Product Reviews

Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit

Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.8 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 45 reviews
5 stars
16
4 stars
18
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
36 of 45(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Review 1 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
26 May 2015
By Dominic38
, Reading
" I used this product for the first time a few days a go. I was a bit sceptical but it did exactly what it promised so im very pleased. "
Review 2 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely recommended
12 Mar 2015
By Jasonskitchens
, Watford
" Used this to freeze some black alkathene pipe to replace a seized stop cock. Did my research and some people said don't freeze some people said do?!?! So I did and it worked great. No fuss, no nonsense. Follow the instructions and make note of the time because this was accurate to the minute!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great saver of time and effort
6 Feb 2015
By DIYalways
, Dorset
" I've used Arctic Spray before with great results. Don't waste time and effort draining down the central heating system. Just follow the instructions to the letter and hey presto! Job done. Never any worries so long as you follow the instructions. "
Review 4 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makes a hard job easy
29 Dec 2014
By farmi
, Barnsley
" Old 8mm micro radiator valve had been overtightened in the past and was cracked so needed changing it started to leak very slightly. I searched the internet and came accross this, I was told all plumbers use this product. I cut the sleeve to the size I needed, put the tie wrap on plus some tape and a bit of kitched roll round the botton to stop gas leaking. Waited 5 mins then turned valve on !!!! No water so I cut pipe with screwfix cutter £2.88 put new rad valve on tightened up job done.
This is a brilliant product saves draining system and the expensive cost of a plumber just have everything near just in case until you gain confidence, think it through before starting, I got a 8mm isolation valve just in case and did not need it. Well done screw fix
"
Review 5 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freeze pipes with confidence
22 Dec 2014
By Mart1159
, Kent
" I have used these kits several times to replace TRV's that have seized up; rather than draining the system and it has worked 100% first time everytime. I am always sightly cautious and make sure everything is to hand ready to go; jointing paste in place etc, just in case there is a need to rush but I have never had that panic moment when the ice plug goes - so far. The only problem is how much to use in each jacket when doing 2 pipes at the same time but usually count to 10 in each then repeat until it is all used up or comes out the sides. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy product to use.
18 Dec 2014
By Euge07711
, Stockport
" Simple product to use, just make sure your boiler is turn off and cooled.
I used it on 10mm copper pipe both vertical and Horizontal both worked a treat. do recommend using scales to weigh your can. "
Review 7 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pricey
25 Aug 2014
By BaggyTrousers
, Bury
" Does what it says on the tin. Think they're rather expensive though. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well
11 May 2014
By dreamycornerfloridavilla
, suffolkshire
" used quite a few of these kits now , make sure you check the box before leaving the store as my last one only had 1insulating jacket in.
will freeze a 15mm pipe in under 10 minutes and stays frozen for around 30 mins if conditions are right.,
"
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
3 May 2014
By tazy
, tyne and wear
" First time i have tried this pipe freeze.worked a treat on two horizontal 15mm rad pipes .Job done in 15 mins .ice plug held solid .would use again no problem. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pipe freezer
2 May 2014
By StanP
, Oxford
" This stuff is spot-on. i was concerned before but after few uses you start trusting it. you don't need to scale it . you can determine by hand when is half, and you'l know when you see the frost on the pipe, outside the sleeve, it is ready. "
Review 11 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy rad valve replacement
10 Apr 2014
By barryww
, London
" Used this kit to replace two very old leaking rad valves. Followed instructions to the letter and all worked perfectly. Used a previous reviewers calc of weight of empty can (152g) to estimate when the can was half full and seemed to be accurate.
A little pricey but when compared to draining down system and refilling with inhibitor etc. is worth the money. Make sure you have everything prepared and to hand before freezing your pipe as you don't want to waste time finding stuff when it's frozen!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dogs Bollicks
5 Dec 2013
By Bigd67
, Fife
" Had to use this Pipe freeze kit today to replace 2 radiator valves, basically does what it says on the tin "Freezes"
Pipe was frozen in less that 5 minutes and gave us plenty of time to change valves, well worth the money as saved us loads of time not having to drain system, refill.
