Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Powered by a Mountfield 100cc 4 stroke engine, the SP164 self-propelled lawnmower is ideal for small to medium sized lawns up to 400m². The engine is very easy to start with a standard recoil rope system and will give many years of trouble-free mowing. There are 3 height adjusters offering 5 pre-set cutting positions, so adjusting the height of cut is quick and simple. The easy to remove collector holds 40Ltr of grass, while the mower can also be used without the collector if you wish to leave the cuttings.

Powered by a Mountfield 100cc 4 stroke engine, the SP164 self-propelled lawnmower is ideal for small to medium sized lawns up to 400m². The engine is very easy to start with a standard recoil rope system and will give many years of trouble-free mowing. There are 3 height adjusters offering 5 pre-set cutting positions, so adjusting the height of cut is quick and simple. The easy to remove collector holds 40Ltr of grass, while the mower can also be used without the collector if you wish to leave the cuttings.
Average Customer Rating:
4.675 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
(40 Reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (40 reviews)
5 stars
30
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
0
38 of 40(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Review 1 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Petrol Mower
14 Jul 2014
By Archie11
, Northumberland
"Bought this as my electric mower was too heavy for me to use so hubby had to do this job when I felt I would like to mow a little more often! Read the reviews on this petrol mower as I've always fancied one and the reviews were very good so thought why not! Placed the order, picked it up on the evening got hubby to put together the next day which was not too hard then away we went! Job done in a fraction of the time and even better picking up the grass than my old one so really pleased as the dogs can go straight out and there's no mess through the house! Brilliant all round!"
Review 2 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great mower for the price.
9 Jul 2014
By poohbear
, yorkshire
"It ticks all the boxes. it cuts brilliant, it moves quite smoothly. It is a great mower for the price and the best part is that its self propelled so no need to push. Just put your petrol and oil in and away you go."
Review 3 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Man's best friend
5 Jul 2014
By ashthebig
, Nottingham
"This is an excellent mower at an unparalleled price. Me being of broken knee bought this to aid my little woman who struggled to push our fly-mo over our lawn. A quick read of the instructions (always a must) followed the checks, fitted the net to the basket frame and fueled up. One quick tug of the pull toggle and she sparked into life. I deployed the wife with ticking over motor and she engaged the gear and off it went at a brisk pace. She fast walked up and down the garden with a couple of basket empty stops and job done. The easiest gardening session known to woman, wife pleased, broken squaddie pleased, money well spent."
Review 4 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best purchase
3 Jul 2014
By sirromp
, Heald Green
"easy to put together great value for your money and so much easier to use than my electric hover mower, with the added bonus of no more cables getting in the way."
Review 5 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
easy lawnmowing
20 Jun 2014
By vaperanne
, Basingstoke
"I purchased this lawnmower as my larger heavier mower had become to difficult to start and use on my odd shaped uneven lawn. Easy to start and light weight makes this lawnmower a dream to use. The self propelling rear wheels are a little too fast for me but the mower is so light it is easy to use by pushing, just using self propulsion assistance on slopes.
I am so pleased with this purchase
"
Review 6 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
First class mower
19 Jun 2014
By Verity
, Lincolnshire
"Good quality, cuts the grass well and is easy to use."
Review 7 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
14 Jun 2014
By WAG2
, Monmouth
"Always used electric mowers in the past, very pleased that I decided to buy the Mountfield petrol mower, just used it & what a difference, great product."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ountfield self propelled lawn
11 Jun 2014
By ganite
, northern ireland
"a good quality product so much easier than pushing a lawn mower around good cut even when wet"
Review 9 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Mower
11 Jun 2014
By OneJuan1
, Sutton Coldfield
"Ideally I had wanted the self propelled Mountfield B & S model at £250 but I could not justify spending so much money on a medium size lawn that I don't do a lot with.
So I went with the next best thing and I'm glad that I did. It's an excellent mower. The deck feels a little flimsy as it's plastic but no more so than the flymo that had served me for so long. It gives an excellent cut and is very easy to use and set up. It takes 1 hour to cut what used to take 5 hours with the hovermower.
The one thing I would say is be careful with how much oil you add as if you go charging in and add the amount it says in the instructions then it will be too much (I assume there is residual oil from when it is tested in the factory). I had to remove some of the oil that I had added which is a bit messy.
Other than that an excellent experience so far."
