Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Robust, safe to use log splitter with 5 tons of ram power, speeds through up to 100 logs per hour and is capable of splitting logs right down to kindling. Cuts 3 wood lengths from 25 to 52cm (10" to 20½").

Robust, safe to use log splitter with 5 tons of ram power, speeds through up to 100 logs per hour and is capable of splitting logs right down to kindling. Cuts 3 wood lengths from 25 to 52cm (10" to 20½").
Average Customer Rating:
4.35 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 20 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
18 of 20(90%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Review 1 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent bit of kit
15 Oct 2012
By westmorland
, Cumbria wilderness
" Assembly instructions lacking particularly about the frame link to the main body.Extra sheets of warning with it helpful but a little offputting.
Works great with care cannot believe I have been using an axe all these years with the dangers involved.
Good price,delivery but it is heavy on arrival.
"
Review 2 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very Good
29 Jan 2012
By Truckman
, Berkshire
" Ordered on Wednesday arrived am on Thursday very good service. As with most of the other reviews the assembly instructions were pretty poor but the picture on the side of the box was guide enough. With two replacemnet hips I decided that axe swinging was a thing of the past I now wish I'd bought a splitter years ago. Does an excellent job. "
Review 3 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why did I not buy one sooner !
16 Jan 2012
By Basket
, Blackpool
" Agree with instructions not easy,but manageable.Only bit was the bolt / pin locator for the pusher which could be easier with an alteration to the additional diagram with the 3 hole showing instead of 1. Works very good, should of bought one years ago.Plenty on the market but the video on Youtube sold it to me,quiet ,strong & return stop excellent feature,Trained the wife already & she operates it with ease & safely.
Got about 12 tonnes of knotty poplars to test on so anybody interested ask me in a month if I still feel the same.
Last point,thanks to Screwfix for sorting out my mistake on ordering,as usual a service 2nd to none.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fantastic bit of Kit!
8 Mar 2011
By nibessex
, essex
" much easier than swinging an axe or sledgehammer! splits with absolute ease even large trunk sections! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Well chuffed..
18 Oct 2010
By BillyFish
, West Yorkshire.
" I bought the Sheppack log splitter earlier this year but waited until I'd finnished my logs before commenting on its performance.
Its a bit of a cow to put together if your on your own but it certainly does the job once you have. I've cut and split best part of 8 tons of oak and sycamore logs without the axe and it never missed a beat. Brilliant bit of solid German engineering and a lot less dangerous than the axe and maul, also £60 cheaper at Screwfix than anywhere else.
"
Review 6 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good machine,poor instructions
25 Apr 2010
By Grahamesme
, Carmarthen
" Once I worked out how to use the machine, it was fine, but the instructions need a lot of improvement.
The machine's stand came flat packed. A slight problem putting it together, because one of the screws would not fit the pre-drilled hole, so I had to do some DIY. Before you get it on to its stand, the machine is heavy and difficult to manoeuvre because the engine casing is extremely low to the ground.
The flexibility to split logs of any length up to 50 cms, and seemingly any breadth is good.
A backstop provided to prevent the pushing plate going right back, to make it quicker to handle short logs, was not very good because it got caught on the pushing arm - maybe I havn't put it on correctly because of the poor instructions!
On balance though, a very effective machine. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
simply stunning
8 Apr 2010
By DR007
, halifax
" elm beach oak you name it this thing eats it.
no longer do i have to reach for the axe.
the adjustments are a breeze to operate & the machine was an absolute bargain .
the stand needs assembling which took 5 minutes & away i went.
i had to call the manufacturer about a small part i thought was missing & never have i had such good customer service. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Splitter
15 Mar 2010
By Coggy
, Herefordshire
" I bought this splitter back in November 2009 - have deliberately waited until now to comment.
I am highly delighted with it - does what it says, time after time.
Will split kiln dried wood - right down to kindling sizes.
I use almost every week - mainly for domestic house consumption of wood for 3 fires/woodburner.
It has proved to be a brilliant bit of kit and is extremely good value for money.
As others have said, it will deal easily with knotty woods and handle very large logs.
The stand does look a bit flimsy in the photo, but it works well - instructions for assembly of stand not particularly good, but can be quickly worked out!!
Well worth the price shown - exceptional overall value.
"
Review 9 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid engineering!
13 Feb 2010
By kaspian
, Ayrshire
" Bought this to split extremely tough logs that laughed at mauls ,wood grenades etc. Stunned by the performance -log splitting is childs play.Very solid ,ruggedly built , (heavy! ) Instructions could perhaps have been clearer but easy enough to figure out.This is a pro machine at a diy price. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good tool
29 Dec 2009
By MaintenanceMike
, Cheshire
" Strong, adjustable and at a convenient height to use.
