Product Reviews

Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit

Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(52 Reviews) 52
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 52 reviews
5 stars
21
4 stars
20
3 stars
3
2 stars
2
1 star
6
43 of 52(83%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Review 1 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Worked fine
25 Jan 2016
By
, Edinburgh
" I used this to freeze a pair of 8mm pipes that were feeding a radiator, the insulation collar round them together. Followed the instructions using half the can and was pleasantly surprised to be able to cut the pipes about 4 inches from the collar without loss of water - so it must have been well frozen as the hacksawing makes heat. I then put a couple of end stops on while I did the next phase of my changes, then used the second half of the can to refreeze. I hadn't removed the insulation collar, so just squirted into the same one and didn't need the second collar supplied. Got the new connectors fitted and plumbed to the new radiator without mishap. Then had half an hour lunch and when I got back one of my compression joints that I hadn't fully tightened was just beginning to drip, so I knew it had thawed. Cut off the insulation collar and set up the thermostatic valve. Very useful product, especially for avoiding draining the heating in winter. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freezing spray
23 Jan 2016
By
, Cardiff
" What a product! took longer to thaw the pipes out than it they took to freeze!
The can of freezing solution was more than enough to freeze two pipes/ I was able to replace two rad valves without draining the system down. Well recommended!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the Job, Brilliantly
11 Oct 2015
By
, Staffs
" I have never used this type of kit before. I needed to change a valve at one end of a radiator. I didn't want to drain the whole system down for about 15 mins works.
I only used one of the sleeves as I managed to close the valve at the other end. The pipes were vertical and the sleeve was too long so I cut it down by about 40mm. Using the extra bit of foam supplied to pack it out for a 15mm pipe used the zip tie to hold it in place. I pushed the tube down as low as I could get it and found that if I pushed the trigger down in bursts it was more efficient at cooling. I felt the bit of copper pipe exposed and it was cool. After the recommended 5 mins it was a lot colder, so i went for it and undone the fittings after a few dribbles of water the wife put her finger over the end of the radiator (she's good at things like that) to save the radiator emptying onto the floor. The valve was removed and new one fitted. I was expecting loads of water to drain out of the radiator in total about half a mug was all that came out. Good team work, job done in 10 mins. The product is a bit expensive but I have enough to do it again. Next time i would weigh the can so i could gauge if I used half of the tin.
Brill product follow the instructions to the letter, i would definitely recommend it and use again for this type of job. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does the Job
15 Sep 2015
By
, Surrey
" Does the job well but at a cost. Shame replacement cylinders, rather than whole kits, are not stocked. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best Pipe Freeze kit used
26 Aug 2015
By
, Wellingborough
" This was just the kit needed to freeze 2 central heating pipes that required re-routing".
I only needed to use one sleeve cut in half, as they are reusable (you need some extra ty-wraps to use again).
I only required half a can of freeze spray to freeze 2 x 15mm pipes.
the best bit is i still have enough to use for another job when needed, very good value for money :)
"
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Product
26 May 2015
By
, Reading
" I used this product for the first time a few days a go. I was a bit sceptical but it did exactly what it promised so im very pleased. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Definitely recommended
12 Mar 2015
By
, Watford
" Used this to freeze some black alkathene pipe to replace a seized stop cock. Did my research and some people said don't freeze some people said do?!?! So I did and it worked great. No fuss, no nonsense. Follow the instructions and make note of the time because this was accurate to the minute!!! "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great saver of time and effort
6 Feb 2015
By
, Dorset
" I've used Arctic Spray before with great results. Don't waste time and effort draining down the central heating system. Just follow the instructions to the letter and hey presto! Job done. Never any worries so long as you follow the instructions. "
Review 9 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
makes a hard job easy
29 Dec 2014
By
, Barnsley
" Old 8mm micro radiator valve had been overtightened in the past and was cracked so needed changing it started to leak very slightly. I searched the internet and came accross this, I was told all plumbers use this product. I cut the sleeve to the size I needed, put the tie wrap on plus some tape and a bit of kitched roll round the botton to stop gas leaking. Waited 5 mins then turned valve on !!!! No water so I cut pipe with screwfix cutter £2.88 put new rad valve on tightened up job done.
