Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

NN Yacht Varnish 750ml

NN Yacht Varnish 750ml
Average Customer Rating:
4.467 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
4
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
1
14 of 15(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Review 1 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
More Please!
18 Aug 2014
By
, Bridgend
"This varnish is "old-school" good - finish is shiny, tough and long lasting. I only wish it came from Screwfix in larger cans. Goes on very nicely too, no horrid smell or anything like that. I would not recommend it for floors though, as heavy things in place for some time can stick to it - even when it has been dry for several weeks. Pity, because the finish is superb....."
Review 2 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Varnish
23 Jul 2014
By
, Swansea
"Excellent product, I needed an external varnish for an oak table that was to be removed from our kitchen and used out on the patio, obviously this would take a beating with our weather!!!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Cheap n easy
9 Jul 2014
By
, Barnsley
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Bought this varnish to use on a table top I bought of auction site and to use outside. Easy to apply, unable to judge performance until it's been weathered in for a bit. Great gloss finish. Good price when you compare to the big DIY stores"
Review 4 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Appears to be good
30 Jun 2014
By
, Guildford
"I've previously used the equivalent Ronseal product and this appears to be as good but cheaper. Easy to apply, coverage is good as well, dries to a nice finish, not too glossy. Obviously time will tell on reliability but initially pleased. Used this product on a wooden bird table."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MR A WARD
21 Jun 2014
By
, LONG EATON, NOTTM
"MY FRONT DOOR, NOW LOOKS FANTASTIC, (LIKE NEW),,,,,,,,,,"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good varnish
9 Jun 2014
By
, Brighton
"I agree with most of whats been said. Just wanted to state that I used it on a picnic table and got two coats on easily with a little left over.
lovely shine."
Review 7 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Varnish
9 Jun 2014
By
, Baillieston
"Local pub was closing so I got a few beer garden tables. They were solid but had been well weathered. After sanding them I was looking for a suitable protective covering. They are very expensive branded products but I decided to try this yacht varnish and iit worked a treat. Easy to apply and looks fantastic."
Review 8 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top notch
8 Mar 2013
By
, Barton-uponHumber
"I bought this varnish to coat my staircase as I was recommended to use yacht varnish as it is hard wearing and gives a nice finish. I searched on google for prices for yacht varnish and this one came out cheapest and had good reviews so I thought I'd give it a go and so glad I did! Would totally recommend this product to anyone with any doubts over the no nonsense brand as I bet this is just as good as the other yacht varnish out there but at over half the price. Good work Screwfix"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
yatch varnish
30 Oct 2012
By
, barnsley
"This stuff needs to cover all and go on easy, you can put loads of thinners in it and it goes a long way, dries flat and hard. Good Stuff indoors or out, excellent on garden furniture, Could be cheaper and available in larger quantities."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Sell in larger cans
21 Jul 2012
By
, Blackpool
"I have used this varnish for many years. I find it extremely good on hardwood such as Opepe, Red Oak and Brazilian dark hardwood. The varnish highlights the grain of the wood. If possible lay the wood flat which allows more varnish to be administered without running. The varnish does take a day to dry and in low temperatures a lot longer. I do a lot of work near the sea that is why I use it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Yacht clear varnish
9 Jul 2014
By
, Shepton Mallet
"i was a bit dubious about using the No trade product but really good value and easy to apply"
Review 12 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
brilliant high gloss shine
30 May 2014
By
, Stockport
"I was looking for a high gloss finish to my stairs. I have used an iron on veneer and then stained in dark oak, however, I wanted a high shine on them. I purchased high gloss French polish at first and after doing a test several coats later I could not get the shine I wanted. Then my husband talked me into getting this yacht varnish, and he was so right, this is absolutely brilliant 2 coats with a light sand in between and I have the shine I wanted. Great price for such a great product. If you are thinking of getting this then do, so much better than normal varnish, and if like me you love shiny things, this is it"
Review 13 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good stuff
17 Mar 2014
By
, Matlock, Derbyshire
"I've used this product on a solid oak table as part of a renovation and also on shuttering grade 12mm plywood to help protect a trailer from the elements.
My observations:
1. It is stated to cover 17 m2 / litre. This is 12.75 m2 / tin. I have no idea how they came to this figure. By brush expect to cover half that.
2. Diluting it with thinners affects the quality of the finish. It will go further (and will be fine for non-precision applications) but will not set 'hard' like a cellulose based product which it does neat.
3. It takes a long time to dry. After 24hrs it is weatherproof, but will not fully cure for about a week. This is no different from any solvent based finish, however.
4. I wish they sold it in bigger tins (i.e. 2.5 L)
Overall, for the price it's brilliant stuff. Use it!"
Review 14 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Does what it says on the tin
7 Jun 2013
By
, Morpeth
"well packed to prevent spillage, easy to apply and gives good protection and finish."
Review 15 for No Nonsense Yacht Varnish Gloss Clear 750ml
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't buy it it's rubbish.
2 Jun 2012
By
, Essex
"I used this on a garden gate and a short length of picket fence, I even varnished the the wood before and after assembly, and initially the finish looked good, but the varnish didn't last the winter. I even noticed some discolouration of the wood after it had rained on it a couple of times. It will take loads of work to try and put this right. I thought I would save a few quid, but I should have bought a branded varnish. I only gave this product one star because I couldn't give it zero stars"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.