Product Reviews

A sleek, robust, pocket-sized chip and PIN reader suitable for small businesses and independent tradesmen. The reader connects via Bluetooth to an app and converts your smartphone or tablet into a fully mobile debit and credit card chip and PIN reader, offering the same stringent security standards as a traditional card terminal but at a fraction of the cost and with no monthly rental fees or minimum charges. With its advanced functionality you can email receipts and online transaction downloads. The system also enables the user to add and control multiple staff members all under one account. Screwfix exclusively offers £27.50 (inc. VAT) cashback on your first £1000 of transactions within the first 12 months of registration.

A sleek, robust, pocket-sized chip and PIN reader suitable for small businesses and independent tradesmen. The reader connects via Bluetooth to an app and converts your smartphone or tablet into a fully mobile debit and credit card chip and PIN reader, offering the same stringent security standards as a traditional card terminal but at a fraction of the cost and with no monthly rental fees or minimum charges. With its advanced functionality you can email receipts and online transaction downloads. The system also enables the user to add and control multiple staff members all under one account. Screwfix exclusively offers £27.50 (inc. VAT) cashback on your first £1000 of transactions within the first 12 months of registration.
Average Customer Rating:
3.769 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(13 Reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (13 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
1
11 of 13(85%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Review 1 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ideal for the small business
22 Apr 2014
By kjw1
, Ayr
"i needed a card reader for my small business but only having an android mobile with version 2.3 i found it hard to find one that would be compatible. this has been great. easy to set up and ideal for my business. all i need to do in the morning is log in and thats us ready!
would def recommend this to any small business either static or mobile"
Review 2 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Chip and pin.
3 Jan 2014
By S16geo
, Glasgow
"This is a great and handy little machine which works well and is handy for my business."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Item
18 Nov 2013
By Darran
, avon
"was not sure about buying this but glad i did as i am very happy with it
quick and easy way to get paid
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Chip and Win !
10 Sep 2013
By Goldieboldie
, Saltash
"Since I purchased this through Screwfix I have spent a couple of days setting this up. You first need to download the app, in my case for the ipad. You then have to register the product, verify your email address, verify your bank account and verify your address. I would find this hard to set up in one day. The unit itself is very portable and will fit in your pocket. I also like the fact you can connect to the card reader and your mobile phone at the same time through Bluetooth making it very portable. The unit could possible be better if the whole front was touch screen including the key pad, but that won't be long i'm sure. Once you are set up it is very easy to use. The idea of the email receipt is good but sometimes customers want a receipt there and then, and without spending a small fortune on a Payleven portable printer this would be difficult if the customer has no computer. I used my £50 voucher to buy this item so I got it for £50 which seems about the right price to me. Times are changing and one day soon cheques will be phased out so this might be the answer to your business needs. Can't rate on performance and reliability haven't had it long enough."
5 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great
2 Sep 2013
By dunvegan
, fife
"Great little card reader it is a must for everyone that calls to customers and customers don't have cash this bypasses the need to send out invoices for small jobs and as there is no rental charges it is great"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Finally Chip & PIN for Tradesm
12 Aug 2013
By Londonplumber
, London
"I've suffered over a lot of years with the hassle of getting customers to pay and I'd looked into normal Chip&PIN devices but they were just too expensive and not very portable.
So very happy to see this Payleven Chip&PIN reader for sale on Screwfix. I ordred mine last week and used it with my first customer today and everything went very smoothly.
It was easy to setup- just registered online and the reader is very portable and slips into a pocket. The customer was impressed and was actually grateful for the email receipt which was easier to store and not get lost.
All in all a great product and definitely made it easier for me to get paid."
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great for any small business
8 Jan 2014
By Smudge375
, Midlands
"Very easy to set up. You can set this up very quickly to accept payments but you will need to verify your bank before you can get your hands on the money (which only takes a day or so).
