Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

50ml. Silicone paste used as an external leak sealer and jointing compound.

50ml. Silicone paste used as an external leak sealer and jointing compound.
Average Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(55 Reviews) 55
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (55 reviews)
5 stars
42
4 stars
9
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
3
52 of 55(95%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Review 1 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fernox Leak Sealer
12 Oct 2011
By CLDomestics
, London
"This product performs excellently for jointing BSP fittings as well as sealing 'old' weaping joints.
A must have for all tool boxes!
It is silicone based but the fittings are watertight immediately so you do not need to allow time for the paste to cure.
NOT FOR USE ON GAS FITTINGS."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuffs a life saver
1 Mar 2014
By 3phase
, Staffordshire
"I had problems getting a good seal on a bad thread. This worked a treat always got a tube in the bag now"
Review 3 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff
22 Feb 2014
By maks
, leicester
"i am replacing a new radiator,which is wider than the old one and bent the compression bit of the valve,causing very tiny leaking. was thinking need to cut the olive off and put on a male compression connector. but.....ls-x helped nd sorted out everything,saved a lot of trouble. this is my first review on housing working stuff.Really helpful product."
Review 4 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fernox LS-X
20 Feb 2014
By robj3123
, tring
"I had a new rad spigot that would not seal despite miles of ptfe tape. Tried it twice and still leaked.
Took spigot out, dried it, liberal amount of LS-X on threads and smeared round exterior as well. Left for 12 hours and joint is fine.
I'd recommend and will def be using it from now on. Anyone want some ptfe tape?
"
Review 5 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
always reliable never fails
12 Jan 2014
By Wristrider
, reading
"Have been using this instead of ptfe for a few years now and its always gives a ood seal without making threads difficult to undo and reuse, it can get a little messy but cleans off your hands fairly easy."
Review 6 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tips on using Fernox LS-X
29 Nov 2013
By Myhero
, Cotswolds
"This is an excellent product, i've been using it for years on many jobs and keep finding more uses for it.
Firstly, i, like many others have sometimes had trouble making good joints with PTFE tape and having to dismantle a joint just to rewind tape is time consuming and annoying, I have NEVER had a failure from a joint whilst using this product, that alone makes it value for money.
Secondly. Some people have noted that the cap can be a bit fragile, cracking or breaking completely when tightened, if air gets in you're going to lose the whole tube, I have found that an old tooth paste cap works well as a replacement, in fact i've reused the same replacement cap for some time now.
Finally, I recently needed to slide a tight rubber sleeve on to a soil pipe and had run out of silicone spray, I used the Fernox LS-X as a lube which then set to help seal the joint. Simples
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ls-x fernox leak sealer
25 Jul 2013
By Anonymous
, sittingbourne kent
"i always carry a tube of this sealant in my tool box as it has been a god send in mending not only water leaks from pipe joints etc, but for many other jobs as well, it's flexible so will give just enough as not to give way, yet solid enough when dried to hold all sorts of thing in place, as it can be used just like glue for many jobs to numerous to say here, just try it your-selves and see,"
Review 8 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well
16 Jul 2013
By Thorpin
, Surrey
"Found this sealant a number of years ago. Very effective when used in conjunction with compression fittings -do not use with PTFE tape. Good for sealing waste plugs into the bottom of baths and sinks etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LS-X - Saved Me From Despair!
15 Jun 2013
By Toppops
, Bradford
"I've only used this product for one job, sealing the rubber syphon washer on a close-coupled WC and this sealant was brilliant - saved me from virtual despair!
I'm a very experience D.I.Y er and have replaced a good number of syphon units over the years (including on this same cistern several years ago), I've never previously encountered any great difficulty with what should be a straightforward job. I've never previously had to use any sealant on this type of job.
In the past few months I've had to replace this rubber washer or re-seat / re-tighten it on about 6 or 7 occasions. Eventually I resorted to a different (non-setting, Plumbers-Mate-copy) sanitary-ware sealant. I even left the cistern propped up in the garage, full of water for a few hours to ensure no leaks, before re-fitting. This worked for several weeks before failing again! I suspect that the reason for it failing was that the pressure on the sealant from the tightened nut was eventually extruding the sealant from the joint and allowing water to leak again.
I was at my wits end, almost resorted to standard silicone, which various forums either advocate or hate. Some of these groups mentioned LS-X and I decided to give it a try. Fernox describe it as a silicone product that doesn't fully set and doesn't shrink or crack, the joints can be easily undone.
