Product Reviews

Multifunction Workbench

Multifunction Workbench
Average Customer Rating:
3.088 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 80 reviews
5 stars
17
4 stars
25
3 stars
9
2 stars
6
1 star
23
47 of 80(59%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Review 1 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great for the price
29 Aug 2014
By Chopsy10
, Barnard castle
" Yes there are a couple of nuts and bolts to figure out where they live but for thirty quid you can't go wrong. It's the right height and clamps the workpiece well. If this lasts to the end of my current project it will have paid for itself! Would certainly buy another !! "
Review 2 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good workbench
19 Aug 2014
By georgios405
, gillingham
" Very good product.Bought this workbench and was easy enough to assemble. It is sturdy and works really well. I have had a black and decker one in the past, this is just as good. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A Helping Pair of Hands
11 Aug 2014
By Mansy
, sutton, Surrey
" Needed to make some small garden bits and pieces but nowhere to make them, Looked at workbenches and found that I was looking at £60.00 plus for anything really useful. Looked at the Screwfix website and found this at less than half the price. Fantastic bought it 10 mins later was making my gates and plant containers. Fantastic value for money and very well made "
Review 4 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value workbench
17 Jul 2014
By AC49
, Swansea
" This is a good quality workbench. It is a bargain at the discounted price. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
VALUE FOR MONEY
30 May 2014
By ATT1
, FIFE. SCOTLAND
" TOO LONG HAVE I CRAWLED AROUND ON MY KNEES CUTTING WOOD HERE AND THERE, COMPLAINING MY KNEES AND BACK ARE KILLING ME, TOOK THE DECISION TO BUY A WORKMATE AND THAT SAME DAY, SCREWFIX WERE OFFERING THIS PRODUCT AT NEARLY HALF PRICE, BOUGHT IT THERE AND THEN, NO MOR E SORE BACK OR KNEES, WORKS FANTASTIC AND FOLDS AWAY FOR EASY STORAGE, CLAMPS VERY WELL AND JUST THE RICGHT HEIGHT FOR ME, SHOULD HAVE GOT ONE YEARS AGO BUT AT THIS PRICE, GLAD I WAITED FOR SCREWFIX'S EMAIL "
Review 6 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Good quality low cost bench
23 May 2014
By Pointer
, South Coast
" This is a low cost workbench option. Well built and sturdy, with foot plate to increase stability. It appears to do pretty much everything you would expect for a portable workbench, but at a lower price than it's rivals, particularly at the Screwfix offer price. The adjustable jaws have good rigidity and seem to cope with the expected knocks and scrapes of normal use. I have recently bought this workbench, so cannot rate the 'Reliability' aspect with accuracy at present. "
Review 7 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great workbench, poor packing
23 Jan 2014
By StigofTheTip
, North London
" The workbench is excellent and very good value for money. I've only rated the reliability down at 4 stars because I haven't used it much yet.
Unfortunately the packaging is not very good: several parts of the metalwork were poking through the cardboard. When I came out of the trade counter I placed the box on top of my car to open it, and when I pulled it off I put two or three scratches in the roof. Fortunately not really a problem for my car, but, be warned. "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
workbench
16 Oct 2013
By alonza
, south wales
" excellent value for money and sturdy bench would recommend to anyone. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value
15 Oct 2013
By worktopper
, Sussex
" Good value if you get it at the offer price. I liked it so much I bought 2! "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
work bench
5 Oct 2013
By DS01
, Bilston
" Excellent product no complaints does everything required of it at a lower price than compatables. "
Review 11 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Work bench
27 Jan 2013
By Menestrel2
, Liverpool
" I bought this as my last Black and Decker gave up the ghost and went to the great D.I.Y. heaven in the sky.The work bench has been just the job and does every thing my old one did. It took me a little time to get use to opening and setting it up but it second nature now but hey its only a workbench,you don't need a degree in rocket science. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
work bench
20 Nov 2012
By bigbabs
, west london
" i got this item for my boyfriend and hes well pleased with it.very good value for money.very stable does the jobs its designed for.great present for anyone "
Review 13 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great
10 Jul 2012
By swarf
, cleobury mortimer
" i am very surprised at how good this product is and how reasoably priced it is. it does the job perfectly, and having a raised step , you can out your foot on it too keep your bench perfectly still. fold down really easily to. "
Review 14 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value for money
6 Jan 2012
By Pastyman
, Cornwall
" I bought one of these a couple of weeks ago and have just bought another. I'm very pleased with these.
