Product Reviews

Master Lock Alu Padlock

Master Lock Alu Padlock
Average Customer Rating:
2.222 out of 5
2.2
 out of 
5
(9 Reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
2
4 stars
0
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
5
2 of 9(22%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Review 1 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Combination Lock
16 Dec 2015
By
, Forest of Dean
" 20 seconds to set the new code, no problem so far. Can' t really comment on reliability yet but seems quite sturdy for the purpose bought. "
Review 2 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
12 Apr 2015
By
, Stockton on Tees
" I bought two of these and find them easy to set and clear to read and unlock.
Absolutely no problem whatsoever in use and they seem secure enough for my use on a changing room locker.
"
Review 3 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointed with Lock
31 Jan 2014
By
, Huntingdon
" Combination keeps on changing on one of the tumblers. I thought at first I was setting the tumber incorrectly? After a numbers of trials it confirmed that there was a problem with the lock. I will return the lock for a replace or a alternative. "
7 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Outside Padlock
25 Jan 2016
By
, Haslemere
" Bought 3 of these padlocks for some outside gates. 2 broke, 1 was returned and replaced the combinations lost themselves after a few months, so ended up cutting 2 off 2 gates using a bolt cutter. I wouldn't recommend them for outside use. "
MasterLockCompany26 Jan 2016
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your inconvenient experience with this product. This lock is intended for indoor use only. For more information regarding this product, or any others from Master Lock, please contact our Customer Support at Tel: 01279-810-350 MasterLock
Review 5 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Do Not Buy This Lock !!!
22 Dec 2015
By
, Derbyshire
" Unreliable. Close the lock on one number - but need a different one to open it. Guess from 9,999. A waste of time and money. "
MasterLockCompany4 Jan 2016
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your inconvenient experience with this product. For more information regarding this product, or any others from Master Lock, please contact our Customer Support at Tel: 01279-810-350 MasterLock
Review 6 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Avoid
6 Sep 2015
By
, Abingdon
" Bought one of these for light security on a customers front gate.
I followed instructions and reset the code, tested it a few times and seemed fine. Now somehow the code has changed and the lock won't open, dials feel stiff so something is clearly up with it. Now I've got to replace it provided I can get it off, leaving me red faced and out of pocket.
Kicking myself for not reading the reviews first "
MasterLockCompany8 Sep 2015
We appreciate your feedback and apologize for your inconvenient experience with this product. This lock is mechanically designed to be used indoors. Perhaps, the dials accumulated debris and/or moisture causing the dials to seize up. For more information regarding this product, or any others from Master Lock, please contact our Customer Support at 800-464-2088 MasterLock
Review 7 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Just awful
8 Mar 2015
By
, Cheshire
" Absolutely terrible. I went to open the padlock and could not get it open at all using the same combination as I had used several times before without having a problem. I then had the problem of having to saw through a hardened metal which wouldn't of been easy so I thought I'd give it a whack with a hammer. I gave it one tap (not very hard) and it popped straight open!! Do not use this padlock for securing anything valuable or you might find it has gone missing! "
2 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor
10 Feb 2015
By
, West Lancs
" I bought 7 of these and only 1 is still working satisfactorily: 2 have reset themselves so I cannot open them, the shackle falls out of the another, 2 have 'stuck' barrels that won't rotate, another has a barrel that rotates when you alter another. Won't buy these ever again. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Master Lock Aluminium Padlock Black 40mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
completely naulsed
26 Jan 2015
By
, colchester
" Sometimes it's better to have no lock at all than this piece of junk.
Purchased the lock 2 weeks ago, set the combination, went to unlock it and it seems to have developed amnesia as it's forgotten its combination resulting in me having to cut it off.
If you want a lock that you can't get off or ever use again, buy this lock! If not, buy a bag of tie wraps!! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.