Review 10 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cuts Grass
11 Jun 2014
By lightkeeper
, Swindon
"Knowing and respecting Mountfield brand and needing new mower to keep Silver Fox/partner sweet this seemed a good deal. As others have mentioned, easy to assemble with a bit of head scratching, and to start/use. The oil filler as mentioned is curious but as a motorcyclist, I'm used to oddly placed orifices. Rolled up cereal packets make good filler funnels. Cut the grass well and the self propelled brisk walk was fun. Nonplussed that it is made in Italy and has a plastic body but we'll see how toughness and longevity shape up in time. Can't wait for the grass to grow again - bring on the rain!"
Review 11 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 SP Lawnmower
7 Jun 2014
By Mivor
, LUDLOW AREA.
"A year ago I purchased a Briggs and Stratton
SP Lawnmower from Screwfix, sadly it was always hard to start and finally the starter cord jammed. Still in Guarantee Screwfix changed the mower for me and I was offered
the Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp SP Rotary Lawn mower which I accepted and was impressed with Screwfix's "no quibble"
response. They were very helpful too.
On using the Mower for the first time I was very pleased and it started first time and every time. So, to date very satisfied.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good mower
5 Jun 2014
By GunDog
, Cambridgeshire
"A brilliant mower for the price. It coped with our quarter acre lawn that was was quite overgrown with knee high grass. On the first cut we used the highest setting and used the medium cut setting a few days later. Changing the cutting height is very easy."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
New Mower
4 Jun 2014
By HBAIAn
, Manchester
"Fantastic machine, glad I went for the self-powered it does the job for you."
Review 14 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Mower!
4 Jun 2014
By Hezekiah
, Southfleet
"Purchased this to replace an electric mower which wasn't up to the job. East to assemble (10 minutes), half a litre of oil and some unleaded petrol, one pull of the cord and you're away. Mows the lawn beautifully, is incredibly easy to start and the power driven rear wheels are a joy (my lawn is on a slight slope). Would have no hesitation in recommending this to anyone in need of a great machine at a sensible price."
Review 15 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Happy Days !!!!
3 Jun 2014
By mountyfan
, northumberland
"This is an amazing mower for its size and spec the self propel feature makes mowing so much easier iv`e tried on small lawn &large lawn with gradient .effortless !!!!!!! Thank You MOUNTFIELD"
Review 16 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp S
2 Jun 2014
By Gardener1962
, Malton
"best petrol mower for the price and the self propelled version is maneuverable even when the lever is not used"
Review 17 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mountfield SP164 Mower
1 Jun 2014
By xxenon
, South Devon
"Easy to assemble, about 20mins from opening the box.
Seems good value for the money at £50 or so below market price.
Started first time and every time (even when hot). Lightweight for a petrol mower."
Review 18 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great little mower
19 May 2014
By Andcro
, Dorset
"I bought this to replace an old petrol mower, I wanted something that was self propelled as our garden slopes.
Assembly takes about 30 minutes and only requires a screwdriver.
You will also need 0.5l of SAE 10w-30 engine oil - this should really be included with the mower as it is fundamental, however the guys at Screwfix had it to hand.
When pouring in the oil - put in a little less as mine had some residual oil in it from the manufacturing process so ended up having to take some back out.
Once assembled and fueled up - a couple of squirts on the primer and the mower started second pull.
The mower does a decent job, nice clean cut and despite it only being a 39cm cut (which I thought would mean it took a while) it did a great job.
The mower is super lite - my youngest daughter (13) has no trouble starting and using it so if you want something that is family friendly - this could well be it.
Thoroughly recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Value for Money
30 Mar 2014
By Gibbon
, Surrey
"Excellent product, doesn't require much to set it up from the box, a bit fiddly to put the oil in but it starts first time and its worth the extra for the self propelled version. Thoroughly recommend this product, good value for money considering the cost of other similar products."
Review 20 for Mountfield SP164 39cm 2.72hp Self-Propelled Rotary Lawn mower
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the Job Lawnmower
14 May 2013
By PhizFish
, Buckingham
"Good value lawnmower from a good manufacturer.
Easy pick up from store - but will take two of you !
Easy set up and minimal assembly. Once oil and petrol in started first time !
Used it for a few weeks now and very happy, the self drive takes all the hard labour out of this repetitive job.
Engine not too loud but plenty of power to move and cut.
Grass collector very easy to empty, unlike some rigid boxes.
"
Page : 1 2 next>