I would be happy to use again ;-)
"
Review 13 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arctic pipe freeze kit
28 Feb 2013
By stix1
, portsmouth
" I've tried a few different pipe freezing kits before - with very mixed results. This one did the job just as advertised. Although it does say to leave for 5 mins I left it for an extra couple just to be sure. It was very handy having 2 jackets in the kit allowing me to cut the hot and cold pipes at the same time. Just have a pair of kitchen scales handy so you know when you've used half the can! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God send!
26 Jan 2013
By Dawniedorn
, Manchester
" I had no choice but to use this as my inside stop tap was leaking. As it was just before Christmas, getting an expensive plumber in wasn't really an option. I couldn't turn off the water from my outside stop tap either as there wasn't one to be found. United utilities told me my council had probably tarmac'd over my house's stop tap grid during pavement maintenance. Well it was scary but it worked a treat. My pipe was lead and we were worried it wouldn't freeze for long enough to make the change. It did and now all is good :-) "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super efficient
19 Jan 2013
By Alboy
, Epsom
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I had a leaking auto air vent bottle valve to replace and didn't want to drain the heating system. I froze two pipes leading to the bottle valve and made the repair. The repair itself took 5 mins but I measured how long the pipes stayed frozen using an isolation valve I fitted: it was 30 mins. So I am very pleased even if it was a little costly.
Some points to note:
- the pipes were 15 mm
- one horizontal and one vertical
- I had to cut the horizontal sleeve down by about 3 cm to fit
- the pipe temperature was ambient (say around 20C)
- I used the whole can, by 10 second squirts alternating between the two pipes (20 seconds would be fine as it took quite a few squirts)
- the 415ml can weight was 152g when empty. I didn't weigh the can full as not necessary for my method. One could use a scales if you wanted to measure out half a can if freezing one 15mm pipe
- noticed a slight bulge in the horizontal pipe after finishing where the spray was squirted in. Might be advisable to angle the nozzle around between squirts to reduce risk of splitting the pipe.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works fine but check the box!
19 Sep 2012
By Sammo
, Wakefield
" In the past when I've need to freeze two pipes I've bought two lots of the single kit. This time I decided to use this kit as its much cheaper and it worked really well. I don't understand the other reviews on here saying it didn't work. I don't know how it couldn't work as the principle is so simple - just follow the instructions.
The only thing that concerned me was how would I know when I have delivered half a can. I decided to weigh the can and had some scales handy and kept quickly stopping application and weighing it. When I got down to about 400g I stopped and used that for the second pipe.
The problem I did have is that the first kit I ordered came without the extension tube. I returned it and the replacement kit also lacked the extension tube. The third one I received did have the tube and screwfix kindly gave a fiver voucher and sent me a third kit gratis. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bit expensive.
5 Apr 2015
By Djmarvin
, Wigan
" Does what you need it to. Turn off heating night before on CH pipes and it'll freeze for longer. I added some isolation valves to CH Using this on two 15mm pipes and it worked fine, even when I cut the jacket down by half. "
Review 18 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
artic pipe freezer kit
30 Mar 2015
By ersy
, sudbury, suffolk
" To cure a small leak at a radiator valve would have meant draining the whole system but by using this kit I had the job done in minutes.
Left me the rest of the day for me to be freezer bird.
"
Review 19 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Arctic spray
26 Jan 2015
By Gaps1974
, Cambridgeshire
" Good, BUT you have to be organised and QUICK!! Not too sure we were either!!! "
Review 20 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Freeze spray!
17 Nov 2014
By johnnydiy
, essex
" Good product works as it should but be quick!
Doesn't stay frozen for the 40 mins it says, at best I got maybe 15-20 mins, when it did unfreeze I got no warning just a deluge of water as it let go.
"
Page : 1 2 3 next>