Product Reviews

Tubular Latch 63mm

Tubular Latch 63mm
Average Customer Rating:
3.368 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 19 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
5
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
3
12 of 19(63%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Review 1 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Latch
30 Aug 2014
By 7192
, Dover
" I've used one of these in the past and decided to change all the latches on my doors. They look good and are very easy to install, they were a little differently shaped to the previous ones but nothing a sharp chisel couldn't alter. "
Review 2 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works Well
23 Aug 2013
By baba
, Fleet, Hants
" Been on the door for months now and is working fine. Avoid flimsy cheap ones. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
63mm latch, Eclipse
25 Oct 2012
By Unit
, Blackpool
" Branded Eclipse latches, much better than the cheaper <£1 latches I'd previously used that were catching on opening. More than twice the price, but worth the little extra as the job stays done. "
Review 4 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value Latches
19 Sep 2011
By Kelf
, Croydon
" Great quality for little expense. Make sure you have a 24mm drill bit for the door and away you go. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does exactly what's it's suppo
17 Nov 2009
By Bedders76
, Newbury
" Good price and good quality. Looks good with solid oak doors. "
Review 6 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Latch Review
14 Nov 2014
By AdeptScotland
, Glasgow
" I have been using these for some time while they are cheap to buy they do not feel cheap and do the job more than adequately. "
Review 7 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
As expected
21 Nov 2012
By Parkes
, Northampton
" A basic product that does what it should..
I've no more to say but screwfix expect a review to be over 50 characters in lenght!.
"
Review 8 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tubular latch
10 Oct 2012
By Ariadne
, Swindon
" Good quality for the price. went well with the Toulouse handles "
Review 9 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
wrong size
29 Nov 2011
By nzfletch
, Guildford
" I bought the wrong size so sent them back. seemed ok and as always good service from Screwfix. "
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value
19 Mar 2010
By sandword
, Luton
" Average quality item. Not cheap rubish but not Rolls Royce either. For the price they are a really good buy. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good value latch
9 Nov 2014
By bogger54
, Oxford
" The quality of the latch was good but I found the moving part of the latch not quite as long as the ones they replaced. The builder's did not fit the doors very well and the gap they left on the latch side of the door was wide, requiring me to adjust the whole door alignment on some. "
Review 12 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Pricey but maybe worth it
18 Mar 2013
By monkyhanger
, Newcastle upon Tyne
" The latch is faultless - nice finish, smooth action that seems like it won't deteriorate, same with the retaining plate for the door frame. The screws supplied are absolute junk though. The softest screws that could possibly sourced were included. I piloted all my holes, but could not stop the screwheads from rounding off not even halfway screwed into the door. The first 2 screws had to be unscrewed with a pair of pliers gripping the head, I didn't even attempt to use the other 2.
The saving grace was using spare screws from a Jedo door handle set when the bar-through method of fixing the door handles was used. "
Review 13 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Not brilliant...
5 Mar 2013
By NiFi
, Falkirk
" I only have one of these to go on but it didn't impress. The latch catches on itself and has to be released again by hand. Not a major inconvenience but it was a pain to further countersink the plate to try to avoid this. It didn't work. Still, at £2.49, I got what I paid for. "
Review 14 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Check before fitting
22 Nov 2012
By monribot
, Chesterfield
" Bought 7. Went for higher price latch hoping for better quality. 2 days after fitting one failed with the door closed - effectively locking me in the room! Could only open it by cutting through with angle grinder brought by my daughter, after a telephone call, and passed through a small window. Can see the funny side now but didn't at the time.
Screwfix replaced faulty one without quibble and gave me £10 voucher.
Removed other 6. Checked and greased them before refitting. No problems since.
Suggest you check carefully for smooth action, then grease before fitting.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad quality Latch!!!
11 Jul 2012
By Honestly
, Essex
" The quality is very poor for the price... same sort of quality you would find in the 99p store's!! Even the colour is wrongly described (Satin Nickel) more like chrome! Not Please! "
Review 16 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Ok but not great
28 May 2012
By Chin
, Sandy Bedfordshire
" They are basic, no frills and manufactured so when installed not all of the handles are level (would be ok with knobs), they crunch when you turn them also - metal on metal noise...I am fussy and they will get changed when I can get some top of the range ones. They say nickle but that is not chrome to my surprise they were more brass in colour. And I would not have brought them because of that when the rest of my hardwear is chrome. "
Review 17 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap door furniture
20 Jun 2013
By mikrik
, North Essex
" The latch in question, was part of a door furniture set. I know you get what you pay for, but of the 4 sets I bought for a project, two of them failed after a couple of months.
The second fail ended up with me having to force the bedroom door open to extract the broken latch. Customer not impressed, me neither. Cheaply made, poor end result. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
eclipse latches
24 Mar 2013
By watfordchippy
, watford
" these latches are useless you can push them in with your finger straight out of the pack and they stay in which means when someone really pulls down on a handle the latch will go in and not return. rubbish, eclipse should stick to making hinges and screwfix should look for better quality ironmongery.Not every one is obsessed with price some of us want to be able to offer our customers a decent product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Tubular Latch Polished Nickel Effect 63mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Does not push in
29 Jul 2012
By StiffenBliffen
, Essex
" I did not buy the cheapest latch on the screwfix website thinking I would get better quality for a little more money.
I have been proven wrong by the shameful quality of this product.
I will be returning 5 of 8 of these latches because they do not push all the way in.
Don't buy them.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.