This isn't as good as the izettle as it's limited on the cards it accepts and can take up to 11 days to receive your funds but the unit is cheaper to buy.
Very easy to set up additional card readers and users on one account for those that have employee's.
I would like to see a couple of stickers in the box to show you accept credit cards, instead of waiting for them to be posted.
"
Review 8 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy pay
30 Aug 2013
By ilock
, West London
"I bought my Payleven reader from Screwfix and within a day I was up and running. I like it because there are no fees, and no connection cost apart from a few minutes on your phone.
The "charge is 2.8% of each transaction, and so far customers have been happy to pay it!!
It's easy to use, the hardest bit is downloading the app.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great way to be paid
13 Apr 2014
By plumbinguk
, liverpool
"great device to enable customers to pay however i wish they let me know they where going to reduce the price as i paid £100.00 and few problems being paid by pay leven"
Review 10 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Payleven card payment machine
27 Mar 2014
By 2468nevertoolate
, County Durham
"We have recently purchased the Payleven card payment machine.
It is unfortunately not as straight forward to setup as the instructions describe, however achievable with patience.
Be aware that once you have bought the unit, you do not automatically receive the right to start taking card payments. You will (and if a Ltd company, share holders too) go through a credit check procedure.
Please also note that once you have taken a card payment from your customer, the payment will not instantly hit your account. Payleven state that this will take a minimum of 5 days and at a maximum 11 days, dependant on the type of card your customer uses and the company they hold their account with. i.e if they are with an obscure internet company, you may well wait the full 11 days.
If you are delivering a product/service, I suppose the questions are: Would your customer be prepared to wait up to 11 days from giving their card payment before receiving the product/service? or would you be prepared to hand over the product/service and wait for the funds to come through?
Speaking with Payleven, they tell me that it is their intention to cut the time scale down to 3-5 days. Time will tell. They may of course just allow the funds to sit in their accounts another few days!"
Review 11 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Seek out the alternatives
17 Mar 2014
By Battenberg
, United Kingdom
"Pro's:
Great little machine looks good under the nose of your customer. Works out of the box with very little setup in the App and registration.
Cons:
It can take days sometimes over a week to get paid, because they only do a payment transfer run once a week, miss it and wait...
Machine battery life is rubbish
Bluetooth connection keeps dropping out
Instructions wont tell you how to recover the unit from a total lock up.(which happens) There is a way, but I wont tell you either
money coming from abroad will incur bank charges to receive it. Shout loud enough and they will eventually refund this.
You cant do 'over the telephone' cardholder not present payments.
Go for a Paypal setup... much better software and you can transfer and be 'spending the money' within seconds, you can also do cardholder not present."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not all phones with Android 4.
5 Oct 2013
By Anonymous
, Farnborough
"Bought this at Screwfix show in Farnborough for chip and pin feature. Not told that my Android 2.3 phone would not work with it, so bought a new Android 4 phone. (HTC Desire C). The card reader chip and pin function does not work with this phone and I have taken it back.
Only reason for two stars is because this device may work well with other phones. For my phone it has to be zero stars.
Screwfix, please include a conditional answer and an explanation box for the question about recommending product. as it may be a case of 'I would recommend this product if...'
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Payleven Chip & PIN Card Reader
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Mixed review
4 Oct 2013
By chimaera
, Hampshire
"The device does work ok but is a bit fiddly to get working consistently. I have found the connection can drop and it isn't always easy to get it to connect again. This from someone who has worked for IT companies for 30 years.
It will be ok if you are a tradesman who works on single transactions. However at shows where there may be a number of people waiting it can be more of a problem.
Biggest problem for me is that Payleven settle from a European bank. Lloyds who I bank with deduct £2 for foreign settlement, whether this is fixed or a percentage I don't know, but it is something you need to be aware of.
Payleven know about this, and have repeatedly promised to refund the charges, but so far this hasn't happened.
The concept is good and there are now a number of companies providing this service. Given the above we are now investigating alternatives."
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.