Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

500ml. Professional strength, safe Solvent cleaner for removing oils, grease, adhesives, silicone, lubricants, wax, rubber marks, tar and general engineering grime from components, machinery, tools, metal parts, glass and plastics. Non-flammable. Leaves a pleasant fragrance.

500ml. Professional strength, safe Solvent cleaner for removing oils, grease, adhesives, silicone, lubricants, wax, rubber marks, tar and general engineering grime from components, machinery, tools, metal parts, glass and plastics. Non-flammable. Leaves a pleasant fragrance.
Average Customer Rating:
4.562 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(16 Reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (16 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
3
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
0
16 of 16(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Review 1 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Contractors' Solvent
18 Jul 2014
By Souwester
, South Devon
"I think my life would fall apart without this stuff. It gets sticky labels off everything without damaging the surface.
Degreasing before using adhesive is another reason there is usually a bottle in my van.
Also when I have spilt it on my hands there has never been any adverse reaction to it.
I have recommended it many times already to colleagues and friends."
Review 2 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good cleaner
26 Jun 2014
By renderman
, north east
"we use this cleaner to remove render residue on windows and brickwork and it works really well"
Review 3 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product
16 May 2014
By KitchenPro
, Staffordshire
"I used this product to remove the glue left behind on my van when I took off the sign writing. Worked much better than any other products that I tried and also cleaned all of the road tar off too."
Review 4 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
solvent
28 Feb 2012
By susmil
, london - ish
"Life saver for over glue and silicone good for removing oil, grease and oil based paint(when wet)."
Review 5 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
De.Solv.It® Contractors Solven
21 Aug 2011
By Aad2
, West London
"Disolves grease and also removes the protective coating on porcelain tiles very effectively."
Review 6 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
one of my best buys ever
23 Jul 2011
By diyking123
, wednesfield
"this is the best oil remover you will ever buy smells nice easy to use spray on leave for 10 min then just wipe off years of old oil i cannot beleave how good this stuff is"
Review 7 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Purchase!
26 Jun 2010
By SaraB
, London
"This is one of the best solvent I've ever used. It's effective on all kinds of marks, scratches, stains, etc.. Performs exactly what it is stated on the product and it's also non flammable and doesn't have unpleasant chemical odour. Will have many uses for this product around the house."
Review 8 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solvent
13 Jul 2009
By shrip
, isle of wight
"In a hotel you get all kinds of stains, marks and residue - I keep using this stuff and it doesn't let me down."
Review 9 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Wouldn't be without it now...
5 May 2009
By gadgetdad
, Surrey
"I bought this to remove some very old, stubborn, grease stains from a cooker hood. This was the first time that it had been cleaned in ten years (to my shame). Normal household cleaners had proved useless, so I thought I'd give this product a whirl and "wow"... It's not hard work, at all - spray on, leave it for a couple of minutes and wipe/rub off with kitchen roll (plus a final wipe with a warm soapy cloth, when all finished). I would recommend this product whole-heartedly and will ensure that I don't run out from now on..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says.
6 Feb 2009
By malcy
, west sussex
"Great cleaner for all those stubborn dirt /marks etc.
Leaves a smear free finish and pleasant smell
Worth the money."
Review 11 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best
17 Aug 2008
By bighammer
, cambs
"this is a very good cleaner removes a lot of staines including dirt from an old key well worth the money"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good product
8 Jul 2014
By Blader
, Glasgow
"Used to clean greasy sticky conservatory interior. Did the job and not too smelly. Wear gloves as its a degreaser."
Review 13 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff, if a bit pricey
25 May 2012
By Pingouin
, Derby
"As in the title, it's great. I use it a lot to remove glue leftovers from stickers, and it works great. Also, it smells "good", so if I need solvent indoors, I'd use that instead of, say, white spirit to avoid hearing the wife complaining.
A bit pricey, but worth the money.
"
Review 14 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
De.Solv.It® Contractors Solven
17 Mar 2012
By Andybas
, Basingstoke
"I purchased this for the first time as a general cleaner and it does exactly that but I have to say I can't stand the smell.
A good product and it will clean up almost anything but open the windows before you spray and be prepared to have your breath taken away!!!"
Review 15 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Okay
20 Mar 2013
By bodgetman
, Suffolk
"Does what it is meant to do, but does need alot of work to get tape off ceramic tiles."
Review 16 for De.Solv.It Contractors Solvent 500ml
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
i thought it would be better
15 Jul 2012
By gorganpix
, taunton
"i thought it would be better due to the description, but did a good job on new stains ect but not great for long term ingrained muck on quarry tiles. but i probably got the wrong stuff anyway."