Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

7 Program Thermostat

7 Program Thermostat
Average Customer Rating:
4.641 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
8
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
0
38 of 39(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Review 1 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Horstman
15 Feb 2015
By velocette
, Sheppertonj
" First class older style thermostat.could do with backlight facility..Easy to programme.
Screwfix gave a 1st class service changing a different model thermostat which became faulty
after 10 days use.!
"
Review 2 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Versatile room thermostat
10 Feb 2015
By SimonDIY
, London
" This is the third one I have put in various family members homes. Easy to install, 7 day programmer allows temperature to be set at different times of the day and different days. I use it to put temp up just before getting up, reduce it when we go to work, back up for evening and down when going to bed. Different settings for weekend. Simple to use with override button when needed. I've had the original one for 4 years with no hassles. Supplied batteries lasted over 3 years. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
First Class
7 Feb 2015
By Davut
, Norfolk
" I have underfloor heating downstairs and rads up and was looking for something to replace the 2 Honeywell analogue stats I had, I looked at the Honeywell direct replacement before deciding on these ones, not least because I could buy these two for the price of one Honeywell model. I also read the reviews here and was impressed with what people were saying,
Set up with the boiler always on I can control the underfloor heating by the new room stat, This is also on all the time except for the short periods of the day when the hot water fires up, I have notice already that the underfloor has only fired very infrequently as a constant temperature has been much easier to maintain.
The upstairs rads are set up to come on 15 minutes before we get up and go off at the time the last of us usually takes a shower, As these times vary due to days of in the week and weekends the 7 day programmer is excellent.
The only reason I have slightly marked down reliability is, as others have said, only time will tell, So far I am very pleased with my purchase.
"
Review 4 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ideal alternative
3 Feb 2015
By PeteG
, Devon
" Having been quoted over £100 for a replacement time clock for my combi boiler, fitting this unit in place of the room thermostat and leaving the time clock on permanently solved all my problems. Easily installed on a 2 wire system, it has many more features than the old time clock and is easy to program and use. "
Review 5 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Replacement
3 Dec 2014
By bcsc
, Suffolk
" After struggling with a Honeywell 9400 where the display had all but failed, I fitted this in 15 mins.
So far unit has performed well and is easy to use with large display showing current & target temperature.
Good value for money. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
17 Nov 2014
By Beancounter
, North Devon
" A step up from my previous Horstmann thermostat that saw its temperature sensor lose calibration after many years use. Easy to fit, easy to programme and temperature sensor is accurate when measured against a thermometer. Reliability will only be measured over time, but so far, one happy customer of a good value product. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Saving value
13 Nov 2014
By mikemac
, Cambridge
" Value for money temperature control replacing analogue unit with a programmable digital unit will no doubt save money on heating costs in a very short period. Only rate at 4* on reliability as only recently installed. Would certainly recommend this unit as real value for money. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room T
10 Nov 2014
By Scunny
, Maidstone
" Very easy to install. I have only marked it down on reliability as I have only just installed it but so far so good.
FIRST CLASS SERVICE FROM SCREWFIX AND THE CHEAPEST PRICE AROUND. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
thermostat
18 Nov 2013
By Hackerdog
, Lyme Regis
" Great product.A replacement for one that i had for a number of years. "
Review 10 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy install & set-up
25 Sep 2013
By charlie13
, Huddersfield
" Replaced an old mechanical thermostat with this unit to allow us to set different temperatures over different periods of day/night, max. 6 different periods available in this unit. Also good to be able to see reading of actual vs set-point temperature. Very straightforward to install, designed to be wall mounted or over existing single/double gang set-in box and I happened to have an existing single gang box from the original stat to mount over (fixing centres the same). It was a simple changeover of the two wires into terminals on this new programmer, but I did check beforehand to make sure the existing stat was low volt/volt free and all the electrics in the house were isolated of course. I downloaded the user instructions from the Horstmann website and they seemed sligthly clearer to follow that the sheet that came in the box, but whichever you use it's very easy to set up and the copy function is great. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent room stat
17 Sep 2013
By Grumpygrey
, Woking
" Replaced a manual Honeywell roomstat with this programmable one. Also replaced old analogue programmer with the Horstmann Centaur 27. They make a great pair. The two give total control of heating and hot water. Only gave 4 for performance as not sure how accurate the temperature is. They work well together and am sure they will provide the flexibility I need for the coming years.
Got an electrician to connect them for me but both only took an hour.
"
Review 12 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Working well
18 Apr 2013
By Zeitgeist
, Basingstoke
" I replaced a broken mechanical dial thermostat with this one.
It was very easy to install. The only issue I had was tidying away and insulating unused wires from the previous install.
