Product Reviews

Heavy Brenton Bolt 210mm

Heavy Brenton Bolt 210mm
Average Customer Rating:
3.474 out of 5
3.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
3
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 star
5
13 of 19(68%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Review 1 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well built
31 Dec 2014
By dersbum
, wiltshire
" very solidly built and looks lot better than the stock photo. worth spending a bit more on this than the cheaper ones. "
Review 2 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
4 Aug 2014
By Johnmac
, wigan
" Good value strong bolt. Appears decent quality. Only just fitted it so hard to judge reliability, but seems to be well made "
Review 3 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Galavanised Bolts
25 Oct 2013
By kasabian73
, St Helens
" These are fantastic for the price, so heavy and sturdy. You can just tell as soon as you get these that they are the real deal. I'd say these are the best bolts I've ever seen for the price. Top quality indeed. "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Value
30 Oct 2012
By Purpleness
, Worcestershire
" Excellent value for money, hard wearing item that was perfect for the job "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
The bolt that bolts
11 Jul 2012
By Happychippy
, Reading
" Does exactly what it's meant to at a good price.
Built to last and perfect for gates and compound access / security.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Really Strong Bolts
16 Apr 2012
By discstop
, Kettering
" Very well made, very strong security bolts for a good price.
Use to secure our back gate, many other bolts that I saw were quite flimsy but these were not. Bought two of them and am really please with the quality "
Review 7 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value
12 Jul 2008
By Silverhead44
, Ipswich
" Well made, heavy duty, should last a lifetime. Good value. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money
2 Jul 2014
By simo1958
, Dalton in furness
" Existing bolt needed renewing after 2 years due to rust so hopefully the galvanised one will last a lot longer "
Review 9 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Bolt Galvanised 45 x 210 x 55
21 May 2013
By nairb
, Isle of Wight
" No problem with this bolt, obviously minimal moving parts & no technology to go wrong. Good value for money. Solid enough for the price. "
Review 10 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Champion Bolt
29 Oct 2012
By POB123
, Farnham
" This is a Gold Medal bolt - easy to install and well made and in addition available at a very reasonable price. "
Review 11 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not so good
2 Feb 2015
By Noise
, GRAVESEND
" Although this bolt is 210mm long the bolt movement is only about 50mm and no good for me.
Worst still 2 of the 4 rivets shown in the picture were missing. Given a refund the next day.The shop staff were helpful in trying to find a replacement to suite me but couldn't.
"
Review 12 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
not sure
18 Dec 2013
By hutman
, portland dorset
" these bolts are stated as being galvanised, if thats the case i think its a very mild coating. looks to me as they are zinc plated and no good for long term use. "
Review 13 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Galvanised?
20 Aug 2012
By Anonymous
, Chelmsford, Essex
" This was described as galvanised but it appears to be only tin plated. I was expecting it to be Hot dip galvanised like Suffolk latch I bought at the same time "
Review 14 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poorly Made, quality varies
27 Jan 2015
By MetalworkerDave
, Manchester
" These are not heavy duty, they are not secure and 2 out of three of the ones I got were also not galvanised?! I feel the product description needs a good looking at.
I was fitting 2 of these bolts to a piece of custom metalwork for a customer and when i got them out of the packet the 2 were clearly different. In the end I got 3 bolts and they were all manufactured differently and to different levels of quality and spec. I think this explains the mixed reviews they have had. They were also very low quality as I will explain.
One was hot dip galvanised the other looked to have been electroplated only, they were also different in terms of thickness of the bolt itself, the steel it was mounted to and how it was put together, I checked the packaging and the SKU code and supplier details matched. My other half took them back and got another one, to match the one which did not appear to have been galvanised (I was due to powder coat so finish was not that relevant). When she returned this was different again!
The galvanised one appeared to be the better (but not good) quality, the other 2 already being bent when I got them (backplates and cross brace).
As pointed out by another reviewer the cross braces are very weakly attached so these are IN NO WAY HEAVY DUTY AND NO GOOD AS ANY MORE THAN A VISUAL DETERRENT in terms of actual security. Of the non galvanised 2, one of them had cut corners at the back end and appeared to be slightly higher quality. By this point is was too late to get another I was working late so had to work with what I'd got, I ended up welding all over the bolts to make them stronger (ended up with a lung full of zinc fumes and frankenbolts).
Next Gripe is the catches for these bolts are 1.5 inch long yet even if you mount these bolts with the plates flush up against the edge of your door/gate, the bolt would only project 1 inch from the edge, and this allows for no clearance between gates/door and frame whatsoever. As such the bolt will never go right into the catch/receiver and as such the screws on one side would be put under additional strain were someone to give it a kick/push.
I appreciate these are done to a price but I would rather screwfix also offered a quality item which is up to the job and charged me accordingly. I cannot see how a company with the buying power of screwfix has landed such an unreliable supplier. "
Review 15 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Bolt
19 Oct 2014
By ICHall
, Wigan
" Just been into local Screwfix and picked up two of these bolts........They are now on the way back.....Hard to see the poor quality and finish in the packet...Not square and would have to be fitted at angle to fit......Just not good enough something else going back.......More time and fuel wasted. "
Review 16 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
brenton bolts
5 May 2014
By 100sn
, Newport
" Bought three two of which fell apart during fixing sliding bolt part fell apart on one the piece it locks against fell off the other. Had to have them welded to make them secure. Poor inspection service by manufacturer prior to dispatch to the retailer "
Review 17 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
10 seconds to break in
23 Apr 2014
By BodgeItYerself
, HItchin
" Bought this for new shed. Its very heavy, you can put bolts through both sections, and with a big fat padlock no worries about anyone getting through that. Until I noticed the cross brace (that the bolt runs though and where you put the padlock) is not welded on, just a couple of flimsy looking nicks in the back holding it on. Not surprisingly took me less than 10 seconds with a chisel behind the bolt to lever the cross brace off, negating all my work bolting on the door hinges, getting a fat padlock and bolting on this 'Heavy' brenton bolt. If you want a secure lock, get something else. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Obviously Faulty
29 Apr 2013
By Dadzi77a
, Marske-by-Sea
" Less than a fiver but this was obviously faulty except to the packer. The Bolt Lock operating hook was detached from the bolt itself. At first I thought it must screw in then thought it must be an interference fit and had to be put together witrh a sharp blow from a hammer but it wasnt it was just faulty.
Screwfix did send another but I had to buy one in the meantime as we were going away on holiday and it was urgent that one was fitted.
"
Ratings-Only Reviews for Heavy Brenton Bolt Galvanised 210mm
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would recommend? Yes 1 out of 1