Product Reviews

425ml. 500g. No need to drain system. Freezes pipes up to 28mm and lasts up to 40 minutes. Achieves temperatures of up to -50ºC. Up to 2 freezes per pack. Includes 2 freezer jackets.

425ml. 500g. No need to drain system. Freezes pipes up to 28mm and lasts up to 40 minutes. Achieves temperatures of up to -50ºC. Up to 2 freezes per pack. Includes 2 freezer jackets.
Average Customer Rating:
3.591 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(22 Reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (22 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
9
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
3
16 of 22(73%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Review 1 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy rad valve replacement
10 Apr 2014
By barryww
, London
"Used this kit to replace two very old leaking rad valves. Followed instructions to the letter and all worked perfectly. Used a previous reviewers calc of weight of empty can (152g) to estimate when the can was half full and seemed to be accurate.
A little pricey but when compared to draining down system and refilling with inhibitor etc. is worth the money. Make sure you have everything prepared and to hand before freezing your pipe as you don't want to waste time finding stuff when it's frozen!
"
Review 2 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dogs Bollicks
5 Dec 2013
By Bigd67
, Fife
"Had to use this Pipe freeze kit today to replace 2 radiator valves, basically does what it says on the tin "Freezes"
Pipe was frozen in less that 5 minutes and gave us plenty of time to change valves, well worth the money as saved us loads of time not having to drain system, refill.
I would be happy to use again ;-)
"
Review 3 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arctic pipe freeze kit
28 Feb 2013
By stix1
, portsmouth
"I've tried a few different pipe freezing kits before - with very mixed results. This one did the job just as advertised. Although it does say to leave for 5 mins I left it for an extra couple just to be sure. It was very handy having 2 jackets in the kit allowing me to cut the hot and cold pipes at the same time. Just have a pair of kitchen scales handy so you know when you've used half the can!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God send!
26 Jan 2013
By Dawniedorn
, Manchester
"I had no choice but to use this as my inside stop tap was leaking. As it was just before Christmas, getting an expensive plumber in wasn't really an option. I couldn't turn off the water from my outside stop tap either as there wasn't one to be found. United utilities told me my council had probably tarmac'd over my house's stop tap grid during pavement maintenance. Well it was scary but it worked a treat. My pipe was lead and we were worried it wouldn't freeze for long enough to make the change. It did and now all is good :-)"
Review 5 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super efficient
19 Jan 2013
By Alboy
, Epsom
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"I had a leaking auto air vent bottle valve to replace and didn't want to drain the heating system. I froze two pipes leading to the bottle valve and made the repair. The repair itself took 5 mins but I measured how long the pipes stayed frozen using an isolation valve I fitted: it was 30 mins. So I am very pleased even if it was a little costly.
Some points to note:
- the pipes were 15 mm
- one horizontal and one vertical
- I had to cut the horizontal sleeve down by about 3 cm to fit
- the pipe temperature was ambient (say around 20C)
- I used the whole can, by 10 second squirts alternating between the two pipes (20 seconds would be fine as it took quite a few squirts)
- the 415ml can weight was 152g when empty. I didn't weigh the can full as not necessary for my method. One could use a scales if you wanted to measure out half a can if freezing one 15mm pipe
- noticed a slight bulge in the horizontal pipe after finishing where the spray was squirted in. Might be advisable to angle the nozzle around between squirts to reduce risk of splitting the pipe.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Works fine but check the box!
19 Sep 2012
By Sammo
, Wakefield
"In the past when I've need to freeze two pipes I've bought two lots of the single kit. This time I decided to use this kit as its much cheaper and it worked really well. I don't understand the other reviews on here saying it didn't work. I don't know how it couldn't work as the principle is so simple - just follow the instructions.
The only thing that concerned me was how would I know when I have delivered half a can. I decided to weigh the can and had some scales handy and kept quickly stopping application and weighing it. When I got down to about 400g I stopped and used that for the second pipe.
The problem I did have is that the first kit I ordered came without the extension tube. I returned it and the replacement kit also lacked the extension tube. The third one I received did have the tube and screwfix kindly gave a fiver voucher and sent me a third kit gratis."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not as described
4 Apr 2014
By SpannerMonkey
, UK
"This product is spot on, however, the description on the screwfix web site could be better (surprise!)
The product claims to do 2 x 15mm pipes, great I thought, I only need one kit. Rushed out to get one, got it home and on the box it says, that if you have plastic pipes, it's only enough for 1 application for a 15mm pipe.
I've now got to trek back out and get another. Poor show screwfix."
Review 8 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Has its uses
23 Nov 2013
By Daddyrib
, Northampton
"Not a bad product. It does what it says it will do as long as you follow the instructions and stay patient. However, this is an expensive way of doing things, especially as you can get caught out having to buy two cans for larger pipe sizes. so I would only use when absolutely neccessary"
Review 9 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
22 Aug 2013
By DJCo
, Swindon
"Worked well to change main incoming water, 15mm copper pipe at 6 Bar, stopcock. The external stop cock could not be located. Used whole tin on a vertical pipe at 22 deg C.
Although 2 jackets are supplied, the instructions say to use a whole tin of freezer, this makes it a bit expensive for a single use"
Review 10 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Arctic Spray
1 Feb 2013
By WurliTzerwilly
, South Coast, UK
"I wanted to fit a new radiator, but didn't want to de-pressurize or drain the system, so this product was ideal as it allowed for two pipes to be frozen. In my case both the flow and return had to be re-routed from the previous radiator position.
I had been pre-warned to ensure that there was sufficient spray left in the can for the 2nd pipe. Not knowing exactly what an empty can weighed, it was a bit of a guess. I weighed the full can, then took 20 grammes off, halved the remainder and added the 20 grammes back, which should have given me the weight to aim for after the first use.
