Product Reviews

Flexible, foldable workbench with heavy duty worktop.

Flexible, foldable workbench with heavy duty worktop.
Average Customer Rating:
2.638 out of 5
2.6
 out of 
5
(47 Reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (47 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
7
2 stars
4
1 star
20
19 of 47(40%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Review 1 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great workbench, poor packing
23 Jan 2014
By StigofTheTip
, North London
"The workbench is excellent and very good value for money. I've only rated the reliability down at 4 stars because I haven't used it much yet.
Unfortunately the packaging is not very good: several parts of the metalwork were poking through the cardboard. When I came out of the trade counter I placed the box on top of my car to open it, and when I pulled it off I put two or three scratches in the roof. Fortunately not really a problem for my car, but, be warned."
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workbench
16 Oct 2013
By alonza
, south wales
"excellent value for money and sturdy bench would recommend to anyone."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
15 Oct 2013
By worktopper
, Sussex
"Good value if you get it at the offer price. I liked it so much I bought 2!"
Review 4 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
work bench
5 Oct 2013
By DS01
, Bilston
"Excellent product no complaints does everything required of it at a lower price than compatables."
Review 5 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work bench
27 Jan 2013
By Menestrel2
, Liverpool
"I bought this as my last Black and Decker gave up the ghost and went to the great D.I.Y. heaven in the sky.The work bench has been just the job and does every thing my old one did. It took me a little time to get use to opening and setting it up but it second nature now but hey its only a workbench,you don't need a degree in rocket science."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
work bench
20 Nov 2012
By bigbabs
, west london
"i got this item for my boyfriend and hes well pleased with it.very good value for money.very stable does the jobs its designed for.great present for anyone"
Review 7 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
10 Jul 2012
By swarf
, cleobury mortimer
"i am very surprised at how good this product is and how reasoably priced it is. it does the job perfectly, and having a raised step , you can out your foot on it too keep your bench perfectly still. fold down really easily to."
Review 8 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value for money
6 Jan 2012
By Pastyman
, Cornwall
"I bought one of these a couple of weeks ago and have just bought another. I'm very pleased with these.
At the promotional price of just under 30 pounds I wasn't expecting too much. And to my horror when I opened the box it looked like Thor had been bashing the bamboo top in with a sledge, however it was exchanged without any fuss (well done screwfix customer service) and I was quite impressed with the product.
Unlike many cheaper workmates it has the secondary legs which gives two working heights. It locks into position nicely, and the two tightening handles stifen the whole thing when it's put up.
Ok, you can't cramp up joints with the jaws as they are not that strong, but they hold well enough to grip the workpiece. If you need to
assemble anything use a cramp.
I was a little suspicious of the bamboo top at the beginning, I thought it was more from the need to be cheap than the need for strength- however it seems really quite strong.
All in all, I think this is excellent value for money. Ok, the better known brand might be a bit better quality but I personally don't think it's worth paying that much more. I have bougt 2 of these for the price of the bottom of the range workmate, can't be bad.
"
Review 9 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forge Steel Multifunction Work
29 Dec 2011
By nobbycv
, sunderland
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Excellent and necessary peace of kit for the professional and the d.i.y a good solid work bench 10 out of 10"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not bad for price
29 Apr 2010
By liveman
, daventry
"just as good as a black & decker and half the price well pleased"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant wokbench
8 Apr 2010
By drew410
, Letham Angus
"Arrived promptly. A doddle to put together. Just 2 handles to put on - only screwdriver required. Used all day yesterday. Sturdy - "does exactly what it says on the tin". At the price it's a steal. Would recommend to anybody. Don't leave it out in the rain - bamboo wood will curl."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good value product
8 Apr 2014
By Lumberron
, Colne
"It's sturdy and seems to do what it is meant to.
The top wood vice strips are poor quality, with soft material covered in a thin coating.
Overall it is excellent value for money.
"
Review 13 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
solid
24 Oct 2013
By northernbill1953
, Cumbria
"Very sturdy and decent size of platform for the money. The top insert pegs/blocks could have been a bit larger."
Review 14 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forge Steel Multi Work Bench
4 Dec 2012
By Hoppitinn
, East Runton, Cromer
"Packaging excellent, delivery fast. Unfortunately two of the plastic feet were damaged, beyond repair, but because of the function of the item I think it will get knocked about quiet a bit.
Initially putting it up was a little confusing, but after a few attempts became easier.
I would recommend this product."
Review 15 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Workbench
18 Aug 2011
By NotgoodatDIY
, Bexley, Kent
"Easy to assemble (it came assembled!). Even an idiot like me can use it safely without having to decipher any hieroglyphics claiming to be instructions."
Review 16 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
just right for the job
2 Mar 2010
By Welder
, Manchester
"Ideal for all types DIY easy to use and ideal when you have to transport because it will fold flat. i will be bying a second one
this was one of my better byes.
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
u get what u pay 4
23 Jan 2014
By Screwdriverman
, Bognor Regis
"some one took a work bench and tried hard to improve on the original, sorry but don't work pal. The quick release/adjustments feature fails to hold the material being worked on securely the locking buttons for the feet/legs should be on all four corners and not as it is. when I bought it I needed a work bench quickly and cheaply and it has enabled me to complete a couple projects but I will replace it with a better product as soon a funds allow."
Review 18 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reasonable Value
19 Sep 2011
By Iainmac
, Crewe
"To put somethings into context, - I had been quoted silly money by Black & Decker for replacement jaws for my ancient Workmate.
This Multi-function workbench costs considerably less than those jaws.
However, it is not in the same league as regards mechanical operation or strength.
For occasional use it is adequate.
I am glad that I bought it at a very discounted sale price. If you intend buying at full price, - go for the Workmate.
"
Review 19 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's OK
17 Sep 2011
By GlennF
, Aylesbury
"For what I paid, it was OK. Not great. one of the feet was broken and the bench doesn't lock tight particularly easy"
Review 20 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Forge steel workbench
17 Aug 2011
By malden483
, Denton
"Would not have bought this at full price after first use not very strong if leaned on and not to heaviley it leans over to one side"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>