Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.642 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(123 Reviews) 123
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 123 reviews
5 stars
90
4 stars
27
3 stars
3
2 stars
1
1 star
2
118 of 123(96%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sexiest thing on 4 wheels
24 May 2016
By
, Dunstable
" I've never owned a petrol lawnmower before let alone a SP one but will say it's a fantastic product, great features and great value for money, this has made my life so much easier no more pushing and no more cables. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bloomin eck.....what a machete
19 May 2016
By
, Chipping Norton
" Bought this product last year and our love quickly blossomed into marriage. We go everywhere together. "
4 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sturdy, decent bit of kit
18 May 2016
By
, Kent
" Never owned a petrol lawnmower before and never had a self propelled one so wasn't sure what to expect. Bit fiddly getting the oil in (you need to buy this separately !) but started first time and must say it is a piece of cake to operate.
Feels sturdy, 2 year guarantee and the self propelled motion makes this really easy to use. Recommended. "
Review 4 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield Mower Cheap s Chips
16 May 2016
By
, Gloucestershire
" I bought mower to save loading my Toro mower into the car when going to cut the Mother inlaws lawn -the Mountfield is easy to assemble -easy to start -easy to use and could by 4 of them comparing it to the Toro!!
The Mrs started it 2nd pull on its first start up.
I also used my £20 discount code that came in the post ,making it even cheaper !! If you want a cheap self powered mower then this is it !!
"
Review 5 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Making the garden easier
11 May 2016
By
, isle of wight
" Having been a Fly mo man for many years,i have reached the age,where every man over 50 needs a little help.
On the advice and help from the man in the store,he helped me choose the right garden mower for me,to do the right job in my garden.
Not only did he give the right advice,but he even carried the item out to my car.
Now thats what i call service.
Cannot thank screw fix enough.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great mower
8 May 2016
By
, Glasgow
" Bought this as I was fed up with my Qualcast carpet sweeper!
Picked it up and the chap was really helpful at helping me get it into the car.
Put it together in half an hour.
Grass collector a bit fiddly but saw another review which suggested using a small screwdriver this did the trick.
Asked about the oil and told I needed to buy some Screwfix missed a trick here as nobody mentioned the accessories kit.
Filled it with oil and petrol and it started first pull.
Cut the grass well including the rougher stuff my old mower could not cope with.
Saw another review complaining it was plastic but my view is that this makes it lighter and easy to manoeuvre
The speed is exactly right for me
Price was cheaper than anywhere else I tried well done Screwfix
"
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great lawnmower
25 Apr 2016
By
, Newport
" This lawnmower was easy to assemble and provides a great cut. It starts very easily "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great Value For Money
22 Apr 2016
By
, Ross on Wye
" Very easy to put together, took just ten minutes.
After filling with oil and petrol it started third pull.
Simple to operate controls - though personally, I don't like the way the engine stops if you release the throttle bar. I would prefer a tick over with a stop button.
Self drive work smoothly and at just the right speed for me - I'm 6 ft 4 in, so have quite a large stride. Smaller people may find it a little fast?
Have cut the lawn twice since purchase so cant really comment on or rate reliability yet - I'll do this after I've had it a month or so.
Over all great value for money while on special offer.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
purchase of the year
14 Apr 2016
By
, Cricklade Wilts
" Bought this as old mower decided to die. Looked at the cheaper versions as well as the dearer ones and decided that this one did everything we needed and at a very affordable price. Unboxed it and assembled in just a few minutes, filled with oil and petrol and with a couple of pulls on the cord away it went. It runs clean and smooth and cuts well with no effort due to the self propulsion.
Well done Mountfield on the build and thank you Screwfix for the great price and ease of purchase.
