Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Variable speed router with spindle lock, for easy and precise cutting.

Variable speed router with spindle lock, for easy and precise cutting.
Average Customer Rating:
2.5 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
(8 Reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 8 reviews
5 stars
1
4 stars
1
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
2
3 of 8(38%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Review 1 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tough as old boots
11 Apr 2011
By
, The north
"As others have said, you get what you pay for - so, don't expect this to be in the same league as big brand machines in terms of build quality. However, I have nothing but praise for this reliable little beauty. I bought this machine seven years ago, when it was marketed under a different name by a budget supermarket, thinking it would just about last to the end of a job I was doing at the time. I couldn't have been more wrong, it's proved to be a fantastic workhorse and is in constant use today. It's not the quietest of machines, so you will need to wear ear protection, but that's about the only criticism. The power switch IS NOT lockable as it says in the advert, but I quite like that feature from a safety perspective. Some of the plastic accessories that come with it don't appear that well made, but I still have all mine and they're still intact and well used, so that can't be bad. Just recently I've been machining lots of oak and it hasn't let me down once; in fact, I've burnt out and blunted several cutters, but this thing just keeps on going. It's a bit fiddly changing cutters, but show me a router that isn't. When it breaks down it'll be throw away and buy another because I doubt you can get spares, but lasting this long it doesn't owe me a penny. Overall, I think this no frills budget machine is a little gem and I would certainly buy another."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does its Job, cheap & useful
20 Sep 2010
By
, Kent
"I've got two, i use them once a week for a whole day - one on a bench one free - handle did break (bit super glue latter & its fine)
For the price they are excellent, i don't change the depth much and just use a basic rounding off bit.
If you just want a cheap tool for basic work - it seems to do the job!
"
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
It's cheap - but not much else
16 Jun 2010
By
, Leek, Staffs
"I rarely use a router, but I needed one to do just one task - so I bought the cheapest available. It did the job okay, but it was awkward to use and one handle broke in two as I was finishing the work. Although it felt safe to use, it did feel a little fragile. I'll probably not need it again - which is probably just as well, as I'm not convinced that it will work the next time."
Review 4 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Died
7 Feb 2011
By
, East
"Had it for just under a year and its conked out on me, hopefully guarantee will be granted or not best pleased..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
cheap and cheerfull
23 Jan 2011
By
, isle of wight
"You only get what you pay for, no thrills attacted.How do you lock on the power swith as stated in the advert, mine doesn't which is a pain as I wanted to use it on a router table."
Review 6 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Bad experience
18 Nov 2010
By
, Devon
"The spindle lock struck me as flimsy as soon as I saw it. Before plugging it in I made the mistake of trying the lock and the button stuck in and couldn't be prised out - hopeless. I know this is a low-cost router but it has proved to be a waste of time."
Review 7 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Don't bother.
29 Oct 2012
By
, Plymouth
"First one had the collet nut cross threaded. On the replacement unit the spindle lock stuck in, and the plunge action kept sticking. Screwfix were happy to refund as expected. I need to pay a bit more and get a better machine, but will borrow a mate's for now."
Review 8 for Direct Power DPB211ROU 1020W Plunge Router 230V
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Great but useless
18 Sep 2011
By
, Yeovil.
"It says lock on switch but it clearly isnt and not only that but the fact that the switch has to be pushed all the way in and then out a bit means you cannot even clamp the switch on!
I cannot see what they. Mean i mean can they be talking about the spindle lock... Every router has one of those!!
This is miss selling and useless for a router table! >:(
"