Product Reviews

65Mn saw blade with fine chrome-plated teeth and double-pulley pruning mechanism. Non-stick coating for smooth cutting action. Lightweight, aluminium telescopic pole extends from 1.2m to 2.3m.

65Mn saw blade with fine chrome-plated teeth and double-pulley pruning mechanism. Non-stick coating for smooth cutting action. Lightweight, aluminium telescopic pole extends from 1.2m to 2.3m.
Average Customer Rating:
3.867 out of 5
3.9
 out of 
5
(15 Reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (15 reviews)
5 stars
6
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
10 of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Review 1 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent value
28 Dec 2013
By malkymoo
, Cheltenham
"I collected the pruner today and have just completed the pruning job I had nearly despaired of doing, shortening the branches of a small tree, 4 - 5 metres high.
Product is very well-made for the price, excellent value.
I was cutting small branches up to 2 cm in diameter, I found it better to use a jerking action rather than a steady pull. I did not use the saw so cannot comment on that."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great product
4 Dec 2013
By Finney16
, Aylesbury
"Used it for a small tree and was easy to use and I soon trimmed the tree down. Would I recommend ? Yes definitely outstanding value for money and as good as anything three times the cost"
Review 3 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pr
7 Oct 2013
By TheGribster
, Cleckheaton
"I was a little skeptical about the merits of purchasing a Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m, as I had previously used a relatives FISKAR version (very expensive!!)
However, the £14.99 fee was paid and I collected the pruner item today.
The item is lightweight but well made and is easy to use. The lockable pole is sturdy and gives the appearance it is made of brushed aluminum. The cutting mechanism is swift and effective.
Once unpacked, it was straight to work on the tops of my conifers and it did exactly what I needed it to do. The jaws of the lopper are well sprung and on a ratchet mechanism which does its job efficiently,
Now very relieved and pleased with the purchase. I would have no issue with recommending it to anyone.
Much cheaper than Spear and Jackson or Silverline versions too! which look almost identical.
Summary: Great product at an amazing VFM price!! Go buy one!!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Dont bodge it !
20 Sep 2013
By BasilSybil
, Tonbridge
"I decided to use the old ducktapeasawtoabroomhandle trick to cut a couple of high over hanging branches from next doors plum tree. So there I was balanced on a rickety chair I keep in the garage with the brains of the team wrapping her arms around my legs to help steady the best double act since Laurel and Hardy. Reaching up almost on tip toes I managed to get a good sawing action going with one hand using the other hand to push down on Hardys head for a bit of stability ( think I should have removed the broom head, it keeps tickling my neck ) and was almost halfway through the first branch when disaster struck, one of the legs on the chair decided enough was enough and buckled inward leaving me with no choice but to jump as the chair gave way, but as my legs were still in the vice like grip of the misses I couldn't move my legs so I could only hope as we both fell as one onto the soft grass, but it wasn't all over, as I looked up from our undignified position I was horrified to see my saw broomstick creation fall terrifyingly towards next doors curious cat Philip who had been sitting on the nearby fence watching our balancing act, but in the nick of time with his tail just escaping the chop Philip managed to leap into his owners garden and race homeward....that was yesterday, today I am the proud owner of a telescopic pruner I bought from Screwfix, and what a great tool , no balancing on chairs anymore with its telescopic pole almost doubling its length and easy pulling action to cut through branches with the addition of a fixed saw blade to cut through those thicker branches...all for less than the price of a Chinese takeaway for 2....think ill be cooking tonight."
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Brilliant multifunction pruner
10 Aug 2013
By Hydrographer
, London
"I originally bought this to clear some ivy which had gone high up into a poplar tree and was as thick as my arm in places. The curved pruning saw blade was lethally sharp and went easily through wood which was nearly as thick as a drainpipe. The added bonus was the functionality of the two types of long distance secateurs, one with a hook over action the other where you approach from underneath. With the use of the two way purchase pulley system it made short work of branches up to cricket stump size that were too wobbly to saw. Finally the pruning saw has a vicious sharp hook on the end which is ideal for dragging through all the small stuff. The blade and extendable pole went through a lot of abuse but survived unscathed. All in all a very good tool for a surprisingly small outlay. I would highly recommend it. It definitely "exceeded my expectations""
Review 6 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good quality product
12 Jun 2013
By bigdavyc
, glasgow
"bought this because reviews were good only used it once but really good saw cuts really well got it delivered next day good service"
Review 7 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
it WORKed for me!
