Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.688 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 93 reviews
5 stars
71
4 stars
18
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
89 of 93(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
27 Jul 2015
By HulkPants
, Cannock
" I was really impressed with this mower! Having recently moved in to a new property that was... let's just say, 'unkept', I had neglected the rear lawn until it became an absolute necessity to find the smaller of our two cats...
Having a first stab at the waste-high jungle, I soon had to abandon my trusty flymo that had gotten me through years of regular mowing at my old house; it wasn't cutting it. I looked online and found this Mountfield mower at a good price on Screwfix, I fetched it within the hour and decided to give it ago over the coming weekend.
The weekend came and I put the new mower together with ease; very little to do. I'd picked up some fuel and oil in advance so I filled it up and crossed my fingers. It started with the first pull of the cord! A great start!
The mower made light work of the lawn, despite the small engine and plastic body (which I actually prefer to the metal ones as previous experiences have shown these tend to rust pretty quickly if you're on top of such things... which I'm not).
If you want a reliable and trusty petrol mower without the hassle, go get this one, you won't be disappointed! "
Review 2 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic lawnmower
8 Jul 2015
By mattsdad
, Skegby
" I purchased this as i was fed up cutting through cables, it has surprised me as to how good it is. really easy to set up taking just 15 mins and it started on the second pull. its cuts easily and is extremely light weight. the only thing with it is to get a funnel as its difficult to fill with oil. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Perfect for a new lawn
6 Jul 2015
By djsgrant
, Edinburgh
" I have a new house and the turf at the front and back is not great. I just want to keep it a good length and clip the top off regularly over the summer (usually about 3 days in Scotland). This is my first petrol mower and I am absolutely delighted with it. The height adjustments are great with five to choose from. I am using the top height for the first year until the grass is established. It is easy to set up and use - it started on the first pull. It has a nice engine with plenty of power. My wife also loves it (result). She also started it first time but did find the self propelled engine quite nippy. She pulled on the accelerator and off she and the Mountfield went. Haven't seen them since. Shame really; I really miss the mower...
If you have been thinking about a petrol mower I advise you to go for it. It is a biggish investment but I am already finding the benefits out way the cost. It saves time, it's a better cut and there are no cables. I chose Mountfield for ease of servicing either by myself or professionally and the availability of spare parts. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NEW MOWER
3 Jul 2015
By madval
, EGREMONT CUMBRIA
" i bought this mower yest & used it today i loved it it does what it says on the box lol its even easier to start than my old one i am so happy with it "
Review 5 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Love this mower!
25 Jun 2015
By DJBTurbo
, Rotherham
" Wish I had bought this years ago!
Simple and easy to use! Very light. Love it! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Just get one
18 Jun 2015
By Skidder
, Devon
" Should have got one of these five years ago. Can't find better for this price. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product
17 Jun 2015
By Lyndos
, WORKSOP
" I have one happy other half as this item does as it says on the box, easy handling, easy assembly and fantastic value for money "
Review 8 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Love it
9 Jun 2015
By Keshwar
, Seaford
" We are very much enjoying this mower so far - it beats the pants off our previous electric mower. "
Review 9 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Mower
8 Jun 2015
By crazyhatman
, Derbyshire
" Not a lot to add to the other reviews as it is a very good petrol mower for the price. It would be better if oil was supplied with it as I didn't know there wasn't any so had to go back to Screwfix to get some. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164
6 Jun 2015
By Marktheneatperformer
, West Yorkshire
" Nothing to add to other reviews, really. A very competitive price for an excellent bit of kit. Able to get it into use within half an hour, and it does a brilliant job.worth getting the starter kit (oil, petrol can etc) if you haven't already got them. As others have said, the oil doesn't come with the mower...I am really glad I went for this mower - and, as ever, the Screwfix staff were friendly and knowledgeable. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Medium Size Mower
3 Jun 2015
By JIMPIX
, Reay Caithness
" Great Medium Size Mower that thinks it's Linford Christie!
Easy to assemble, Heres a TIP though - mine had trouble pushing the handlebar tubes all the way into the plastic body sockets. Put some grease on the bottom of the tubes and they will go all the way in easy!
Easy to start. and eager to get to work.
Basic but useful features
Well made machine
A lot of mower for the price with no frills and a lot less to GO WRONG.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mower
2 Jun 2015
By Anonymous
, Coventry
" Quick and easy to set up. Started first pull. Early days but looks like a great mower, the self propelled feature makes for an easy life. Highly recommended for a medium garden. "
Review 13 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Mowers Go On An
31 May 2015
By Jayk
, Bishops Stortford
" This is my 2nd purchase of a Mountfield Mower. My first mower gave good service for twenty years.
The engine is still as good as the day it was purchased, Sadly the deck collapsed with corrosion.
I am confident this one is of the same if not better quality and will see me out. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It's That Good!
30 May 2015
By Wilee
, North Lincolnshire
" It took half an hour to assemble and fill with oil & petrol, three presses of the primer, opened the throttle and two pulls to start. What a joy as I engaged the drive and away I went, up the garden and back again(so much easier than a hover). I then gave my wife some instruction on the operation of the mower and that was that, after finishing our lawn she cut the neighbours lawn as well. The wife is very impressed, I don't get to play with it. It's That Good! "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 39
29 May 2015
By hugedaddy
, Lancing
" I purchased this mower with the intention of it replacing my old professional mower.
On getting it home i unpacked it. Secured the handle arms with two screws. Added the handle bars with two bolts. Popped in the required oil and filled up with petrol !
Mower started on first pull and the cut was as everybit as good as my professional one.
Its small enough to manoeuvre around and gives a first class finish.
Great price too. Well done Screwy again !!!
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super lawnmower
25 May 2015
By Lijo
, Abergavenny
" I replaced a previous Mountfield mower with this.
Obviously I was pleased with my Mountfield so I replaced with the same make. Easy to assemble and once filled with oil & petrol it started first pull. 4cm narrower cut than my previous mower but much much lighter and easier to use for a 70 year old. Would recommend it -a super buy & great price.
Well done Screwfix.
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield
16 May 2015
By Fuzzyintheyard
, Redditch
" Brilliant mower. Easy to put together and once filled with oil and fuel it started on the 2nd pull of the starter. Great price, great cut, highly recommended "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mind blowing
7 May 2015
By charlieboy1uk
, Filey
" easy to assemble, started first time.
This machine tamed my dads sloping damp overgrown lawn. NO problem.
The only bad point was having to go find the oil !!!
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cant beat a Mountfield Mower
28 Apr 2015
By duchess
, ASHFORD,KENT
" Took about 15min to put together, then 2 pulls on the cord and there was no stopping it every time we emptied the grass box it started 1st time FANTASTIC - Just hope it serves us as well as our old Mountfield.Only comment on down side NO OIL with it. "
9 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
top mower
27 Apr 2015
By sheene
, LONDON
" Would highly recommend this had Honda's before but this was so easy to set up and works effortlessly "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 next>