Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.674 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 46 reviews
5 stars
34
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
44 of 46(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mower!
4 Aug 2014
By ladydiyII
, Loughborough
" This Mountfield mower is absolutely excellent. It was so easy to assemble and the instructions were easy to follow. We have the self propelled model and it makes the chore of mowing so easy it is actually an enjoyable experience. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little mower
2 Aug 2014
By Sorkin
, Essex
" I bought this mower because I was fed up trying to avoid the cable on my electric one.
It turned out to be a good decision.
The model I got had the 148cc Briggs and Stratton 4 stroke motor which has all the power I need for the job.
I found it fairly easy to put together ( a couple of screws puts the handles in place and setting it up with oil and petrol a doddle) and it's light in
Weight.
As far as I'm concerned it was the best buy I've made so far.
"
Review 3 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little cracker
28 Jul 2014
By Riche74
, Drighlington
" I have only just bought this mover but it is very easy to set up, and once you have the oil and petrol in fired up straight away.
Mowing the lawn is even easier with this mower than my previous one due to it being self propelled and the engine is reasonably quiet.
Cutting grass is a doddle and whilst not huge the grass collector allows a decent amount of cutting before emptying is required and the design makes that part very simple.
Great product and service, and I would highly recommend both! "
Review 4 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderfull Mower
25 Jul 2014
By Tashy
, Somerset
" Why didn't I buy one of these before, It is so light and easy to manage, I will now sell my old mowers this one is fantastic value "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Petrol Mower
14 Jul 2014
By Archie11
, Northumberland
" Bought this as my electric mower was too heavy for me to use so hubby had to do this job when I felt I would like to mow a little more often! Read the reviews on this petrol mower as I've always fancied one and the reviews were very good so thought why not! Placed the order, picked it up on the evening got hubby to put together the next day which was not too hard then away we went! Job done in a fraction of the time and even better picking up the grass than my old one so really pleased as the dogs can go straight out and there's no mess through the house! Brilliant all round! "
Review 6 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower for the price.
9 Jul 2014
By poohbear
, yorkshire
" It ticks all the boxes. it cuts brilliant, it moves quite smoothly. It is a great mower for the price and the best part is that its self propelled so no need to push. Just put your petrol and oil in and away you go. "
Review 7 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Man's best friend
5 Jul 2014
By ashthebig
, Nottingham
" This is an excellent mower at an unparalleled price. Me being of broken knee bought this to aid my little woman who struggled to push our fly-mo over our lawn. A quick read of the instructions (always a must) followed the checks, fitted the net to the basket frame and fueled up. One quick tug of the pull toggle and she sparked into life. I deployed the wife with ticking over motor and she engaged the gear and off it went at a brisk pace. She fast walked up and down the garden with a couple of basket empty stops and job done. The easiest gardening session known to woman, wife pleased, broken squaddie pleased, money well spent. "
Review 8 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase
3 Jul 2014
By sirromp
, Heald Green
" easy to put together great value for your money and so much easier to use than my electric hover mower, with the added bonus of no more cables getting in the way. "
Review 9 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy lawnmowing
20 Jun 2014
By vaperanne
, Basingstoke
" I purchased this lawnmower as my larger heavier mower had become to difficult to start and use on my odd shaped uneven lawn. Easy to start and light weight makes this lawnmower a dream to use. The self propelling rear wheels are a little too fast for me but the mower is so light it is easy to use by pushing, just using self propulsion assistance on slopes.
I am so pleased with this purchase
"
Review 10 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First class mower
19 Jun 2014
By Verity
, Lincolnshire
" Good quality, cuts the grass well and is easy to use. "
Review 11 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
14 Jun 2014
By WAG2
, Monmouth
" Always used electric mowers in the past, very pleased that I decided to buy the Mountfield petrol mower, just used it & what a difference, great product. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ountfield self propelled lawn
11 Jun 2014
By ganite
, northern ireland
" a good quality product so much easier than pushing a lawn mower around good cut even when wet "
Review 13 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
11 Jun 2014
By OneJuan1
, Sutton Coldfield
" Ideally I had wanted the self propelled Mountfield B & S model at £250 but I could not justify spending so much money on a medium size lawn that I don't do a lot with.
So I went with the next best thing and I'm glad that I did. It's an excellent mower. The deck feels a little flimsy as it's plastic but no more so than the flymo that had served me for so long. It gives an excellent cut and is very easy to use and set up. It takes 1 hour to cut what used to take 5 hours with the hovermower.
The one thing I would say is be careful with how much oil you add as if you go charging in and add the amount it says in the instructions then it will be too much (I assume there is residual oil from when it is tested in the factory). I had to remove some of the oil that I had added which is a bit messy.
Other than that an excellent experience so far. "
Review 14 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuts Grass
11 Jun 2014
By lightkeeper
, Swindon
" Knowing and respecting Mountfield brand and needing new mower to keep Silver Fox/partner sweet this seemed a good deal. As others have mentioned, easy to assemble with a bit of head scratching, and to start/use. The oil filler as mentioned is curious but as a motorcyclist, I'm used to oddly placed orifices. Rolled up cereal packets make good filler funnels. Cut the grass well and the self propelled brisk walk was fun. Nonplussed that it is made in Italy and has a plastic body but we'll see how toughness and longevity shape up in time. Can't wait for the grass to grow again - bring on the rain! "
Review 15 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 SP Lawnmower
7 Jun 2014
By Mivor
, LUDLOW AREA.
" A year ago I purchased a Briggs and Stratton
SP Lawnmower from Screwfix, sadly it was always hard to start and finally the starter cord jammed. Still in Guarantee Screwfix changed the mower for me and I was offered
the Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp SP Rotary Lawn mower which I accepted and was impressed with Screwfix's "no quibble"
response. They were very helpful too.
On using the Mower for the first time I was very pleased and it started first time and every time. So, to date very satisfied.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good mower
5 Jun 2014
By GunDog
, Cambridgeshire
" A brilliant mower for the price. It coped with our quarter acre lawn that was was quite overgrown with knee high grass. On the first cut we used the highest setting and used the medium cut setting a few days later. Changing the cutting height is very easy. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Mower
4 Jun 2014
By HBAIAn
, Manchester
" Fantastic machine, glad I went for the self-powered it does the job for you. "
Review 18 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Mower!
4 Jun 2014
By Hezekiah
, Southfleet
" Purchased this to replace an electric mower which wasn't up to the job. East to assemble (10 minutes), half a litre of oil and some unleaded petrol, one pull of the cord and you're away. Mows the lawn beautifully, is incredibly easy to start and the power driven rear wheels are a joy (my lawn is on a slight slope). Would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone in need of a great machine at a sensible price. "
Review 19 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy Days !!!!
3 Jun 2014
By mountyfan
, northumberland
" This is an amazing mower for its size and spec the self propel feature makes mowing so much easier iv`e tried on small lawn &large lawn with gradient .effortless !!!!!!! Thank You MOUNTFIELD "
Review 20 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp S
2 Jun 2014
By Gardener1962
, Malton
" best petrol mower for the price and the self propelled version is maneuverable even when the lever is not used "
Page : 1 2 3 next>