Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Cover Stain Primer 2.5Ltr

Cover Stain Primer 2.5Ltr
Average Customer Rating:
4.79 out of 5
4.8
 out of 
5
(19 Reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
19 of 19(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Review 1 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what is says on the T..
27 Jan 2016
By
, Bristol
" First time using this product. Great coverage on veneer doors. Easy to use with roller or brush.
Recommended "
Review 2 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff, no more stains!
9 Dec 2015
By
, london
" After buying a house that previously had a very heavy smoker I was struggling to get rid of the yellow stains on the ceiling in the room that was smoked in the most. 5 cleans with sugar soap and undercoat still struggled to stop the yellow coming through... However after reading the reviews I tried this stuff, its brilliant! two coats and the ceiling is looking good as new! Yes it smells when you put it on (but smell goes quick as it dies fast), yes its a bit more money than others but it does the job very very well!
I have now used it in the other rooms with smoker stains and after a few sugar soaps and two coats of this stuff you would never know it was once horrible stained yellow!
Im on my 3rd tin as it works so well and saves time in the long run. "
Review 3 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb primer
16 Nov 2015
By
, Stratford upon Avon
" I've been using Zinsser Coverstain as a professional decorator for many years now.
The good points:
1. Superb adhesion to bare timber or painted surfaces, even gloss (although always key first, it's good practice).
2. Superb opacity - it really does cover very well.
3. One of the quickest drying oil-based primers you can get.
4. It does block most stains very well.
5. It has excellent grain filling properties - so it will help you to get a smoother finish with your top coats.
6. You can use it as a replacement for regular oil-based undercoat. It's a bit more expensive, but its high grip and much quicker drying are worth the extra cost in my book.
7. It can be tinted. I hand tint on site with professional tints.
8. Once dry it sands very well.
The bad points:
1. Like most oil-based paints, it does have an odour. So if you're coating all the woodwork in a room indoors with the door and window closed, it can get a bit much. Always ensure good ventilation when painting of course. But it's no worse than most other oil-based paints, and as it dries quicker the smell dissipates faster.
2. It's more expensive than regular oil-based primers or undercoats. But you get what you pay for, a very quick drying superb oil-based stain blocker, primer and undercoat in one.
I ALWAYS have a tin in the van, and Screwfix usually have one of the best prices for Coverstain. Recommended. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Primer
7 Nov 2015
By
, Bangor NI
" Used over previously stained wood. No stain bleeding and easy to apply. Great product "
Review 5 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good primer
28 Sep 2015
By
, milton keynes
" read other reviews so decided on this and was easy to apply and dried in good time. Not straight away if you are inpatient. Hopefully in time assist in keeping my windows in good order longer. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zinsser primer
9 Aug 2015
By
, York
" This is the first time, I have used this product. My new extension had a few issues when wood knots ruined the paint finish on the door frames. Zinsser stain cover was easy to apply and did the job perfectly. Its a bit expensive, but well worth the expense! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
You get what you pay for!
3 Jun 2015
By
, Bury St Edmunds
" very much a Ronseal in it does exactly what it says on tin! Pricey compared to over products but worth it in long run. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent product
16 May 2015
By
, STOCKPORT
" This product is amazing! Since the introduction of water-based trim paints, I struggled to find a decent undercoat that really adheres over existing gloss etc. and as it says for any paint so I gave it a go. This now the only primer/undercoat I will use! It sticks to anything, the dry time is fast. And and after a de-nibbing only sand it's ready to go. ( no more dust covering the whole house ) and as its a built in primer stain killer it's fantastic for just about any job I go on. In all this has saved me so much time and money, and cured so many problems, I always have a couple of tins in the van! "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product, great price
1 Feb 2015
By
, Shirley, Croydon
" This is the third time I have used this stain cover paint. It is easily the best available. I used it on heavily nicotined ceiling and walls having previously washed both with Oxy-action (or you could use neat sugar soap). The paint covered well in a single application. I then used Dulux single coat matt emulsion for a top class job. "
10 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cover stain
26 Nov 2014
By
, Carmarthenshire
" Having used Zinsser products before i had no worries regarding the quality of this product. Excellent product for internal and external use, does everything i need it to do and more. Highly recommended but use Zinsser Bin for sap and sealing knots. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zinsser cover stain Prime Whit
28 Oct 2014
By
, Croydon
" Excellent product and good value from Screwfix. I needed 2 tins and most stores only held one. Fortunately my local one had 2 tins. This product was used in refurb of old kitchen / utility rooms. All old tiling one the walls was removed and wall paper of the ceilings. Zinsser was need to cover the water stains in the ceilings from the bathroom above, wall paper glue and stains under the tiling removed from the walls. A good undercoat for the Dulux Eggshell to be applied "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
stain gone
13 Oct 2014
By
, Halifax
" Good product did what it said on tin only thing was that as it's a oil based paint it's hard to cover if you just want to use a bit on stain and then emulsion rest you have to do the entire area with this first "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
13 Oct 2014
By
, Dagenham
" Have used other stain blocks in the past and this is by far the best i have used. Don't waste time effort and additional expense. I know it's pricey in comparison, but does the job right first time. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cover Stain Primer-Sealer
23 Sep 2014
By
, West Mids
" I was having problems with emulsion cracking when decorating bedroom walls. I had sanded and washed down but every time I put emulsion on the wall it cracked and flaked. I tried rubbing it down and covered the area with diluted PVA but nothing worked. Then I heard about Cover stain and that the problem might be old wallpaper paste, so I gave it a try and Hallelujah no more cracking.
The stuff is brilliant, wiffs a bit so let plenty of fresh air in, but before I emulsion any walls from now on Cover Stain will go on first.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Zinnser Stain primer
16 Jul 2014
By
, Bedfordshire
" Does exactly what it says on the tin.
Very good product.
"
Review 16 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great product
10 Oct 2015
By
, london
" i use this product as a stain repellent, i recently used it as a top coat on several interior doors the premises were occupied & it dries so quickly i didnt have to worry about the tenants getting covered in paint. "
Review 17 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
better than the spray
20 Jun 2015
By
, carlisle
" for some reason some places only sell the spray stain block, which i dont find right for what i need , ie in the corners of ceilings usually.
this product seems to work fine but i'll know in the next few days
"
0 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good!
9 Sep 2014
By
, Edinburgh
" Used the No Nonsense Stain Block. It was OK but wasn't really covering the staining on our decorative mouldings. This stuff did the job in 1 coat. Very good. We should have just bought this originally. "
Review 19 for Zinsser Cover Stain Primer White 2.5Ltr
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Resolved a recurring problem
28 Jul 2014
By
, Gravesend
" Does everything it claims to do and resolved years of issues with ceilings that had been distempered and refused to accept paint, paper or ceiling tiles. All previous mediums either fell off, flaked off or refused to go on in the first place. Worth every penny and saved my sanity. "