At the promotional price of just under 30 pounds I wasn't expecting too much. And to my horror when I opened the box it looked like Thor had been bashing the bamboo top in with a sledge, however it was exchanged without any fuss (well done screwfix customer service) and I was quite impressed with the product.
Unlike many cheaper workmates it has the secondary legs which gives two working heights. It locks into position nicely, and the two tightening handles stifen the whole thing when it's put up.
Ok, you can't cramp up joints with the jaws as they are not that strong, but they hold well enough to grip the workpiece. If you need to
assemble anything use a cramp.
I was a little suspicious of the bamboo top at the beginning, I thought it was more from the need to be cheap than the need for strength- however it seems really quite strong.
All in all, I think this is excellent value for money. Ok, the better known brand might be a bit better quality but I personally don't think it's worth paying that much more. I have bougt 2 of these for the price of the bottom of the range workmate, can't be bad.
"
Review 15 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forge Steel Multifunction Work
29 Dec 2011
By nobbycv
, sunderland
Images for this Review
(click to see full-size image)
User submitted photo
" Excellent and necessary peace of kit for the professional and the d.i.y a good solid work bench 10 out of 10 "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
not bad for price
29 Apr 2010
By liveman
, daventry
" just as good as a black & decker and half the price well pleased "
1 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant wokbench
8 Apr 2010
By drew410
, Letham Angus
" Arrived promptly. A doddle to put together. Just 2 handles to put on - only screwdriver required. Used all day yesterday. Sturdy - "does exactly what it says on the tin". At the price it's a steal. Would recommend to anybody. Don't leave it out in the rain - bamboo wood will curl. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Beware it bites
20 Nov 2014
By flight
, Winchester
" Needing a new Workbench I took great trouble selecting this model. The Screwfix Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench looks good, it's price was extremely competitive and I was looking forward to using it. So far so good, now for the fun, assembling it ! I feel I must write something to alert others of what befell me. While I have no intention of putting anyone off this product, please be aware of what the instructions don't tell you, when placing the top on the folding legs assistance is beneficial, or have the legs fixed secure in some way, I did neither, no fault of the product, but not the easiest to assemble on your own, unsupported it collapsed and severed the top of my finger. Some hours later, after treatment, I continued assembling it, well aware now of what could happen. Finally after assembly to the use, I found the adjustable top fixings are very unsubstantial and not at all easy to use, they will need some attention to work satisfactorily. This was the only real fault I have so far encountered. That said the finished bench does appear very stable and hopefully will serve my purpose, only time will tell. If it lasts more than 6 Months it will have done better than most I have owned. Just be careful when you assemble it and I think you will be pleased with this product, I wasn't as careful as I might have been, but overall I am still very pleased with it. "
Review 19 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value and very well made
5 Nov 2014
By Libbet
, Worcester
" It took me about 30 minutes to assemble but it wasn't too traumatic. Very stable and folds to take up less room in my very crowded shed! "
Review 20 for Forge Steel Multifunction Workbench
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
took the half price offer
1 Sep 2014
By MTTS
, dorset
" Instructions how to assemble it were not overly clear and confused me somewhat.
(Probably quicker just to put it together without!)
It's stable on its feet which is very important IMHO.
And so far it does everything I want it to do.
Recommended as in 7 out of 10
"
Page : 1 2 3 4 next>