Product Reviews

Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"

Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Average Customer Rating:
3.667 out of 5
3.7
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Breakdown 12 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
3
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 star
2
9 of 12(75%)reviewers would recommend this product.
Customer Reviews for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Review 1 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Good Cheap Clamp
28 Oct 2014
By Crochunter
, Portsmouth area
" I bought a pair of these last year and am well satisfied with the build quality. For those of you who wonder if this cheap product is any good, I can only speak as I find. I have used these clamps to straighten bowed 100mm half round poles as they are being fitted to 100x47mm stud frame. The pressure that I have needed to exert on some of the poles has been excessive to the point where the clamps bite into the wood. To date they are still as good as the day I purchased them "
Review 2 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Excellent
26 May 2014
By Gavman
, Airdrie
" Good strong build, very happy with it. Was thinking about buying a cheaper one but im glad i didnt. Should last for years if looked after. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 3 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
clamp
14 Aug 2011
By richardc994
, norwich
" does what it is meant to do, good value for money. i use it in the trade. "
Review 4 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Great Clamps
13 May 2011
By expertdiyjohn
, hampshire
" Good quality and should last for years. Was thinking of buying the cheaper alloy ones but glad that I chose these. "
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 5 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
good value
3 Dec 2008
By richard6
, mansfield
" This clamp is as good as the much more expensive ones and much better than the cheap aluminium ones. I use mine for squesing toether several planks dowel jointed and find I can put plenty of pressure on. "
Review 6 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
does the job
12 Oct 2014
By no1makem
, DURHAM
" used to clamp boards together when making a garden gate worked like a dream "
Review 7 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Reliability: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Good budget clamp
7 Aug 2013
By Frank57
, Lancs
" Good DIY clamp, did everything I wanted, guess more expensive models might be better suited for everyday use "
Review 8 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Features: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Performance: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Reliability: 
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Much better than the cheap All
13 May 2011
By chewbacka
, South West
" These are much better than the cheap Ally cramps, and a fair bit cheaper than Irwin. So on balance they are a good buy, maybe not as smooth, but for the price, and considering I don't use them that often they are great. "
Review 9 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? Yes
Overall Rating: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Features: 
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Performance: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
straighter bananas
25 Mar 2014
By mrphil2014
, bury st edmunds
" took it out of the box and was bent and had a twist in it would have been put in the box like this as its a strong bar "
Review 10 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Features: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Performance: 
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Reliability: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Clamp
17 Dec 2014
By Kerneldebugger
, Hull
" Should not expect too much for the money but this product is poorly finished. The heads are very uneven and pieces of wood used as protection tend to slide out because of unevenness. The retaining toggle falls out at the slightest angle. You have to be careful on tightening the clamp: the loose fit of the moving head causes it to move from alignment. With these points in mind, the clamp will do its job but if I had borrowed one prior to buying, I would not have purchased. "
Review 11 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Rubbish
9 Aug 2009
By Garageman
, Epsom
" I bought a pair of 24" 29861 clamps on 21Aug08. Used them, or tried to use them, first time on 09Aug09, so well out of warranty.
The screw threads and the boss through which the thread operates seem to be made of a very soft metal. The result is that, as the screw is turned, it rubs and wears, even when no load is being applied and even after being lubricated. I surmise that swarf builds up in the boss and the result is that the thread jams in the boss and extreme force is needed to free it.
What this product does NOT do is to, "... apply force quickly and smoothly".
I would happy to drop them off at my local branch for examination by your Quality Department.
I regret to say that this is the worst performing tool I have ever bought from Screwfix!
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Review 12 for Forge Steel Sash Clamp 24"
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Would you recommend this product? No
Overall Rating: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Features: 
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Performance: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Reliability: 
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Nice ornament!
6 Sep 2008
By TeaBreak
, Ely
" Very disappointed with this product. Attempted to assemble a simple finger jointed box using these clamps, but had to resort to block of wood and mallet instead. The screw on the clamp head binds, and tommy bar has no strength at all. It looks like a Record clamp, is cheaper than a Record clamp, but don't bother buying unless you want it for an ornament. "
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.