Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower

Mountfield SP164 Lawnmower
Average Customer Rating:
4.717 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 60 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
12
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
58 of 60(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
15 Apr 2015
By Southdown
, West sussex
" Makes cutting large gardens easy I halved the time o spend on my in laws garden using the self propelled. The Mountfield is really excellent and good value "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent bargain
11 Apr 2015
By tonybee1692
, spalding
" I spent some time on the net trying to find a good mower at a decent price. some seemed ok until i read the reviews then i lost interest. I checked out Screwfix and spotted the Mountfield self propelled mower. 50 odd reviews all giving an excellent score for this mower. collected at my local branch - no fuss there. Mower was assembled in maybe 15-20 minutes. put in the free oil and my fuel. it did actually start on the first pull of the cord. it cuts well and is a lively mover. Every faith that it will be a worthy addition to my garden equipment. Tony B "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MOUNTFIELD AT ITS BEST ...
10 Apr 2015
By TRUCKERDAVE
, STAFFORD
" IF YOU WANT A MOWER TO GET THE JOB DONE THEN THIS IS IT ,,, WILL TACKLE LONG GRASS WITH EASE , NICE AND LIGHT , STARTS FIRST TIME AND CUTS THE LAWN PERFECTLY ... WAS THINKING OF PURCHASING A BIGGER MOWER AT FIRST AS I HAVE A LARGE GARDEN , BUT GLAD I PURCHASED THIS ONE ,, MORE POWERFULL THAN I THOUGHT ,, THANKS MOUNTFIELD... "
Review 4 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MountfieldSP164 LawnMower
10 Apr 2015
By Cole1947
, Devon
" This is an excellent mower for small to medium gardens. Excellent price and relatively easy to assemble apart from the grass collection bag which proved difficult to attach to the holder.
However, I cut the lawn for the first time this year and the mower trimmed the grass .perfectly.
Being self propelled it is easy to to use and is to be recommended as good value and an excellent purchase. Delivery was superb and arrived next day as specified by Screwfix
"
Review 5 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GREAT PRODUCT
8 Apr 2015
By Rusho
, Stoke on Trent
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Recently purchased this mower, Easy assembly looks great and does the job perfectly well. Did approx. 400 square metres in under 20 mins. The drive on this self powered mower is great after getting use to it after a short while. Purchasing was extremely easy with well informed staff at the Hanley Stoke on Trent branch. Definitely highly recommend this mower. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality
7 Apr 2015
By Whitewater
, York
" Good quality mower, easy to assemble and very easy to use. It was worth paying a bit extra for the self propelled model. "
Review 7 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Mower
6 Apr 2015
By JRSJ
, swansea
" For the price it sees to be an excellent entry level mower. Definitely worth getting the self propelled version, as manoeuvring without the power is a little awkward.
In terms of setup - was very straight forward and completed assembly in about 10 mins or so (single person) Filling with oil was done using a home made funnel of tinfoil, worked well with no spillage. Screwfix had sold out of the flexible funnels but this seemed a workable alternative.
The speed of motion and the resulting cut looks nice and the grass cuttings are collected efficiently and its a nice change not to have to keep emptying the collector when compared to an old hover mower.
Overall very happy with purchase and it seems pretty robust (cf to hover mowers)
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cut Cost Mower Cuts The Grass
1 Apr 2015
By Mesmos
, Burgess Hill
" When Screwfix do promotions on Lawn Mowers they don't last as they are always a great deal.
This Mountfield Self Propelled Mower is no exception.
I reserved it online and collected 20 minutes later from the Burgess Hill store. The staff where great, they had already got it by the counter and helped me with the box to the car.
Once home I had the Mower out the box and working within 10 mins. Luckily I had some oil for the engine as it does not come with this.
The machine is fantastic not only does it make my lawn look amazing but it is so easy to start and manoeuvre that my wife has now taken to enjoying cutting the lawn. Now I have one less job to do at the weekends.
Thank you Screwfix, keep the deals coming. "
15 of 17 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value Good brand
30 Mar 2015
By Nodd
, Rainham
" These mowers are very good.
the only downside is "no engine oil"
so you will need to buy some separately.
