Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg 240V

Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.69 out of 5
4.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 58 reviews
5 stars
46
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
56 of 58(97%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Review 1 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sds makita drill
19 Jun 2015
By masterfit
, Gillingham
" I am very happy with this item for my first drill for my tool set, it was used straight away out the box in to action on the job, it was like a hot knife thought butter. "
Review 2 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good quality bit of kit
11 Jun 2015
By Mitchafc
, Isle of Wight
" I thought it would be noisy and big vibrations, but it is awesome, quiet, quality!
Makes light work of drilling in solid and I mean solid walls!
Definitely recommend this drill. Also the free drill bits are an added bonus!
"
Review 3 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great lightweight drill
11 Jun 2015
By Redperil1
, West Midlands
" Only used a few times but seems very good. Made by Makita so should be reliable if past purchases are anything to go by. "
Review 4 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Robust drill
11 Jun 2015
By DrSweat
, Durham
" This is as good if not better build than my retired Atlas Copco though it's a bit heavier, i hope it lasts as long (12yrs) It feels solid and dampens vibration and copes easily with drilling and chasing concrete, stone, brick. Case provided is a bit sparse not having any holders for bits so they will rattle around. Bits provided are good quality. Overall package I would recommend for serious DIY er :) "
Review 5 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Star performer
4 Jun 2015
By Jlove
, London
" Great quailty, for a good price, also surprised by the quality of the sds bits that were included with the drill without even realising. "
Review 6 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Solid drill
21 May 2015
By Artzone
, Wigan
" A medium weight SDS drill that's solid, easy to use and should last a long time.
Fairly heavy to use overhead for extended periods.
Plenty of power to chisel through solid materials like concrete.
Would recommend. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent drill - get it
19 May 2015
By Gilomilo
, Brighton
" Loads of power, comes with bits which is great, nice long cord. Overall, really pleased and even looks cool too! "
Review 8 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Highly Recommend!
18 May 2015
By MichaelRM
, Ealing, London
" Purchased this because my previous hammer drill died on me. For the price, you can't beat it. I've only used it for a couple of jobs, but soo far soo good. Very powerful, drilling through brickwork and concrete like nothing. It's comfortable too, doesn't vibrate as other drills. Not yet used SDS function. If it's anything like my other Makita tools, should be reliable and last a long time too. Highly recommend this drill. Plus it comes with a chisel bit and a few drill bits, always a bonus. "
Review 9 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
great drill,fantastic price
15 May 2015
By sportster
, bannockburn
" Needed a new drill after my old one finally died.I'd seen the Makita 3kg sds plus advertised so i picked one up from my local screwfix.The extra power from the 3 kg Makita compared to my old 2kg was amazing as it was so easy to drill into the brickwork of the old flat i'm currently doing up.The lock on the switch changing the drill from chisel to hammer and normal drill is a great idea as a previous drill didn't have this feature and i was caught out a few times.I've only had the drill for a couple of days so i can't say anything regarding the reliability of the drill but if its anything like my other Makita kit then i won't have any trouble with it. "
Review 10 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
best sds drill
12 May 2015
By ba12bzza
, Croydon
" I've used Makita drills over a period of 10 years and needed a replacement for a standard chuck drill so went for the SDS .I couldn't be more pleased with the handling ,whether drilling or using the chisel ,nice weight and also complete with a selection of bits. Would definitely recommend to anyone. "
Review 11 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good hammer drill
12 May 2015
By PrincessLoki
, northampton
" used chisel function to remove a wall - performs well and the pack of bits is excellent.
long power lead
good value for money "
Review 12 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My 1st/2nd Hammer Drill
8 May 2015
By Sharma
, Dudley
" I brought a cheaper branded one a few months ago - it was value for money but weighed a ton, looked bad and the chisel didn't seem to work so I returned it to ScrewFix.
I needed a hammer drill to fit skirting board to some very bendy walls. I decided to spend a bit more and buy this Makita. I'm glad I did. Its easy to use, good build quality and isn't too bulky. "
Review 13 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Concrete Lintels Conquered
6 May 2015
By LamboRider
, Droitwich
" After years of struggle with a DIY hammer drill ( they cannot cut the mustard!) finally a great piece of kit to get the job done and get the feet up. "
Review 14 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Makita SDS Drill
4 May 2015
By Kendo001
, Inverness
" Excellent drill. Goes through concrete block and concrete slabs like a knife through butter.
Only 3 stars for reliability as only had it a few weeks.
"
Review 15 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant drill
4 May 2015
By Anonymous
, Bristol
" I cannot comment on reliability hence the four stars.
Otherwise I have been really impressed with this drill. Very powerful for the size and still lightweight enough to use in awkward spaces.
It's also nice to see that some manufacturers remember to provide good quality tools and a long enough power lead.
As for the extras supplied the drill bits seem to be good quality and have shown great performance so far.
Overall a brilliant little drill. Show it at the wall and the hole appears! "
Review 16 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Amazing Drill
30 Apr 2015
By Jackson25
, Hertordshire
" You get what you pay for and this is definitely better than the 2kg version. Did the job in a fraction of the time and drill bits supplied are very good quality also. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SDS is the way to go!
24 Apr 2015
By joineryman
, Shropshire
" My first SDS drill. I am so impressed. So much power. Drills effortlessly. Great price and comes with a great set of SDS drill bits and chisels so you are ready to go. Comfortable to use and quality box. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 18 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus
21 Apr 2015
By pigkiller
, tanygrisiau
" quality built in for you to get the best out,
gives you the confidence to fullfill every job you tackle
"
Review 19 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Why didn't I buy one sooner?
11 Apr 2015
By SibboOfBingley
, Bingley
" The old keyless chuck Bosch drill finally gave up, fortunately at the same time I needed to do some render and mortar removal jobs.
To have a drill that also can be switched to 'chisel only' seemed like a handy solution.
However, what really blew me away was once I started using it. The ease of drill bit/chisel bit change with the SDS system together with the power behind the hammer action - I can now drill holes and chisel away and it's like cutting through melted butter.
Very robust product; good toolbox; great set of SDS bits to start off with - good job Makita and great value Screwfix!
:-)
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great & powerful drill
7 Apr 2015
By CamH
, Oxford
" Usual Makita quality (great) and fairly light & compact sds drill.
Great for medium duty applications. Have definitely put it through its paces and has handled all kinds of drilling and chiseling with ease.
Packs more of a punch than some supposedly more powerful drills. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 3 next>