Product Reviews

Flexible and foldable workbench with heavy duty worktop.

Flexible and foldable workbench with heavy duty worktop.
Average Customer Rating:
2.939 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(66 Reviews) 66
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (66 reviews)
5 stars
14
4 stars
17
3 stars
8
2 stars
5
1 star
22
35 of 66(53%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Review 1 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value workbench
17 Jul 2014
By AC49
, Swansea
"This is a good quality workbench. It is a bargain at the discounted price."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VALUE FOR MONEY
30 May 2014
By ATT1
, FIFE. SCOTLAND
"TOO LONG HAVE I CRAWLED AROUND ON MY KNEES CUTTING WOOD HERE AND THERE, COMPLAINING MY KNEES AND BACK ARE KILLING ME, TOOK THE DECISION TO BUY A WORKMATE AND THAT SAME DAY, SCREWFIX WERE OFFERING THIS PRODUCT AT NEARLY HALF PRICE, BOUGHT IT THERE AND THEN, NO MOR E SORE BACK OR KNEES, WORKS FANTASTIC AND FOLDS AWAY FOR EASY STORAGE, CLAMPS VERY WELL AND JUST THE RICGHT HEIGHT FOR ME, SHOULD HAVE GOT ONE YEARS AGO BUT AT THIS PRICE, GLAD I WAITED FOR SCREWFIX'S EMAIL"
Review 3 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good quality low cost bench
23 May 2014
By Pointer
, South Coast
"This is a low cost workbench option. Well built and sturdy, with foot plate to increase stability. It appears to do pretty much everything you would expect for a portable workbench, but at a lower price than it's rivals, particularly at the Screwfix offer price. The adjustable jaws have good rigidity and seem to cope with the expected knocks and scrapes of normal use. I have recently bought this workbench, so cannot rate the 'Reliability' aspect with accuracy at present."
Review 4 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great workbench, poor packing
23 Jan 2014
By StigofTheTip
, North London
"The workbench is excellent and very good value for money. I've only rated the reliability down at 4 stars because I haven't used it much yet.
Unfortunately the packaging is not very good: several parts of the metalwork were poking through the cardboard. When I came out of the trade counter I placed the box on top of my car to open it, and when I pulled it off I put two or three scratches in the roof. Fortunately not really a problem for my car, but, be warned."
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workbench
16 Oct 2013
By alonza
, south wales
"excellent value for money and sturdy bench would recommend to anyone."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
15 Oct 2013
By worktopper
, Sussex
"Good value if you get it at the offer price. I liked it so much I bought 2!"
Review 7 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
work bench
5 Oct 2013
By DS01
, Bilston
"Excellent product no complaints does everything required of it at a lower price than compatables."
Review 8 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work bench
27 Jan 2013
By Menestrel2
, Liverpool
"I bought this as my last Black and Decker gave up the ghost and went to the great D.I.Y. heaven in the sky.The work bench has been just the job and does every thing my old one did. It took me a little time to get use to opening and setting it up but it second nature now but hey its only a workbench,you don't need a degree in rocket science."
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
work bench
20 Nov 2012
By bigbabs
, west london
"i got this item for my boyfriend and hes well pleased with it.very good value for money.very stable does the jobs its designed for.great present for anyone"
Review 10 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
10 Jul 2012
By swarf
, cleobury mortimer
"i am very surprised at how good this product is and how reasoably priced it is. it does the job perfectly, and having a raised step , you can out your foot on it too keep your bench perfectly still. fold down really easily to."
Review 11 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value for money
6 Jan 2012
By Pastyman
, Cornwall
"I bought one of these a couple of weeks ago and have just bought another. I'm very pleased with these.
At the promotional price of just under 30 pounds I wasn't expecting too much. And to my horror when I opened the box it looked like Thor had been bashing the bamboo top in with a sledge, however it was exchanged without any fuss (well done screwfix customer service) and I was quite impressed with the product.
Unlike many cheaper workmates it has the secondary legs which gives two working heights. It locks into position nicely, and the two tightening handles stifen the whole thing when it's put up.
Ok, you can't cramp up joints with the jaws as they are not that strong, but they hold well enough to grip the workpiece. If you need to
assemble anything use a cramp.
I was a little suspicious of the bamboo top at the beginning, I thought it was more from the need to be cheap than the need for strength- however it seems really quite strong.
All in all, I think this is excellent value for money. Ok, the better known brand might be a bit better quality but I personally don't think it's worth paying that much more. I have bougt 2 of these for the price of the bottom of the range workmate, can't be bad.
"
Review 12 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forge Steel Multifunction Work
29 Dec 2011
By nobbycv
, sunderland
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
"Excellent and necessary peace of kit for the professional and the d.i.y a good solid work bench 10 out of 10"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not bad for price
29 Apr 2010
By liveman
, daventry
"just as good as a black & decker and half the price well pleased"
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant wokbench
8 Apr 2010
By drew410
, Letham Angus
"Arrived promptly. A doddle to put together. Just 2 handles to put on - only screwdriver required. Used all day yesterday. Sturdy - "does exactly what it says on the tin". At the price it's a steal. Would recommend to anybody. Don't leave it out in the rain - bamboo wood will curl."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great value workbench
25 Jul 2014
By Valuehunter
, Scarborough
"Very impressed with the workbench. I thought it would be quite flimsy at the low cost but it is quite sturdy and certainly good enough for the occasional DiYer like me. Great value compared to the popular brand model I saw in a national DIY store .. this model is sturdier and more than twice the price!"
Review 16 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Exceptional Value
19 Jul 2014
By duggy2
, Runcorn
"I bought this to replace a well-used B&D basic workmate which I've had for over 30 years.
As others have found, the assembly instructions are not easy to follow, but if you have any practical or mechanical knowledge it's easy to work out how it goes together by looking at the parts diagram!
Once assembled, this bench is very sturdy and does the job admirably. The combination of raising or lowering the top as well as lowering or raising the legs mean it can be used at three heights.
It folds nice and flat for storage.
If it lasts as long as my old one I'll be well pleased.
"
Review 17 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great workhorse
16 Jul 2014
By OscarL
, Braintree - Essex
"Your chance to own a versatile multi function workbench,that offers good stability,good range of operational options for DIY buffs,and at this price range, a real bargain,I just purchased the item recently so I can not comment on it's long term durability,still,I can recommend this buy."
Review 18 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great value work bench
3 Jul 2014
By unclebuck
, south shields
"been struggling for years, resting on buckets, steps, fences.....etc etc, so when I saw this I couldn't refuse, good quality at a good price"
Review 19 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great workbench
16 Jun 2014
By CaseDigger
, Chester
"My old workbench was ready to give up the ghost, so I bought this new beauty when it was on offer. Superb value! Used only once so far, but feels good and sturdy. Work height is about 1.5cm lower than my old one, this is going to take some getting used to. Also the worktop is MDF, when I was expecting bamboo as mentioned in other reviews. But in fairness, looking on the box afterwards, it was clearly marked "MDF Worktop" so I only have myself to blame for not noticing sooner! At the price I paid, it has to be the best workbench deal around."
Review 20 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great bench
2 Jun 2014
By theDItrYer
, Hillingdon
"Bought to replace my faithful B&D. As it was on offer I decided to buy, Great choice, Easy to put together and feels solid. Not used much yet so cannot really rate reliability but happy so far."
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>