Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.64 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(100 Reviews) 100
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 100 reviews
5 stars
75
4 stars
19
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
95 of 100(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for Money
30 Sep 2015
By
, Worcestershire
" Excellent value for money, takes all the hard work out of mowing the lawn.
Efficient on petrol usage and starts first time, every time.
Highly recommend this mower to anyone for the money.
"
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item. Should last 4ever
25 Sep 2015
By
, Greater London
" this is a great mower.
No more messing with moving an electric cable.
I have a 150 sq M lawn. So long as the grass isn't overly wild I can do the lot in one collection basket.
I refill the fuel about twice a summer. That's with mowing the lawn at least weekly.
Not a single hint of an issue so far. Compared to my old orange hover mower which literally shook itself to pieces in the same time. This mount field should last at least ten years. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
22 Sep 2015
By
, Abergavenny
" Started first pull, then used it for four hours flat out, only stopping to empty the grass collector.
So far i couldn't be happier with its performance. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot On
14 Aug 2015
By
, Leece - Cumbria
" Cannot complain. Works as it should. Struggles a bit with long grass but thats my fault for not keeping on top of it! Have large lawn, takes about 2 hours per mow....so the performance and durability is great, hasnt let me down yet and starts on first pull every time. Handy to have the primer on it to assist this. I will be sticking with this make for my next one, only change would be a bigger collector on back, or a way to remove hatch so that it can just dump grass without clogging up "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
27 Jul 2015
By
, Cannock
" I was really impressed with this mower! Having recently moved in to a new property that was... let's just say, 'unkept', I had neglected the rear lawn until it became an absolute necessity to find the smaller of our two cats...
Having a first stab at the waste-high jungle, I soon had to abandon my trusty flymo that had gotten me through years of regular mowing at my old house; it wasn't cutting it. I looked online and found this Mountfield mower at a good price on Screwfix, I fetched it within the hour and decided to give it ago over the coming weekend.
The weekend came and I put the new mower together with ease; very little to do. I'd picked up some fuel and oil in advance so I filled it up and crossed my fingers. It started with the first pull of the cord! A great start!
The mower made light work of the lawn, despite the small engine and plastic body (which I actually prefer to the metal ones as previous experiences have shown these tend to rust pretty quickly if you're on top of such things... which I'm not).
If you want a reliable and trusty petrol mower without the hassle, go get this one, you won't be disappointed! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic lawnmower
8 Jul 2015
By
, Skegby
" I purchased this as i was fed up cutting through cables, it has surprised me as to how good it is. really easy to set up taking just 15 mins and it started on the second pull. its cuts easily and is extremely light weight. the only thing with it is to get a funnel as its difficult to fill with oil. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for a new lawn
6 Jul 2015
By
, Edinburgh
" I have a new house and the turf at the front and back is not great. I just want to keep it a good length and clip the top off regularly over the summer (usually about 3 days in Scotland). This is my first petrol mower and I am absolutely delighted with it. The height adjustments are great with five to choose from. I am using the top height for the first year until the grass is established. It is easy to set up and use - it started on the first pull. It has a nice engine with plenty of power. My wife also loves it (result). She also started it first time but did find the self propelled engine quite nippy. She pulled on the accelerator and off she and the Mountfield went. Haven't seen them since. Shame really; I really miss the mower...
If you have been thinking about a petrol mower I advise you to go for it. It is a biggish investment but I am already finding the benefits out way the cost. It saves time, it's a better cut and there are no cables. I chose Mountfield for ease of servicing either by myself or professionally and the availability of spare parts. "
16 of 16 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NEW MOWER
3 Jul 2015
By
, EGREMONT CUMBRIA
" i bought this mower yest & used it today i loved it it does what it says on the box lol its even easier to start than my old one i am so happy with it "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this mower!
25 Jun 2015
By
, Rotherham
" Wish I had bought this years ago!
Simple and easy to use! Very light. Love it! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just get one
18 Jun 2015
By
, Devon
" Should have got one of these five years ago. Can't find better for this price. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product
17 Jun 2015
By
, WORKSOP
" I have one happy other half as this item does as it says on the box, easy handling, easy assembly and fantastic value for money "
Review 12 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it
9 Jun 2015
By
, Seaford
" We are very much enjoying this mower so far - it beats the pants off our previous electric mower. "
Review 13 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Mower
8 Jun 2015
By
, Derbyshire
" Not a lot to add to the other reviews as it is a very good petrol mower for the price. It would be better if oil was supplied with it as I didn't know there wasn't any so had to go back to Screwfix to get some. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164
6 Jun 2015
By
, West Yorkshire
" Nothing to add to other reviews, really. A very competitive price for an excellent bit of kit. Able to get it into use within half an hour, and it does a brilliant job.worth getting the starter kit (oil, petrol can etc) if you haven't already got them. As others have said, the oil doesn't come with the mower...I am really glad I went for this mower - and, as ever, the Screwfix staff were friendly and knowledgeable. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Medium Size Mower
3 Jun 2015
By
, Reay Caithness
" Great Medium Size Mower that thinks it's Linford Christie!
Easy to assemble, Heres a TIP though - mine had trouble pushing the handlebar tubes all the way into the plastic body sockets. Put some grease on the bottom of the tubes and they will go all the way in easy!
Easy to start. and eager to get to work.
Basic but useful features
Well made machine
A lot of mower for the price with no frills and a lot less to GO WRONG.
"
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mower
2 Jun 2015
By
, Coventry
" Quick and easy to set up. Started first pull. Early days but looks like a great mower, the self propelled feature makes for an easy life. Highly recommended for a medium garden. "
Review 17 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Mowers Go On An
31 May 2015
By
, Bishops Stortford
" This is my 2nd purchase of a Mountfield Mower. My first mower gave good service for twenty years.
The engine is still as good as the day it was purchased, Sadly the deck collapsed with corrosion.
I am confident this one is of the same if not better quality and will see me out. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's That Good!
30 May 2015
By
, North Lincolnshire
" It took half an hour to assemble and fill with oil & petrol, three presses of the primer, opened the throttle and two pulls to start. What a joy as I engaged the drive and away I went, up the garden and back again(so much easier than a hover). I then gave my wife some instruction on the operation of the mower and that was that, after finishing our lawn she cut the neighbours lawn as well. The wife is very impressed, I don't get to play with it. It's That Good! "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 39
29 May 2015
By
, Lancing
" I purchased this mower with the intention of it replacing my old professional mower.
On getting it home i unpacked it. Secured the handle arms with two screws. Added the handle bars with two bolts. Popped in the required oil and filled up with petrol !
Mower started on first pull and the cut was as everybit as good as my professional one.
Its small enough to manoeuvre around and gives a first class finish.
Great price too. Well done Screwy again !!!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super lawnmower
25 May 2015
By
, Abergavenny
" I replaced a previous Mountfield mower with this.
Obviously I was pleased with my Mountfield so I replaced with the same make. Easy to assemble and once filled with oil & petrol it started first pull. 4cm narrower cut than my previous mower but much much lighter and easier to use for a 70 year old. Would recommend it -a super buy & great price.
Well done Screwfix.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>