As for the set-up of the device itself, following the instructions went well. Once I got the hang of it, it was also easy to amend the temperature ranges. This gives far more control than I ever had before. Its also nice to be able to see at a glance the current temperature.
Overall, I am very happy with the product. Can't yet talk about reliability - as it has only been operating for one month. "
Review 13 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent digital thermostat
9 Dec 2012
By Rich50
, Manchester
" My old Honeywell thermostat was working fine but I wanted more control over temperature day by day. This replacement was a doodle to fit and after a bit of planning ( times and temps) easy to set-up. After 3 or 4 weeks use I now have it tuned to perfection and I am really pleased with it. Running controls are simple ( override up down or lock) .
(Hope it lasts as long as the Honeywell which must be 25+ years old)
"
Review 14 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excelent Thermostat
4 Nov 2012
By trevg
, Maidenhead
" This is the second unit I have bought, for another house. It offers great flexability with day by day programming as well as immediate change by touching the plus or minus buttons you can change the set temperature until the next time slot.
Simple and effective, and at a good price.
"
Review 15 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great money saving product
26 Oct 2012
By Nomis7045
, France
" I have moved around a fair bit and always seem to end up installing this brilliant piece of kit. My present house is quite rambling and I have divided it into four zones using the C27 and motorised valves. It has halved our oil bill and we are more comfortable than before - no more complaints from her indoors, hooray !! "
Review 16 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Horstmann Centaurstat 7
11 Mar 2012
By HedgeEndAndy
, Hedge End
" Very easy to install.
I had an old mechanical stat with live, switch, neutral and earth. This unit requires only the live and switch.
The redundant neutral wire can be parked in a terminal slot, the redundant earth cable was wrapped, well insulated and tucked away.
The unit has 6 programmable periods per day which can easily be reduced to less periods if required or locked to a set temperature if so desired. It has a neat copy facility so that when 1 day is programmed to your satisfaction it may be copied to the next day and the next, etc, making it less time consuming to program a whole week!
It is worth noting the control unit must have the central heating permanently on for this device to operate as it was designed to do. Have no fear though, because you only have to set the temp to a low setting for the boiler to switch off, and this can be all part of your overall daily cycle meaning you benefit with reduced heating bills.
The temperature controls maybe overridden at any time giving you complete control of the unit. I have TRVs fitted to the radiators in most rooms which not only give temperature control of each room but allows for greater reduction in your heating bills, (why heat rooms you are not using?)
This unit can be toggled through specific screens. they are: current temperature and clock. It has a target temperature common to both screens. I have the temperature display allowing me to see what the current ambient temperature is and the target temperature setting.
My only comment is: I would have like to see a backlight with this device, but if you have the lights on, where's the issue?
I am so impressed that this unit still gets top marks.
I hope this review will help other buyers making an informed choice.
I cannot comment on reliability because its only been installed for a number of days but so far, so good. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Room Stat.
25 Feb 2012
By DQS7836
, Yarm
" Fitted this brilliant piece of kit after many complaints by the good lady of the house that the temperature was never right.
The temperature is now controlled in such a manner that it's warm when we are relaxing on an evening and cool (but never cold), when we are sleeping and warms up nicely for when we rise, just leave the central heating programmer on constant.
It is capable of having it's set temperature overridden for the programmed period or permanantly.
It's dead easy to programme and the copy function makes this a breeze for setting up for the 7 day period.
I was so impressed with this device that I bought another one for my daughter's house.
The only downside is that if you are replacing an old room stat which is fitted onto a back box then you will need a pattress otherwise you will have a little gap at the top and bottom. The pattress is free from Horstmann but you need to contact them to get one. Don't know why they are not supplied as standard.
You won't get better than this and at the price screwfix charge, that's a certainty.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cracking little device
15 Oct 2011
By jakofalltrades
, West Yorks
" The first one I bought was the best thing I have ever bought ! So much so that I got another for my son.
Easy to use. It's got more on/off times than I will ever use & it's totally reliable. Every feature you could want. Simple to install as well. At the price you can't possibly run your central heating without one !! Fantastic "
Review 19 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
P.K.Harris
17 Sep 2011
By dryer
, Paulton Bristol
" This is the my second purchuse of a Horstmann centaurstat 7 room thermostat which i would recomend as a first class product . "
Review 20 for Horstmann Centaurstat 7 Room Thermostat
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well and reliable
25 Apr 2011
By ThetfordAL
, Norfolk
" Allows different temperatures for different times of the day, awesome for saving money on heating bills. Batteries lasted a long time and has been reliable for years. Recommended. "
Page : 1 2 next>