"
Review 10 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic
24 Mar 2015
By Lovemygarden
, Kent
" I bought this mower because it was a Mountfield and the exceptional price was a HUGE bonus. could and can not find fault. It's just amazing. Only took a few minutes to put together, 4 screws and 1 clip. Oil and petrol and I was well away. I challenge anyway not to love this mower as well as the price. Excellent service AND free delivery by screwfix. "
13 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 39cm Self-Pro
24 Mar 2015
By RichardT
, SALISBURY
" The mower was easy to assemble apart from the top part of the handle where you need at least three hands, fitting would be a lot easier if the bolts were a bit longer and would ease folding the handle down, as it is all too easy to undo the nuts to far, if you do, you have to stare again to fit the top part of the handle.
Filling the engine with oil was also very difficult as even buying the recommended Mountfield oil, a funnel with a very long thin end is needed to be able to oil in the engine.
After all this it cut the grass very well and collected all the grass cuttings in the grass collector.
After the problems assembling and filling the engine I am very pleased with its performance.
"
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
OMG WOW
20 Mar 2015
By Anonymous
, Cheshire
" What an absolute fantastic mower, why did I never have one of these in my life before. It was very easy to put together, the instructions were very straight forward. Cutting the lawn is now a breeze, even the wife does it now. "
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent mower!
4 Aug 2014
By ladydiyII
, Loughborough
" This Mountfield mower is absolutely excellent. It was so easy to assemble and the instructions were easy to follow. We have the self propelled model and it makes the chore of mowing so easy it is actually an enjoyable experience. "
20 of 21 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great little mower
2 Aug 2014
By Sorkin
, Essex
" I bought this mower because I was fed up trying to avoid the cable on my electric one.
It turned out to be a good decision.
The model I got had the 148cc Briggs and Stratton 4 stroke motor which has all the power I need for the job.
I found it fairly easy to put together ( a couple of screws puts the handles in place and setting it up with oil and petrol a doddle) and it's light in
Weight.
As far as I'm concerned it was the best buy I've made so far.
"
Review 15 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Little cracker
28 Jul 2014
By Riche74
, Drighlington
" I have only just bought this mover but it is very easy to set up, and once you have the oil and petrol in fired up straight away.
Mowing the lawn is even easier with this mower than my previous one due to it being self propelled and the engine is reasonably quiet.
Cutting grass is a doddle and whilst not huge the grass collector allows a decent amount of cutting before emptying is required and the design makes that part very simple.
Great product and service, and I would highly recommend both! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Wonderfull Mower
25 Jul 2014
By Tashy
, Somerset
" Why didn't I buy one of these before, It is so light and easy to manage, I will now sell my old mowers this one is fantastic value "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Petrol Mower
14 Jul 2014
By Archie11
, Northumberland
" Bought this as my electric mower was too heavy for me to use so hubby had to do this job when I felt I would like to mow a little more often! Read the reviews on this petrol mower as I've always fancied one and the reviews were very good so thought why not! Placed the order, picked it up on the evening got hubby to put together the next day which was not too hard then away we went! Job done in a fraction of the time and even better picking up the grass than my old one so really pleased as the dogs can go straight out and there's no mess through the house! Brilliant all round! "
Review 18 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower for the price.
9 Jul 2014
By poohbear
, yorkshire
" It ticks all the boxes. it cuts brilliant, it moves quite smoothly. It is a great mower for the price and the best part is that its self propelled so no need to push. Just put your petrol and oil in and away you go. "
Review 19 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Man's best friend
5 Jul 2014
By ashthebig
, Nottingham
" This is an excellent mower at an unparalleled price. Me being of broken knee bought this to aid my little woman who struggled to push our fly-mo over our lawn. A quick read of the instructions (always a must) followed the checks, fitted the net to the basket frame and fueled up. One quick tug of the pull toggle and she sparked into life. I deployed the wife with ticking over motor and she engaged the gear and off it went at a brisk pace. She fast walked up and down the garden with a couple of basket empty stops and job done. The easiest gardening session known to woman, wife pleased, broken squaddie pleased, money well spent. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp 100cc Self-Propelled Rotary Petrol Lawn Mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase
3 Jul 2014
By sirromp
, Heald Green
" easy to put together great value for your money and so much easier to use than my electric hover mower, with the added bonus of no more cables getting in the way. "
Page : 1 2 3 next>