Product Reviews

Hwa Set Tool

Hwa Set Tool
Average Customer Rating:
3.884 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 43 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
10
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
33 of 43(77%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Setting Tool
Review 1 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Setting Tool
15 Dec 2014
By Laurie2212
, East Yorkshire
" After making a mess with the fixings rotating in the hole whilst tightening up (barbs not fixing into the plasterboard), I decided to buy one of these to set the fittings - wished I had bought one years ago - quick, easy to use and fittings are secure each and every time.
Saves time and money - what else can I say?
Not given 5 stars for reliability as have only used a few times up to now.
"
Review 2 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended
8 Nov 2014
By davegkiwi
, Aylesbury
" It makes the installation of anchors so much easier, without messing up the drywall. "
Review 3 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Metal plasterboard fixings
7 Nov 2014
By DIYerRoger
, Ilkley
" I have used these in the past without the tool - thinking it a waste of time.
However, sometimes the fixing has started to rotate in the wall or the thread has bound with dust while tightening the fitting and I have ended up with a mess.
This time I needed to place the fixings accurately and it would be a problem if they were not set first time in the correct location so I bought the setting tool.
Simply insert the head of the screw in the slot on the tool and pump the lever a few times to pull the screw (similar mechanism to a mastic cartridge gun) and activate the grips until it wont tighten any more, then press the release trigger.
The fixing is much more precisely set and a lot quicker than by screwing it up.
Well worth the cost.
"
Review 4 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Simple setting tool
26 Sep 2014
By Letters
, Newcastle
" I struggled to properly fix a cavity wall anchor so popped down to my local screw fix and the guy in the store ( Chris ) couldn't have been more helpful . He recommended this setting tool and the rest is history! After using the tool the anchors are fitted easily and securely . Although there were no instructions it was so easy to understand how to operate it. Money very well spent . Don't hesitate to buy one , a much better and easier job "
Review 5 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliable equipment
6 Sep 2014
By Briso1
, East lothian
" Simple to use even although there were no instructions included in the box "
Review 6 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
does the job fine
10 May 2014
By LukeP
, Pontypridd
" Only used on 4 fixings so far but it makes easy work of setting anchors in plasterboard and the tool feels reasonably well made. Only given 3 stars for reliability as haven't used it for long enough to rate this either way. "
Review 7 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exactly as advertised
3 Mar 2014
By BromleyDaz
, Kent
" I read lots of reviews of hollow wall anchors that talked about difficulty setting them, so I invested in one of these before starting my projects. So far all anchors were set absolutely fine and are very stable. Money well spent. "
Review 8 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
17 May 2013
By Ewan
, Livingston
" So after years and year of trying to set hollow wall anchors just using a cordless driver I decided to buy the proper tool for my latest project. O M G Just Brilliant!!! If you are looking twice and thinking its a waste of money, do not waste anymore time. Just wish id bought one years ago. "
Review 9 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makes life easy
22 Apr 2013
By Stef6421
, Fife
" I bought this tool to try as I do alot of plasterboard fixings.
It's cheap and cheery, does an excellent job and exactly what everyone needs.
It's a good quality tool but I had to fix mine straight out the box. Ok I should have taken it back but it was an easy reliable fix.
One of the E-clips holding one of the pins in was missing, so I replaced it with a small circlip - job done.
Would recommend this to anyone. If you want to be sure of how it works and familiarise yourself with it, I suggest getting a scrap of wood or plasterboard and trying a fixing on it. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
must have tool
25 Nov 2012
By Anonymous
, Paignton
" Anyone who has tried to use the metal hollow wall anchors with a screwdriver and pair of pliers to stop them spinning must have been banned from the room for swearing. I spent 2hours putting 8 in, away from my setting tool, and have vowed never to bother trying again. You think you can but they either spin and ruin the hole or you ruin the screw head with the force needed.
Essential tool and it works very well. "
Review 11 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
get one
5 Oct 2012
By billymultifinish
, west wales
" cant fault this.
always did this the hard way , using the screw to expand the fixing....dont bother its not worth the stress...just get one of these. most of the houses i work in now are stud walls so itll pay for itself in one job...saves loads of messing about..
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very Good
17 Sep 2012
By Anonymous
, Dunstable
" I dont often review but cant fault this item , i was trying to use the cavety anchors without it and our plasterboard is rubish and i kept just putting wholes in the board as the teeth did not grip and was getting very stressed !!
Since having this tool i have put up a TV, Shelves , a wooden batten for a very hevey work bench and all have worked perfectly.
i am a bit worried about previous reviews saying this device breaks but so far looks good and strong.
only thing im a little let down on is the cost as i saw the same tool since (or very simular) for cheaper but maybe this is better quality ? i would not know.
Screwfix how ever superb as allways!!
would recomend this tool for anyone with cavety/plasterboard walls. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect tool for wall anchors
26 Jul 2012
By DeeEmmCee
, South East London
" This setting tool greatly simplifies the process of fixing wall anchors in place. No more spinners or the frustration of trying to tighten up using a screwdriver only. It's worth sacrificing one anchor to get a feel for the pressure required to set it. The tool is solid and I can't imagine the handle buckling under pressure as suggested in other reviews. "
Review 14 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great tool
28 May 2012
By sleepyzzz
, S Wales
" The easy way to set hollow wall anchors. Anchors fitted first time every time, no spinners "
Review 15 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
wall anchor setting tool
5 Oct 2011
By stella
, Essex
" It does what it says on the tin! Saves all of the aggravation experienced when just drilling a hole and using a screwdriver to tighten the anchor up. Success every time! "
Review 16 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
excellent tool
21 Jun 2011
By Penfold
, Uddingston
" Having been fed up trying to fit expanding hollow wall anchors using a screwdriver and hoping that the thing will not rotate in the wall, I decided to spend some money and buy a setting tool. WHAT A DIFFERENCE!!! The tool is easy to use, does the job perfectly every time and makes what was a slow, hit and miss affair into a quick and easy job every time. The only reason that I gave it 3 stars for reliability is because I have only recently purchased the tool but it does feel as though it is a quality piece of kit. Thanks again Screwfix "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
WELL MADE GREAT PRICE !
5 May 2011
By derek2
, Newark Notts
" EXCELLENT TOOL, FEELS LIKE IT WILL LAST, MAKES THE JOB OF USING THESE FIXINGS MUCH EASYIER "
Review 18 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Setting Tool
22 Mar 2011
By unhandyman
, Cumbria
" I've had this tool for a year now, fitting upwards of fifty anchors, and it is great for a DIYer like me. It works with screwfix wall anchors, but it didn't work with some I got from my local store as the heads didn't fit into the tool. So it doesn't fit all anchors.
That said, I would never try to use wall anchors in plasterboard with just a screwdriver as there is a risk the lugs will not hold and cause the fitting to rotate. This tool prevents that eventuality as it just gives the screw a linear pull and is very quick.
A good and inexpensive tool. "
Review 19 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
first
14 Mar 2011
By lennyj
, perth
" This is a first class tool well worth the money.Very easy to use. "
Review 20 for Setting Tool
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wish I had one years ago
26 Jan 2009
By scotsengineeer
, Edinburgh
" This tool for setting hollow wall anchors is great, previously I have used the screw provided, and occasionally damaged the plasterboard surface, or worn the screw thread. Now I can easily fit anchors, in places like ceilings where it would be a pain to old the anchor and turn the screw.
Wish I had one years ago. "
Page : 1 2 3 next>