Product Reviews

Water Level Kit 10m

Water Level Kit 10m
Average Customer Rating:
2.933 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
4
1 star
4
8 of 15(53%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Water Level Kit 10m
Review 1 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Water level 10m works well
10 Jun 2015
By Diy1111111
, Cornwall
" Good product, takes a little patience and reading of the instructions to set up (10 mins ) but gives
Absolute perfect level once set up properly ..
Not super heavy duty as made of light plastic
So I found it perfect for home use.
"
Review 2 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant
17 Mar 2014
By bradley7
, nottingham
" Wanted to use this for levelling in different rooms. My first one was damaged but screwfix was happy to replace. The old ideas are sometimes the best. Quality of the hose is good compared to other competitors. I just ran water through the pipe to remove air locks. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
realistic basic value
7 Jul 2011
By Twomoons
, Weymouth
" I was working at ground level so I enlisted the help of my laser level tripod to give me a constant height from the foundation for the first vessel. No problem with the help of a couple of electrical tie clips. I then clipped on the second vessel to a stick so that the two levels matched at the required height. I found that the level worked far smoother when I added a few drops of washing liquid to the water. It also dissipated the bubbles faster. Just for fun I added some black current juice to give it all a bit of colour. Oh don't forget to take the caps off. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple, but accurate.
30 Jun 2010
By Edward49
, Wolverhampton
" What a simple device! Just fill with one end lower than the other until full, and no air bubbles, as noted. Both ends are cable tied to stakes in the ground and roughly eyed in to start with, the thing which everyone is missing is to leave the caps off!
Top up as neccesary, you can walk around slowly in a circle and the response is immediate. Think Pyramids!!!!
"
Review 5 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Simple and it works
13 May 2015
By tifftaff
, Wales
" Follow the easy instructions provided and you wont be disappointed, very accurate over its length. Good enough for ancient Egyptians, good enough for me. "
Review 6 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very useful kit
21 Jun 2012
By usrjw
, Reading
" Very handy. I used mine for laying a new patio.
Make sure you spend time getting the air bubbles out and then it's millimeter perfect over 10m. "
Review 7 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Best tool for the job
5 Jul 2009
By jjjjjjjjjjjjjj
, cheshire
" This is only really useful for measuring levels > 1 foot from the ground (unless you use a graduated stick to hold the water level at a consistant height from the ground / datum)
I found filling from the garden tap the best and to let it flow through and out the other end for a couple of minutes to get rid of all the bubbles. Any bubbles really slow down the response time and accuracy.
I used it to measure out building foundations (cross checked with a laser level once it got dark!) and it was spot on. I found using a graduated stick worked fine.
You will need 2 people to use this.
As far as accuracy is concerned, you can't argue with gravity!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Water Level
17 Aug 2015
By PKD1
, Liverpool
" The tube is to thin and kinks also the end caps leak.
It did work ok but you had to keep on untwisting the tube.
"
Review 9 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It works
6 Jun 2015
By Ralpho
, Bristol
" It is very poorly made, using very soft plastic tube, which kinks very easily. This, and the fact that the stoppers do not stop the water leaking, makes it very fiddly to use. However, it does work, and is a great way of leveling between quite remote points. "
Review 10 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too awkward
28 Feb 2009
By niggleybits
, Dorset
" I initially got it to level big patterned wallpaper round a room (not wanting to buy a self levelling laser kit) but totally useless. As another writer said, paving slabs are too low for it, but anything over a foot it would be great. Best to syphon the water through the pipe to make sure no air bubbles. When no air bubbles, found very accurate. "
Review 11 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Too much like hard work.
26 Sep 2008
By RichardB
, Ross-on-Wye
" I thought this would be perfect to level out my garden ready for paving stones as you don't get any better than gravity. Just too awkward to use at low level. slow to fill. slow to get level. Probably a lot better for doing things higher off the ground. "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Exceptionally poor product
13 Aug 2015
By HaddingtonDIYer
, East Lothian
" I bought this when I broke my 'old school' Holland water level. While it will do its job (is there any measuring tool simpler than a water level?), the overall product was exceptionally poor in build quality and materials. The moulding of the plastic end/vent caps were below Christmas cracker standard. They are not identical (a smaller one for the plastic tube and a larger one for the sealing cap). On my level one measuring tube had the caps fitter the wrong way round - so when in use the scale was up side down. The plastic measuring tube had a printed scale but on my level half the printing was missing on one tube. The plastic tube was long and flexible which was good but so thin it constantly kinked which is useless as it makes the reading unreliable. In the end I junked it and repaired my Holland level. Identical cheap water levels seem to be available on online auction sites for 1/3 of the price. This is the first time I have been really disappointed with Screwfix; They can surely do better. "
Review 13 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Worst product
12 Aug 2015
By BromptonMaster
, Southall
" I bought this to help me to mark leveling points in my workshop. No instructions given but I had a basic idea how it works, filled the tube with water and went to use it. Very slow at stabilizing only to find the tube keep getting kinks. Took it back and got a refund.. "
Review 14 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Only fit for a pound shop
4 Jul 2015
By NoTryNoDo
, London
" This item belongs in a pound shop not Screwfix.
I have bought many items of excellent value and quality from Screwfix but this meets neither of these two criteria.
There was no instructions included which was not a problem for me as I was aware of what I was purchasing and how it worked but this would be a serious failure for any one without prior knowledge.
The main fault with this product is the plastic tubing which has such a thin wall thickens that has been pressurised and the ends sealed to give the impression of a much more solid product.
The tube is almost impossible to use and fill due to it twisting and collapsing.
Would not recommend this item under any circumstances.
"
Review 15 for Water Level Kit 10m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of time
24 Jun 2014
By SaladFingers
, Buckinghamshire
" I tend to spend a bit of time settling levels, using string lines and a line level, which is the best way. I thought this would help get a quick level in another area from a datum point.
Too awkward to set up, takes too long to get rid of bubbles. In theory the idea is superb, but this in practice is a hindrance.
Tools are supposed to help and be of assitance, this simply wasted on site time. "