Product Reviews

Titan 600W Grass Trimmer 240V

Titan 600W Grass Trimmer 240V
Average Customer Rating:
3.526 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
2
11 of 19(58%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Review 1 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent quality feel
24 Aug 2014
By
, East Lindsey
"I have recently purchased three items from you,Mountfield Mower,Titan Hedge Trimmer and Titan Strimmer.So far I have only used the Mower which I am extremely pleased with,the obvious quality and feel of the other items makes me feel that I will be just as pleased with them.
I would also like to say how impressed I am with the service I received from your company both when I telephoned my first order and with your Web Site and your on-line service.
"
Review 2 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheap strimmer
23 Jun 2014
By
, bath
"Excellent value for money,almost as good as my old petrol one.Would highly recomend to anybody.Make sure you buy spare cord as it doesn't come with much."
Review 3 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
10 Jun 2014
By
, London
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I have a small patch of grass and a stepping stone path with grass between the stones on a roof garden. Using a conventional mower wasn't going to work so I purchased this and it does the job brilliantly. Managed to get through my foot high grass with minimum effort.
The plant guard is a bit pointless as it doesn't really work but with a little care this isn't an issue.
"
Review 4 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Strimmer
3 Jun 2014
By
, Derby
"Solid,well engineered product.
Tackled 2 foot high overgrown garden with ease
An excellent purchase
"
Review 5 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Product Sturdy and Rugged
19 May 2014
By
, Dorset
"After some neglect in the garden due to building works, the grass had become waist high tufts. Our orange coloured strimmer was just not up to the Job and died after just 3 minutes.
Desperate to still get the job done over the weekend and trusting in the usual good service from Screw Fix, we were armed with this Titan Strimmer before lunch.
Even with the very long grass, The Titan Strimmer made short work of the job, it was comfortable to use and not too heavy ( it feels sturdy) its was easy to adjust with a moveable Gripper handle and an extendible neck.
One of the best features is an auto feed, so you don't have to mess about with the strimmer wire when it breaks, just power on and it extents to the correct length to keep on going.
Overall good Buy, Good Price, Good quality and as ever Good Service from Screw Fix."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value
25 Aug 2014
By
, Leeds
"I bought this strimmer as a cheap option, but have found it to be as good as models twice the price. It's quick and efficient and so simple to use."
Review 7 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
trimmer titan ttb586gtm
24 Jun 2014
By
, New Forest Hampshire
"Since receiving the above Trimmer I have used it quite extensively and found it functions very well.
One point however is I have tried to obtain a replacement line spool (13d) Model No 14110.
However I could not find it on the Screwfix parts for trimmers page, I find this a bit odd as the Trimmer was sold to me by Screwfix
"
Review 8 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Jury is out
16 Jun 2014
By
, surrey
"Very pleased generally all round only reservation is the line feed. It did jam up after a couple of uses. difficult to un-assemble to un-jam the line. Will see how it goes but otherwise lots of features, powerful and pleased for the price and power rating."
Review 9 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Strimmer!
28 May 2014
By
, Cambridgeshire
"Well designed, loads of adjustability. It's quite easy to re-thread the cord when needed. It has lots of power, but is not too heavy. I found it cuts through 7-8 mm weed stems with ease."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
first cut
21 May 2014
By
, Wakefield
"The TITAN does the job ok. Not impressed with the "flower/shrub" guard though. Detached it to get close walls etc."
Review 11 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Titan grass strimmer
20 Aug 2014
By
, Scunthorpe
"Easy to handle, unfortunately the automatic feed doesn't work every time and the strimmer line tends to snap off at the spool. Not keen on the double feed uses twice as much line."
Review 12 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Titan TTB586GTM 600w Grass Tri
21 Jul 2014
By
, Doncaster
"The trimmer tends to be on the heavy side. The nylon spool didn't last long. Changing from horizontal to vertical cutting is a bit of a pain. Will have to put up with it for quite some time but eventually will change for a more "user friendly" trimmer"
Review 13 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid but frustrating
1 Jul 2014
By
, Kinver
"Good points: Robust and well constructed
Bad points: automatic line feed didn't work and manual feed is frustratingly time-consuming often necessitating dismantling the spool. I am hoping a new spool will fix the problem
"
Review 14 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Disappointed
30 Jun 2014
By
, Hoddesdon
"I bought this product as it seemed to have good reviews. I have had at least 3 other strimmers of a different make and they all suffered from problems with the automatic cord feeder.
I have only used this once and the cord jammed almost immediately. I had to fix it about 3 or 4 times in 10 minutes or so. I'm hoping that the cord was not wound properly and am hoping for better performance in the future.
"
Review 15 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Average :/
9 Jun 2014
By
, farnham
"Thought from ScrewFix this would be a reasonable piece of kit, with the "automatic line feed", however it doesn't seem to work. Which meant a job that should have been relatively short took so much longer having to try and get the line out regularly.
Not particularly impressed.
"
Review 16 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pity about the spool
29 May 2014
By
, Brighton
"Titan note
The instruction manual is long on caution & short on mechanics. Large type for Health & Safety but perfunctory treatment for the product. The manual does not say much that is not self-evident. The spool is the only spare part that it allows the user to replace. It discourages him from inserting new line into an exhausted spool & recommends instead a new, factory wound, spool. This is silly, one cannot go on buying new spools (at about a fiver each) indefinitely but I will buy one extra spool for this would allow quick change should a spool run out during a job. The empty spool can then be recharged at leisure.
I have spent some time trying to discover how the spool works. It can be rewound but removing & replacing the line-retaining collar is tricky, particularly on the first occasion. If the line is damaged in use it is possible to draw out extra line by pressing a release button. This too is tricky. The button has to be pressed & released successively & the line released in stages.
The Titan spool is a bore but so are most strimmer spools. I will live with it & may try some DIY modification. The spool may be a minus but pretty well everything else about the Titan is a plus. It s a good looking well designed tool. Nothing is flimsy & I prefer mains driven equipment to battery dependence. Above all, the Titan does the job easily. I doubt whether any strimmer offers so much power at such a low price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
too heavy
21 May 2014
By
, oxon
"Decided that this would not be suitable - looks powerful, but very heavy, with bulk of weight at the bottom and I wanted this to be used for largely clearing very steep bank - where I would either be standing at the bottom or the top - and reaching quite high or low.
Will get a cordless one with battery near the handle end - should make for a better balanced machine and also easier to use
Took unused item back to screwfix for no quibble refund
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
120 seconds
30 Aug 2014
By
, Heathrow
"thats all it took for the line to snap - did it come out automatically - nope - i have a small garden and i almost had to take the spool to bits a further 7 times to finish a small patch of grass - the automatic line feed is rubbish - its heavy duty - its quite well made but that accounts for nothing if it won't do what its claimed to do - DO NOT waste your time and effort on this and screw fix you need to tell Titan its a problem"
Review 19 for Titan TTB586GTM 600W 240V Straight Shaft Grass Trimmer
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Much Good
9 Jul 2014
By
, Preston
"Can't agree with other reviews, I got this to cut the long grass along the edge of my property, After a few mins the trimmer was not cutting and the nylon chord was stuck in the spool, I had to strip it down and rewind the chord, it worked again for a few mins then same thing happened again, I took it back to Screwfix and they gave me a new one, exactly same problem happened again so I took that back also and got a refund, Screwfix service was brilliant. I would only recommend this for trimming the edge of a lawn or similar not for long grass."