Product Reviews

NN Smooth Metal Black 750ml

NN Smooth Metal Black 750ml
Average Customer Rating:
3.406 out of 5
3.4
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 32 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
2
1 star
9
21 of 32(66%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Review 1 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job
26 May 2015
By DaveF69
, Uckfield
" Not sure if they've improved this product since some of the reviews were written but I have no issues. It went on easily and has lasted a month with no signs of any problems so far, I use it on some garden bits + my logging trailer. Very pleased and will use again. "
Review 2 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
best black metal paint
19 May 2015
By Jesse1
, Gravesend
" this is the second time i have purchased and used this paint - value is superb and usage is easy with brushes that can be cleaned in water!!. "
Review 3 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Super Paint
17 May 2015
By Anonymous
, glasgow
" This paint does what it says on the tin, easy to use and great coverage. "
Review 4 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No Nonsense metal Paint
24 Apr 2015
By Splishsplashsplosh
, Dorset
" This product was great value and did the job in painting a rusty old work bench.Covered in one coat and dried very fast.
The best bit, the brush was easy to clean in water!! No Nonsense.
"
Review 5 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great paint
9 Apr 2015
By Tomtit
, Lisburn
" very easy to apply compared to others I have used ,dries quick and covers well "
Review 6 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
no nonsense metal trade paint
6 Sep 2014
By Wilber28
, Harrogate
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Was very please with this metal paint i have used a few in the past this gets my vote ease of application ease of cleaning brushes and a rapid dry time looks great on my steel fencing and I used less than i thought I would great product "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good cheap paint
6 Sep 2014
By DonnyO
, Dorset
" I was going to buy some expensive paint, they was out of Hammerite. so the next best thing was this paint. it did a brilliant job and i saved £7. cheers Screwfix. "
Review 8 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use paint.
28 Aug 2014
By Hampshirehog
, Hampshire
" Quick drying, easy to clean from brushes. Using this paint for scuttle of Triumph Spitfire. I don't have to wait long to replace components after painting. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Was going to buy hammerite
11 May 2014
By Homevalet4u
, Bexleyheath
" This done the job just as good as hammerite . But £5 cheaper . Thought it would be worth a go and was impressed. Well done screwfix "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
paint
1 Oct 2013
By AGra
, Carluke
" Good paint - initially looks like blue water rather runny, but once it goes on its perfect and black. "
Review 11 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
no-nonsense metal paint
6 Oct 2012
By bobthebuilder2
, Gateshead, Tyneside.
" Normally would buy Hammerite for metalwork painting/repainting, but decided to try this brand which have never used before! Time will tell whether it will be resilient to our winters, but it was easy to apply, covered well, dried very quickly, and brushes just washed out with soapy water! no need for cellulose thinners with the associated disposal problems. I like it!!! "
Review 12 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent paint
17 May 2012
By tooley
, Liverpool
" Superb paint to use, very easy not like some other metal paints and a great finnish. "
Review 13 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent & v easy to use
6 Sep 2011
By BriD
, Stockport
" This is a water based paint which makes it FAR easier to use than the highly viscous Hammerite types. Although presumably no way near so good at filling/binding badly rusted & flaking surfaces, it produces an excellent tough, smooth finish over surface rust.
It survives well on narrowboat hulls !
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
very smooth!
2 Jul 2014
By lucaldo
, Livingston
" This paint was easy to apply and it is smooth. I have to do a second coat. I suppose only time will tell of it is durable. Also I think it is fantastic that I can just wash out the brush under the tap. "
Review 15 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good finish
16 Jun 2014
By Bungleford
, Brighton
" I used this paint on my garage door. It is great value and has good coverage (better than other more expensive brands)
It did need two coats but i always paint two coats to get an even finish.
"
Review 16 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Good Paint for Metal
2 Sep 2013
By themanthatdoes
, Kirkcaldy
" Good coverage on railings and wrought iron gates. The smooth finish is not high gloss, so good for covering rust damage. "
Review 17 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
it does what you expect
12 Jun 2013
By Racy
, Leamington & Lancs
" Covers rusty metal well. It flats out brush marks to a fair level on a warm day, but doesn't have good adhesion to old paint - previous paint needs to be very well keyed or this will peel off. "
Review 18 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
beats the branded product
28 May 2012
By thetryer
, herts
" why pay for the branded product when this does the same job "
Review 19 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Will require two coats
16 Apr 2012
By Gwhitey
, Reading
" Cheaper option to Hammerite and is water based. This means that brushes etc are much easier to clean.
I used it to paint a garage door which was previously red. Little bit of light sanding and off I went. The coverage is no where near as good as a solvent based paint and I found it required two coats. However, the paint dried extremely quickly and the fact that it was water based was a big bonus for me.
I did use a gloss roller and found this left small air bubbles in the finish. Not an issue for me but would be worth considering.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for No Nonsense Quick-Dry Smooth Metal Paint Black 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Black Metal Paint
30 May 2011
By Wrenny
, Doncaster
" Was a cheaper option and worked perfectly well for the job i had in hand "
Page : 1 2 next>