Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer

Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer
Average Customer Rating:
4.582 out of 5
4.6
 out of 
5
(67 Reviews) 67
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 67 reviews
5 stars
52
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 star
4
63 of 67(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Review 1 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fernox Leak Sealer
12 Oct 2011
By
, London
"This product performs excellently for jointing BSP fittings as well as sealing 'old' weaping joints.
A must have for all tool boxes!
It is silicone based but the fittings are watertight immediately so you do not need to allow time for the paste to cure.
NOT FOR USE ON GAS FITTINGS."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent jointing compound
10 Nov 2014
By
, Surrey
"Much preferred to other jointing compounds that I have used in the past."
Review 3 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Always in my tool bag
10 Nov 2014
By
, london
"I would put a compression fitting together without it...
On the odd occasion I have done, I came to regret it.
Brilliant stuff!
A small price to pay for peace of mind"
Review 4 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy peesy!
29 Oct 2014
By
, swindon
"Does what it says on the tube! Easy to apply,
I used it to seal the thread on an emersion heat element at the bottom of the cylinder, no leaks, perfect.
"
Review 5 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant stuff!
29 Oct 2014
By
, Wallington, Surrey
"I swear by this stuff. I wouldn't attach a brass compression fitting without first smearing a bit on the pipe and i've never had a bad joint yet. I've also used it along with ptfe tape to attach every rad valve in my house when I changed the rads with no probs. Its safe for aquatic use too so fine for drinking water pipes as well as central heating pipes. I even used it to seal a crack on a plastic fish tank a couple of years ago and the fish is still going strong."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lifesaver
21 Oct 2014
By
, Dunfermline
"Bad olive? Take it apart, cover it in this and reassemble. Works very well on heating systems up to a bar. Don't know about mains performance.
Only down side is the cap which seems to let a bit of air in and harden."
Review 7 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Never without
18 Oct 2014
By
, Dawlish, Devon
"No plumber should have a van without lsx. Very useful, even if the stuff will go off in the tube."
Review 8 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great sealant
15 Oct 2014
By
, Cheshire
"Havig trouble sealing Rad Valve fitting into radiator, not something I have had a problem in the past. Used this sealant and no more problems, recommended"
Review 9 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
fernox ls-x
9 Oct 2014
By
, london
"I had read all the reviews about this and thought I had better buy some, as a 1st time woman DIYer
I highly recommend it, its easy to use and yes it stops the leaks a wonderful product that everyone should keep in their tool box.
"
Review 10 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great stuff
18 Jun 2014
By
, hertfordshire
"sealed an external leek very well, used plumbers tape and this glue in layers. would use again, keeping a tube on site now."
Review 11 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good product
22 Apr 2014
By
, Marlow
"Running a length of copper tube between two fixed points in a repair As not quite aligned the compression joint was sweating a bit
Blob of this on the olive sorted it out
"
Review 12 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
This stuffs a life saver
1 Mar 2014
By
, Staffordshire
"I had problems getting a good seal on a bad thread. This worked a treat always got a tube in the bag now"
Review 13 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good stuff
22 Feb 2014
By
, leicester
"i am replacing a new radiator,which is wider than the old one and bent the compression bit of the valve,causing very tiny leaking. was thinking need to cut the olive off and put on a male compression connector. but.....ls-x helped nd sorted out everything,saved a lot of trouble. this is my first review on housing working stuff.Really helpful product."
Review 14 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fernox LS-X
20 Feb 2014
By
, tring
"I had a new rad spigot that would not seal despite miles of ptfe tape. Tried it twice and still leaked.
Took spigot out, dried it, liberal amount of LS-X on threads and smeared round exterior as well. Left for 12 hours and joint is fine.
I'd recommend and will def be using it from now on. Anyone want some ptfe tape?
"
Review 15 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
always reliable never fails
12 Jan 2014
By
, reading
"Have been using this instead of ptfe for a few years now and its always gives a ood seal without making threads difficult to undo and reuse, it can get a little messy but cleans off your hands fairly easy."
