be told I don't think the build quality is even as good as that generic switch with TWO earth terminals I have just replaced. We'll see how long this one lasts.
MK didn't think this one out properly, and it is very annoying from an otherwise excellent manufacturer."
Review 10 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
positive switch
23 Jan 2014
By
, Hove
"This appears to be a nice smooth action switch, only issue I found (and as mentioned by previous review), there is only ONE earth terminal.
As it is an MK switch and therefore supposed to be top of the range I find it very disturbing that the design has not been thought out.
The switch has only been in position for 2 months so I have only given average ratings.
"
Review 11 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with N
23 Jan 2013
By
, chester
"My failed 2 yrs found out has 20 yr gaurantee
mk website technical dept.
sent back paid post £2.36 royal mail , they sent new one 5 days later.
"
Review 12 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Could do better
10 Feb 2010
By
, UK
"The switch seems solid enough, however one major annoyance is with the earth terminal. There is only one, so it is quite a wrestling match trying to get two 10mm earth cables into one terminal. - The noname switch it replaced had two terminals and was very easy to wire.
Would not buy again."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Mk pull cord switch
24 Nov 2009
By
, london
"In all im happy with the sower safety switch, good sturdy design."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Faulty unit
12 Apr 2014
By
, Electrician
"Fitted into new installation!, poor connection internally. Going back to exchange so costing me time and money. Not expected from a premium brand."
Review 15 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
VERY POOR PRODUCT
9 Sep 2014
By
, colchester
"I am about to go back to Screwfix for the fifth (yes 5th) time to get a replacement. Every one of the previous 4 switches have been MK but the 5th won't be. After about a week the led light would only work if you pulled the cord 3 times and as time progresses the pull mechanism becomes so stiff you can nearly swing on it before it clicks on. Also 3 of the 4 have burnt out internally, my shower is a new 10 kilowatt Triton with all new wiring and my electrician said it can only be down to being a poorly made switch. Can't believe a MK product can be so bad, my father in law will be turning in his grave, he was an old school sparky and would only fit MK."
Review 16 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Hard to wire and died
5 Apr 2014
By
, Worcester
"Sturdy feeling model. However as others noted only one earth connector which made this a *real* struggle to fit.
It has a rotary switch as well as neon for power indication which is nice, but the mechanism does take a bit of pulling to turn the switch. Had hoped this would ease off with use, but it didn't.
Switch failed within 1 yr. Power flickers as the switch is in transit between on and off, but that's it.
Previous switch lasted round 10 years so obviously disappointed."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Replacement For Failed unit
27 Mar 2014
By
, NOTTINGHAM
"I purchased this as an exact replacement for a unit i purchased from Screwfix previously. As it was past a year old, i could not exchange and had to buy new. I only have a 8KW shower with 10mm cabling and it burnt out in just over a year, so if it does it again , i will but a nother make. There are cheaper ones around but i thought this was a quality product so paid the extra. Lets wait and see."
Review 18 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor shower switch from MK
19 Aug 2012
By
, kishorn
"I don't believe MK can make these, they must be just branded MK. I have had to change about 5 in the last 5 years, the rotary indicator jamms up and at best you have to WD40 that part of it. Also one earth terminal is a poor design, would have expected better from the top manufacturer."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for MK 50A Pull Cord Switch with Neon
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Failing after six months
11 Dec 2011
By
, Manchester
"MK has a reputation for quality - this is the reason I chose this brand to replace a failed inferior product fitted by a Contractor.
The shower is used once a day and the power is turned off after each use.
Now after approx six months it crackles when switched on. The shower is not heating water when the switch is operated so no significant current is being switched. A second switch pull is necessary to give a 'clean' contact.
It will be replaced as soon as I find a better quality switch that will fit the square box.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.