Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

SLX Satellite Finder Meter

SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Average Customer Rating:
4.321 out of 5
4.3
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
15
4 stars
10
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
1
26 of 28(93%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Review 1 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
SLX Satellite Finder
5 Jun 2015
By MrScruffy
, Horsham
" Had to order for next day collection, would have been better if kept in stock, but apart from that was fairly easy to use and instruction manual easy to understand. Certainly a lot better than one's used previously which only had indication LED's and not as accurate. Not had the unit long and only used it twice so far so cant comment on reliability yet. "
Review 2 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good bit of kit
13 Apr 2015
By CROWLAND
, ASHTON
" Put my dish up set it same as next doors no signal. After messing about with moving the dish and getting nowhere fast bought this meter. Took 5 mins to set up. Impressed. Not given 5 * on all because you need to buy a link lead and the is no way to reduce the signal strength on the meter. Meter is easy to use and does what it says. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SLX Satellite Finder Meter
10 Feb 2015
By bellsandwhistles
, Leigh
" Bought this to improve my satellite signal, found my signal was quite good anyway but if you are starting alignment from scratch this meter will be invaluable and at this price well worth a go. "
4 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does the job perfectly.
17 Jan 2015
By Jwyborn
, Bexhill
" Great product. Easy to use. Set up my dish in minutes. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
£70 quid less in Skys coffers
10 Jan 2015
By Anonymous
, Wath Upon Dearne
" Bought this today after last nights storms moved dish. This is the second time in the last 6 months and the last episode cost us about £70 for Sky Engineer to come out and then it took several days. This product is very easy to use, instructions easy to follow and in less than 15 minutes Sky up and running again. I would highly recommend this product if you don't mind climbing a few runs of a ladder to fix the problem yourself. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
satellite finder
20 Aug 2014
By standers
, Horsham
" my dish got moved when removing a nearby plant. After much twiddling i bought this device and it was fixed rapidly. i hadn't realised just how sensitive positioning is. A grat product. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Picture fixed in minutes
12 Aug 2014
By Tim76
, County Down
" We managed to hit the satellite dish at the side of the house when moving some shed panels, resulting in loss of picture. Picked this up in Screwfix, took it home, read the instructions, put together a short cable with coaxial and 2 F connectors, connected it to the dish, few adjustments vertically and then horizontally and picture was back to perfect HD sharpness with no distortion or breaking-up at all!
The meter makes an audible tone so you can take your eyes off it while making adjustments to the dish.
Good value for money and saved an engineer calling out.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Instructions are key
31 Jul 2014
By livelab
, Stourbridge
" Follow the instructions and this works perfectly. Make sure it is behind the satelite "
Review 9 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Lnb meter
9 Jun 2014
By Mike2909
, Hampshire
" Good product does what it said on the box cost was better than many other stores . We'll done screwfix Winchester "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Did the job perfectly
18 Jan 2014
By Smithiesmith
, Kilwinning
" This worked a treat and saved me £60 on sky charges. Beware there are many signals out there and it really does take a bit of fine tweaking to get the right one. Google moving the dish if you're not sure and remember you need a short satellite cable as this doesn't come with it. You can buy it from screwfix for a few quid. "
Review 11 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
A Must Buy
11 Jan 2014
By Disckdastardly
, Lancashire
" I've just installed sky in my workshop and thought it would be a simple matter of pointing the sat dish in the general direction of the neighbouring dishes, how wrong was i! The orientation of the dish is critical and without this little gizmo you probably wont find a signal. Unlike tv aerials, if the dish isn't spot on you will get zero signal. The Finder is straightforward to use although i found the audible beep just an annoyance and unnecessary. An absolute must buy for sat installation. "
Review 12 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Invaluble
7 Jul 2012
By dpcpm
, Somerset
" made the fiddly job of setting up so much easier. could not do the job without it. really good value "
Review 13 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
satelite finder
3 Jun 2012
By marty8
, cambs
" excellent little meter - easy to use even for an amatuer like me - only problem is it dosent tell you which sat you are beamed onto -- trial and error with compass- "
Review 14 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
does what it says on the tin.
3 Feb 2011
By honnestal
, Halifax
" I dont usually do reviews but i have to say this works perfectly. 15 mins of tweaking and job done, perfect alignment. start by pointing the dish the same way as the neighbours and then fine tune with this. Not the clearest instructions but it is common sense and really easy to use, A bargain at the price. would cost at least 40 quid to get someone out to do it so it has paid for itself first time. Its not worth not having one. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Buy
29 Jan 2010
By Alectric
, Glasgow
" Does what it says on the box. A real help when installing a Satdish. Instructions are clear and helpful. A small price to pay for the help it gives. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
finds satellites
11 Jun 2015
By 3927
, Torquay
" I needed to point my dish towards a satellite, and this enabled me to do it. Screwfix's click and collect meant I could get it very quickly. "
Review 17 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
easy to use
19 Apr 2015
By parmaviolet
, bexhill on sea
" Removed my freeview satellite to paint the wall thought i had remembered correct position unfortunately this was not the case. Searched online for a product this came up on screw fix site.Read a few reviews and as result purchased it.Took it out of the box followed instructions and dish was set up within 10 mins.Good product easy to use and value for money. "
Review 18 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great job for the price
2 Feb 2015
By asmad
, Bangor
" Works great and allowed me to fine tune my dish to achieve a very good satellite signal. Better than the previous sky installers.
My dish is very exposed and after a year or so i have to get sky out to realign my dish. This gets a bit costly and I decided to do it myself and save £35 to £50 a visit Sky charge. I bought this meter as I could pick it up immediately and get my tv working straight away.
I would recommended googling how to use this type of meter before use. After watching a couple of videos I knew what I needed to do and had the job done in 10 minutes. I seen a couple of reviewers saying the device didn't work, but I suspect they didn't know how to use it properly.
My only complaint is that you need to make up your own short lead with two f type plugs and a bit of coaxel cable. Lucky I had these lying around and it's not a big issue. "
Review 19 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use
5 Oct 2011
By berny
, Bournemouth
" I've used this sat finder three times and it has always done the job OK. It doesn't have all the bells and whistles that the more expensive finders have, but for domestic use its fine. Just make sure the gain is turned down to a minimum signal strength on starting or it will mislead if too high.
That requires a little practice but once you get used to adjusting the gain up/down it works well.
Safe Tips:
Dont be tempted to remove/replace co-axial F plugs to clean & replace em with the sat box switched on. Sat box internals can be sensitive to co-ax shorts.
Much safer to switch off the sat box first, replace any corroded f plugs, connect finder, switch box on and then find the signal and most important of all make sure you are ladder safe, otherwise TV could end up as your only pleasure!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for SLX Satellite Finder Meter
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Easy to use
25 Mar 2011
By Coxyx11
, Doncaster
" A very easy to use product which works well despite its low price, it is only let down by the lack of a connector which the purchaser has to either purchase seperately or make up with 'F' connectors & coaxial cable "
Page : 1 2 next>