Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SDS Plus Channel Chisel 55mm

SDS Plus Channel Chisel 55mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.25 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
7 of 8(88%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Review 1 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
CHASING CHISEL
26 Mar 2013
By
, WARRINGTON
"A good tool for the right job, cuts well and neat.The only down fall is, I have had 3 of these snap where the shaft goes into the cutting end, costly!"
Review 2 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellant chisel
24 Mar 2012
By
, Southampton
"An ideal chasing chisel for hard and soft walls.
Had my doubts if it would work but to my surprise cuts through with ease saving at least 75% of normal time to chase channels. Would highly recommend.
"
Review 3 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Tool
9 Oct 2011
By
, Oxfordshire
"This is one of the best tools i have ever bought. Went through thermalite like a knife through butter. And made a very neat channel."
Review 4 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
55mm wall chaser SDS
20 Sep 2011
By
, Banbury
"Umm'd and ahhh'd about purchasing this tool, and have been blown away by its performance and capability to create a clean neat chase in which to lay trunking into the wall for my TV cables. I would recommend this tool with no doubt. The only downside is the dust it creates - but thats what brooms and hand brushes are for."
Review 5 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
chisel
16 Nov 2009
By
, bham
"perfect little tool works very well and very fast tidy finish, has been used for 4 big jobs and still perfect, a lot cheaper than a extra man to do the cutting,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
mine snapped
1 Jun 2011
By
, Teesside
"Excellent tool, have used it a lot and saved a lot of time with it. it does go blunt after a while, and needs to be filed to sharpen it.
i was not impressed when i first bought it as where it was made was a bit shoddy on the angle at the front.
But having had it for just over a year, it snapped, the shaft snapped just where it goes into the head of the chisel. i was only chasing a chanel in plaster on thermalite blocks. so not impressed anymore. but it does the job if using it lightly.
"
Review 7 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Does the job
17 Mar 2009
By
, Basingstoke
"Used a few of these now for chasing in new cable drops, the 55mm width allows normal 1" capping to fit in nicely. It gives a reasonably clean edge so it keeps the plasterer happy.
Pretty quick with a decent SDS drill (3Joule) behind it, takes 5-10mins to do a 2m chase in brick (even less in breeze)
Lifes not as long as I'd hoped, I get about 5-10 2m chases in normal brick, but have had some success at re dressing the edges with a grinder to extend the life."
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Armeg SDS Plus Channelling Chisel 55mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of money
27 Feb 2014
By
, Bristol
"I had a lot of channeling to do in my kitchen and bought this to help. It didn't.
It works OK on plaster, but is useless at anything harder. Standard blocks have left the edge ragged in places.
I resorted to using a normal 25mm chisel tool in my sds drill. Much better and doesn't swivel in the chuck like the channelling chisel does. So badly, that you have to hold it with your hand.
One person on here commented on how 'it went through thermolite like a knife through butter'. A BLUNT SAW will go through thermolite, need I say more?
I intend to ask for a refund, but Screwfix will most likely point to the glowing reviews prior to mine."