Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Reliable drill. Includes 6 drill and 8 screwdriver bits and adaptor. Supplied with carry case.

Reliable drill. Includes 6 drill and 8 screwdriver bits and adaptor. Supplied with carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.046 out of 5
4
 out of 
5
(87 Reviews) 87
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (87 reviews)
5 stars
33
4 stars
40
3 stars
5
2 stars
3
1 star
6
77 of 87(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Review 1 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value your purchase first!!
31 May 2012
By LondonDIYer
, London
"I bought this drill 2008 to replace my makita that had a dead battery. The whole drill cost me half the price of the battery then £24.99. I have been using it ever since and the two batteries are still working absolutely fantastic now 4 years later. Based on this drill I purchased a jigsaw that's Direct Power for a £11.. honestly it's worth every penny. The only downside is it switches between hammer and normal drill but that's not a big deal since this switching happens only when you change the speed, but you can return it back with one click. To be very very honest I wouldn't spend £72.99 for it, it is not worth that much money even though it lasted me 4 years, however people value things differently."
Review 2 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
24v Direct Power
30 Jan 2012
By diydaz
, Northants
"OK , it's not the best of makes. I purchased this drill over 3 years ago and it's still going strong.. Well worth every penny of the £24.99 it cost then. I wasn't expecting much for that price , but when it turned up and I opened the box , I thought how could anyone possibly make a tool of that quality and power then sell it for £24.99 and with 2 batteries as well. I had just upgraded from a 9v red devil which actually cost me more that this . I was so impressed with the price, performance and power that i purchased 2 more for my brother and father as Christmas presents. For an outlet to be selling the same model tool unchanged for getting on for 3 and a half years now , certainly tells you that it's worth a look in. It may not quite have the stamina , torque and slim body of a dewalt/makita but it can still hold it's own ground with the big boys toys.
The only niggle that i could possibly find was the looseness of the twist ring for the hammer function , but a tight elastic band in the groove sorted that out.
If you want a powerfull tool for a small price , then get this now.
"
Review 3 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Good Companion
26 Apr 2010
By Inky
, Brentwood
"I bought this 2 years ago for £34.99
Yes it is bit heavy and cumbersome which is a drawback if using thin drills or working in a confined space (but then a small hand drill is ideal and I also have the Titan 3.6v screwdriver).
It has proved more than adequate for all my DIY projects and the second battery is a boon for major projects.
Some reviewers have reported that it slips into Hammer mode. This is easily avoided, I use a 3 inch strip of electricians tape between/below the adjuster ring and the torque ring, easily removed/replaced when either needs to be moved.
After 2 years sterling service I thought it had packed up as the motor worked but did not power the chuck. On subsequent inspection before consigning it to the bin I noticed that while using it I must have slightly moved the Hi-Lo button which seems to disengage the drive if not fully forward or back. So I still have my good companion hopefully for many more years.
I thoroughly recommend this budget drill. I have bought other Direct Power and Titan branded items and have been pleased with them all"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well worth every penny
28 Feb 2010
By ChrisF
, Wakefield
"A solid, robust excellent drill. Used it in concrete and it was superior to the site percussion drill. Previous reviewers are right about it changing from drill to hammer actions with barely a touch but that is not a problem and should not put anyone off. Would happily buy the same again if given my time again"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
2 for the price of one
8 Feb 2010
By geoffk
, Dorset
"Good value for the money. My 24 volt Challange battery failed, so bought one of these to replace it, it comes with two battery packs these are identical to the failed unit so now I can drill with one in each hand!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value. Nicely built
29 Sep 2008
By ChrisR
, Bath
"Decent enough for my needs. Replaced my aging B&D corded drill with this last week (was on offer at 25 quid!).
Decent battery life and powered through the woodwork and block work alike.
Only downside I found was the hammer/drill selection ring is a little on the loose side and several times found the hammer inadvertently on when screwdriving!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value
24 Sep 2008
By partner
, Norfolk
"As a DIY user the drill has proved extremely flexible with the two batteries giving confidence in knowing it will be possible to complete the work no matter how big a job. Very powerful, the side handle enables accurate and steady drilling and while I have only tested the masonary hammer drill it seems to work extremely well. The ability to vary the settings also proves useful. The spirit bubble in conjunction with the handle reinforces the early statement regarding the accuracy of the work. All in all a worthwhile buy."
