Product Reviews

Makita 240V Diamond Core Drill

Makita 240V Diamond Core Drill
Average Customer Rating:
3.571 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(7 Reviews) 7
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 7 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
2
4 of 7(57%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Review 1 for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makita core drill
30 Oct 2014
By
, London
"This is a great core drill , i bought mine from screwfix 5 years ago and it gets used 3/4 times a week , but you must use good quality core bits because the cheaper ones tend to wobble about too much causing the clutch to slip too often .
Great Tool.......
"
Review 2 for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great core drill
13 Aug 2014
By
, London
"Brilliant bit of kit. Had mine for a few years now. Gets abused and still powers on. Never had a problem getting through a wall. Clutch doesn't kick in to early, its just perfect. Wouldn't even consider using another brand core drill after this. Always use a decent core set though."
Review 3 for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drill keeps going
21 Sep 2010
By
, Harrow
"Had my drill for over ten years.
Its been repaired once
Best drill i have bought to date.
Drills 125mm holes and 40mm on a regular basis
It would be great if it had reverse on it.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value core drill
6 Mar 2008
By
, Halifax
"Great value core drill, used daily by most of our workforce, powerful and reliable."
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
OK for light to medium duty
19 Mar 2014
By
, Egham
"I've just used one of these to drill a 400mm deep hole through a solid brick wall with a 107mm core drill (I'm installing a duct for a tumble dryer) and found this drill a bit disappointing.
There is no reverse and the gap between the handle and trigger is quite small and I found it difficult to hold as I had rigger gloves on and could hardly get my finger in the gap.
The most annoying fault though is that the clutch constantly slipped at what seemed liked quite low torques. You can get quite a lot of friction from the side of a core drill once it's deep inside the hole if you move the drill slightly and the bit touches the sides but the clutch on this drill would disengage before you could right it. Really annoying and greatly extended the time it took to drill the hole. The drill is well made but perhaps a 107 mm hole is beyond its capacity. Could be ok for lighter use."
Review 6 for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dont bother
2 May 2014
By
, portsmouth
"I purchased this drill after my last one died, it was the only one they had available at the time. Purchased 11 months ago and the clutch has gone, Makita refuse to repair it! say its not covered by warranty! my £99 rothenberger one lasted 2 years and only died as it got wet! Don't bother with Makita, worst power tools I have ever bought. this cost me £299 at the time so not cheap and now worthless! not happy."
Review 7 for Makita 8406/2 850W 240V Diamond Core Drill
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Core drill
13 Mar 2011
By
, Banbury
"Only used it once so far to drill a 50mm core, clutch slipped nearly all the time
thought I would spend a bit more to get a quality tool , VERY dissapointed will be taking it back for a refund I think
"