Product Reviews

Big Clinker 2 Cutter 630mm

Big Clinker 2 Cutter 630mm
Average Customer Rating:
3.733 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 15 reviews
5 stars
6
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
3
1 star
1
10 of 15(67%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Review 1 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Cutting edge of tile cutters
12 Dec 2014
By PoppaSpoons
, Nottingham
" All tile cutters are the same or so I thought, how wrong can you be!
Having been tiling for over 10 years I have used simple tile cutters accompaniedby wet cutting until I broke my tile cutter's arm on the porcelain tiles that I am laying this week.
Porcelain tiles do tend to be difficult to cut dry or at least were should I say.
The Big Clinker has just made life so much easier!
Large base to support tiles with the addition of an arm iether side of the cut for additional stability, gone are the days of trying to balance tiles during the cut 10\10
Fantastic cutting wheel scores with very little
effort couple with the easy gliding action of the arm allowing for a good clean line without moving the tile
The arm feels great to the touch and makes snapping the tile a pleasure with very little force required
This product has been well thought out and manufactured to a high standard, I'm off to cut some tiles :)
Note re reliability score, only used for a couple of days cutting 420x420 porcelain tiles every cut good and clean.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Heavy duty is apt description
3 Nov 2014
By Controlsafe
, Cambridge
" Excellent product. Had to tile a bathroom quickly. Usually cut with electric cutter outside, but was due to rain heavily so bought this. Absolutely fantastic, simple to use, very accurate. Preferred to mark both edges with pencil and cut rather than the ruler attached. Ended up with very professional job.
Only frustration is that it is £30 cheaper today (Monday) compared to last Thursday. "
Review 3 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Done a good job
9 May 2014
By FCHandyman
, Essex
" Been thinking about upgrading my tile cutter for quite a while and reading the other reviews had delayed my decision. However now wish I had bought this sooner. Only used it on wall tiles at present, let wheel run along tile hardly any pressure, move bar to end, snap tile easy.
Did some quite thin cuts down a door area 30 mm all cut nicely. Took 10 mm off edge of some and all good, over happy with purchase.
"
Review 4 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good item
1 Apr 2014
By Forestfred
, Gloucestershire
" I was put off by some of the less generous reviews but this worked for me.
I am not a trade user so it didn't and won't get the bashing it would on site. Nevertheless it was easy to use and reliable for me.
I managed to cut my floor tiles without too many rejects, unlike the cheaper version I was using "
Review 5 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Tool
14 Sep 2013
By mussy
, Inverness
" I bought this cutter for ceramic 300 x 600 tiles. It cuts perfectly and is easy to line up. I would deffinately recommend this tile cutter as it is just as good, if not better than the cutters I have hired in the past . Great price. "
Review 6 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Recommended cutter
13 May 2013
By GBanger79
, Glasgow
" Note the previous reviews but I had no problems with this product and had to cut 600x300mm porcelain tiles - this cutter dealt with them all with no problems. Have tiled 20sq m and not wasted a single tile.
For this size of cutter you'd need to pay upwards of £300 for a pro cutter - this is great value for money.
Can't comment on reliability as I've only used it for the one job so far. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
big clinker
11 Dec 2014
By zuluman
, sheffield
" exelent tile cutter does exactly whot its meant to very imprest. "
Review 8 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Heavy duty tile cutter
18 Nov 2014
By Mirtna
, Sheffield
" Simple and easy to use: good result.
Should last long time.
"
Review 9 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Robust and solid
8 Nov 2014
By 2402
, Bedford
" Good to use because very accurate to work with. Cuts porcelain tiles very well.
Cuts 600mm tile.
"
Review 10 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Tile cutter
16 Oct 2014
By Richchippy
, Christchurch
" This tile cutter is good value for money as it can handle 600mm porcelain tiles with ease, however the build quality is not as good as the professional tile cutters. Having said that it is half the price of these cutters and if, like me, you only do the occasional tiling job it is good buy. "
Review 11 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Big Clinker 2
21 Mar 2013
By HippyGardener
, Merseyside
" Thought buying Big Clinker NOT Big Clinker 2.
Big, clumsy & does not cut tiles (wall) particularly well.
Hard to line up cut line, had to run cutter across several times to gain deep enough cut to snap (which chipped tiles).
As far as aware not adjustable.
Arrived damaged but refunded without any problems. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Try something else!!
3 Nov 2014
By Wiggers
, Liverpool
" I have just used one today first time and the rubber mat has come away only cut 30 tiles
It feels solid and cuts quite well but for the price even now with a reduction I would give it a miss no box also quite cumbersome to carry around but screwfix were great no problem swapping
"
Review 13 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
poor quality
6 May 2013
By dean123
, cheshire
" should be called big clinker "lite" rather than 2 as is simply a cut down version of the clinker..
returned mine as tile support arm snapped off and picked up a big clinker 2.. much happier and the difference in quality is massive "
1 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 14 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Dont get confused...
13 Mar 2013
By Reviewer999
, Hampshire
" This is not the same cutter as the part 28076 that screwfix sell for 109.99
Mine has terrible play in the rail bearings resulting in poor cuts. It may be a one off failure but im not risking wasting my time with another one.
I spoke to QEP technical to find out the difference between the two cutters and they said....
"The big clinker is one of our top spec manual cutter as it has a four position cutting wheel for different types of tiles and thicknesses it has a cast steel base for extra strength and it cuts up to 18mm tile thickness The clinker 2 has a aluminium base and cuts tile up to 14mm thickness and only one position cutting wheel ( we only supply screwfix with this model)"
The was 109.99 now 79.99 pricing is also misleading as the stated original price implies equal quality with the 28076 part. "
12 of 12 people found this review helpful.
Review 15 for Big Clinker 2 Heavy Duty Tile Cutter 630mm
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
poor quality
26 May 2014
By chippy68
, burntwood staffs
" purchased cutter for 630mm tiles, used it to cut approx. 30 tiles and a part snapped, not as heavy duty as they say, it lasted 4 hours so will be returning in the morning, a shame as they say its the biz for the money, not in my case, not for the pro or diyer, "