Product Reviews

Stanley Clamping Mitre Box

Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Average Customer Rating:
3.048 out of 5
3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 21 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
3
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 star
6
12 of 21(57%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Review 1 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great value
27 Nov 2014
By mickflykites
, Woodbridge
" Excellent mitre box actual clamps timber in position using cam clamps good idea.
Good value for money offers several mitre and cutting options and angles.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Useful tool
23 Jul 2014
By Sam14
, West Midlands
" For me, the main selling point of this mitre box is the fact it has a clamping system.
It's not a cheap mitre box by any stretch of the imagination, but it is certainly cheaper than buying a mitre saw!
I used my mitre box with hand and power saws, all of which had no problems helping me to achieve the angled cuts I required. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
30 Jun 2014
By CharlesFB
, Westward Ho!
" The clamping system on this mitre box is very good and stops whatever is being sawn from jumping around. "
Review 4 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
mitre block
25 Sep 2012
By DIYaLot
, Basildon
" Handy to have 22 1/2degree as well as the usual 45degree. large enough to do plaster coving and accurate enough to cut small sections such as beading. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mitre Box
6 Jul 2012
By JacktheJudoman
, Cambs/Herts border
" 30 years of hobby woodworking and I find the best mitre box I've ever used. The small pegs that clamp wood sections to the box are excellent, as they are oval shaped they grip event the tiniest of sections. Good solid product which can clamp to a workmate in seconds. "
Review 6 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool
21 Mar 2011
By Tezzajr
, london
" Used this Mitre box when fitting a very ornate fibrous plaster coving.I found it to be very adaptable and perfect for the job. I will be using it for many more tasks. I am sure that it will perform just as well with architrave, skirting boards and dado rail. it is able to be screwed down to you workbench and as so it gives a very secure working platform. The mitre box was able to allow me to cut some very awkward corners and after fiting over 300 mtrs of plaster coving it is still as good as new. I reckon that I could use it time and time again. "
Review 7 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
28 Jul 2014
By EdsterM
, Birmingham
" Like the clamping system, but wish it did a 135 degree cut. "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Did the job....
18 Jun 2012
By toner
, Bristol
" Pros - 22.5 was very useful when doing my laminate edging.
You can lock the item in place quite well.
Slightly wider than another one I have.
Cons - If not careful you could damage your object by locking it in to tight.
One of my groves has got smaller so hard to get the saw in this slot now...
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
24 Nov 2009
By Anonymous
, Farnham
" Decent Mitre box for the price.
lots of options for different cutting angles.
Plastic is a little flimsy for a great deal of use but it's not bad at all. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
DIY mitre block
1 Dec 2014
By mickn
, London
" I bought this for fitting the edging to some laminate flooring. It worked very well. Got the job done no problem but it seems a bit flimsy. Not sure how it would stand up to use with heavier materials. I bought a 10" tenon saw to use with it. Don't make the same mistake. This block is very wide and on a 45 degree cut the saw just spans the block. "
Review 11 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
could be better
23 Oct 2014
By joek
, gillingham
" this would be a much better product if it was a bit deeper so you can cut 4" skirting upright against the side rather than having to lay the skirting down flat. Also prefer metal or wood to give more resistance to the saw cutting into the grooves and destroying the accuracy of future cuts. Perhaps it's me being ham fisted. "
Review 12 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Wont Last Long
11 Dec 2012
By GCS1
, Stoke On Trent
" Wont last long plastic very soft and flexable saw cutting into the plastic "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Flimsy
1 Oct 2012
By GrandadAnotherOne
, Solihull
" The block looks nice and solid in the advertising - but in reality, the plastic is hollow. The result is that the block will flex when you put any pressure in it.
I bought it to cut skirting board (4") and that was too tall to fit into the block - so I had to cut the first couple of cm using just one of the slots until I had sawn far enough to get the saw into the slots on both sides of the block. It also meant that the 'gripping pins' could not work properly.
Although there are two gripping pins, often you can only use one - unless you are planning to waste 10cm of timber.
"
Review 14 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Average
31 Dec 2012
By AmazingFAZ
, Harlow
" Having read reviews from other tis seemed a good product, on the plus the cam locks are a brilliant, however the box itself is made from hollow plastic, and is flimsy. I would have expected the box to be solid plastic. Not sure if this would cope with being dropped? "
Review 15 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Stanley mitre block..
15 May 2011
By destroyityourself
, Durham
" I bought this to replace my draper mitre block which had been a very good buy, my first observation was it idid not look strong enough for the work needed.It is made with cheap plastic, no hardened saw guide slots and poor overall construction, however, these things considered it did the job [cupboard mitre cornices] admirably albeit at the cost of some of the saw guide slots that were cut into..Imho block needs to be made of stronger material and priced accordingly.One tip, if your going to use this block get a helper.. "
Review 16 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Cheap and not so cheerful
15 Dec 2014
By GOM68
, Yorkshire
" I had purchased this to cut the new skirting that I was fitting to a room and it was the only one I could find that would accept 5" skirting as well as cut the 45 degree angle. Unfortunately that is where the the pro's ended for me!
With it being made out of plastic, the thing flexed all over the place and did not give an even cut all all. On top of that, because it is flexible plastic, the saw also ended up damaging the guide, so really, it was a waste of £11 for me.
I actually ended up going and buying an electric compound mitre saw which did the job brilliantly! "
Review 17 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not so great...
9 Dec 2014
By TSTS
, London
" Pros:
-Wide
- 22.5 degrees as well as 45 and 90 degree mitre slots
Cons:
-Flimsy plastic; box flexes easily and so get inaccurate cuts if not very careful
-Plastic is thin and soft at mitre slots so saw catches and cuts plastic mitre slots, further reducing accuracy
-Too wide for a 10 inch tenon saw
-Clamping system fine in theory but holes for clamp post always seem to be in wrong place relating to mitre slots
- Expensive given its flaws
I wouldn't buy this mitre box again. "
Review 18 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not for me...
4 Dec 2014
By Gallivanting
, Oxfordshire
" I bought this to cut the mitres on some skirting, as it's not tall enough to use with the skirting up right you have to use the bevel cut on the end. Which looks as though it was an afterthought by stanley and the inside edges are just cut rather than moulded like the other guides. Therefore my saw (also a stanley) kept catching making a horrendous cut finish and was extremely frustrating. The bevel guide was the sole reason I bought this product otherwise I wouldn't have paid almost double. Don't get duped into paying for this product and wasting you're time! "
Review 19 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor in many ways
5 Nov 2013
By yazz
, sheffield
" As the title says, it is poor, the box flexes when sawing so cuts are not accurate, the plastic is hollow and not solid, it is very difficult not to cut the cutting angles as the saw catches due to the flexing and the clamps aren't very good as they don't clamp very well and they leave indentations. All in all, this product isn't worth the £12 I paid for it, Surely Stanley would have put this item through some sort of testing, quality control. Don't waste your money! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Stanley Clamping Mitre Box
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
stanley mitre box
3 Dec 2012
By seventyshaker
, kent
" Bought this as I thought I would spend the money and save time. how wrong I was, cutting 45 degrees was around 5 degrees out each cut. as you can only use the block one way (lip on one side/underside for worktop) two cuts the same amount out leaves a great big gap. height of block is too high to cut through to bottom with tennon saw so chance of an accurate cut is even worse. after wasting hours trying to make good poor cuts, i ended up cutting mitre's with set square/45% hand tools. perfect jobs the moment I stopped using this piece of rubbish. bottom line, trust your own ability and save frustration and money. "
Page : 1 2 next>