Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

High performance, lightweight Makita LXT combi drill and extensive 101 piece accessory kit together in one carry case.

High performance, lightweight Makita LXT combi drill and extensive 101 piece accessory kit together in one carry case.
Average Customer Rating:
4.561 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(132 Reviews) 132
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 132 reviews
5 stars
91
4 stars
31
3 stars
6
2 stars
1
1 star
3
126 of 132(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Review 1 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
So good, my husband sulked!
10 Sep 2012
By
, Camberley
"As I could never find a drill when I needed one (my husband has them all tucked away in the garage), I went mad and bought this drill on impulse - all to be mine,used by me and squirrelled away in MY workroom.
However, my husband needed a drill quickly for a job upstairs so (against my better judgement) I produced this Makita drill with all its' bits and pieces ready charged in its' case. Well - the urgent job forgotten, hubby turned it over, examined all, played with the bits and pieces and then tested the work capacity by drilling a different hole.
Suffice it to say, he declared it a "wonder in one place", everything HE needed for any job without searching for drill in one area and required accessories in several other places. He sulked when I said I had bought it for me.......okay, after 2 hours I could stand no more and gave it too him.
Terrific value for money (I got the extra battery) and a purchase I would recommend to all."
11 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Plenty for me
26 Aug 2014
By
, Edinburgh
"This is a professional tool, and I am not a professional. However after a month and a half of usage I can say that never regretted the purchase for a second. The battery life is amazing, and it charges in a "cup of tea break"
I only miss built in a led light, but I can live without it."
Review 3 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Drill
16 Aug 2014
By
, Leeds
"I used a colleague's one of these and was so impressed that I had to go and buy one.
The Drill is comfortable and robust. I do quite a lot of drilling into old red bricks and concrete. This drill can easily put a hole deep enough for a brown wall plug and setting an inch deeper for concrete screws generally doesn't take much more work.
I bought the 4Ah battery to go with the 3Ah one in the kit and so just don't run out in the middle of a job.
My friend's DeWalt (just drill and hammer) seems to have more grunt using similar LIon batteries, but I prefer the control of the Makita trigger and gearing of this combi when drilling tiles and using the screwdriver setting.
The kit box is very well stocked, but I was under no illusions as to how much beating the free accessories would take. I needed to replace the drill bits which I use most often after a couple of weeks with better quality ones which I already had. Having a place to keep them handy and return them to (not just a little tin box) is a definite bonus on site. This is a great starting point for a DIYer.
Battery charging is fast and easy too, so even if I hadn't gone for the extra LIon, it wouldn't be long before I was back to using the drill.
The high reliability rating is due to the combined pounding of my few weeks using this drill and my colleague's same Makita over a period of months."
Review 4 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wish I'd Bought One Before Now
4 Aug 2014
By
, Manchester
"I'd been playing with the idea of upgrading my drill for a while now. I saw that this drill was on offer and had some DIY to do so took advantage and bought it.
WOW! What a difference from my previous drill (18v Ryobi Ni-Cd).
Firstly the speed the battery charges is impressive and the notification when charging is complete is useful.
I like the driver setting with the torgue release on it so you don't plough screws in way to far.
It made light work of drilling into masonary and I didn't have to put much weight behind it.
There's a good selection of accessories included, everything I'd every need.
If you are looking to upgrade to a drill from a lesser brand then I would definitely recommend this!
"
Review 5 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent bit of kit for price
16 Jul 2014
By
, Northamptonshire
"I purchased this drill to use at work and to start my makita tool set off. I purchased this online and collected from store as they were selling like hot cakes and I didn't want to miss out. I picked it up after work and showed my buddy outside. He was so impressed he ended up buying one himself. As usual with makita, excellent quality at affordable prices. I know this drill will last me a long time and serve me well, plus it comes with makita's 3year warranty as standard."
Review 6 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Kit for everyone
16 Jul 2014
By
, Glasgow
"I've bought it for some work at home. Great tool and of course I've everything in one place with accessories kit."
