Product Reviews

Professional Grout Rake Cutter

Professional Grout Rake Cutter
Average Customer Rating:
3.45 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
(20 Reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
3
13 of 20(65%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Review 1 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good little tool
16 Oct 2013
By
, Sunderland
"It is wonderful to find such simple little tool that does the job so well"
Review 2 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Buy Two!
12 Apr 2013
By
, Sussex
"Really good tool, especially for the price. You get two different types of blades with it (Grit-Edged & Saw), so you have to unscrew them first before using it. I found putting the screws back a bit fiddly as the holes don't match up 100%, only slightly off, but requires a bit of patience. For this reason and the price, I bought two. Now I have two spare blades and don't have to spend time fiddling about each time I need to switch.
The tool is solid with a good handle, so you can put a bit of weight behind it if you have to."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just the job!
12 Oct 2012
By
, Plymouth
"I bought this product with some scepticism. Needn't have worried it tackled the job with such ease. I would recommend this product for cleaning up or removing grout. Just be careful it doesn't slip out of the groove as it will scratch the tiles."
Review 4 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Piles of tiles
29 Sep 2012
By
, Stourbridge
"Worked as it says on the tin, hard work to remove all of the grout"
Review 5 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect for grouting
8 Jun 2010
By
, Devon
"This rake is the perfect tool for scraping dried grout from the joints between tiles, whether you're re-grouting or just need a tool to clean up the joints prior to grouting this tool is perfect for the job."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Grout Rake is great
25 May 2013
By
, Sheffield
"I was also apprehensive about this product, i thought it would fall apart in half an hour. So i wasn't surprised when the comb shaped rake didn't last long, although it worked very well while it lasted (you could re-cut/sharpen the teeth if you had a thin grinding wheel and a vice though).
Luckily, there was no need as the grit coated blade was much better. I did my kitchen floor which is 90 tiles of 45cm x 30cm in about 6hrs! The trick i found was to scrape a center groove out with the tool, and then use a stanley blade to scrape the sides back to the tile edge (i got through both sides of a new blade) it is possible to just use the grout rake at an angle so you scrape both sides of the joint, but you have to be careful not to slip as you can easily scratch the tile surface.
I turned my grout from grey to white, and there's no trace of the old grout. Recommended.
"
Review 7 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Works well enough
5 Jan 2013
By
, Warwick
"Works well enough for the good low price.
I had a small amount of grout to remove to re-grout when I replaced my shower. It would be hard work using this tool for a large area though.
Not particularly well made, I had to tighten the fixing screws since they quickly came loose. Also ended up using my hand on the blade itself rather than the handle which was too long and flimsy."
Review 8 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great
1 Jan 2013
By
, Swansea
"Great little product had to re-grout shower cubicle for customer removed old grout in about 5 hrs, although I did have to change blades twice."
Review 9 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Its ok
3 Dec 2012
By
, cardiff
"It does what i say's it does not the best tool in the world soon give up and got the multi tool out"
Review 10 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
The item does the job
15 Oct 2012
By
, Banbury
"The pro grout tood does what it "says on the tin"."
Review 11 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Handy little tool
2 Oct 2012
By
, Glasgow
"I used this little itty bitty saw on a job that was too big for it (40+ feet of floor tile grout and cement) . Result. The little devil didn't let me down. A little blunt on the point but plenty life in it yet. Strong contruction and handy design so you can get your palm on the flange to give extra down pressure."
Review 12 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good hand tool
20 Sep 2011
By
, Newcastle
"Good quality product which works well if you are just removing a single tile or just cleaning up the surface of the grout. If you need to remove the grout entirely from a large area I'd get a power tool though."
Review 13 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful
13 Mar 2011
By
, Midlands
"Quite a crude looking tool but it has worked fine so far for me. Hard to say how long it will last but at that price it hardly matters."
Review 14 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sore Hands
4 Oct 2011
By
, Nottingham
"Blade does a good job and is replaceable, but the design of the handle is very poor and leaves the palms of your hands very sore after prolonged use over two days when re-grouting a kitchen floor. Would not buy again."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
slow going
25 Aug 2014
By
, south derbyshire
"Not really convinced with this tool. Takes too long and I cant really recommend as I found it awkward to use in confined spaces. OK for small areas."
Review 16 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor quality blades
11 Dec 2013
By
, Edinburgh
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"For the first wee while I thought this tool was great, it does exactly what it needs to and handles well. Unfortunately the blades blunt extremely quickly - over only 3sqm of tiles I already needed to use a replacement. I'd seek an alternative solution next time."
Review 17 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Waste of money
19 Jul 2011
By
, S. Wales.
"Wouldn't recommend.
Rake doesn't rake deep enough, and the metal rake holder leaves grey lines on white porcelain."
Review 18 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Blades are hopeless
8 Sep 2013
By
, London
"I bought this to redo the grouting on a small area of my bathroom. The 'saw' blade wore out after going round the first two tiles, despite scoring the grout with a stanley knife first. After that it was almost totally useless. The other blade was useful at clearing the edges of the tiles - but the handle came off the tool before I was finished.
All in all, don't bother - this tool is just not well enough made to be useful."
Review 19 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Didn't last five minutes
19 Aug 2013
By
, Bedfordshire
"I used this to remove some fresh grout (less than 24 hours down) as the colour was incorrect. The area was 1.5 sqm of floor tiles. It did the job OK but by the end the saw blade was worn out. If you're into disposable tools or need it for just one small job then maybe it's just about OK, but I would not recommend this item otherwise."
Review 20 for Pro Grout Rake / Cutter
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheese Based Metal
8 Oct 2012
By
, Bristol
"I bought this tool as I had to regrout our bathroom tiles due to some black mould and 14years worth of use.
This tool was hopeless. After using the 'saw' bit for about 750mm of grout line the thing was blunt. I had worn down the teeth and had to resharpen it with a file. I did this about 3 times and gave up, choosing to use a fixed blade Stanley knife. This was much faster and more reliable to score the grout down two sides of the line and then most of it came out.
I did use the grit edged blade to clean out the lines after this though, but only because I had bought it and seemed a waste not to get any use out of it.
The saw blade is made of a cheese based metal, or something equally as soft.
It would also take me 6x longer to do the same area using this tool than a Stanley knife.
If it was more expensive I'd return it for a refund. However this would cost me more in fuel and time so it will go straight to the bin I'm afraid."