Product Reviews

Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit

Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.771 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 35 reviews
5 stars
11
4 stars
15
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
4
28 of 35(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Review 1 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy product to use.
18 Dec 2014
By Euge07711
, Stockport
" Simple product to use, just make sure your boiler is turn off and cooled.
I used it on 10mm copper pipe both vertical and Horizontal both worked a treat. do recommend using scales to weigh your can. "
Review 2 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pricey
25 Aug 2014
By BaggyTrousers
, Bury
" Does what it says on the tin. Think they're rather expensive though. "
Review 3 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well
11 May 2014
By dreamycornerfloridavilla
, suffolkshire
" used quite a few of these kits now , make sure you check the box before leaving the store as my last one only had 1insulating jacket in.
will freeze a 15mm pipe in under 10 minutes and stays frozen for around 30 mins if conditions are right.,
"
Review 4 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
3 May 2014
By tazy
, tyne and wear
" First time i have tried this pipe freeze.worked a treat on two horizontal 15mm rad pipes .Job done in 15 mins .ice plug held solid .would use again no problem. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pipe freezer
2 May 2014
By StanP
, Oxford
" This stuff is spot-on. i was concerned before but after few uses you start trusting it. you don't need to scale it . you can determine by hand when is half, and you'l know when you see the frost on the pipe, outside the sleeve, it is ready. "
Review 6 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy rad valve replacement
10 Apr 2014
By barryww
, London
" Used this kit to replace two very old leaking rad valves. Followed instructions to the letter and all worked perfectly. Used a previous reviewers calc of weight of empty can (152g) to estimate when the can was half full and seemed to be accurate.
A little pricey but when compared to draining down system and refilling with inhibitor etc. is worth the money. Make sure you have everything prepared and to hand before freezing your pipe as you don't want to waste time finding stuff when it's frozen!
"
Review 7 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dogs Bollicks
5 Dec 2013
By Bigd67
, Fife
" Had to use this Pipe freeze kit today to replace 2 radiator valves, basically does what it says on the tin "Freezes"
Pipe was frozen in less that 5 minutes and gave us plenty of time to change valves, well worth the money as saved us loads of time not having to drain system, refill.
I would be happy to use again ;-)
"
Review 8 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arctic pipe freeze kit
28 Feb 2013
By stix1
, portsmouth
" I've tried a few different pipe freezing kits before - with very mixed results. This one did the job just as advertised. Although it does say to leave for 5 mins I left it for an extra couple just to be sure. It was very handy having 2 jackets in the kit allowing me to cut the hot and cold pipes at the same time. Just have a pair of kitchen scales handy so you know when you've used half the can! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God send!
26 Jan 2013
By Dawniedorn
, Manchester
" I had no choice but to use this as my inside stop tap was leaking. As it was just before Christmas, getting an expensive plumber in wasn't really an option. I couldn't turn off the water from my outside stop tap either as there wasn't one to be found. United utilities told me my council had probably tarmac'd over my house's stop tap grid during pavement maintenance. Well it was scary but it worked a treat. My pipe was lead and we were worried it wouldn't freeze for long enough to make the change. It did and now all is good :-) "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super efficient
19 Jan 2013
By Alboy
, Epsom
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I had a leaking auto air vent bottle valve to replace and didn't want to drain the heating system. I froze two pipes leading to the bottle valve and made the repair. The repair itself took 5 mins but I measured how long the pipes stayed frozen using an isolation valve I fitted: it was 30 mins. So I am very pleased even if it was a little costly.
Some points to note:
- the pipes were 15 mm
- one horizontal and one vertical
- I had to cut the horizontal sleeve down by about 3 cm to fit
- the pipe temperature was ambient (say around 20C)
- I used the whole can, by 10 second squirts alternating between the two pipes (20 seconds would be fine as it took quite a few squirts)
- the 415ml can weight was 152g when empty. I didn't weigh the can full as not necessary for my method. One could use a scales if you wanted to measure out half a can if freezing one 15mm pipe
- noticed a slight bulge in the horizontal pipe after finishing where the spray was squirted in. Might be advisable to angle the nozzle around between squirts to reduce risk of splitting the pipe.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works fine but check the box!