I tried it on a few narrow logs, then some short wider ones and once I'd got the feel of if I thought I'd test its capabilities. I split a log 20" (50cm) diameter and about 15" (40cm) deep, into about 16 pieces in around 4 minutes. It seemed to struggle at one point, but when it cracked (violently) I could see there was a huge knot. I'd have been hard pressed to split that with an axe.
This is the second sheppach product I have bought, and they are good quality.
Ensure you read the manual as it makes it easier to figure out how to put the stand on. It isn't wholly clear how some of the adjustment works from the manual, but once you've worked it out, it is really very good (just remember to open the bleed screw).
Note: As it's still new, my reliability rating is a guess (the web site required a rating). "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Very good product
17 Dec 2009
By hopper
, Devon
" Excellent product. Much more substantial than the competiton & at similar prices. Solid German engineering. Splits huge logs with ease, even dry ones. Used extensively on a farm. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
well impressed
22 Sep 2009
By Anonymous
, lincs
" Well built and powerful. Splits tough logs with ease. Even splits kindling down to almost chopsticks. The stand in the photo looks flimsey but its solid and stable. The only thing i am not keen on are the wheels they are a bit on the cheap side, but how far are you going to need to move it? "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent value
21 Nov 2008
By Geoff100
, Frodsham
" I bought the splitter and it is brilliant. It works well and has a three year guarantee. It is really a professional machine and built solidly. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Scheppach OXT500
18 Jun 2013
By EddieJ
, Crowborough
" A good machine spoilt by poor paint finish that falls off after approx 2yrs. This is despite having never been used outside of a wooden fully enclosed building, and it has been kept covered up with a dust sheet between use.
I'd still recommend one, but the poor paint has put me off buying other Sheppach products.
"
Review 15 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
No problems so far!
12 Jun 2010
By flapper
, Inversneckie
" Chose this over the cheaper clone splitters on ebay because it has a stand, because it has a backstop and because there's a guarantee worth the email it's written on. And German engineering. I've split maybe 5 tonnes of mixed wood with no problems so far. The stand looks flimsy but does the job; it's just a bit low for me, and I'm only 1.68m. The assembly instructions are poor but it's straightforward enough with a bit of common sense. With a bit of messing around, it's split 40cm diameter, 40cm long green oak. But (obviously) it starts to struggle with knotted and twisted pieces. Not as noisy as some I've heard. Can't comment on reliability yet. "
Review 16 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A good value log splitter
23 May 2010
By Seawindcrazy
, East Sussex
" I recently bought this log splitter after having been looking for a long time .some others are cheaper and seemed a bit flimsy.dont buy second hand they have already done their work and worn out .This Scheppach Oxt 500 is solid ,well built and is very HEAVY ,so make sure 2 strong people are avalible on delivery .My wife and delivery man (on his own) could hardly move it I set it up easily and have split quite a few logs already . If maintained this should last a long time .Screwfix warranty is also a big bonus .Overall i would recommend you buy this one for domestic use. not the cheapest but good value for money. "
Review 17 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great bit of kit
22 Oct 2009
By minesapint
, Aberystwyth
" Just bought one of these and so far very impressed. Build quality is good though I have a welded nut come adrift but doesn't detract from what is a nice piece of German engineering.
Awarded only 3 stars for reliabilty as only time will tell but with 3 years warranty fairly relaxed as Screwfix top drawer at honouring warranties.
Would recommend "
Review 18 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
I'd still buy another one
18 Sep 2012
By Sidd
, Salisbury
" It's a good machine at an OK price, but the ram got bent very quickly on freshly cut walnut. There's a multi-cut attachment you can get to split wood faster, but the wood would have to be very soft for it to be any use at all, as the motor isn't powerful enough to drive it through hardwoods, and if it was, the ram would bend.
It's now in bits as I'm replacing the ram, and the instruction manual is horrendous. There is a specific error in the spec for hydraulic oil. It calls for hydraulic fluid of ISO 20. They mean SAE20, which is the same as ISO68. "
Review 19 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Very dissapointed
23 Feb 2011
By Fluorescentpink
, Hampshire
" I bought this just before Christmas and have been using it on a regular basis. I have had all sorts of problems. First one of the slide covers shot off and the spring became dislodged and I had great difficulty replacing it. The guides which run down the springs have become bent and twisted on the piston preventing the shaft from moving back. As a result of this the pin plate which stops the piston has become bent and misshapen so it no longer holds the piston back. This log splitter is very poweful but its construction will not take the force of the hydraulic ram. Loved it to start with but its just not up to splitting hard wood! "
Review 20 for Scheppach OXT500 1500W 52cm Log Splitter 230V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor product
14 Jun 2010
By Dutch74
, Colchester
" I bought this at the end of february and although initially pleased witht the performance after doing a few hours of splitting green oak the ram and gliders bend and wouldn't return.
The agent promptly sended a replacement which unfortunate was also broken in the box (ram extended but didn't return to base).
Agents customer service is excellent, very helpfull and very apologetic about the difficulties I encountered.
Given the difficulties I do not recommend the product. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.