Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Pegler Pump Valves 22mm

Pegler Pump Valves 22mm
Average Customer Rating:
4.4 out of 5
4.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
8 of 10(80%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Review 1 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Not cheap but one of the best
19 Oct 2014
By MSDiy
, Northamptonshire
"Pegler Pump Valve 22mm better than the cheap versions.
They d' not leak when you turn them off.
"
Review 2 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent valves.
9 Dec 2013
By Farad
, Staffordshire
"These are excellent quality valves, they have the full 22mm bore and don't inhibit flow, note that the box contains two valves."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Look good quality BUT
4 Nov 2013
By dontneedanickname
, milton keynes
"A lot longer in the body than other valves of the same type. This may mean that they are better made but unfortunately they don't fit in the gap, well not with the pump between them anyway.
Need the dimensions on the web site so that I don't waste another trip to Screwfix !
If you've got plenty of space I'd say these look better than the cheaper valves but overall length is 60mm compared to about 40 on the cheap ones so as much use as a chocolate fireguard for me.
Never got the chance to test performance or reliability hence the mark"
3 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Don't buy gate valves!
4 Jun 2013
By erbauerfan
, Stratford upon Avon
"Gate valves of any kind are an absolute pain. Operating them every year to keep them from seizing is fanciful. So by the time I come to use them they're always seized and a waste of time.(hardwater area is probably significant). I've now replaced every gate valve with a ball valve and what a difference!. So when it came to fitting a new pump I looked for ball valves and found these Pegler valves at almost the same price as the 'economy' version. Obviously I can't yet comment on reliability but I'll guess they'll be fine - and won't seize or leak. Why do they still make gate valves I wonder? Then again why do they still make drain cocks that seize and leak instead of with a ball valve? Don't get me started on useless plumbing designs! Let me just praise these Pegler pump valves."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality
7 Mar 2013
By DIYER3
, Surrey
"Excellent quality valves. In contrast to those all my local Plumbers Merchants sold (and I tried them all) these have a full 22mm bore. Good thick rubber washers and a solid construction. I'll look for more of Pegler's stuff when I need more fittings.
It defeats me that any Plumbers merchant would sell fittings for 22mm pipe that have a 15mm bore. Only one of those in a section of 22m pipe renders the pipe obsolete. You might just as well have used 15mm pipe."
Review 6 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Quality
24 Nov 2012
By Simac
, Oldham
"Easy to fit and the rotating valve is much easier than the gate type valve (which usually ends up not closing fully or leaking)
The rubber washers also seem better than those supplied with the cheaper valve.
"
Review 7 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Ball versus gate valves
3 Apr 2012
By Glyn1
, Lincolnshire
"Just to add to the previous comment - any value in your heating system circuit (including valves on pumps that will aid a speedy replacement should you need to do one) should be serviced regularly in order ro make them work. In my experience the ball valves on a pupm connection are simpler to use as often the pump is in an awkward place, so having to make a 90 degree turn is easier than spinning the gate valve type. However, don't think that gate valves in other places are not good - I have several on my system and if you fully close them and open the when you start and stop your heating in autumn and spring, they will give you good service. Remeber to leave them fully open, but then do a full turn (clockwise usually to close) teh other way so that any limescale can be removed by opening fully. This way you don't get a jammed valve. The ball valves have an advantage here in that they usually work 360 degrees, allowing motion in both directions."
Review 8 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Easy
11 Jun 2010
By MilSki
, St Albans
"Very simple, easy to fit, does the job required reliably."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Worth Paying the extra
21 Feb 2010
By FastEddie
, Herts
"If the cheaper "gate-valve" type have been fitted in the past & perhaps the central-heating system has not been maintained as well as it should have been, then one normally finds that when removing the old pump the valves do not close 100% & to avoid water-damage to the building fabric, the system has to be drained-down, thus making it a much bigger more costly job.
So it is worth the extra to buy these ball-valve type that do normally isolate 100%.
"
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Pegler Pump Valve 22mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
12 May 2013
By zzardy
, Birmingham
"Initially thought they were good but 12 months later when changing the pump they both gushed water through the valve spindle. The old gate valve would only need a bit of ptfe around the spindle and and a quick tighten of the gland nut....cured. Can't do that with these though! Save your money and buy Gate Pump Valve."