Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

For non-contact detection of AC voltage at socket outlets. Use against wire insulation.

For non-contact detection of AC voltage at socket outlets. Use against wire insulation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.923 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 13 reviews
5 stars
7
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
9 of 13(69%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Review 1 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great item
23 Apr 2013
By ghostrider
, 3rd rock from sun
"great item good quality
handy torch not very bright but ok
all way s have one before i do any work bought to replace my fluke tester this is little bigger but like it better"
Review 2 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Well made and easy to use
20 Mar 2013
By 24hz
, Basingstoke
"Seems well made though too early to gauge reliability (hence the 4 stars at this stage). I use it for DIY rather than as a jobbing electrician, so it won't get the kind of hard knocks it might when carried in a toolbox each day. A protective pouch may have been a good idea for pro use, but then the price would go up.
In terms of what it does, can't fault it. The dual alarm of the light and a buzzer is good and I found the built in torch more useful than I expected - although I had other torches, working in the dark in the loft in a tight space, it was very handy to have the two-in-one. Bright enough for close up work. I bought it for a specific job, trying to fault trace a lighting circuit in an old house - I know electrics and always work safe, but still it gave me an extra degree of confidence when faced with a lot of wires, just to be able to check for any possible live circuits on a different ring to the one I'd isolated. I have a meter but the job would have been much more time consuming without this voltage checker.
There were a lot of cheaper options around but I doubted their quality - glad I paid more for something that seems likely to last a while. Recommended."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Worth the extra pennies
12 Mar 2013
By Ruski
, Midlands
"Good reliability and detection so far. Very useful LED light in the end - keep forgetting it's there tho!
Does the job."
Review 4 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
megger voltage detector
4 Feb 2013
By sxsparks
, Essex
"seems to work well, has an audible tone which is handy.
It is a little bulky though compared with other makes.
The built in torch is usefull
"
Review 5 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Volta
29 Oct 2012
By Johnst
, Warwick
"I like this tool easy to see and hear if you have power"
Review 6 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
stay safe equipment
29 Jun 2011
By joe210658
, erskine
"awesome wee device, only to be used as an indication, check with proper voltage tester using safe isolation procedure"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great detector
18 Jun 2011
By DJplumber
, Nottingham
"Bought this detector in a recent sale as I don't like the Kewtech model I already own. This is much better built and has a very convenient little torch built in. I always use this as first check before touching any electrics to make sure it has been isolated properly. Highly recommended."
Review 8 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
megger pen
6 Feb 2013
By dave274
, rotherham
"im now on my third one, the torch on the first one didnt work on demand, the second one would beep if even when in my pocket and the torch on the third one doesnt work properly but the torch is pants anyway and is not what i bought it for. the pen detects voltage as it should so you know you're definitely cutting the right cable. a valuable addition to the tool box."
Review 9 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Electrical tester
27 Jan 2013
By fossie
, Aylesbury
"Had a few of these pen testers in the past, very easy to lose. The built in clip certainly helps, is audible as well as visual which is a bonus if you are seeking a live circuit when at the fuse board. All round very good buy for the money"
Review 10 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Megger VF1 & VF2 Voltstick
10 Sep 2013
By ammer
, London
"Seemed a really good product, good light and noise but the top keeps coming off and should be screwed on. I lost the top 3 times but luckily noticed straight away, and picked it up. On the 4th loss the product is now useless as I can't find the top bit. Bit disappointed with this and wouldn't buy another of this make."
Review 11 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Prove before using
18 Oct 2012
By SparkySteve
, Hertfordshire
"Had to replace my original VF2 as the cap became loose when the pocket clip no longer secured the torch end. Even proving on a live source did not always confirm whether it was working until the end was pressed in. My new VF2 triggers on it own (with both light and tone) every now and again - even when just lying on a table. Pity cause the torch and audible note are great features."
Review 12 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad product
14 Aug 2013
By Anonymous
, london
"This product has performed badly. I have hardly used it because I have a CK one. The torch broke, the nib broke and it is far too sensitive it goes off when I am nowhere near electric it is something that I wouldnt recommend. I have a megger 1700 all singing all dancing so I know megger is usually good. many cheaper products can out perform this voltage pen"
Review 13 for Megger VF1 & VF2 - VF AC Voltage Detector Pen
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
total rubbish
17 Feb 2013
By vb6951
, birmingham
"buying this just like gambling, because you don't know how long yours can last.
mine was broken within 7 days, had gone for refund, total wasting money and time"