Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

10 Piece Set. Includes everything the professional electrician requires for installing switch and socket boxes in breeze and concrete blocks (up to 45N) and house brick. Now includes new dust collection unit.

10 Piece Set. Includes everything the professional electrician requires for installing switch and socket boxes in breeze and concrete blocks (up to 45N) and house brick. Now includes new dust collection unit.
Average Customer Rating:
3.778 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 9 reviews
5 stars
4
4 stars
2
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
7 of 9(78%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Review 1 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Best thing I've bought
29 Nov 2013
By Anonymous
, Eastbourne
" This kit is brilliant. It saves so much time and leaves a fantastic and near job.
Even though the single and double box can't be used on engineering brick. You still save so much time.
The flat chisel works perfectly in bricks.
Well worth £190. U make your money back in a day!! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A few things to watch out for
12 Nov 2009
By endeavour
, Exeter
" On mine the cutter and dust collector had frozen on the shaft but WD40 eventually loosened it. The dust collection works reasonably well but until it has worn in a bit there is still a tendency to rotate and spread the contents to the four corners of the room.
The really big issue is to ensure you drill into a solid object - NOT mortar or anything soft as you end up with a very large hole.
Overall a great piece of kit that has saved me a lot of time. "
Review 3 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
dont belive it
20 Jul 2009
By facey
, LEICESTERSHIRE
" i bought this product after reading that everything i would need to cut square holes was in this one case. TRUE but what they dont tell you is that you need a sds drill that you can turn of the rotary part and use it as a chisel so now i got to buy a new drill MORE EXPENSE "
2 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Get out of jial card!
30 Aug 2008
By jppw
, Wolverhampton
" This product was a get out of jail card for me on one job I was doing a few weekends ago otherwise I would not have completed to task in time.
Never used one before I bought it so was a bit sceptical whether it would help but it was simple and easy to use; wish I had bought it earlier. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Underperforms but worth a look
17 Jul 2011
By Dget
, Bristol
" I had to wait to review this properly, had used it on Thermalite on which it works well, too well in fact!
Used it today on bricks for the first time; it doesn't work as well as in the video on the Armeg site (I expect they are using it on light blocks), but is around 50% faster and loads neater. I doubt it would touch engineering bricks.
I think the trick is to let the cutter do the work, if you apply too much pressure it doesn't cut and tends to stall, it does take time but if you stick with it it does remove material quite well. The box chisel again doesn't work quite as well, you need to take it out and chip away any protruding areas before continuing.
The kit is pretty comprehensive and well thought out, however I feel buyers may be slightly disappointed with it's speed, but the results make up for this if you are aware of the shortfalls.
Not had any maintenance issues out of the box, however I've not used it long enough to comment on longevity.
To summarise; Expensive, good equipment selection, not as fast as expected but is still quicker and definitely neater.
Would I recommend the product?.......Only just.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
It does work
3 Apr 2010
By Anonymous
, Ipswich
" Very good kit, First day I had mine, cut 14 doubles and 4 singles. used it on breeze block, brick (hard), concrete blocks all with the same result, wish I had bought this years ago. takes around 3 minutes per box, great finish. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Not quite what I expected...
20 Mar 2012
By JEPSMART
, Bradford
" I expected an all singing all dancing piece of kit that cuts out back box holes in a couple of minutes with minimum effort.
What I got was a good solid piece of kit that DOES cut out back box holes but each one taking between 10 and 20 minutes depending on material cutting into. As another reviewer has mentioned, I think the idea is to let the cutter slowly chip away the material rather than apply excess pressure. I can't confirm this as the instructions received were badly photocopied and completely useless.
The debris collector collects the dust and insists on evenly spraying it around the room. The clumsy thing just spins with the rotary action and, unless I'm using it wrong due to the lack of instructions, makes more of a mess than it would without and it can't be removed or deactivated.
It cuts quicker into breeze block but takes a long long time and a lot of patience (and battery life) to get anywhere with brick and stone.
Oh, and a word to the wise, if you're plaster wall is looking quite soft, old, dried out etc, do this by hand first because applying this cutter direct to an old wall just rips a huge mess.
Overall, good quality, doesn't perform quite as I had hoped and slightly too expensive in my opinion. Would only recommend if the item was on offer. "
Review 8 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Not a good product
26 Aug 2012
By Nivag1961
, Wales
" This works a dream in aerated blocks. It is no good at all for medium or heavy concrete blocks and completely useless on engineering brick. Comes with a spade for that but so does my SDS!!
Fact is if you are rewiring an old house the chances are it is brick built so don't use this. It will blunt in 3 minutes.
Cutting into new light (aerated) blocks is fine but then you can do that with a wood chisel anyway...
Stick to the multiple hole drilling around the edges and a good chisel...
For £50 maybe but almost 200 squid... Don't think so... "
Review 9 for Armeg EBS Single & Double Box Set 10Pcs
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Can't use on brick
29 Jul 2009
By Needabrew
, Lincoln
" Can't really review this as I haven't been able to use mine properly yet, but had to enter some stars in the ratings....
I tried to do several boxes the other day in a terrace house (with decent bricks) but the cutter wouldn't even touch them! It barely scratched the surface.
Heard reports from other sparks that they work great on breeze-block though. Hopefully I'll get to try out my recent (expensive) investment in full soon! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.