This is a brilliant product saves draining system and the expensive cost of a plumber just have everything near just in case until you gain confidence, think it through before starting, I got a 8mm isolation valve just in case and did not need it. Well done screw fix
"
Review 10 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Freeze pipes with confidence
22 Dec 2014
By
, Kent
" I have used these kits several times to replace TRV's that have seized up; rather than draining the system and it has worked 100% first time everytime. I am always sightly cautious and make sure everything is to hand ready to go; jointing paste in place etc, just in case there is a need to rush but I have never had that panic moment when the ice plug goes - so far. The only problem is how much to use in each jacket when doing 2 pipes at the same time but usually count to 10 in each then repeat until it is all used up or comes out the sides. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very easy product to use.
18 Dec 2014
By
, Stockport
" Simple product to use, just make sure your boiler is turn off and cooled.
I used it on 10mm copper pipe both vertical and Horizontal both worked a treat. do recommend using scales to weigh your can. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pricey
25 Aug 2014
By
, Bury
" Does what it says on the tin. Think they're rather expensive though. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
works well
11 May 2014
By
, suffolkshire
" used quite a few of these kits now , make sure you check the box before leaving the store as my last one only had 1insulating jacket in.
will freeze a 15mm pipe in under 10 minutes and stays frozen for around 30 mins if conditions are right.,
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great product
3 May 2014
By
, tyne and wear
" First time i have tried this pipe freeze.worked a treat on two horizontal 15mm rad pipes .Job done in 15 mins .ice plug held solid .would use again no problem. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Pipe freezer
2 May 2014
By
, Oxford
" This stuff is spot-on. i was concerned before but after few uses you start trusting it. you don't need to scale it . you can determine by hand when is half, and you'l know when you see the frost on the pipe, outside the sleeve, it is ready. "
Review 16 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy rad valve replacement
10 Apr 2014
By
, London
" Used this kit to replace two very old leaking rad valves. Followed instructions to the letter and all worked perfectly. Used a previous reviewers calc of weight of empty can (152g) to estimate when the can was half full and seemed to be accurate.
A little pricey but when compared to draining down system and refilling with inhibitor etc. is worth the money. Make sure you have everything prepared and to hand before freezing your pipe as you don't want to waste time finding stuff when it's frozen!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dogs Bollicks
5 Dec 2013
By
, Fife
" Had to use this Pipe freeze kit today to replace 2 radiator valves, basically does what it says on the tin "Freezes"
Pipe was frozen in less that 5 minutes and gave us plenty of time to change valves, well worth the money as saved us loads of time not having to drain system, refill.
I would be happy to use again ;-)
"
Review 18 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arctic pipe freeze kit
28 Feb 2013
By
, portsmouth
" I've tried a few different pipe freezing kits before - with very mixed results. This one did the job just as advertised. Although it does say to leave for 5 mins I left it for an extra couple just to be sure. It was very handy having 2 jackets in the kit allowing me to cut the hot and cold pipes at the same time. Just have a pair of kitchen scales handy so you know when you've used half the can! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
God send!
26 Jan 2013
By
, Manchester
" I had no choice but to use this as my inside stop tap was leaking. As it was just before Christmas, getting an expensive plumber in wasn't really an option. I couldn't turn off the water from my outside stop tap either as there wasn't one to be found. United utilities told me my council had probably tarmac'd over my house's stop tap grid during pavement maintenance. Well it was scary but it worked a treat. My pipe was lead and we were worried it wouldn't freeze for long enough to make the change. It did and now all is good :-) "
2 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Arctic Pipe Freezing Kit 425ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super efficient
19 Jan 2013
By
, Epsom
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" I had a leaking auto air vent bottle valve to replace and didn't want to drain the heating system. I froze two pipes leading to the bottle valve and made the repair. The repair itself took 5 mins but I measured how long the pipes stayed frozen using an isolation valve I fitted: it was 30 mins. So I am very pleased even if it was a little costly.
Some points to note:
- the pipes were 15 mm
- one horizontal and one vertical
- I had to cut the horizontal sleeve down by about 3 cm to fit
- the pipe temperature was ambient (say around 20C)
- I used the whole can, by 10 second squirts alternating between the two pipes (20 seconds would be fine as it took quite a few squirts)
- the 415ml can weight was 152g when empty. I didn't weigh the can full as not necessary for my method. One could use a scales if you wanted to measure out half a can if freezing one 15mm pipe
- noticed a slight bulge in the horizontal pipe after finishing where the spray was squirted in. Might be advisable to angle the nozzle around between squirts to reduce risk of splitting the pipe.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>