Product Reviews

Quick assembly mitre saw that easily cuts steel, aluminium and wood (even nail-embedded) using just one blade. Supplied with multipurpose, burr-free TCT blade.

Quick assembly mitre saw that easily cuts steel, aluminium and wood (even nail-embedded) using just one blade. Supplied with multipurpose, burr-free TCT blade.
Average Customer Rating:
3.929 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (28 reviews)
5 stars
15
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
5
23 of 28(82%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Review 1 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great Saw
5 Dec 2013
By wattiex
, Tain
"Great saw cuts through most materials quite easily.I like the rebating feature on saw looks quite a simple idea i am surprised it is not on most sliding saws.I have had a circular evolution saw a few years and found it brilliant.The reason for 4 stars for reliability is because i just got Mitre saw."
Review 2 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Saw
3 Nov 2013
By AntofHants
, Hants
"Does exactly what it says on the box, being brand new have tried not to comment on reliabilty at this stage ie reliabilty is a long term factor, but a manditory field on the proforma, but no problems so far. Excellent cut and will probably only use for wood also avoid cutting modern screws as many are hardened and would therefore blunt even the very best of blades very quickly (use metal cutting discs if required) hope this is not a ploy to get you buying replacement blades."
Review 3 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
great bit of kit
12 Oct 2013
By lew001
, brecon
"used it for my floor and skirtings. easy to set up, could do with a bag for it. but it`s a brillant bit of kit."
Review 4 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Offer Great Saw
29 Aug 2013
By Johnwr
, Leeds
"Great price, love the AC laser cutting guide, easy installation follow set up on YouTube great service online and at local stores."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Mitre Saw
29 Jul 2013
By chillerman
, Weymouth
"Evolution 255mm mitre saw has been brilliant in use. If it could be improved it would be in the re-siting the laser line to the other side of the blade as I am right handed and the laser shows on the wrong side of the blade for me."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great saw
8 Jul 2013
By Podgers
, Gloucester
"Very good quality saw that has done all my building work with no problems. I would recommend it."
Review 7 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great piece of kit
8 Apr 2013
By Markiboy
, West Yorkshire
"Purchased this from screw fix at the Harrogate trade show and at a good price , I had been contemplating one of these for a while , as I have used some expensive ones in the past.
Was a little unsure, now I have been using it for a week or 2, I have 100% satisfaction in the product just as good if not better than the more expensive ones at 2,3 and even 4 times the price. And with the multi blade on it brilliant.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Evolution Rage 3
17 Mar 2013
By GEOFFY
, Okehampton
"Needed a saw to cut basic firewood, pallets, etc.
So the capacity to cut nails, screws and so on is just right with this saw.
This saw is excellent for all types of wood and have also used on aluminum and steel.
A fantastic product at a great price, buy one!
"
Review 9 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Clean cut
1 Mar 2013
By KevD
, Derby
"Ideal saw for the DIY-er like me. Cut my worktop up-stands without chipping out.
Minor issue: A bit too easy to move off vertical as it doesn't lock tight enough for me but if doesn't move whilst cutting.
Not had it long enough to comment on longevity but it feels robust.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Evolution Rage 3 compund mitre
28 Feb 2013
By splasher6
, Suffolk
"The Rage 3 FP2552 compound mitre saw was easy to assemble and easy to use. The saw produced good 45 degree mitre joints using the standard settings and following the laser guide - very easy and quick to use. Tried 45 degree from vertical cutting an angled recess in a board and that was fine. Laser guide helped produce an accurate cut. All in alll a very useful tool that lets you produce good results very quickly. Gald I bought this one."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Unbelievable for the price
19 Feb 2013
By RustyRobbo
, Leeds
"Great specs, great price, great product.
Would definately recommend."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Notch!
19 Feb 2013
By Boycey74
, Oxford
"Very happy with this saw, would definately recommend others to buy.
Thanks."
Review 13 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Proper bit of kit
19 Feb 2013
By Anonymous
, Hull
"Love this saw, its the absolute business.
I work on a site and was instantly the envy of all the Dewalt or Makita boys when i showed them what this saw was capable of...
To see the saw cut through 6mm steel box section is near on unbelievable. I am struggling to find something that this saw cant cut, it seems that if i can fit it under the blade the saw will cut through it.
Well impressed."
Review 14 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A near excellent saw
5 Feb 2013
By Farghthah
, S Yorks
"Bought on offer therefore the rest extensions were missing (fair doohs but a bit disa ppointing). Some feathering at the back of the cuts but taking them a bit more slowly helps a lot. Cuts accurately, quickly and reliably, the laser is spot on cutting on the right edge of the blade it saves a lot of guess work. I am dead impressed. Especially for the offer price you cannot beat it."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant Saw, Well Worth It!
