Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

220ml Pipe Freezing

220ml Pipe Freezing
Average Customer Rating:
4.325 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 40 reviews
5 stars
28
4 stars
6
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
4
35 of 40(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Review 1 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great way to change a Valve
19 Aug 2014
By cable
, Caerphilly
" didn't want to drain CH system so froze the water in the pipe and replaced the valve. Took 15 mins and I'm no plumber "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff
15 Jul 2014
By Eckr5
, Mintlaw
" Great product,saves a lot of time,don't have to dismantle or drain down system, but have everything to hand before starting work. "
Review 3 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Got me out of trouble twice
21 Feb 2014
By coolhands2
, london, UK
" as all other reviewers state - it really does work! And who knows what you'd do otherwise. By the way I recommend fitting a Pegler Ball Valve eg 11085 as you won't get stuck again. They are full-bore and never seem to seize like normal stop-cocks. "
Review 4 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot on.
11 Jan 2014
By GPNS
, Coventry
" Spot on.
Only enough in the can for one radiator.........................................
"
Review 5 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceptional product
30 Dec 2012
By craigr
, Gloucester
" Saved me an absolute fortune. I needed to fit a new stopcock as the old one had corroded and was unusable. Fitted the jacket to a vertical 15mm pipe, followed the instructions and taped the bottom of the sleeve. Worked a treat with not a drop of leakage. Can't recommend highly enough. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent piece of kit
30 Jul 2012
By Bob1950
, Buckinghamshire
" This is a remarkable item. I needed to change a radiator which was starting to leak and draining, refilling and bleeding the whole system would have taken the best part of a day. I'd never used a pipe freezer before and so I approached it for the first time with some trepidation. But it was so easy to use and pretty well mess-free.
If you read the instructions carefully and follow them exactly then you should have no problem at all. I had to work on two low-pressure vertical 15mm copper pipes and so needed 2 kits - this was expensive but the freezing was done quickly (about 10 minutes total each one) and gave me ample time to fit the new valves.
You need to fit the jacket snugly around the pipe and the temperature inside it gets very low indeed so be careful not to touch the frozen part of the pipe with bare fingers. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great freezer kit
9 Jun 2011
By Handyman08
, Somerset
" It is easy to use and saves so much additional work "
Review 8 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
pipe freezing
3 Apr 2011
By Pete59
, Cornwall
" I was very dubious about this but have used it twice, successfully both times.
First time was on a 22mm vertical copper pipe. I used the whole tin and worked well.
Second time was on 15mm plastic pipe to a rad. As someone suggested I cut the sleeve in half and used 1/2 tin on each joint again no problems.
It does seem very expensive but when you consider the agro in draining down and then possible air locks filling up again it is well worth it.
I would certainly recommend it, but still think it could be cheaper.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
saved a lot of time
11 Mar 2011
By DAVE52
, Gloucester
" simple to use as long as you have got good access to the pipework. Only used it for compession joints dont know how good it would be for soldering jobs. Although it worked well it can work out a bit expensive as you need to use at least a whole can for each joint "
Review 10 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dare you risk 2 shots?
6 Mar 2011
By Jimster
, Wakefield
" I read reviews on this and other sites about people using half a can a time - I bought two cans just in case!!
Half a can did me on 15mm copper pipes - the central heating water was about 5 degrees at the time. No leakage at all.
Brilliant product, keep one handy !
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
10 Jan 2011
By copt
, Bedford
" Used it to remove rads...didn't want to drain the system, etc. Was a little sceptical and there seems to be some guess work as to when the ice plug forms...on my job I found it easier to hold the collar behind the pipe and apply the freezant directly (wearing a golove of course), didn't seem to work so well applying through the collar.
But...great product, worked a treat. Will definitely use agin. "
Review 12 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pipe Freezing Kit
21 Dec 2010
By scottyf
, London
" To say I was sceptical of the whole pipe freezing thing was an understatement! I had 2 15mm pipes to freeze as I needed to cap them both off, one mains fed and the other from the communal boiler system (feeding over 18 flats). It would have cost me thousands to have the system drained down not to mention the inconvenience of not hot water to 18 flats! Instead I opted for the £20 option which was to freeze both pipes and cap them myself! And it worked! No drips, both pipes froze, even the hot and I managed to cap them both within 20mins! I would recommend this to anyone that needs to access water pipes that cannot be drained down or isolated. "
Review 13 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Sod!
8 Oct 2010
By thehaven
, Out on the East
" Gd product, perhaps screwfix could do a special offer, as it starts getting expensive when you need 2 per rad and you have a few rads to move!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic!!!!!!!!
18 Sep 2010
By Stingray
, Worcester
" Brilliant product. Does what it says on the tin, saved me having to drain heating system down when changing a radiator and valves. As a previous reviewer said a twin pack would be better value as you need 2 cans per radiator. "
Review 15 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What it says
23 Mar 2010
By Dexterdodgy
, Chingford
" Does as it says no problems. Not a lot else to say really other than it saved me a lot of hassle draining down the system. "
Review 16 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pushing the envelope!
28 Jan 2010
By Anonymous
, South London
" The sleeve works for 8mm-28mm but the can is only sufficient for upto 15mm pipe.
Also, horizontal pipes are much preferred.
Having said that, I used this kit to replace a broken 22mm gate valve mounted vertically!!! The water in the pipe was cold already and the ice plug only held for about 10 minutes - but I only needed 2 minutes as I had already loosened the compression joint and the replacement was to hand. "
Review 17 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly recommended product
26 Jan 2010
By StevieG
, Newport
" I changed my kitchen sink and old taps for new monobloc type. I needed to isolate the hot water supply, as it had no valve, this kit allowed me to freeze the pipe and install an isolation valve. It was sooo easy. The new sink is in and looking good. This product must rate as one of the best I have used. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
30 Dec 2009
By MikeA
, Lincoln
" To be honest, I was a bit sceptical about this product and was thinking of hiring a freezing machine for about £40. But at £8.72 a throw decided it was worth a try.
Followed the instructions carefully and managed to fit a new radiator only losing about an eggcupful of water from the system.
Magic!!!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says
29 Dec 2009
By indgepr
, Bedford
" Having read through the reviews decided to go for it. did not fancy trying to use it in two halfs as another reviewer suggested so bought two cans. 30minutes later 1 radiator permenantly removed system still full and pressurised and only about 1 pint of water dropped ( that was loose in the pipes ) overall did exactly what it said on the tin. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Pipe Freezing Kit 220ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dogs Diddle-ies
22 Jul 2009
By KurbSicnarf
, Suffolk
" When I bought this I had absolutley no faith in it whatsoever. But it was my only option!
Next time I need to freeze, I ain't gonna look anywhere else. Its perfect. I even froze the mains to connect a new stop-cock. Not even a dribble!
:¬)
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>