Review 8 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
cheap diy tool
21 Sep 2008
By Alzy
, torquay
"Would recomend to DIY. good torque settings, easy keyles chuck. battery charge in about 2 hrs. has hammer action but has no effect on dense block. Battery last long enough for DIY projects."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bp11240 24v drill
4 Sep 2008
By sire
, peterborough
"blooming excellant have already reccommended to someone else good old screwfix always at hand for the diy man(and trade)"
Review 10 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best value
4 Sep 2008
By chelsea
, newcastle
"this drill was a supprise,i thought at the price it would be cheap and nasty,a through away tool. how wrong was i.
it preformed a lot better than expected,i drilled in hard brick with ease,then i made a small fence and used it as a screwdriver and put in about 150 screws,and battry was still going strong.my father in law was with me and he was so impressed he went out and bought one,and two battries with it can only be a bonus.
"
Review 11 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value
23 Aug 2008
By kingfisherjt
, salisbury
"purchased two of these drills, 1 for a gift and 1 for ourselves. excellent performance and value for money.would recommend for all household DIY jobs."
Review 12 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
value for money
22 Aug 2008
By oldgit
, middlesbrough
"for the price it cannot be beaten does what it says"
Review 13 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very good purchase
12 Aug 2008
By norjb
, Anglesey
"drill is excellent value for the price i have used it for a lot of different jobs"
Review 14 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
6 Aug 2008
By MikeOfTheClan
, BERKS
"I've always owned good corded drills, I've used other people's cordless drills, but never owned one.
This is an excellent drill. Nice level of speed control from the trigger, so good as a serious screw driver. No problem with wood, perhaps a bit too slow to drill metal (but got there in the end). Still on my first charge.
For the price this (I paid £25) it is a bargain in anyone's books.
"
Review 15 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
a very good purchase
4 Aug 2008
By Mike1967
, Fochriw, South Wales
"had this drill today charged it and used it, very pleased with this purchase, quality is very very good, the only minor thing i found is the switchover from drill to hammer action is a bit flimsy (very easy to move), apart from that chuffed with purchase, Thinking of getting another for a Christmas present.
If you want a budget Combi Drill That works buy this one
£30 Delivered I'm surprised Screwfix hasn't sold out
"
Review 16 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sound Buy
4 Aug 2008
By ADIYer
, Huddersfield
"Value for money can't be faulted. Battery life more than reasonable and with a second battery being charged whist using the first you never need be without power.
My last battery powered drill had great difficulty with the engineering bricks used in our partition walls - whilst not making easy work of it, this one at least can cope!
I'm not sure how long the drill would last with full time professional use but at this price you could almost get a new one every couple of months!
"
Review 17 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drill
20 Mar 2008
By wecanfixit
, Lancaster
"Very nice drill. Plenty of power. With spare battery and a nice case to keep everything in. Just what you want. all at a unbelievable cheap price."
Review 18 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Solid & dependable
20 Mar 2008
By howiep
, Taunton
"The quality feels the same as tools costing 3-4 times as much.
Does everything I need it to do and then some.
Batteries last a long time between charges, plenty of power on hand,reccomended....
"
Review 19 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Combi Drill
20 Mar 2008
By evilstig
, Sheffield
"For £35 for a 24v combi drill that i've used dailly for over 3 months, its an absolute bargain. quick charge, spare battery and even some accessories. I am An Electician and this is an ideal tool for the commercial sector for its value.
To think i've spent more money on cheap 12v drivers, this one is excellent.
"
Review 20 for Direct Power BP11240 24V 1.3Ah Ni-Cd Cordless Combi Drill
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works like a £200 drill
20 Mar 2008
By wakki
, Herne Bay Kent
"I finally had to buy a new cordless drill as my friend had dropped my old one off a pair of steps and busted the top of the casing. Although it still worked it was getting past its sell-by date. So after a bit of cruising around the Screwfix site I opted fo one of the cheapest I could find. This was mainly because it was 24v and had hammer and two speeds, not because of the price. What arrived astounded me. Solid, although a little heavy, but an amazing drill that operated like something that was ten times the money. I have since used it on various tasks, from straight screwdriving to bashing holes in concrete.... amazed in the power and speed of it. And to top it all, it comes with two batteries that charge in under an hour. Highly recommended!"
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>