28 Jan 2013
By Kc83
, Mansfield
"I am really pleased with this purchase. Does exactly what it says it will and does it well!
I do a lot of varying work and this saw covers it all. I tried cutting some steel as soon as i got the saw home to test out if it did what it said it would and i was very impressed. I cut through some half inch bar with no problems and very few sparks and couldnt believe how little heat the cut produced... i was able to pick up the metal instantly afterwards with my bear hands!
I have also tried cutting treated pine with it and i am very pleased with the cut and finish. Not sure what the other reviewer is on about?!
I will definitely be looking out for more Evolution products and would definitely recommend this saw to other people!"
Review 16 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does what it says on box
30 Nov 2013
By blueleither
, edinburgh
"after few minutes putting machine together, it was a pleasure to try this machine for cutting a very large amount of wood for fence,etc as had lots to cut and many different angles to do as well and it save doing by hand saw. i bought it when it was only £159.99 in august 2013, no problems for 2 months and the blade spindle & spring broke, took it back to local branch and they replaced with new one but price was up by £60, got it still for purchased price, otherwise this machine is okay, i bought bag seperate and still sawdust goes everywhere!!"
Review 17 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
good value chop saw
12 Nov 2013
By adros
, Southampton
"easy enough to put the parts together. Easy to use and gives a nice clean cut.
The main negative I have is that it comes with no dust bag. Also it was on sale at £170 when i bought it, but the following week was knocked down to £99 which is REALLY annoying so wait for the £99 offer!"
Review 18 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Fine multi-purpose saw
1 Sep 2013
By Britannicus
, Aberdeen
"I bought this saw as a replacement for an Erbauer equivalent model whose fence cracked while cuttng a small branch with a knot.. Screwfix refunded me so I decided to try this from the Evolution range. This is not my only compound sliding saw (I also use a professional range Makita 300mm wood saw). Hence, I wanted to get a battle tool for those tougher, dirtier jobs where you don't want to risk damaging an expensive tool/blade with low-grade wood (firewood, reclaimed wood with nails, etc).
So far I have "tested" this saw (as opposed to using it extensively) and I find it perfectly fine and adequate for the kind of jobs I have in mind. I consider this saw as a jack of all trades, so I don't think anybody can expect the quality required for precise cabinet-making and refined carpentry.
The saw works well on hardwood, softwood, firewood, green wood, and reclaimed wood with nails. As already noted by other reviewers, it tends to chip the cut edges a bit (if precautions are not taken), but this depends on the multi-purpose blade rather than on the saw itself. If the saw is used to cut pristine wood (no nails), then replacing the blade provided with a finishing blade for wood should result in a much better quality of the resulting cuts.
A few points to consider:
- The saw must be assembled (most other models come already assembled, at the expense of a bigger box)
- The carriage slides need some initial oiling/greasing as the cutting head does not slide "effortlessly" as in other comparable models I have tried and used.
- The blade bore is 25.4mm (1") as opposed to 30mm. This is not a problem per se, as blades with a 30mm bore can be used in this saw fitting a £2.50 reducing ring.
- I have some doubts that the RHS of the fence, at least in my case, is *perfectly* straight, having throughly checked with a precision steel square the "squareness" of blade vs fence on both fence sides.However, the resulting 90 degree cuts so far appear to be square enough for structural joinery usage.
- The time and the effort spent to align the blade in this saw is comparable with those I spent on other models - none of them comes fully aligned out of the box.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 19 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good DIYer saw
27 Aug 2013
By DiyRoey
, Wimborne
"I purchased the Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw following a lot of research and reading reviews. So far it has been used extensively for some quite complex projects and has not let me down. Reading some reviews I took the time to check and set the angles so the blade was running true for the various preset positions and although I still check regularly it hasn't gone out of alignment. I haven't given it 5 stars for Overall rating and features as I haven't had experience with another similar saw so can't comment. All in all I think an exceptional buy for the money!"
Review 20 for Evolution RAGE3 FP2552 255mm Compound Mitre Saw 230V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very useful tool
5 Jul 2013
By GlocoWaffle
, Gloucestershire
"This saw cuts extremely well and has a good range of settings. I found it a little tricky to set the workpiece guide exactly at 90 degrees to the saw blade and sliding rails, but then all was fine. Can't really comment on reliability after only a couple of weeks, but it looks properly built and I have high hopes that it will run well for years."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>