Product Reviews

Str. Radiator Valve 15mm x ½"

Str. Radiator Valve 15mm x ½"
Average Customer Rating:
3.091 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
7 of 11(64%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Review 1 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Rad Valves
14 Aug 2015
By
, Sunderland
" These are a quality product, they look good, easy to fit and the price is not bad.. "
Review 2 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
HOBSONS CHOICE
17 Oct 2014
By
, Southampton
" It is she only straight 15mm non thermostatic radiator valve listed in your catalogue.
I fitted it no problem, no leaks, it does what is says on the tin.
"
Review 3 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good quality rad valve
16 Dec 2014
By
, Buckingham
" I have used these valves before and never had any problems as they are good quality and solid so why pay more for other brand? "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Why pay more.
13 Nov 2014
By
, Yeovil
" Does the job perfectly. Why buy any fancy designer valves? "
Review 5 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
rad valve
6 Oct 2012
By
, lichfield
" great value for money, easy to use , looks well when fitted and simple to adjust "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Good Product
3 Sep 2012
By
, Cumbria
" This valve is ideal to partner the Screwfix towel radiator range. "
Review 7 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Budget item, good value
17 Feb 2012
By
, Devon
" Does the job but at a budget price with the usual fast Screwfix service "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
cheap not recomended
8 Mar 2015
By
, cornwall
" bought 2 straight lock-shield valves for a towel rail which i was to fit on my way home for a customer. installed valves like normal. when it came to testing both valves leaked, so i tried to tighten them buy no joy. so i then had to drain the towel rail remove in doing this to investigate what was making it leak, i found that both of the tails (1/2 inch with 3/4 nut) had both cracked on the flange. and then i had to replace with new ones from my own stock. theses are a bit too cheap and not at all cheerful, must be make of very cheap metal. been a plumber for over 10 years never had this happen to me not even on valves over 30 years old. should never happen to new ones, it cant just be me a case of being unlucky as both broke in the same place. im just glad i dident use these on a whole heating system. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Waste of time and money
20 Apr 2016
By
, North East
" I wish that I had taken notice of the mixed reviews before I bought this.
Firstly (as others have said) it isn't a spanner to fit the 'insert' into the radiator as most other valves are but a half inch allan key. I mean who has one of those in their tool box? I certainly don't. I borrowed a 12mm allen key from a near by garage which loosely fitted and managed to fit the insert to the radiator (or so I thought).
When I turned the water on it leaked and there is no way to 'nip it up' a bit without taking the flow/return pipe out.
On inspection it had cracked inside possibly partly because I didn't have access to the correct sized allen key but mainly because the half inch hexagonal tightening 'hole' had been machined way off centre meaning that one part was just waiting to burst out of the side.
I ended up binning it and using a better quality valve. "
Review 10 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Standardise fitting
12 Aug 2013
By
, Bishop's Stortford
" This valve is great but does not fit standard radiator (i.e. the one sold by Screwfix) spanner. This isn't new but I tolerated it because I found a large allen key that fitted it. However, it has changed again and it is unacceptable to sell a product that doesn't fit your own tools.
It is up to us all to protest this by not buying product. "
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Straight Radiator Valve Chrome 15mm x ½"
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed
8 Nov 2011
By
, Edenbridge
" I have a standard allen key to remove/install radiator valves, however, it did not fit these. These were peculiar as they were fitted with O rings too. Never seen anything quite like it before. Sorry Screwfix, but I took these back to your store and got replacements from elsewhere - my allen key fitted then and there were no O rings on them, just like all the others I have.
I don't know why you stock these. I have bought similar before from you under a different stock number with no problems. Please get them back! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.