Product Reviews

51pc Hss Steel Tap And Die

51pc Hss Steel Tap And Die
Average Customer Rating:
3.454 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
3
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
2
8 of 11(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Review 1 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
outstanding
1 Jan 2011
By paulk
, Leeds
" bought these last month and ive had no problems from them at all.
gives a nice tight clean cut when the correct drill bit and high quality cutting oil is used.
would highly recommend if they are going to be used properly.
BUY A CHEAP SET OR SINGALLY IF YOU ONLY INTEND TO USE A SET ONCE OR ARE NOT GOING TO USE CORRECTLY.
only thing that could be better is the tap wrench. i bought 2 for my last set and will use them
"
Review 2 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
I would recommend
2 Jul 2009
By MStilwell
, Redcar Cleveland
" I used this set to clean up rusty threads. Has worked a treat for me. Having taps and dies that work with modern Japanese motorcycles was a must for me and I was pleasantly surprised to find just about every necessary tap and die is there in the box. The pitch gauge is a great help, it makes it very easy to pick the right tap (foolproof). If your new to thread making then google how to use them properly otherwise you'll snap or damage beyond repair!
Good quality for the price.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value
30 Dec 2008
By gmoseley
, Morriston
" I bought this kit a few months back after snapping a bolt in the flange of the catalytic converter whilst changing a section of exhaust. The bolt had to be drilled out and a new M8 thread cut into the stainless steel flange. It took around 5 minutes using some 3 in 1 oil to lubricate the tap and the bolt threaded in easily first time.
It is essential that you lubricate the tap and regularly twist the tap anticlockwise a few turns to clean swarf from the new thread before moving forward, failure to do so will result in snapping the tap in the hole.
With proper care, I this kit will give many years of useful service - a good investment.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HSS tap and die set
2 Jun 2013
By mfletch
, mansfield
" Not a bad set but the tap and die holders are not very good suggest using some out a older better quality set "
Review 5 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
18 May 2013
By sparkielst
, Wimbledon, London
" Use this product to rethread imperial threads. After 20 uses one of the taps was showing signs of wear. "
Review 6 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fairly good quality
30 Sep 2008
By Willum
, SW London
" I am sure you can get better but this set has performed well for me so far. Of course you don't tend to buy a set like this and use all the sizes immediately but having cut 30 of so M4 threads to date all have been nice and clean and the tool still feels sharp and true. Shame Screwfix do not sell the individual taps and dies as I did not need a whole set but then this should last me well. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
low quality tap wrench
14 Jan 2013
By DISTRESSEDDIYer
, East Midlands
" I purchased this set to remove a steel M8 bolt and cut a new thread.
The tap and die set feels to be of good quality. The easy out worked well and I was able to cut a new thread.
The tap wrench was poorly made. I had to dismantle it, clean out the swarf and re-assemble. That done it was still stiff and the tap wrench did not grip the 'tap' and the corners 'rounded off'. In the end I used my own wrench.
You need to know how to use the set as there are no instructions included - plenty of suitable links on Youtube though.
There are no safety instructions.
For £79.99 you expect a quality product - I was disappointed. Screwfix refunded my money, so I cannot fault there customer service. "
Review 8 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excellent selection.
30 Mar 2012
By Silverback59
, Nottingham
" The item is a good selection of tap & die parts with one or two other accessories added in.
It could do with a few finer tap for things like electrical work where finer threads are needed.
Other than that, it came in a solid robust container, well presented and in my opinion, good value for money. "
Review 9 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality
16 Sep 2008
By Thebossman
, Durham
" Paying that little bit extra you get a better quality and more reliable pice of kit. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Appauling
30 May 2009
By VladimirUK
, Colchester
" This product was shameful. The die's stripped on first application and the taps were just as soft. HSS. No way. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for HSS Steel Tap and Die Set 51Pc
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Looks are deceiving
3 Dec 2008
By Nellmeister
, Wigan
" Stunning looking tap and die kit but unfortunately a bad review from myself, upon recieving my kit i used the M4x0.7 (or so i thought) to tap out a very soft aluminium, with a slow turning motion and under not much strain the tap sheared leaving both tap and material useless, further investigation showed that the M4x0.7 and the M4x0.75 where in the wrong places is the storage case. I own up to being partly responsiby for this as i didnt check the size on the tap itself. Its only as i have just cut the fresh aluminium to shape and again proceeded to tap it with the correct M4x0.7 tap and again under no force has sheared leaving both tap and material useless again.
I dont use this kind of tool very often at all as im just a hobby maker and thought that an almost £60 set would be much better than my current £13 set.
In my honest opinion i would give this item a miss as i have been left very dissapointed.
"
7 of 9 people found this review helpful.