Product Reviews

LAP IQ Photocell Night Sensor

LAP IQ Photocell Night Sensor
Average Customer Rating:
2.48 out of 5
2.5
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 25 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
6
1 star
10
8 of 25(32%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Review 1 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAP sensor
15 Oct 2014
By Dissestabukmisopc
, S England
" First class. I know have thee of these (front porch, side porch, decorative garden lights) and they're brilliant. "
Review 2 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great!!
1 Oct 2013
By DIYHull
, Hull
" Cheap and effective solution to control the lighing in my back garden. Wiring instructions were clear and set up was straight forward and it works really well; switching on the lights at dusk and then off again at dawn. "
Review 3 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome
3 Aug 2012
By MLElectrical
, Chislehurst, Kent
" I have installed them before, for other people and they are fantastic. so much better looking to other photocell sensors on the market. really discrete looking. "
Review 4 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says
2 Sep 2009
By Handymanbill
, South Devon
" Installed one of these 3 years ago. Never turned it off since and still works perfectly. Runs 3 bricklights and a standard lamp by our driveway, all fitted with CFL lamps. Provides security, and a welcome in the dark winter evenings. "
Review 5 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well made just the job
26 Jan 2009
By itsonlyme
, COLCHESTER
" If you want an adjustable dusk to dawn sensor this is a well designed bit of kit. Its easy to fix and cable access to make the terminatations is good. Just one thing, not an issue for me but be aware if its fitted where it might be tampered with. Although the use of a screwdriver to prise it open is stated I found the snap shut lid can be open with finger pressure. Have only just fitted it so dont know just how reliable it will prove to be, on the basis of 'if it looks right it probably is,' I'm hopeful. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good item
3 Nov 2014
By Pardoe
, Birmingham
" As with all LAP products, I never expect a lot due to price, and as usual this exceeded my expectations! Great little unit, easy to install and connect, works a treat, I only had one issue, a RED LED on the front, why would I want a red light on the front of my house? A couple of pieces of white insulating tape dimmed the glow so I know it's there but not obvious from three doors down, did the trick! "
Review 7 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great piece of kit
1 Aug 2013
By PJH8RN
, Glasgow
" Easily fitted, I use this product for two hours of LED lighting in the evening. It comes on at dusk and that is it, ideal for my needs.
It can be hard to see the settings when altering the unit in situ, but it easily resolved by taking a photo on my phone, enlarging it top see the current setting and then making the changes to the unit. "
Review 8 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Simple installation
10 Jun 2013
By eddm
, Midlands
" Went for this despite mixed reviews on durability. Nice package & cheaper than some equivalents.
IP44 rating seems on the low side however.
Straight forward installation and so far has worked out of the box, switching 5w energy saving bulb in bulkhead light.
"
Review 9 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice design but unreliable
23 Mar 2009
By greenwellington
, Algarve
" This appeared to be a very nice design and I recommended it to many of my friends.
Unfortunately it has not lived up to expectations because 2 out of the 3 purchased have failed after less than 1 year.
The problem seems to be the failure of the relay because it does not switch on even in "manual"
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Buy a better one!
8 Dec 2014
By Nikinora
, Essex
" The first one lasted two and a half months. The replacement under warranty lasted exactly 13 months. I have now replaced it with a decent Steinel one. Don't bother far too unreliable. "
Review 11 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Failed again
9 Dec 2013
By gisajob
, sittingbourne
" I took the first one back after 11 months and got a replacement. The second one has now started to act up. It switches on at dusk fine but then it switches off. Manually switching the light switch off/on finally gets it to remain on. If I wanted to swtich the light on mnully I would not have bothered with the switch. "
Review 12 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Night Sensor.
7 Sep 2013
By ArchaeologistDave
, Lincolnshire
" Worked just fine for about 10 months then packed up. I have a like-for-like replacement ready to fit though so will give this model another chance. Did the job, just dissapointed with short life span. "
Review 13 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Broken in less than 2 years
5 Jul 2013
By Nonicknameforme
, Oxford
" Switching only 5W, broken within two years - not very good.
Also, you can't delay it coming on - eg 'come on 2hrs after dusk'. You can only set it to come on somewhere between slightly dark to very dark. "
Review 14 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Poor reliabilty
10 Aug 2012
By wouldnotbother
, Essex
" First failed after about 8 months of only using a few times, no guarantee card or anything to return, Good features if they kept working. Replaced with same as it fits easily where old one was, hoping this one lasts a bit longer or will be looking for a different device. "
Review 15 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability poor
18 Mar 2011
By rsaffell
, Derby
" Bought this photocell to switch on 6 low power half lantern lights on a stair well. It worked fine for nearly two years then failed for some reason. It is switching the lights on but not sensing the dark properly i.e. it is permanently in test mode. And no combination of adjustment of the pots will make it work correctly. "
Review 16 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance 10, Reliability 1!
29 Nov 2014
By Anonymous
, Woking
" Had several of these in quick succession. 3 in a row have failed in a matter of weeks! "
Review 17 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
dawn to dusk sensor
4 Nov 2014
By twocupteddy
, prescot
" first one purchased did not work obtained replacement next day the only reason i got this is because i have had this model fitted to my shed and for ease of existing fixtures and wiring i purchased yet another on to my 6th in as many years going on past experience this will last 1 week after the warranty runs out !!! it only controls 4 x 11watt low energy bulbs like a moth to the flame i will be buying another one in 13 months no doubt "
Review 18 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
great idea just unreliable
7 Apr 2014
By weekendDIYworker
, Kent
" I bought this for drive lighting despite having read the reliability issues mentioned below.
Initially worked great but then failed so I bought a replacement second unit thinking it may have been a one off. This also failed last week and so I have now replaced with a standard photocell from Screwfix and put the circuit on a timer.
It is as if the internal processor fails as the red LED lights up but no power goes out to your lights. BTW the red LED is a negative if the unit is not tucked away out of sight. "
Review 19 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Standalone night sensor
11 Feb 2014
By Vanpedro
, Chorley
" Looking at the reveiws this sensor looks good? I bought the stand alone sensor in October 2013 and have had problems from day One! I have had to reset it Three times. Yes it looks good but that's it! I have to waste my time taking it down and returning it to Screwfix and swap it for the more reliable photocell light sensor. Would not recommend to anyone. "
Review 20 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Not Impressed
4 Jan 2014
By Anonymous
, Middlesbrough
" Bought this to control 3 external lights. The manual override works fine but that defeats the object. Made the mistake of sighting the unit fairly close to the lights themselves which causes the sensor to detect the lights and turn off. However as this is supposed to have an 8hrs timer this shouldn't be a problem - sensor turns the lights on waits 8 hrs then turns them off. But the 8hr timer doesn't work rendering the whole thing useless. "
Page : 1 2 next>