Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg 240V

Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg 240V
Average Customer Rating:
4.867 out of 5
4.9
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
13
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 star
0
15 of 15(100%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Review 1 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hot knife through butter...
25 Jul 2014
By Ianian
, London
" It's a real shame that Screwfix didn't buy more of these as they're getting hard to find. Thr performance is excellent and it's light enough to use overhead and for extended periods. Really, very, very impressed. "
Review 2 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Ideal for almost everything
22 Jul 2014
By MellowMan
, Devon
" The Makita SDS Drill is ideal for so many jobs when renovating a new home. With the 10 piece drill and chisel set you can started right away. Bringing up the old garden paths and chasing wires in was so simple with this light weight but very powerful tool. Not had it very long so only 4 stars for reliability so far. "
Review 3 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
An absolute beast!
19 Jul 2014
By Superstringy
, Newark-on-Trent
" I bought my first house earlier this year and so have had to scale up the amount of DIY I do. Getting a decent base-level set of tools was key. Having had Makita recommended by some friends who work in the trade and seeing this on offer I plumped for this SDS corded drill to take on the heavier work I'd need to do in the house and garden.
The carry case is sturdy yet light, the drill fits in neatly (no issues with the cord poking out he edges etc) and there's ample space for a few bits and extras too. The bundled set of chisels and drill bits are solid and hardy.
I had an issue whereby one of the bundled bits was bent straight out of the box, but Screwfix swapped it over quick as a flash with no messing around. Can't argue with that.
The drill itself is chunky and weighty (3kg) but thanks to an amazingly well-modelled handle, trigger and adjustable forearm grip it sits nicely in the hands and is comfortable to hold and move about. Controls are easily accessible and satisfying to operate.
In terms of performance it is incredible; on hammer drill mode it cuts cleanly into brick etc with so little judder or kickback you hardly feel you're drilling as quickly and deeply as you are. I have never used a tool like this - similarly-specced corded hammer drills like Bosch and Black & Decker do not come close to this. It just flies into whatever you're drilling into and doesn't need much exterior force at all. The drill remains cool even after extended use and the chuckless SDS bit change process is swift and fluid.
This tool is an absolute joy to use; both beautiful and powerful. I'd recommend this to anyone. "
Review 4 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ouaadil
15 Jul 2014
By ouaadil
, MItcham
" for reliability and performance this is the best hammer drill "
Review 5 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Drill
5 Jul 2014
By WomdareWill
, Aberdare
" A fantastic drill, very pleased with the drill bits supplied thats saved me a few quid. A great brand and a great deal. "
Review 6 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great buy.
4 Jul 2014
By Georgeallenheads
, Northumberland
" Great to handle and does a brill job. It was on offer so I could not resist ordering one.
Looking for things to drill now!!!
Im a lady over 55 and loving the drill.
"
Review 7 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent drill
3 Jul 2014
By Number1DOER
, Margate
" Could not wish for more superb, price fair and content good "
Review 8 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
A godsend
3 Jul 2014
By manchild
, chesterfield
" I was putting a couple of shelves up in my own home and thought my normal hammer drill would do the job,no chance, as soon as I hit brickwork that was it.I got my new makita out and it flew through it.Thank god I purchased it a couple of days before. Brill. "
Review 9 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Real drill
2 Jul 2014
By Traveler
, Ballymoney
" Bought to replace a 5kg Titan which totally failed to live up to the hype in reviews.
This is the same as the more expensive 2470, just a different colour, but with drill and chisel bits included. A bit of a no brainer.
The first time I used it I thought there was something wrong with the wall as the bit (8mm) flew through the two walls a bit too easily. No, the wall was fine, as I found when coring.
It is light enough to use single handed and when using the right approach, more than adequate for breaking concrete. The include chisels are a bit on the short side, fine for when nothing is breaking away behind what you are chiselling (wall sockets, etc), not so good when breaking a couple of inches of concrete on the ground as too easily to knock chuck when going through.
Good strong drill for heavier drilling but subtle enough for fitting curtain rails, pictures, mirrors, etc.
I have also been using mine recently for normal drilling with an SDS adaptor and chuck (not included). Two hands are needed for this as the extra weight and length makes it a little awkward to use single handed.
I did not core with this drill, leaving the job to my old same brand core drill.
I cannot comment on reliability of this particular drill as only had a short while, but pleased so far and if it lasts as long as my old core drill, I will be more than happy. "
Review 10 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent tool
2 Jul 2014
By legendnobby
, Brigg
" Very good performer great for anything at home and trade use. "
Review 11 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drill
30 Nov 2013
By weemic
, kirkcaldy
" this is the best piece of kit I've ever bought its comfortable to use goes through walls like a hot knife through butter cant say enough about it 10/10 would 100% recommend "
Review 12 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Superb bit of kit.
27 Nov 2013
By Timski
, Oldham
" Drilled through twin hard brick (Accrington) very quick & easily. also drilled a 150mm core on non hammer, steady & consistent. Fan cooled motor a bonus. Worth that extra £20 over the rest. The Muts nuts! "
Review 13 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Makita you can't go wrong with
4 Nov 2013
By Kdawg
, London
" Yes I have said it makita is the best. Drill performs like a dream. Solid built and quality next to none. I used it straight out the box and boy does it tear apart concrete like its a joke. "
Review 14 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
drill
17 Jul 2014
By gtfix1702
, essex
" only got the drill two days a go but at least it works and was as ordered the case is a bit flimsy would have been nice to have a metal case but so far so good. "
Review 15 for Makita HR2470WX/2 3kg SDS Plus Hammer Drill 240V
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Brilliant drill, lacks a chuck
9 Dec 2013
By Anonymous
, Cardiff
" Originally bought the titan sds plus drill from Screwfix, but I had to return the first and second titan sds drills because they weren't drilling straight.
Decided to spend the extra and get a Makita. I think I will be a convert to the Makita brand from now on.
The drill eats through concrete, red bricks, and cement with ease. The weight is nice and doesn't feel like you've been weight lifting after a couple hours use.
Used with a Armeg Brick Remover Chisel to remove some bricks and install Air Bricks. Makita made DIY so much easier. "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.