Product Reviews

Firestop 1200°C Grey 300ml

Firestop 1200°C Grey 300ml
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
(11 Reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
2
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 star
1
10 of 11(91%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
3 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer Reviews for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Review 1 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
it WORKS
28 Mar 2016
By
, mid wales
" ive brought similar products from other retailers and they don't last long (crack shrink or just fall out ) but this is doing the job great " does what it says on the tin" though its a tube lol "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Easy to buy, easy to use
25 Jan 2016
By
, Yate
" I was searching for this to repair a leaking flue surround, and struggled to find what I needed until I visited the ScrewFix website.
This was purchased on line and collected later the same day.
I applied it the following day and found it really easy to use.
I've only reduced the rating for effectiveness because it hasn't been tested with either a REALLY heavy or prolonged downpour yet!!! "
Review 3 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
++++High Temp Sealant
26 Dec 2014
By
, Solihull
" Great High temp sealant for ideal for stoves and flues. I have just used it to replace a 250/300max deg c sealant on all the joints on a newly installed log/coal burning stove. Previous sealant lasted three small fires. This was easy to apply and we have had the fire running at max efficiency 500degc with no issues now for 8 fires with no sign of cracking or break up. Great high temp sealant ideal for fires flues and boiler chambers. It would be nice if it came in other colours but was easily over sprayed. "
22 of 22 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Hot stuff!
25 Nov 2014
By
, Orpington
" Great product. Can take some serious heat! Applies well, no nonsense good product. Would buy again. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
27 Jun 2014
By
, Newcastle upon tyne
" We used this on a stack in our company and its worked very well. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
High Temp Sealant
5 Dec 2015
By
, Newbury Berkshire
" Needed to seal joint in flue from oil boiler as fumes getting in to kitchen. The sealant seemed rather runny as it was applied to the warm flue but quickly dried. So far there is no smell of burnt oil fumes in kitchen, so it has done what I wanted it to do. "
Review 7 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
chimney sealent
23 Dec 2014
By
, Cornwall
" Needed to replace the seal on my log burner.
Easy to apply, and should do the job.
"
3 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Sticks well
16 Jan 2015
By
, Walton-on-thames
" ok so this is expensive for a sealant but it is rated up to 1200 degrees C
I used it to build an oven using 12mm cement board for a home made vacuum former, the oven is suspended in the air and this sealant holds the boards in well, the oven is fairly large (833mm x 625mm) and it holds a sheet in that size well so far.
when using it with a sealant gun it some times feels like it gets blocked to you put a little more pressure on it and you get a big glob of it come out which is annoying and messy. it would have been nice for it to flow easily out in a controllable bead which it sometimes does. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
not the best
10 Sep 2013
By
, Yorkshire
" I was under the impression that this was quite flexible but less than 1 week after sealing the flue to the wood burner it cracked, I shouldn't be surprised as it is fast drying and water soluble, it seems to me that it is exhaust paste in a mastic tube, how long it will stay in place is uncertain, but the previous exhaust sealer lasted 2 years, let's see!, it does make it easy to squeeze into small gaps and at 1200c it is the highest I have found as I don't know what temperature the wood burner burns at. "
10 of 10 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Out of Date
13 Nov 2015
By
, Guildford
" After struggling to use a lumpy dry product it became apparent I had been sold a 3 month out of date product. "
Review 11 for Mapei Mapeflex Firestop 1200°C High Temperature Sealant Grey 300ml
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not great
14 Feb 2015
By
, Sussex
" Having read the product spec I thought this would be perfect for sealing up around the register plate of my stove and some joints around the cement board surround. I have however found it does go brittle and fall out of the joints after just one hot burn. Perfect if your stove is an ornament, worthless otherwise. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.