Product Reviews

LAP IQ Photocell Night Sensor

LAP IQ Photocell Night Sensor
Average Customer Rating:
2.923 out of 5
2.9
 out of 
5
(39 Reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 39 reviews
5 stars
10
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
8
1 star
11
19 of 39(49%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Questions & Answers:
2 Questions | 1 Answer
Customer Reviews for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Review 1 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Going for my 3rd
11 Mar 2016
By
, Essex
" Currently have 2 of these running .
One for some deck lights ( been installed nearly 2 years now )
And installed another a few months back for some garage soffit lights .
They are really good pieces of kit especially because they have timers built in !. A piece of advice would be once installed use some clear silicone around the edge where it meets the wall so no water can get down the back. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 2 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
dusk 'til dawn
2 Dec 2015
By
, Blackpool
" A neat little unit with adjustable settings - easy to install (clear fitting instructions supplied). "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LIght sensor
9 Nov 2015
By
, Bournewmouth
" I wanted something to turn a porch light on and off at night but not a motion sensor. This unit does just that. Easy to fix and wire up ( 20 mins) neat and attractive. Cheap enough that it would be tempting to use in other locations. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 4 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Very good product
25 Sep 2015
By
, Stevenage
" This LUX sensor does exactly what it says it's meant to do and has performed reliably every day for the last 2 years it has been in operation.
I am so impressed that I have recently bought a second one for lighting up the path lights by our summer house - would highly recommend. "
3 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
My Second one
30 Aug 2015
By
, Argyll
" These are great night sensors, easy to fit and adjust. This one is to replace a previous one which failed after many years of nightly service. I can recommend them. "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 6 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
LAP sensor
15 Oct 2014
By
, S England
" First class. I know have thee of these (front porch, side porch, decorative garden lights) and they're brilliant. "
7 of 7 people found this review helpful.
Review 7 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Works great!!
1 Oct 2013
By
, Hull
" Cheap and effective solution to control the lighing in my back garden. Wiring instructions were clear and set up was straight forward and it works really well; switching on the lights at dusk and then off again at dawn. "
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Review 8 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
awesome
3 Aug 2012
By
, Chislehurst, Kent
" I have installed them before, for other people and they are fantastic. so much better looking to other photocell sensors on the market. really discrete looking. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 9 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Does what it says
2 Sep 2009
By
, South Devon
" Installed one of these 3 years ago. Never turned it off since and still works perfectly. Runs 3 bricklights and a standard lamp by our driveway, all fitted with CFL lamps. Provides security, and a welcome in the dark winter evenings. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Review 10 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
well made just the job
26 Jan 2009
By
, COLCHESTER
" If you want an adjustable dusk to dawn sensor this is a well designed bit of kit. Its easy to fix and cable access to make the terminatations is good. Just one thing, not an issue for me but be aware if its fitted where it might be tampered with. Although the use of a screwdriver to prise it open is stated I found the snap shut lid can be open with finger pressure. Have only just fitted it so dont know just how reliable it will prove to be, on the basis of 'if it looks right it probably is,' I'm hopeful. "
6 of 6 people found this review helpful.
Review 11 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great product.
29 Dec 2015
By
, Wakefield
" Ideal dusk to dawn sensor with various settings and a visible red activation light. "
Review 12 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Dusk to dawn
25 Dec 2015
By
, Redditch
" Easy to install. Well made. Needs to work for few years to get 5 stars "
Review 13 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Piece of Kit
7 Nov 2015
By
, Coventry
" All okay so far, Might be a problem for some sparks to fit as it took a couple of nights to set the timing up as requires. "
Review 14 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good Product
10 Aug 2015
By
, London
" I've just installed two of them for our external lighting. So far so good. Easy to install and to connect. "
Review 15 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good item
3 Nov 2014
By
, Birmingham
" As with all LAP products, I never expect a lot due to price, and as usual this exceeded my expectations! Great little unit, easy to install and connect, works a treat, I only had one issue, a RED LED on the front, why would I want a red light on the front of my house? A couple of pieces of white insulating tape dimmed the glow so I know it's there but not obvious from three doors down, did the trick! "
5 of 5 people found this review helpful.
Review 16 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Great piece of kit
1 Aug 2013
By
, Glasgow
" Easily fitted, I use this product for two hours of LED lighting in the evening. It comes on at dusk and that is it, ideal for my needs.
It can be hard to see the settings when altering the unit in situ, but it easily resolved by taking a photo on my phone, enlarging it top see the current setting and then making the changes to the unit. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 17 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Simple installation
10 Jun 2013
By
, Midlands
" Went for this despite mixed reviews on durability. Nice package & cheaper than some equivalents.
IP44 rating seems on the low side however.
Straight forward installation and so far has worked out of the box, switching 5w energy saving bulb in bulkhead light.
"
Review 18 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability Questionable
24 Sep 2015
By
, Bournemouth
" This is the third unit I have fitted in two years. The first unit was replaced under warranty and the second failed after a year. I purchased a third for ease of re-fitting (30 mins) and because the colour matches our white fascia - alternatives seem to be black. Also, I like the red LED that glows menacingly in the dark. It controls a single 5w CFL porch light dusk to dawn and works well until it fails. Why do they fail? (no evidence of water ingress) LAP & Screwfix must be aware of the issue. "
Review 19 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Great product but failed
12 Jan 2015
By
, Felixstowe
" This is a great product, well built, easy to install and easy to set up (adjust dusk light level and 'on' duration setting). Unfortunately the unit failed after approx. 6 months resulting in the light not coming on at dusk. I returned the product to Screwfix who were brilliant (very apologetic for the failure) and they supplied a replacement without any hassle (as expected). So now I'm on my second unit which (so far) is working fine. Let's hope this one lasts longer than 6 months! "
Review 20 for LAP Standalone Night Sensor Photocell
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice design but unreliable
23 Mar 2009
By
, Algarve
" This appeared to be a very nice design and I recommended it to many of my friends.
Unfortunately it has not lived up to expectations because 2 out of the 3 purchased have failed after less than 1 year.
The problem seems to be the failure of the relay because it does not switch on even in "manual"
"
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Page : 1 2 next>