Review 7 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Makita
15 Jul 2014
By
, Matlock, Derbyshire
"Excellent drill,and good value for money if you include the accessory kit."
Review 8 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great first timer drill
13 Jul 2014
By
, Bromborough
"with all the accessories it has to be a great first timers drill.. on at a great price the quality of the build - quick charge time and great battery life it was an obvious choice to purchase. Was lucky to get one before the stock ran out!"
Review 9 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Powerful and versatile drill
12 Jul 2014
By
, Shropshire
"Have now purchased 4 of these. The last 2 were gifts for others.
Good power to weight ratio and excellent balance. Quick charge battery pity about the extortionate price for spare battery."
Review 10 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value
7 Jul 2014
By
, Cornwall
"This DRILL is brilliant, I emphasise drill as the free accessories really do not live up to Makita standards. BUT the drill is worth the price on its own. I was so impressed I bought another one.
the 3ah battery is one of its best features extending the working time the recharge time is short and in my case was good enough for most jobs but I have bought a second battery now so the drill works constantly effortlessly.
great piece of kit."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
nice piece of kit
6 Jul 2014
By
, ware
"good balanced drill, comfortable grip and positive controls make this drill easy to use .seems powerful and drilled brickwork much quicker than my old drill .
101 piece kit is handy although there are bits i will probably never use or understand , such as "screwfinders" my Mrs knows where my screws are kept :D
all in all a nice piece of kit ! which feels like it will last for years of domestic use .
"
Review 12 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bit of kit
1 Jul 2014
By
, lancashire
"being a joiner and tiler, this drill gets used everyday for drilling 15mm 25 mm holes in tiles for pipes electric cable etc, and every aspect of joinery the hammer drill is superb didn,t expect it to be so good"
Review 13 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good
23 Jun 2014
By
, Berkshire
"Works well, and the charging time is excellent. Battery life looks good for the duration of work I did."
Review 14 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Drill
17 Jun 2014
By
, london
"I am a electrician who works on site 5-6 days a week having a drill like this in your bag is a must! great quality with a large range of features the best thing about this drill is that it is reliable. Anyone looking for a great drill that they can rely on then this is the one for you!"
Review 15 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great drill
16 Jun 2014
By
, Norfolk
"After struggling for years with sub-standard cheap cordless drills - this one proved to be a revelation. Have used it on several projects lately including drilling masonry with the hammer function, metal plate drilling and driving home plenty of screws and still haven't needed to charge it. It is comfortable to use and packs a real punch. The only mistake I made was to buy the accessory kit which I did not feel was worth the extra £50 and the box it all comes in is ridiculously cumbersome for the items it contains. So my ratings are for the drill only and the reliability rating is based only on a few weeks' work."
Review 16 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Essential piece of kit
12 Jun 2014
By
, Scotland
"Amazing combi drill with all the essential
Accessories to tackle any job.
Quality was apparent as soon as I opened the box.
If you haven't got one, get it. You won't be disappointed.
"
Review 17 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita cordless
10 Jun 2014
By
, Plymouth
"Very pleased with my purchase going to use for the first time tomorrow"
Review 18 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita Drill
4 Jun 2014
By
, Nottingham
"Wasn't sure whether to buy or not so read the reviews and the review are spot on. Value for money on this product is brill. you will not be disappointed."
Review 19 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An Excellent Drill
4 Jun 2014
By
, Poole
"I've already got two of these for work and needed a decent drill for home too as my old cheap one had given up the ghost. This seemed like the only sensible choice to me. A great tool with a nice accessories box too. Too good an opportunity to miss."
Review 20 for Makita DHP453RFTK 18V 3Ah Li-Ion Cordless Combi Drill w/101Pc Accessory Kit
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita magic
30 May 2014
By
, South East
"Fantastic piece of kit always went for the cheaper option before but this time went for the 3ah battery really well put together and a great accessory kit in a sturdy box . well impressed."
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>