Product Reviews

Hollow wall anchor setting.

Hollow wall anchor setting.
Average Customer Rating:
3.903 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(31 Reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (31 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
24 of 31(77%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Setting Tool
Review 1 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
does the job fine
10 May 2014
By LukeP
, Pontypridd
"Only used on 4 fixings so far but it makes easy work of setting anchors in plasterboard and the tool feels reasonably well made. Only given 3 stars for reliability as haven't used it for long enough to rate this either way."
Review 2 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as advertised
3 Mar 2014
By BromleyDaz
, Kent
"I read lots of reviews of hollow wall anchors that talked about difficulty setting them, so I invested in one of these before starting my projects. So far all anchors were set absolutely fine and are very stable. Money well spent."
Review 3 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
17 May 2013
By Ewan
, Livingston
"So after years and year of trying to set hollow wall anchors just using a cordless driver I decided to buy the proper tool for my latest project. O M G Just Brilliant!!! If you are looking twice and thinking its a waste of money, do not waste anymore time. Just wish id bought one years ago."
Review 4 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes life easy
22 Apr 2013
By Stef6421
, Fife
"I bought this tool to try as I do alot of plasterboard fixings.
It's cheap and cheery, does an excellent job and exactly what everyone needs.
It's a good quality tool but I had to fix mine straight out the box. Ok I should have taken it back but it was an easy reliable fix.
One of the E-clips holding one of the pins in was missing, so I replaced it with a small circlip - job done.
Would recommend this to anyone. If you want to be sure of how it works and familiarise yourself with it, I suggest getting a scrap of wood or plasterboard and trying a fixing on it."
Review 5 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
must have tool
25 Nov 2012
By Anonymous
, Paignton
"Anyone who has tried to use the metal hollow wall anchors with a screwdriver and pair of pliers to stop them spinning must have been banned from the room for swearing. I spent 2hours putting 8 in, away from my setting tool, and have vowed never to bother trying again. You think you can but they either spin and ruin the hole or you ruin the screw head with the force needed.
Essential tool and it works very well."
Review 6 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
get one
5 Oct 2012
By billymultifinish
, west wales
"cant fault this.
always did this the hard way , using the screw to expand the fixing....dont bother its not worth the stress...just get one of these. most of the houses i work in now are stud walls so itll pay for itself in one job...saves loads of messing about..
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good
17 Sep 2012
By Anonymous
, Dunstable
"I dont often review but cant fault this item , i was trying to use the cavety anchors without it and our plasterboard is rubish and i kept just putting wholes in the board as the teeth did not grip and was getting very stressed !!
Since having this tool i have put up a TV, Shelves , a wooden batten for a very hevey work bench and all have worked perfectly.
i am a bit worried about previous reviews saying this device breaks but so far looks good and strong.
only thing im a little let down on is the cost as i saw the same tool since (or very simular) for cheaper but maybe this is better quality ? i would not know.
Screwfix how ever superb as allways!!
would recomend this tool for anyone with cavety/plasterboard walls."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect tool for wall anchors
26 Jul 2012
By DeeEmmCee
, South East London
"This setting tool greatly simplifies the process of fixing wall anchors in place. No more spinners or the frustration of trying to tighten up using a screwdriver only. It's worth sacrificing one anchor to get a feel for the pressure required to set it. The tool is solid and I can't imagine the handle buckling under pressure as suggested in other reviews."
Review 9 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tool
28 May 2012
By sleepyzzz
, S Wales
"The easy way to set hollow wall anchors. Anchors fitted first time every time, no spinners"
Review 10 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wall anchor setting tool
5 Oct 2011
By stella
, Essex
"It does what it says on the tin! Saves all of the aggravation experienced when just drilling a hole and using a screwdriver to tighten the anchor up. Success every time!"
Review 11 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
excellent tool
21 Jun 2011
By Penfold
, Uddingston
"Having been fed up trying to fit expanding hollow wall anchors using a screwdriver and hoping that the thing will not rotate in the wall, I decided to spend some money and buy a setting tool. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! The tool is easy to use, does the job perfectly every time and makes what was a slow, hit and miss affair into a quick and easy job every time. The only reason that I gave it 3 stars for reliability is because I have only recently purchased the tool but it does feel as though it is a quality piece of kit. Thanks again Screwfix"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WELL MADE GREAT PRICE !
5 May 2011
By derek2
, Newark Notts
"EXCELLENT TOOL, FEELS LIKE IT WILL LAST, MAKES THE JOB OF USING THESE FIXINGS MUCH EASYIER"
Review 13 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setting Tool
22 Mar 2011
By unhandyman
, Cumbria
"I've had this tool for a year now, fitting upwards of fifty anchors, and it is great for a DIYer like me. It works with screwfix wall anchors, but it didn't work with some I got from my local store as the heads didn't fit into the tool. So it doesn't fit all anchors.
That said, I would never try to use wall anchors in plasterboard with just a screwdriver as there is a risk the lugs will not hold and cause the fitting to rotate. This tool prevents that eventuality as it just gives the screw a linear pull and is very quick.
A good and inexpensive tool."
Review 14 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first
14 Mar 2011
By lennyj
, perth
"This is a first class tool well worth the money.Very easy to use."
Review 15 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wish I had one years ago
26 Jan 2009
By scotsengineeer
, Edinburgh
"This tool for setting hollow wall anchors is great, previously I have used the screw provided, and occasionally damaged the plasterboard surface, or worn the screw thread. Now I can easily fit anchors, in places like ceilings where it would be a pain to old the anchor and turn the screw.
Wish I had one years ago."
Review 16 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setting Tool - Brilliant
2 Jan 2009
By Wizardhouse
, Portishead
"For those of you with modern plasterboard walls! - Well you really need one of these. Instead of using a screwdriver to tighten the cavity anchors - this pulls them forward causing no damage to the plaster surface and providing a quick and safely fitted anchor bolts ready for use."
Review 17 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well worth the purchase
2 Jul 2014
By PaulGSA
, Weymouth
"Originally considered I wouldn't require this tool as I've use the fixings without it in the past but so glad I did as it speeded up the job considerably and ensured the fixings where correctly positioned. Well worth the purchase."
Review 18 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what is required
13 Mar 2014
By Baylander
, Northern Ireland
"After reading one review that explained how to use it -10mm drill and 2 full presses of the trigger - the tool worked perfectly. Seems very robust and so I was surprised by reviews which found that the trigger collapsed when pressure was applied - I find that hard to imagine but perhaps the tool has been strengthened since then."
Review 19 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Lifesaving little tool
29 Apr 2013
By Spud55
, Bristol
"Solved a problem fixing to a tiled plasterboard wall where I couldn't locate the studs.
Drilled the hole and filed two little notches to stop the fixings from spinning and it worked like a charm.
Really simple and effective and well worth the small amount it cost. A definite lifesaver."
Review 20 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rawlplug setting tool
18 Dec 2012
By swanserve
, cornwall
"great value ,good quality would recommend this tool to anyone ,trade or DIY"
Page : 1 2 next>