Review 16 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
tips on using Fernox LS-X
29 Nov 2013
By
, Cotswolds
"This is an excellent product, i've been using it for years on many jobs and keep finding more uses for it.
Firstly, i, like many others have sometimes had trouble making good joints with PTFE tape and having to dismantle a joint just to rewind tape is time consuming and annoying, I have NEVER had a failure from a joint whilst using this product, that alone makes it value for money.
Secondly. Some people have noted that the cap can be a bit fragile, cracking or breaking completely when tightened, if air gets in you're going to lose the whole tube, I have found that an old tooth paste cap works well as a replacement, in fact i've reused the same replacement cap for some time now.
Finally, I recently needed to slide a tight rubber sleeve on to a soil pipe and had run out of silicone spray, I used the Fernox LS-X as a lube which then set to help seal the joint. Simples
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
ls-x fernox leak sealer
25 Jul 2013
By
, sittingbourne kent
"i always carry a tube of this sealant in my tool box as it has been a god send in mending not only water leaks from pipe joints etc, but for many other jobs as well, it's flexible so will give just enough as not to give way, yet solid enough when dried to hold all sorts of thing in place, as it can be used just like glue for many jobs to numerous to say here, just try it your-selves and see,"
Review 18 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works well
16 Jul 2013
By
, Surrey
"Found this sealant a number of years ago. Very effective when used in conjunction with compression fittings -do not use with PTFE tape. Good for sealing waste plugs into the bottom of baths and sinks etc."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LS-X - Saved Me From Despair!
15 Jun 2013
By
, Bradford
"I've only used this product for one job, sealing the rubber syphon washer on a close-coupled WC and this sealant was brilliant - saved me from virtual despair!
I'm a very experience D.I.Y er and have replaced a good number of syphon units over the years (including on this same cistern several years ago), I've never previously encountered any great difficulty with what should be a straightforward job. I've never previously had to use any sealant on this type of job.
In the past few months I've had to replace this rubber washer or re-seat / re-tighten it on about 6 or 7 occasions. Eventually I resorted to a different (non-setting, Plumbers-Mate-copy) sanitary-ware sealant. I even left the cistern propped up in the garage, full of water for a few hours to ensure no leaks, before re-fitting. This worked for several weeks before failing again! I suspect that the reason for it failing was that the pressure on the sealant from the tightened nut was eventually extruding the sealant from the joint and allowing water to leak again.
I was at my wits end, almost resorted to standard silicone, which various forums either advocate or hate. Some of these groups mentioned LS-X and I decided to give it a try. Fernox describe it as a silicone product that doesn't fully set and doesn't shrink or crack, the joints can be easily undone.
When I came to apply this product, I discovered the cause of my troubles, there was a flaw in the ceramic, with a small raised lip of ceramic about 1mm in thickness extending maybe a couple of inches around the hole for the syphon tube. How I'd not spotted it before beats me but obviously it had been there since it was fired, a flaw at the manufacturing stage. The previous rubber washers had been thicker than the modern replacements so may have been able to conform around the ridge more easily.
LS-X did the trick! I applied the LS-X to the faces of the washer, tightened the syphon nut and I left it to harden for a couple of hours or so (probably overkill) before re-filling the cistern. It's now almost 2 months since I solved the problem and a very fastidious tenant has reported no further problems. Hope I'm not tempting fate now (I delayed sending in this review for that reason).
From reading on-line forums it seems that this type of problem is not that uncommon - I hope that this review might help one or two others out.
I'm not saying that I would use it as a matter of course on this type of job - really there shouldn't be a need for sealants but when problems are encountered it's a great product and saves a lot of frustration. Certainly, if ceramic surfaces are not perfectly flat then I'd certainly reach for this tube.
"
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Fernox LS-X Leak Sealer 50ml
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LS-X Sealant FERNOX
12 Jun 2013
By
, N Ireland
"This stuff is really good.
I had to join a parallel threaded shower head into an old (discontinued) Showerlux tapered female straight and this stuff saved the day. After using PTFE and hemp/paste with no success, LS-X did the biz. Worked straight away and didn't have to wait for it to harden.
I've used it a few times after on other jobs and same result, life saver tbh.
"
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>