6 Sep 2013
By pearson28
, Poole
"I was a bit apprehensive about this due to the price but other good reviews made me think - well for 15 quid its worth trying even if it only lasts for one session!
Yes you can complain about all sorts of things BUT I wanted to lop the top off of a young holly tree about 20 + feet. Used one of the secateurs to trim all the green bits - and it cut thru 15mm plus thick bit with ease using ratchet etc; then trimmed about 8 feet off with saw in steps.
It still works fine and will use again later to trim our apple trees - good investment and as cheap as hiring an expensive version for 24 hours too
"
Review 8 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great value for money
15 Aug 2013
By DerbyRob
, Derby
"The product is great value and does the job very well. There is a separate attachment of a cutting blade which I haven't used yet but the telescopic pole is very easy to use. I suspect that the rope mechanism will fray over time, but for the price, it represents very good value for money."
Review 9 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
excellent value for light use
21 Apr 2013
By skog
, Wakefield
"It did the job of reaching high branches well and was able to snip surprisingly thick twigs getting on for an inch in diameter.
I'm not sure it would hold up to regular everyday use, but for pruning the odd tree its a big time saver.
"
Review 10 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good value, does the job
28 Jan 2013
By Wazzuupp
, Southampton
"As in the title. This is a good value pruner. I have only used it a few times for the hard to reach areas. All I can say is that it is strong, sturdy, sharp and does what it says. With the pruner controlled by the rope it easily cut through 40mm branches of maple tree. The saw works well too. It was worth the money even if it lasts a year. Do not have to get scaffolding or pay tree surgeon for a while now."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good tool at a good price
7 Aug 2012
By Stitchmaster
, Worcestershire
"The only problem i encountered was the twist lock extending pole. As i worked and moved the pruner around on several occasions the twist lock came loose. My fault for fear of over tightening / breaking the locking mechanism. Other than that i found this product to be reliable and a most useful addition to my hedge cutting and tree pruning tool box."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
The Good, The Bad but not Ugly
27 Aug 2013
By Beninbo
, N.E.Essex
"I purchased this Telescopic Tree Pruner on line as a matter of urgency after an "Old Faithful" of forgotten make had collapsed in old age.
The new pruner was similar in design, but compared to my old one very lightweight.
On the second time of use the extension lock failed when the plastic internal locking block sheared because of an air blow hole fault.
I telephoned Screwfix who immediately arranged for me to collect a replacement at a nearby outlet.
Good: Excellent Screwfix support
Bad: Pruner lacks strength for purpose.
Not Ugly: Pruner is stylish and sharp but lacks strength for thicker branches.
"
Review 13 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Light duty only
16 Aug 2013
By Overdrive
, Surrey
"The aluminium tubing is too thin. In fact I had to take the first one back because it had been bent slightly and would not extend fully.
The other problem is the tubes are circular cross section and the simple clamping between the sections is insufficient to stop the top half rotating when you try to cut the tougher branches.
The price is good and it does the job but I think I will probably regret not having spent another £10 for the one I had been comparing it with over the road.
"
Review 14 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Better to pay a bit more
25 Mar 2014
By Lazygardener
, Croydon
"I may have been unlucky but the model I bought could at best only cut thin stalks and then left rough edges. When I returned it next day, Screwfix gave me a credit note straightaway. I have since bought a Spear and Jackson lopper, similar to one I had originally. This does what it claims, cutting cleanly through small branches, and I recommend paying a bit more for it."
Review 15 for Forge Steel Telescopic Tree Pruner 2.3m
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Wouldn't Work For Me
20 Mar 2014
By 1Strangefish
, West Sussex
"Bought as old pair had given up, might just have been a duff pair, but could not get it to cut, not even through small stuff.
Shame as other reviews rated it. Staff were great with a no quibble return.
"