Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.654 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(127 Reviews) 127
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 127 reviews
5 stars
94
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
122 of 127(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
9 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sp164
17 Jul 2016
By
, Yorkshire
" having read a very small minority of negative reviews and being from Yorkshire I was slightly perturbed about spending good money on something that might not be as good as it could be, how wrong could I be, having purchased at a bargain price I would have been happy to pay full price for this machine. Cut grass in half the time of my electric mower, sailed up 20 degree incline (dry day) all in all a great experiance and would recommend to anybody, filling oil could of been slightly easier but not that difficult as some have suggested, wish I had bought this years ago, made cutting my lawn a pleasure and not a chore "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GOOD MOWER FOR PRICE
11 Jun 2016
By
, TORBAY
" HAD A SIMILAR MOWER AND AS LONG AS PETROL WAS FRESH ALWAYS STARTED FIRST TIME.COULD DO WITH A SINGLE LEVER TO ADJUST CUTTING HEIGHT.ONCE ASSEMBLED THIS MOWER STARTED 2ND PULL.HELPFUL MEMBER OF STAFF PLACED IN CAR. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Perfect
6 Jun 2016
By
, Southampton
" I bought an electric mower 20 years ago and trailing the wires round has always been a pain. Finally got this petrol mower as it was good and cheap. Also bought it for the Mountfield name. Got the oil needed and a fuel can while in store (handy!)
Got some petrol and the way home and was up and running in 30 mins, easy!
Mowed the lawn straight away and it works great. It is an entry level price and size etc, but for your average home this is more than capable. Wish I got it years ago!
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little mower
29 May 2016
By
, Sutton
" I had to cut a big lawn and my main mower broke. So I went to screw fix and brought this and some oil. Set up in 15 minutes.
Did the job and cut through the high grass really well.
Have since used it on normal small lawns. It is fast and starts first time. Great little mower.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sexiest thing on 4 wheels
24 May 2016
By
, Dunstable
" I've never owned a petrol lawnmower before let alone a SP one but will say it's a fantastic product, great features and great value for money, this has made my life so much easier no more pushing and no more cables. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bloomin eck.....what a machete
19 May 2016
By
, Chipping Norton
" Bought this product last year and our love quickly blossomed into marriage. We go everywhere together. "
6 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy, decent bit of kit
18 May 2016
By
, Kent
" Never owned a petrol lawnmower before and never had a self propelled one so wasn't sure what to expect. Bit fiddly getting the oil in (you need to buy this separately !) but started first time and must say it is a piece of cake to operate.
Feels sturdy, 2 year guarantee and the self propelled motion makes this really easy to use. Recommended. "
Review 8 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Mower Cheap s Chips
16 May 2016
By
, Gloucestershire
" I bought mower to save loading my Toro mower into the car when going to cut the Mother inlaws lawn -the Mountfield is easy to assemble -easy to start -easy to use and could by 4 of them comparing it to the Toro!!
The Mrs started it 2nd pull on its first start up.
I also used my £20 discount code that came in the post ,making it even cheaper !! If you want a cheap self powered mower then this is it !!
"
Review 9 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Making the garden easier
11 May 2016
By
, isle of wight
" Having been a Fly mo man for many years,i have reached the age,where every man over 50 needs a little help.
On the advice and help from the man in the store,he helped me choose the right garden mower for me,to do the right job in my garden.
Not only did he give the right advice,but he even carried the item out to my car.
Now thats what i call service.
Cannot thank screw fix enough.
"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great mower
8 May 2016
By
, Glasgow
" Bought this as I was fed up with my Qualcast carpet sweeper!
Picked it up and the chap was really helpful at helping me get it into the car.
Put it together in half an hour.
Grass collector a bit fiddly but saw another review which suggested using a small screwdriver this did the trick.
Asked about the oil and told I needed to buy some Screwfix missed a trick here as nobody mentioned the accessories kit.
Filled it with oil and petrol and it started first pull.
Cut the grass well including the rougher stuff my old mower could not cope with.
Saw another review complaining it was plastic but my view is that this makes it lighter and easy to manoeuvre
The speed is exactly right for me
Price was cheaper than anywhere else I tried well done Screwfix
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great lawnmower
25 Apr 2016
By
, Newport
" This lawnmower was easy to assemble and provides a great cut. It starts very easily "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Value For Money
22 Apr 2016
By
, Ross on Wye
" Very easy to put together, took just ten minutes.
After filling with oil and petrol it started third pull.
Simple to operate controls - though personally, I don't like the way the engine stops if you release the throttle bar. I would prefer a tick over with a stop button.
Self drive work smoothly and at just the right speed for me - I'm 6 ft 4 in, so have quite a large stride. Smaller people may find it a little fast?
Have cut the lawn twice since purchase so cant really comment on or rate reliability yet - I'll do this after I've had it a month or so.
Over all great value for money while on special offer.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchase of the year
14 Apr 2016
By
, Cricklade Wilts
" Bought this as old mower decided to die. Looked at the cheaper versions as well as the dearer ones and decided that this one did everything we needed and at a very affordable price. Unboxed it and assembled in just a few minutes, filled with oil and petrol and with a couple of pulls on the cord away it went. It runs clean and smooth and cuts well with no effort due to the self propulsion.
Well done Mountfield on the build and thank you Screwfix for the great price and ease of purchase.
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an exceptional Mower
5 Apr 2016
By
, Thornbury
" Clear concise instructions, you will need to buy oil but it does show this clearly on the box, comes with petrol preservative for 5L and the Mower is light, easy to manoeuvre and with adjustable front and rear heights makes a lovely cut, easy to start and the self propel is easy to operate with the long bar under the handle "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Lawnmower
2 Apr 2016
By
, Leicester
" Bought it as I was fed up with the electric one. Assembled in half an hour I used it the next day, excellent results, in less than quarter the time. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower
2 Apr 2016
By
, London
" Can't believe I haven't owned a self propelled mower. It makrs life so much easier without needing to push the mower. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Mountfield SP164
30 Mar 2016
By
, Dumfries & Galloway.
" Received this mower today. 24 hour free delivery from Screwfix.
Built it up in 35 mins. no problems. Bag a bit tight to put on frame but helped with the use of a small screwdriver.
I took it straight out and cut my very uneven and sloping lawn. Beat the pants off my previous Honda which was twice the price.
Cut the grass nicely and right up to the edge which was a bonus. Well pleased !
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Mower
26 Mar 2016
By
, Herefordshire
" A very nice mower that does the job. Only downside for me, was the lack of throttle unit.
Apart from that, fine.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Machine
9 Mar 2016
By
, Ryde , Hampshire
" Having the good fortune of my dear Mum buying us this, as our other mower had seen its last,(a 10year old Mountfield) I had read the reviews and pre purchased a funnel with tube,500ml of 4 stroke oil, Set about putting it together 15 Min, everything fitted perfect, filled with the correct amount of oil 450ml no overspill, A little oil left to oil the air filter as it said in the manual, It looked and felt a solid bit of kit, not like some other people have said ???. The only negative thing I can for see is that the grass collection box is not going to be big enough for my 400 Sq. Mtr garden to cope in one go, May be if I keep on top of it Lol, All in All Very happy with it Oh started 1st pull after a prime :-) "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for Money
30 Sep 2015
By
, Worcestershire
" Excellent value for money, takes all the hard work out of mowing the lawn.
Efficient on petrol usage and starts first time, every time.
Highly recommend this mower to anyone for the money.
"
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>