"
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
What an exceptional Mower
5 Apr 2016
By
, Thornbury
" Clear concise instructions, you will need to buy oil but it does show this clearly on the box, comes with petrol preservative for 5L and the Mower is light, easy to manoeuvre and with adjustable front and rear heights makes a lovely cut, easy to start and the self propel is easy to operate with the long bar under the handle "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Lawnmower
2 Apr 2016
By
, Leicester
" Bought it as I was fed up with the electric one. Assembled in half an hour I used it the next day, excellent results, in less than quarter the time. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower
2 Apr 2016
By
, London
" Can't believe I haven't owned a self propelled mower. It makrs life so much easier without needing to push the mower. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Mountfield SP164
30 Mar 2016
By
, Dumfries & Galloway.
" Received this mower today. 24 hour free delivery from Screwfix.
Built it up in 35 mins. no problems. Bag a bit tight to put on frame but helped with the use of a small screwdriver.
I took it straight out and cut my very uneven and sloping lawn. Beat the pants off my previous Honda which was twice the price.
Cut the grass nicely and right up to the edge which was a bonus. Well pleased !
"
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nice Mower
26 Mar 2016
By
, Herefordshire
" A very nice mower that does the job. Only downside for me, was the lack of throttle unit.
Apart from that, fine.
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Machine
9 Mar 2016
By
, Ryde , Hampshire
" Having the good fortune of my dear Mum buying us this, as our other mower had seen its last,(a 10year old Mountfield) I had read the reviews and pre purchased a funnel with tube,500ml of 4 stroke oil, Set about putting it together 15 Min, everything fitted perfect, filled with the correct amount of oil 450ml no overspill, A little oil left to oil the air filter as it said in the manual, It looked and felt a solid bit of kit, not like some other people have said ???. The only negative thing I can for see is that the grass collection box is not going to be big enough for my 400 Sq. Mtr garden to cope in one go, May be if I keep on top of it Lol, All in All Very happy with it Oh started 1st pull after a prime :-) "
14 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Value for Money
30 Sep 2015
By
, Worcestershire
" Excellent value for money, takes all the hard work out of mowing the lawn.
Efficient on petrol usage and starts first time, every time.
Highly recommend this mower to anyone for the money.
"
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great item. Should last 4ever
25 Sep 2015
By
, Greater London
" this is a great mower.
No more messing with moving an electric cable.
I have a 150 sq M lawn. So long as the grass isn't overly wild I can do the lot in one collection basket.
I refill the fuel about twice a summer. That's with mowing the lawn at least weekly.
Not a single hint of an issue so far. Compared to my old orange hover mower which literally shook itself to pieces in the same time. This mount field should last at least ten years. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
22 Sep 2015
By
, Abergavenny
" Started first pull, then used it for four hours flat out, only stopping to empty the grass collector.
So far i couldn't be happier with its performance. "
9 of 9 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Spot On
14 Aug 2015
By
, Leece - Cumbria
" Cannot complain. Works as it should. Struggles a bit with long grass but thats my fault for not keeping on top of it! Have large lawn, takes about 2 hours per mow....so the performance and durability is great, hasnt let me down yet and starts on first pull every time. Handy to have the primer on it to assist this. I will be sticking with this make for my next one, only change would be a bigger collector on back, or a way to remove hatch so that it can just dump grass without clogging up "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Exceeded Expectations
27 Jul 2015
By
, Cannock
" I was really impressed with this mower! Having recently moved in to a new property that was... let's just say, 'unkept', I had neglected the rear lawn until it became an absolute necessity to find the smaller of our two cats...
Having a first stab at the waste-high jungle, I soon had to abandon my trusty flymo that had gotten me through years of regular mowing at my old house; it wasn't cutting it. I looked online and found this Mountfield mower at a good price on Screwfix, I fetched it within the hour and decided to give it ago over the coming weekend.
The weekend came and I put the new mower together with ease; very little to do. I'd picked up some fuel and oil in advance so I filled it up and crossed my fingers. It started with the first pull of the cord! A great start!
The mower made light work of the lawn, despite the small engine and plastic body (which I actually prefer to the metal ones as previous experiences have shown these tend to rust pretty quickly if you're on top of such things... which I'm not).
If you want a reliable and trusty petrol mower without the hassle, go get this one, you won't be disappointed! "
10 of 14 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 4 5 ... 7 next>