Product Reviews

BG 4-Way Power Controller

BG 4-Way Power Controller
Average Customer Rating:
3.556 out of 5
3.6
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
1
8 of 9(89%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer Reviews for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Review 1 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Superb piece of equipment
8 Mar 2016
By
, London and Worksop
" This power controller is exactly what was needed,
Waterproof to the standard quoted, easy to fit and has been reliable and fit for pupose.
Very good value for money.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Co
15 Jul 2014
By
, essex
" very easy to work with,best value around,ideal for my pond pumps ,lighting etc. "
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
weatherproof controller
18 Jan 2016
By
, Northants
" A bit fiddly to get wires attached but worth the effort. A very good product at a reasonable cost.
Works very well in all weather conditions.
"
Review 4 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good durable product
4 Jan 2016
By
, Liverpool
" I added some extra features to my pond and needed to up-grade my old switching kit.
I agree that the space is very fiddly to work with I used a pair of forceps to sneak the wires into place.
However since then we have had the worst summer & autumn ever regarding rain and although a few times the sheltered section that houses my switching box was drenched the kit has been fine and the switches are all still intact.
good value for the price against some I have used in the past.
Water-proof seals have been well tested and are fine.I'm Happy with this kit.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It says what it claims
11 Jun 2013
By
, Glastonbury, Somerse
" I was not so sure that I fancied this unit being in the open air without a RCD in place so power was supplied via an RCD unit. To assist weatherproofing, I enclosed the unit inside a lidded plastic box passing the wires through the side. The installation was to supply a water pump unit together with fairy lights around a feature in the garden as well as a reproduction street light - so in fact I needed only three of the four fused switches which was just as well as the 3 amp switch refused to stay switched on so I substituted the wiring to the 5 amp fuse. The lesson learned here was prior to fitting, independantly check each fuse switch for functionality. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Fantastic muilty switch
17 Jun 2016
By
, Hampshire
" I have bought 3 of these controllers for my fish pond so I can turn the pumps and other things off and on easier. two of them performed fantastic but one of them filled with water and tripped my RCD, but screw fix replaced it no questions asked. Over all great value for money. Worth a go and I would recommend. "
Review 7 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Difficult to wire , faulty swi
21 Apr 2016
By
, Tunbridge Wells
" The first unit was faulty, one switch would not latch, returned for replacement.
Before wiring up suggest checking functionality.
Because of restricted space inside difficult to insert wires into connectors. If possible suggest tip soldering stranded wires before trying to insert into connectors..
Price very competitive.
"
Review 8 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good idea let down by design
21 Jun 2013
By
, Stratford-upon-Avon
" Used as a junction box for multiple outside light, could not have been a better way, cheap, effective and looks good...BUT....let down by the pathetically small gap between the cable gland clamps and the terminals, no more than a few mm and directly inline so difficult even to loop back round. Beware inlet is on the left hand side (facing)
PLEASE make the box bigger !!! "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for BG 4-Way Weatherproof Power Controller
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor product
15 Sep 2013
By
, Northampton
" I fitted 3 for a customer. There is zero room inside for cables its ridiculous. One of them kept tripping the RCD even though everything had been tested. It turned out to just have a faulty board so one of the switches couldnt be used. The fuses are not standard and can only be bought from specialist places. The intstructions dont say what type of fuse they are. Its so fiddly if you install it and you have a problem its a nightmare to rewire it all and replace it so as the other reviewer said you just use one of the other switches which is ok as long as you dont need them all. The switches feel cheap and i just know im going to be called back at some point because they have broken. I wont be using these again. "
31 of 31 people found this review helpful.