Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Bottle Trap 40mm White

Bottle Trap 40mm White
Average Customer Rating:
4.3 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 10 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
0
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 star
1
9 of 10(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Review 1 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
rescued by screwfix
29 May 2015
By DIYenthusias
, Derby
" With a very tight space to work in this product got me out of a serious problem as its the only solution i could find. I was a bit sceptical when first seeing it on the website but the product is well made versatile and of good quality materials as best i can tell. Hard to judge reliability as its only just being fitted so time will tell "
Review 2 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Use these all the time
24 Feb 2015
By Gravey
, South East
" If you had the choice of a McAlpine bath trap with top access like a shower against any other type this is always the way to go IMO. When you remove the amount of hair that you get with these you will understand why it is so much better than no access.
Quality brass parts on show with plastic behind scenes. Comes with 2 nice little tools to help screw in trap and overflow connections.
BTW the reviewer who commented about the overflow issue- I have not had any issues and fitted a lot of these and if you wanted to, the bottom 'cup' can be 'popped' off with out complete removal. "
Review 3 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect part
16 Nov 2014
By Symun
, Swansea
" The lack of space under the bath i was fitting was causing a lot of issues, previous bath fitter had hacked into floor to create space.
This part as it incorporates the bottle fits in perfectly, and gave the room i needed for a t piece to add basin waste to the system.
Solid bit of kit being a chromed brass fitting, and cheap for what it gives you in less stress and hair pulling.
Only issue i had was screwing the overflow pipe to the back of overflow hole, i overcame this by heating end of pipe with a hair dryer to soften the pipe and make it grip.
"
Review 4 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
the best
5 Jun 2014
By gastec1
, hampshire
" i have tried most bath wastes out there and nothing is as good as this one "
Review 5 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Shower trap for baths, great.
29 May 2014
By GRBT
, Manchester
" I purchased this trap to replace a complete botch carried out by a so called bathroom fitter. As a plumber with 35 years experience this product met the standard I have come to expect from Mcalpine products good practical thought out design that works. I've only rated a 4 for performance and reliability due to not having purchased or installed this particular trap previously although don't have any doubts. "
Review 6 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
bath waste
29 Mar 2014
By GEOFF1962
, denton
" Would recommend this
no leaks
very good value for the money
will be using this item every time
"
Review 7 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good Product - Great Support
15 Nov 2013
By BigDIYDave
, Wakefield
" This product is a good product combining waste and trap in 1 unit removing a potential area for leaks (one I was struggling with on my bath). The unit is simple to fit and seems durable enough.
The customer support from McAlpine is superb. I had a small leak from the overflow pipe fitting into the trap. Posted a note on there website and in less than 48 hours was contacted about the issue, diagnosing that a seal was not in the pack and someone actually came and dropped it in to my house. I am sure this is above the normal service level but was very impressive.
My only concern going forward (and why I haven't given it 5 stars on reliability or performance) is that the pop up plug seal looks like it uses the weight of the water to seal and I wonder about its reliability over time. "
Review 8 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Genius
12 Nov 2013
By Jlow
, Bedfordshire
" Inaccurate description given for this product.
This is a click clack bath waste in the style of a shower waste- so the trap can be cleaned out from above.
Usual Mcalpine quality and all the parts that need to be are brass.
As a bathroom fitter I shall be using these every where from now on!
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beware bath thickness
26 Feb 2014
By Polonius
, Yorkshire
" This trap is a good idea and brings top access servicing into the same convenience level as shower traps. Be aware that this item is not suitable for thicker skinned baths like the stone resin type as the 36mm thread length on the waste is not long enough. "
Review 10 for McAlpine Bottle Bath Trap 40mm White
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Serious design flaw
20 Nov 2013
By PlumberJohn
, South
" At first I believed this trap/waste combo to be a great idea - an easy to install all in one that would save time. However, after a few months of using them a serious flaw in the design has become evident.
This product differs from most bath wastes in that the overflow connects to the waste below the level of the trap. The overflow pipe is therefore in constant contact with dirty waste water. This results in excessive mould/bacterial growth in the overflow pipe which results in a terrible stench. Furthermore, the pipe cannot be cleaned without complete removal of the whole system.
I recommend that customers stick to traditional traps and wastes and that Screwfix discontinue this product. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.