Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg 240V

Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.548 out of 5
4.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 31 reviews
5 stars
23
4 stars
6
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
2
29 of 31(94%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Review 1 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good priced makita drill
26 Mar 2015
By 2point
, Isle of wight
" Nice weight and balance,good motor,and gears.
Decent hammer function
Comes with ten sds bits which was a bonus
Highly reccomended
"
Review 2 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Top Drill
20 Mar 2015
By jagpurr
, Middlesbrough
" A good value drill from a top maker.
Looks the part & does the business.!!
"
Review 3 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita
19 Mar 2015
By Jay2188
, Stevenage
" Absolute value for money glad I purchase it works just fine for the job the hammer setting is second to none. "
Review 4 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Fantastic Product
19 Mar 2015
By JayG
, Wigan
" . Being a novice when it comes to diy I had a standard 500w drill about 10 years old. It was such a struggle to put up shelves and with it being an old property the walls are solid, I decided to buy a new one.. when I used it for the first time it was like a hot knife through butter!! Great value for money.. would definitely recommend this product!! "
Review 5 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Better than Bosch 2kg SDS
14 Mar 2015
By littlefintail
, Twickenhan
" Picked Up the Bosch 2KG SDS and realized the weight and hammer action force was going to be to feather light. Opted to go with the Makita been great for 5/6 hrs stretches of tiling and render removal. Everyone else 5 star isn't wrong. I like that it come with some tools too. "
Review 6 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Light yet powerful
12 Mar 2015
By penste
, South East London
" Wanted a new SDS to replace an old cheap burnt out unit and after researching for some time decided on the Makita.
I have many other Makita tools and this drill looks and feels very much in line with their high quality build.
Great price, especially with the inclusion of the ten piece tool kit.
I've only marked it down on performance and reliability purely because I haven't had it long enough, but if it goes on as long as my other Makita tools, I'll be more than happy.
"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hard working drill
10 Mar 2015
By TheSparky01
, Gwent
" a good sturdy drill with plenty of power and easy and comfortable to use "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
amazing price
4 Mar 2015
By sainiparam1988
, hounslow
" i like makita tool....its give you full satisfaction...you can do your work very easily & nicly ...this dill is very good price .....thanks screw fix.....for give us good offer "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Bargain
18 Feb 2015
By bankofdad
, penzance
" My trusty old Bosch blew on me so I needed a replacement quickly. The Makita was on offer and with a discount voucher it was a no brainer.
A good solid piece of kit with the advantage of a chisel action. Light and easy to use.
"
Review 10 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
spot on
18 Feb 2015
By kizz
, kent
" This drill breezes through anything, the fact it comes with all the drill bits and chisel bits at no extra cost is a bonus. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hot knife through butter...
25 Jul 2014
By Ianian
, London
" It's a real shame that Screwfix didn't buy more of these as they're getting hard to find. Thr performance is excellent and it's light enough to use overhead and for extended periods. Really, very, very impressed. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal for almost everything
22 Jul 2014
By MellowMan
, Devon
" The Makita SDS Drill is ideal for so many jobs when renovating a new home. With the 10 piece drill and chisel set you can started right away. Bringing up the old garden paths and chasing wires in was so simple with this light weight but very powerful tool. Not had it very long so only 4 stars for reliability so far. "
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 13 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An absolute beast!
19 Jul 2014
By Superstringy
, Newark-on-Trent
" I bought my first house earlier this year and so have had to scale up the amount of DIY I do. Getting a decent base-level set of tools was key. Having had Makita recommended by some friends who work in the trade and seeing this on offer I plumped for this SDS corded drill to take on the heavier work I'd need to do in the house and garden.
The carry case is sturdy yet light, the drill fits in neatly (no issues with the cord poking out he edges etc) and there's ample space for a few bits and extras too. The bundled set of chisels and drill bits are solid and hardy.
I had an issue whereby one of the bundled bits was bent straight out of the box, but Screwfix swapped it over quick as a flash with no messing around. Can't argue with that.
The drill itself is chunky and weighty (3kg) but thanks to an amazingly well-modelled handle, trigger and adjustable forearm grip it sits nicely in the hands and is comfortable to hold and move about. Controls are easily accessible and satisfying to operate.
In terms of performance it is incredible; on hammer drill mode it cuts cleanly into brick etc with so little judder or kickback you hardly feel you're drilling as quickly and deeply as you are. I have never used a tool like this - similarly-specced corded hammer drills like Bosch and Black & Decker do not come close to this. It just flies into whatever you're drilling into and doesn't need much exterior force at all. The drill remains cool even after extended use and the chuckless SDS bit change process is swift and fluid.
This tool is an absolute joy to use; both beautiful and powerful. I'd recommend this to anyone. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ouaadil
15 Jul 2014
By ouaadil
, MItcham
" for reliability and performance this is the best hammer drill "
Review 15 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Drill
5 Jul 2014
By WomdareWill
, Aberdare
" A fantastic drill, very pleased with the drill bits supplied thats saved me a few quid. A great brand and a great deal. "
Review 16 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy.
4 Jul 2014
By Georgeallenheads
, Northumberland
" Great to handle and does a brill job. It was on offer so I could not resist ordering one.
Looking for things to drill now!!!
Im a lady over 55 and loving the drill.
"
Review 17 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent drill
3 Jul 2014
By Number1DOER
, Margate
" Could not wish for more superb, price fair and content good "
Review 18 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A godsend
3 Jul 2014
By manchild
, chesterfield
" I was putting a couple of shelves up in my own home and thought my normal hammer drill would do the job,no chance, as soon as I hit brickwork that was it.I got my new makita out and it flew through it.Thank god I purchased it a couple of days before. Brill. "
Review 19 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Real drill
2 Jul 2014
By Traveler
, Ballymoney
" Bought to replace a 5kg Titan which totally failed to live up to the hype in reviews.
This is the same as the more expensive 2470, just a different colour, but with drill and chisel bits included. A bit of a no brainer.
The first time I used it I thought there was something wrong with the wall as the bit (8mm) flew through the two walls a bit too easily. No, the wall was fine, as I found when coring.
It is light enough to use single handed and when using the right approach, more than adequate for breaking concrete. The include chisels are a bit on the short side, fine for when nothing is breaking away behind what you are chiselling (wall sockets, etc), not so good when breaking a couple of inches of concrete on the ground as too easily to knock chuck when going through.
Good strong drill for heavier drilling but subtle enough for fitting curtain rails, pictures, mirrors, etc.
I have also been using mine recently for normal drilling with an SDS adaptor and chuck (not included). Two hands are needed for this as the extra weight and length makes it a little awkward to use single handed.
I did not core with this drill, leaving the job to my old same brand core drill.
I cannot comment on reliability of this particular drill as only had a short while, but pleased so far and if it lasts as long as my old core drill, I will be more than happy. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 20 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tool
2 Jul 2014
By legendnobby
, Brigg
" Very good performer great for anything at home and trade use. "
Page : 1 2 next>