When I came to apply this product, I discovered the cause of my troubles, there was a flaw in the ceramic, with a small raised lip of ceramic about 1mm in thickness extending maybe a couple of inches around the hole for the syphon tube. How I'd not spotted it before beats me but obviously it had been there since it was fired, a flaw at the manufacturing stage. The previous rubber washers had been thicker than the modern replacements so may have been able to conform around the ridge more easily.
LS-X did the trick! I applied the LS-X to the faces of the washer, tightened the syphon nut and I left it to harden for a couple of hours or so (probably overkill) before re-filling the cistern. It's now almost 2 months since I solved the problem and a very fastidious tenant has reported no further problems. Hope I'm not tempting fate now (I delayed sending in this review for that reason).
From reading on-line forums it seems that this type of problem is not that uncommon - I hope that this review might help one or two others out.
I'm not saying that I would use it as a matter of course on this type of job - really there shouldn't be a need for sealants but when problems are encountered it's a great product and saves a lot of frustration. Certainly, if ceramic surfaces are not perfectly flat then I'd certainly reach for this tube.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LS-X Sealant FERNOX
12 Jun 2013
By MGHeating
, N Ireland
"This stuff is really good.
I had to join a parallel threaded shower head into an old (discontinued) Showerlux tapered female straight and this stuff saved the day. After using PTFE and hemp/paste with no success, LS-X did the biz. Worked straight away and didn't have to wait for it to harden.
I've used it a few times after on other jobs and same result, life saver tbh.
"
Review 11 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Also works on washing hoses
18 May 2013
By GafferD40
, Lancaster
"I recently had to join some washing hoses and despite the various hose clips and connector I was still having leaks due to how the hose had been cut. I used this to cover the joining piece and the inside of the hoses, and then continued to use the hose clips as before. 1 month later and still no leaking."
Review 12 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great leak sealer
4 May 2013
By dnak
, London
"Use this when ever im doing a threaded joint on plumbing fittings and it works a treat and has never let me down"
Review 13 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best of leak sealers
25 Apr 2013
By ceejay51
, Leeds
"I have used this product on a number of occasions and it has done what it's says it will"
Review 14 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
excellent product
24 Mar 2013
By gringo1
, London
"this product finally managed to fix a leak on a Bar shower threaded joint where it connects to the wall. after 6 previous attempts to stop a tiny slow leak using PTFE tape and Jointing compound, I failed and was about to give up, until a read about this on the internet. I bought a tube the next day, and success....result no more leaking, well worth the money, if only I know about this sooner."
Review 15 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
16 Mar 2013
By BillDL
, Hamilton
"My primary need was as an internal thread sealant for previously used and hard to match plastic waste piping, and to seat and seal basin and bath traps where leakage had been a problem before. I additionally wanted an external compound to smear around the joints as an additional seal which I would later be able to disassemble without wrecking the parts. In this respect LS-X is not dissimilar in consistency and potential uses as "Plumber's Gold" by Everbuild, which comes in standard mastic gun sized tubes and you will therefore probably only use 10%, leaving 90% to waste away curing in the tube. I think the LS-X was better for my purposes though, because it remained smearable for a little longer and peels less easily if rubbed after it is cured than the other mentioned product. It is very sticky when compared with general purpose silicone sealants, and remains nice and rubbery. It might seem expensive for a small tube, but a little goes a long way. This is a great product in the right sized tube so any wastage is minimal."
Review 16 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
solved the problem!
4 Mar 2013
By treefrog
, Suffolk
"After the worst hassle I have ever had trying to seal the waste on a sink with a wonky base I tried Fernox LS-X and it worked perfectly, simply wonderful."
Review 17 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
7 Jan 2013
By CallForAHandyman
, Hertfordshire
"Every tradesman sould have this in their toolbox - and the DIY'er."
Review 18 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Seals leaks without fuss
20 Dec 2012
By Colin1
, London
"I used it to seal a leaking radiator valve that I could not undo or tighten. As a temporary repair I used LS-X with a few strands of hemp to make a bandage on the slightly leaking joint. After 2 hours of setting time and then turning on the radiator valve the leak had stopped.
Recommended for a repair to a leaking joint"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Stuff
24 Nov 2012
By SnakeEyes
, North Somerset
"After taking off, flushing then refitting radiators and refilling system all was well except one compression joint was weeping. Rather than drain down the system (which would off required the purchase of more inhibitor fluid) I undid the joint and used this product on the threads. Yes some water did escape but it saved a drain down and it stopped the weep/leak. Great stuff does what it says on the tube, wouldn't be with out it now."
Review 20 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
EASY PEASY
15 Nov 2012
By Chuckois
, CLEETHORPES
"Plastic waste pipe sealant for water back up to rubber seals quality and easy peasy !"
Page : 1 2 3 next>