In fact I was a fair bit out, but got away with it.
I had plenty of time to cut the pipes and make the new connection, but I noticed that the time taken for the 2nd ice plug to clear was much shorter than the first one.
In fact an empty can weighs 125 grammes and it would be helpful if the manufacturers put that on the info sheet. Then it's really easy to gauge how much you've used on the first application. Just stop spraying periodically and weigh the can.
All-in-all a satisfactory product, provided that you apply a little savvy."
Review 11 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Save coolant by pre-chilling
31 Dec 2012
By john607
, Winchester
"I've used this technology successfully several times in the past and this week we had a leak from the central rotating part of a 15mm service valve in the central heating. I'd just refilled the system with about £40 worth of new inhibitor this summer, so did not fancy draining it again. This is why it's worth paying what must be over the odds for a can of freeze spray! On one side the pipe was curved in a slow S shape and there was only 200mm to a T junction, but it still worked fine. If you chill the pipes first with a bag of ice cubes/ frozen peas or whatever, you can get away with only 120g of coolant per side (for 15mm pipe). Scales essential as other reviewers have mentioned. By the way, if you have to change a service valve like this, I have always got away with using the same olives - just change the valve body."
Review 12 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good - with caveats
24 Dec 2012
By flatline1
, Norfolk
"This product works well when the circumstances are favourable. If you have a nicely exposed pipe of 200mm in length it is 100% reliable.
The caveat is that the product will NOT work as advertised when there is limited access. It will NOT work if you have a short stub of pipe (less than 200mm) projecting from a wall or floor. It will NOT work if the only exposed pipe has a bend or an angled joint in it.
Straight exposed runs - 100% reliable.
Awkward access - no chance I'm afraid.
"
Review 13 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Excellent with care
25 Aug 2012
By Greendale
, Gloucester
""I used this kit to freeze two 10mm pipes to avoid having to drain down a system and went for the more expensive option to guarantee enough for the job. The product proved reliable and I only used 2/3 of the tin, even though I did the two pipes seperately. You need to work quickly and have all your tools and fittings ready. I tied up at the bottom (vertical fix) really tight but still lost some of the product through leakage. There is no way of knowing how much of the product has been used except by shaking the tin. The product seems a little over-priced, but it does save time and potential hassle/cost of replacing inhibitor etc."
Review 14 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Always useful but pricey
7 May 2012
By fincher
, Stroud
"I've always found it useful to use this kit to freeze a pipe to avoid having to drain down a system or where other methods of isolation are not possible.
The product is pretty reliable, but you have to work quickly - have all your tools and fittings ready.
It goes without saying that you cannot solder new fittings nearby the ice plug!
I think the product is a little over-priced, but it does save time and potential hassle/cost of replacing inhibitor etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent, but with caveats!
11 Feb 2012
By JonW
, Norfolk
"Needed to break into a pair of 15 radiator pipes and didn't want to drain the whole system. Used a single jacket around both pipes and got the job done. Few points:
- Tape the bottom well if vertical, I went nuts and still had a little leakage.
- If using solder joints, get it as far upstream as possible from the work site, I only just had enough time to get things done (Nowhere near 45 mins, more like 20).
- Get everything in place before starting, there's no going back! A couple of speedfit blanks on hand is a good idea if it all starts to go wrong
Overall, good - getting another to have on hand if needed in the future."
Review 16 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No good on 22mm+
23 Jun 2013
By MarkieB
, Essex
"I needed to fix a leak in a 22mm pipe on my heating system. Rather than draining down I thought I would try this so paid the £22.99 as it said the kit would freeze upto 28mm. On getting it home, put the two sleeves on and used half a can of spray on each. on cutting the pipe there was still water flowing which made it impossible to solder properly. Looked at the leaflet inside and it said two cans were needed! So therefore the packaging is misleading as the kit will not do the job states on the packaging. You will need to buy a second can to ensure the freeze is successful on larger pipes which will basically run to near £40!! Will probably be ok for 10mm/15mm pipe but anything larger save you dosh and drain down."
Review 17 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
artic spray
29 Oct 2012
By brodders
, lichfield
"i did not freeze the pipe i was working in sucessfully, not sure why but i would guess its more my fault than the product. could probably need to be shown by someone whos used it before. however i would try it again as the idea should save time"
Review 18 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Product design problem
16 Oct 2011
By stemilion
, Shropshire
"I bought this as it was only a couple of quid more expensive that the single version.
I followed the instructions to the letter, However the second pipe didn't freeze. There must be a problem with either how much is in the can or maybe the first application uses too much of the active ingredient.
Thankfully I had also purchased a single version and used that for the second pipe. Don't be fooled into buying this product, its a false economy. Just buy two singles as that product works perfectly.
"
Review 19 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Pipe Freeze Kit 425ml
2 Sep 2011
By rammy62
, Grimsny
"Followed instructions, but this used almost the whole can on one jacket meaning I could not freeze the second jacket.
The instructions are clearly wrong, will be complaining to screwfix about this!
"
Review 20 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Absolute rubbish
10 Feb 2014
By Anonymous
, Whitehaven Cumbria
"I bought this so that I could install a drain cock into the central heating system that had been put in by some dodgy Plummer. The heating circuit was stone cold and the instructions were followed to the letter. After the required amount of gas was pumped in and the required freezing time was allowed, I carefully cut into the 10mm pipe and all appeared to be ok. After severing the pipe completely, the frozen plug shot out like a bullet, closely followed by the contents of 12 double radiators !! Would I use this product again? For £23 you can buy a paddling pool to catch the monsoon in which would be far more useful!!"
Page : 1 2 next>