Product Reviews

Combination Locking Bolt Black

Combination Locking Bolt Black
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 18 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
7
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
3
12 of 18(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Review 1 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great security lock
29 Apr 2015
By Griche
, Tunbridge Wells
" Fabulous product, good looking and easy to fit, the resettable combination worked a treat. The security screws supplied as standard give it that finishing touch and extra peace of mind. "
Review 2 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Sturdy locking bolt
3 Dec 2014
By Dalmor
, Cornwall
" Great sturdy product. Was easy to fit & use with clear instructions. Great alternative to messing about with a padlock & key. "
Review 3 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good option for allotment shed
27 Mar 2012
By youngstu
, Barnstaple
" Seems to be a decent sturdy lock. Works to keep the door closed (like a bolt) and lock it too and it avoids the risk of forgetting or losing the keys. Seems to be well made and solid. "
Review 4 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
30 Mar 2011
By Multitask
, London
" We have padbolts and padlocks on the inside of our back gate leading to the rear alleyway, but no way of locking the gate from the outside when we take the bikes out for a ride, etc. This bolt allows us to lock the gate on the way out, and the combination lock means any family member can get back in without needing a key. As the bolt also locks in the open position, no joker can lock the gate from the outside and stop us getting out! "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent Product
22 Jun 2010
By anom
, Dorset
" Very easy to fix. Very impressed with the quality and security screws that come with the product. Made our garage door secure in a matter of minutes. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
No More Padlocks!
25 May 2010
By Gadgetz
, Essex
" For a simple effective bolt lock that doesn't need an additional padlock then look no further.
This really is a clever and robust lock and very handy for securing your shed or garden gate.
With thousands of possible combinations it will certainly deter those opportunist thefts.
With security screws supplied as standard its a robust locking bolt that no back garden gate should be without.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Mine broke eventually
10 Nov 2014
By Bluenapalm
, UK
" Worked really well for about 2 years. The lock now will not lock. When the bolt is meant to be locked you can just force the lock open quite easily.
I did grease the lock as it became very stiff after a year of use - not sure if related to the bolt not being able to lock now.
Also, I used this lock everyday on the morning commute, so it did see about 1200 operations before it failed. "
Review 8 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Very robust combination lock
13 Dec 2013
By sloopy
, Somerset
" A relatively expensive but robust combination lock that is easy to install.
Once fitted it is remarkably secure.
The only minor criticism is that the chrome cap on the open/close lever tends to fall off. Other than that, it is entirely fit for purpose.
"
Review 9 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
COMBINATION LOCKING BOLT
20 Apr 2013
By VAR254
, STOCKTON
" I have had a few of these over the years . I have tended to use them on outside Garden/side gates mostly.
I have only had one fail on me and it had to be replaced after just a few months otherwise I would of marked it higher. Simple to install
( even for me) and weather resistant . I would advise you spraying it with lubricating spray or oiling it every now and then to keep it working OK and protecting it from the elements.
"
Review 10 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
2in1
19 Mar 2013
By Anonymous
, fife
" Seems like a good solid product. Bought it because it looked sturdy and cost less than a seperate bolt and padlock. Liked the idea of one less key to carry. "
Review 11 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Good, could be great!
22 Sep 2012
By paul1234567890
, Midlands
" I use these externally. In one location I am on my third in six months. The little handle comes out and the tumblers stop working. I think its vandal damage. But at this price it a good bit of kit. I just keep a spare. "
Review 12 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
good product
14 Oct 2010
By berkshire
, berkshire
" very good for locking side gate and it saves fussing about witht a paddlock. One of the digets seems to stick but easily overcome by not moving when scrolling lock. Appears strong. I like it, "
Review 13 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good buy
27 Aug 2008
By FINCHYBOY
, Oxted
" Nice product, with a nice smooth, reliable action. Squire - a name you can trust. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Disappointing item.
10 Jul 2014
By alsee
, Basildon
" Not the best quality. Bought and fitted four. Bolt could extend more, fixing screws could be longer. On attempting to set the combination on the fourth bolt the knob came off. It was still possible to set the tumblers and lock the door, but it cannot be unlocked! "
Review 15 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Great Idea, unreliable+weak
13 Jul 2013
By Imacl
, devon
" I bought 2 of these about a year ago and one died in the closed position, the other just died in the open position this morning.
Hopeless. Great idea, just rubbish implementation. avoid. "
Review 16 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
26 Feb 2015
By Diyer13
, Kilmarnock
" Purchased at the end of Sept 2014 and initially the lock was ok. Despite applying WD40 on a weekly basis the lock became very stiff and hard to move. Persevered until the lock became completely jammed in February 2015. No amount of WD40 would loosen it and the handle has now broken off in my hand. I now cannot open my gate!
The description says "rust resistant", I don't think so! Will be returning to Screwfix and do not want a replacement. I would rather purchase a different lock, one that works for more than 4 months!
My advice is to avoid this lock at all costs. "
Review 17 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Tumbler failure
28 Sep 2012
By Haybarns
, Nottinghamshire
" Regret to say that after one weeks use the tumblers became extremely stiff to operate and eventually failed to operate. The mechanism had been well lubricated before installation.
As the bolt was used as security for my caravan park its failure when a customer wished to gain access to their caravan was a major problem.
With a customer waiting and none too happy I had to use brute force to remove the bolt and now have to repair the gate and provide a new security device.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Squire Die-Cast Steel Combination Locking Bolt 50mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Major Failure and design fault
25 Oct 2011
By Strawberry
, Twickenham
" Having set and tested the combination before fitting I then find that one week after it was fitted the second dial on the combination completely failed to click into place, and after attempting to pull the bolt knob out it actually came away in my hand. This is a major design fault. I now have a bolt that cannot be opened without paying for a locksmith to come out and use speciality tools to remove the security screws. Failing that I would need to hacksaw through the bolt to open the door and be left with a bolt attached but of no use.
Really angry and frustrated about how bad this item has turned out to be.
"