19 Sep 2012
By Sammo
, Wakefield
" In the past when I've need to freeze two pipes I've bought two lots of the single kit. This time I decided to use this kit as its much cheaper and it worked really well. I don't understand the other reviews on here saying it didn't work. I don't know how it couldn't work as the principle is so simple - just follow the instructions.
The only thing that concerned me was how would I know when I have delivered half a can. I decided to weigh the can and had some scales handy and kept quickly stopping application and weighing it. When I got down to about 400g I stopped and used that for the second pipe.
The problem I did have is that the first kit I ordered came without the extension tube. I returned it and the replacement kit also lacked the extension tube. The third one I received did have the tube and screwfix kindly gave a fiver voucher and sent me a third kit gratis. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Freeze spray!
17 Nov 2014
By johnnydiy
, essex
" Good product works as it should but be quick!
Doesn't stay frozen for the 40 mins it says, at best I got maybe 15-20 mins, when it did unfreeze I got no warning just a deluge of water as it let go.
"
Review 13 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freeze don't drain
14 Nov 2014
By plattsnaps
, Woking
" Cheap method for isolating pipework to work on live "
Review 14 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
20 Jun 2014
By Anonymous
, Chapel-en-le-Frith
" Well bought this kit yesterday and used it today, as the job I was doing had no valve, I followed the instructions to the letter and when I started to cut through the pipe I go wet so I had to continue locally I had every thing to hand as I was putting a valve on straight away. the reason I would recommend it is purely I would expect it to work great with copper, as I was trying to freeze a grey plastic Pipe so beware if your going to do this. "
Review 15 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Did what it said on the pack
10 Jun 2014
By Toan
, Wiltshire
" 'First time user' and was not sure of outcome.
However, having followed the instructions to the letter, I did not encounter any problems on two 15mm pipe isolations.
Made a point of cleaning pipes of paint etc. before freezing!
Will use again if a situation arises.
"
Review 16 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Kit that excells
8 Jun 2014
By richie61
, Rugby
" I Have just tried this kit on two plastic 15mm pipes under my floorboards and feel that I should tell my experiences.
The Kit says it will freeze only one plastic pipe so i bought two . Following the instructions to the letter I started to spray the liquid into the jacket but at nearly the half a can stage it started to come out of the foam and every time I sprayed a bit more it came out again.
I decided then that the jacket must be saturated and that I was wasting the spray.
After a Tem minute wait and with some apprehension as I had only used half the amount I should of I cut the pipe and to my relief it was plugged.
Two minutes of work and holding my breath later the work was done and dusted and I was a Happy chappy.
So to anyone Who tries this kit and has the same situation . DO NOT WORRY.
Ps The Pipe stayed frozen foe a further 15 minutes .
"
Review 17 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
22 Apr 2014
By E2102
, Bracknell
" Used the freezer kit to change 2 radiator valves. Easy to use and does the job. Like other reviews found it difficult to gauge half the aerosol. My first application gave me 20 mins which was time enough to change the valve . Some means of showing what has been used and what is left should be included, if it was then my score would be all 5 stars. "
Review 18 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as described
4 Apr 2014
By SpannerMonkey
, UK
" This product is spot on, however, the description on the screwfix web site could be better (surprise!)
The product claims to do 2 x 15mm pipes, great I thought, I only need one kit. Rushed out to get one, got it home and on the box it says, that if you have plastic pipes, it's only enough for 1 application for a 15mm pipe.
I've now got to trek back out and get another. Poor show screwfix. "
Review 19 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has its uses
23 Nov 2013
By Daddyrib
, Northampton
" Not a bad product. It does what it says it will do as long as you follow the instructions and stay patient. However, this is an expensive way of doing things, especially as you can get caught out having to buy two cans for larger pipe sizes. so I would only use when absolutely neccessary "
Review 20 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
22 Aug 2013
By DJCo
, Swindon
" Worked well to change main incoming water, 15mm copper pipe at 6 Bar, stopcock. The external stop cock could not be located. Used whole tin on a vertical pipe at 22 deg C.
Although 2 jackets are supplied, the instructions say to use a whole tin of freezer, this makes it a bit expensive for a single use "
Page : 1 2 next>