Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Screwfix.

Heavy Duty manual Tile Cutter. Max. tile thickness 12mm.

Heavy Duty manual Tile Cutter. Max. tile thickness 12mm.
Average Customer Rating:
3.107 out of 5
3.1
 out of 
5
(28 Reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 28 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
7
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 star
9
15 of 28(54%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Review 1 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tool
9 Jun 2013
By
, Chelmsford
"Bought this to cut tiles for my kitchen floor cuts easy without too much pressure, breaks them easily and I had quite big thick tiles good value tool for the money."
Review 2 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great tile for a cheap price
5 Jan 2013
By
, Kings Lynn
"I had a bathroom to tile and my old cutter had seen better days, i did wonder about getting a more expensive cutter but went for this one.
Cuts well and is well made for the price several hundred cuts later and no problems, went for the spare cut wheels as when you want some new cutter wheels a few years down the line you won't be able to get them.
"
Review 3 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Strong & reliable
18 Dec 2012
By
, Orpington
"I was quite surprised after using this cutter for the first time. Its strong, cuts well and does the job with no effort at all. Very pleased..."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value for money
3 Oct 2012
By
, Irthlingborough
"Bought this cutter to finish off a bathroom. Tiles in question were 400mm Porcelain. Had a proffessional in to do the bulk of the work and he admitted he didn't like doing porcelain tiles because they are such pigs to work with! He came armed with all the kit, diamonmd this and diamond that and proceeded to do a lovely job, so how hard could it be, anyhoo, bought this one and yes you do have to be careful to get a good cut, (luckily I had a lot of off-cuts to practise on).
Treated with respect I am sure this will give years of service, and at writeing less than a third of the price of a comparable product.
"
Review 5 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
CheapTileCutter
21 Apr 2012
By
, Dundee
"For the price this is great. I had a small bathroom to tile and buying this value for money product really helped. Easy to use and makes nice clean cuts in tiles."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tile cutter
24 Oct 2011
By
, Burnley
"A very good cutter for normal wall tiles, tends to run offline if you dont keep your eyes on it when cutting on long length. Overall good value for money"
Review 7 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
solid
6 Sep 2011
By
, ayrshire
"Good valve tile cutter no frills but does exactly what you need it to do straight accurate cuts in one pass"
Review 8 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value for money
6 Jul 2011
By
, South Wales
"Cutting 10mm tiles - 300mm . This was brilliant. OK, it will flex and wander off line if you put too much pressure on it, but if you just score the surface, it works a treat.
Didn't want to spend a fortune for one bathroom, so this was a real 'value for money' tool.
"
Review 9 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Tile Cutter does the Job!
9 Apr 2013
By
, Suffolk
"I can't even remember the tiles I've wasted in the past waiting for this piece of kit.
The 'scribing' feels a little awkward at first but you soon get used to it. The tile breaking is a simple push on the handle which I found worked very well.
If you use it in a measured way it works very well. I imagine if you are rough and a bit 'gung ho' you might have a few errors.
Overall it worked well for me - Good Metal construction and a great price.
Glad I got one!!!"
Review 10 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cheap and cheerful
1 Jan 2013
By
, Larbert
"Cutter had no problem cutting porcelain tiles. The cutting wheel wheel wandered a bit but if you pencilled in the cut line then it was easy to follow with the cutter. Don't know how long the cutting wheel would last but for the price I was presently surprised with its clean cuts."
Review 11 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value for money
4 Oct 2012
By
, Chesterfield
"For the price this cutter is good value. It states that it is heavy duty although it struggles with the 10mm floor tiles. It would have been handy to include a spare cutter.
But at only £17.99 you could throw it away after a couple of jobs. All in all it did what I needed it to.
"
Review 12 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Excellent value
10 May 2012
By
, Glasgow
"Bought this product for a one of bathroom revamp. Cut 400mm tiles with ease although I did have the odd misshap due to me applying too much pressure. Clean straight cuts all round once I got the hang of it, excellent cutter for the money !!!"
Review 13 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great tile cutter
14 Feb 2012
By
, Lichfield
"Does the job well and very reasonably priced. Great for home use"
Review 14 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Classic Cutter
13 Dec 2011
By
, Herts
"Bought this for a bathroom remodelling project. My search criteira was a sturdy product that would do the job but would not be too costly owing to the limited use. This product perfomed well, no unintetional breaks and a clean cut. A good buy for the price."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant for the money
11 Nov 2011
By
, Bristol
"I have bought and used many tile cutters but this is a perfect example of a very cheaply priced item that works 1st time every time delighted with it"
Review 16 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Tile cutter requires practice
2 Jan 2014
By
, Southampton
"The first few times I used this cutter I was very disappointed. The cuts left a chipped edge on the tile and the line was not straight. After a bit of practice I managed to get the hang of getting a decent cut. The important thing is to use very light pressure. I tried the forge steel tile file to tidy up the edges but found this actually introduced more chips on the edge. In the end I found 180 grit silicon carbide paper did the trick."
Review 17 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Use with care - here is a tip
24 Sep 2013
By
, Eastleigh
"Disappointed to see this is now half the price I paid. After replacing the cutter that was supplied for a sharp one I had better results but still found it cut in curved, rather than straight lines.
The key is to apply minimum pressure to the handle, press too heavy and the cutting wheel twists off of straight.
I suddenly had inspiration to 'polish' the two chrome runners with the wife's spray polish and duster. Brilliant. Because the cutter now slides more easily, it takes less force and thus cuts straighter."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Heavy Duty Tile cutter
24 Apr 2013
By
, Wirral
"Difficult use and cut straight. It comes with a guide but no nuts to attach it to the unit. Will persevere but generally expected better from Screwfix"
Review 19 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Yes it cuts tiles BUT......
10 Mar 2013
By
, Worcester
"As a "tile cutter" it does exactly what it says on the tin BUT don't expect it to be a pleasurable experience. The thing doesn't cut easily from start to finish point, it doesn't cut straight i.e. you end up with arched cuts and to top it off the guide rails clog up with dust so you end up scuffing the cutter wheel along the tile instead of it gliding along like it should.
The cutter is only cheap, under £20 so i suppose you cant expect amazing results but it will go in the bin at the end of my current job and on the note I would not recommend anyone buying it. Buy yourself a decent Rubi cutter then flog it on that well known auction site!
"
Review 20 for Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 400mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Ruined every tile I tried
23 Dec 2013
By
, South East
"The worst thing I have bought from screwfix.
The device feels well built and sturdy and looked like it would do the job, but it did not seem to be aligned properly and the blade seemed blunt, it broke every tile I tried on it.
It is clear why it is in clearance!"
Page : 1 2 next>